Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 45/) Boat Registration and Safety Act.

625 ILCS 45/Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 45/Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. REGISTRATION OF MOTORBOATS AND
SAILBOATS OVER 12 FEET IN LENGTH

625 ILCS 45/3-1

    (625 ILCS 45/3-1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-1)
    Sec. 3-1. Unlawful operation of unnumbered watercraft. Every watercraft other than non-powered watercraft on waters within the jurisdiction of this State shall be numbered. No person may operate, use, or store or give permission for the operation, usage, or storage of any such watercraft on such waters unless it has on board while in operation:
    (A) A valid certificate of number is issued in accordance with this Act, or in accordance with applicable federal law, or in accordance with a federally approved numbering system of another State, and unless:
        (1) the pocket-sized certificate of number awarded
    
to such watercraft is in full force and effect; or
        (2) the operator is in possession of a valid 60-day
    
temporary permit under this Act.
    (B) The identifying number set forth in the certificate of number is displayed on each side of the bow of such watercraft.
    The certificate of number, lease, or rental agreement required by this Section shall be available at all times for inspection at the request of a federal, State, or local law enforcement officer on the watercraft for which it is issued. No person shall operate a watercraft under this Section unless the certificate of number, lease, or rental agreement required is carried on board in a manner that it can be handed to a requesting law enforcement officer for inspection. A holder of a certificate of number shall notify the Department within 30 days if the holder's address no longer conforms to the address appearing on the certificate and shall furnish the Department with the holder's new address. The Department may provide for in its rules and regulations for the surrender of the certificate bearing the former address and its replacement with a certificate bearing the new address or for the alteration of an outstanding certificate to show the new address of the holder.
(Source: P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-1.5

    (625 ILCS 45/3-1.5)
    Sec. 3-1.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13. Repealed by P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-2

    (625 ILCS 45/3-2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-2)
    Sec. 3-2. Identification number application. The owner of each watercraft requiring numbering by this State shall file an application for number with the Department on forms approved by it. The application shall be signed by the owner of the watercraft and shall be accompanied by a fee as follows:
    A. (Blank).
    B. Class 1 (all watercraft less
than 16 feet in length, except
non-powered watercraft.)................
up to $28
    C. Class 2 (all watercraft 16
feet or more but less than 26 feet in length
except canoes, kayaks, and non-motorized paddle boats). up to $60
    D. Class 3 (all watercraft 26 feet or more
but less than 40 feet in length)...........$150
    E. Class 4 (all watercraft 40 feet in length
or more)...........................$200
    Upon receipt of the application in approved form, and when satisfied that no tax imposed pursuant to the "Municipal Use Tax Act" or the "County Use Tax Act" is owed, or that such tax has been paid, the Department shall enter the same upon the records of its office and issue to the applicant a certificate of number stating the number awarded to the watercraft and the name and address of the owner.
    The Department shall deposit 20% of all money collected from watercraft registrations into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund. The monies deposited into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund under this Section shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks unless otherwise authorized by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-3

    (625 ILCS 45/3-3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-3)
    Sec. 3-3. Identification number display.
    A. The owner shall paint on or attach to both sides of the bow (front) of a watercraft the identification number, which shall be of block characters at least 3 inches in height. The figures shall read from left to right, be of contrasting color to their background, and be maintained in a legible condition. No other number shall be displayed on the bow of the boat. In affixing the number to the boat, a space or a hyphen shall be provided between the IL and the number and another space or hyphen between the number and the letters which follow. On vessels of unconventional design or constructed so that it is impractical or impossible to display identification numbers in a prominent position on the forward half of their hulls or permanent substructures, numbers may be displayed in brackets or fixtures firmly attached to the vessel. Exact positioning of the numbers in brackets or protruding fixtures shall be discretionary with vessel owners, providing the numbers are placed on the forward half of the vessel and meet the standard requirements for legibility, size, style and contrast with the background.
    B. A watercraft already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to Federal law is exempt from number display as prescribed by this Section.
    C. All non-powered watercraft are exempt from number display as prescribed by this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 45/3-4

    (625 ILCS 45/3-4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-4)
    Sec. 3-4. Destruction, sale, transfer or abandonment. The owner of any watercraft shall within 15 days notify the Department if the watercraft is destroyed or abandoned, or is sold or transferred either wholly or in part to another person or persons. In sale or transfer cases, the notice shall be accompanied by a surrender of the certificate of number. In destruction or abandonment cases, the notice shall be accompanied by a surrender of the certificate of title. When the surrender of the certificate is by reason of the watercraft being destroyed or abandoned, the Department shall cancel the certificate and enter such fact in its records. The Department shall be notified in writing of any change of address. Should the owner desire a new certificate of number, showing the new address, he shall surrender his old certificate and notify the Department of the new address, remitting $1 to cover the issuance of a new certificate of number. If the surrender is by reason of a sale or transfer either wholly or in part to another person or persons, the owner surrendering the certificate shall state to the Department, under oath, the name of the purchaser or transferee.
    Non-powered watercraft are exempt from this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 45/3-5

    (625 ILCS 45/3-5) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-5)
    Sec. 3-5. Transfer of identification number. The purchaser of a watercraft shall, within 15 days after acquiring same, make application to the Department for transfer to him of the certificate of number issued to the watercraft giving his name, address and the number of the boat. The purchaser shall apply for a transfer-renewal for a fee as prescribed under Section 3-2 of this Act for approximately 3 years. All transfers will bear September 30 expiration dates in the calendar year of expiration. Upon receipt of the application and fee, together with proof that any tax imposed under the Municipal Use Tax Act or County Use Tax Act has been paid or that no such tax is owed, the Department shall transfer the certificate of number issued to the watercraft to the new owner.
    Unless the application is made and fee paid, and proof of payment of municipal use tax or county use tax or nonliability therefor is made, within 30 days, the watercraft shall be deemed to be without certificate of number and it shall be unlawful for any person to operate the watercraft until the certificate is issued.
    Non-powered watercraft are exempt from this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-6

    (625 ILCS 45/3-6) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-6)
    Sec. 3-6. Conformity with United States Government. In the event that an agency of the United States Government has in force an over-all system of identification numbering for watercraft within the United States, the numbering system employed pursuant to this Act by the Department shall be in conformity therewith.
(Source: P.A. 85-149.)

625 ILCS 45/3-7

    (625 ILCS 45/3-7) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-7)
    Sec. 3-7. Loss of certificate. Should a certificate of number or registration expiration decal become lost, destroyed, or mutilated beyond legibility, the owner of the watercraft shall make application to the Department for the replacement of the certificate or decal, giving his name, address, and the number of his boat and shall at the same time pay to the Department a fee of $5.
(Source: P.A. 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)

625 ILCS 45/3-7.5

    (625 ILCS 45/3-7.5)
    Sec. 3-7.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13. Repealed by P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-8

    (625 ILCS 45/3-8) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-8)
    Sec. 3-8. Department records.) All records of the Department made or kept pursuant to this Article shall be public records.
(Source: P.A. 86-1088.)

625 ILCS 45/3-9

    (625 ILCS 45/3-9) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-9)
    Sec. 3-9. Certificate of number. Every certificate of number awarded pursuant to this Act shall continue in full force and effect for approximately 3 years unless sooner terminated or discontinued in accordance with this Act. All new certificates issued will bear September 30 expiration dates in the calendar year 3 years after the issuing date. Provided however, that the Department may, for purposes of implementing this Section, adopt rules for phasing in the issuance of new certificates and provide for 1, 2 or 3 year expiration dates and pro-rated payments or charges for each registration.
    All certificates shall be renewed for 3 years from the nearest September 30 for a fee as prescribed in Section 3-2 of this Act. All certificates will be invalid after October 15 of the year of expiration. All certificates expiring in a given year shall be renewed between January 1 and September 30 of that year, in order to allow sufficient time for processing.
    The Department shall issue "registration expiration decals" with all new certificates of number, all certificates of number transferred and renewed and all certificates of number renewed. The decals issued for each year shall be of a different and distinct color from the decals of each other year currently displayed. The decals shall be affixed to each side of the bow of the watercraft, except for federally documented vessels, in the manner prescribed by the rules and regulations of the Department. Federally documented vessels shall have decals affixed to the watercraft on each side of the federally documented name of the vessel in the manner prescribed by the rules and regulations of the Department.
    The Department shall fix a day and month of the year on which certificates of number due to expire shall lapse and no longer be of any force and effect unless renewed pursuant to this Act.
    No number or registration expiration decal other than the number awarded or the registration expiration decal issued to a watercraft or granted reciprocity pursuant to this Act shall be painted, attached, or otherwise displayed on either side of the bow of such watercraft. A person engaged in the operation of a licensed boat livery shall pay a fee as prescribed under Section 3-2 of this Act for each watercraft used in the livery operation.
    A person engaged in the manufacture or sale of watercraft of a type otherwise required to be numbered hereunder, upon application to the Department upon forms prescribed by it, may obtain certificates of number for use in the testing or demonstrating of such watercraft upon payment of $10 for each registration. Certificates of number so issued may be used by the applicant in the testing or demonstrating of watercraft by temporary placement of the numbers assigned by such certificates on the watercraft so tested or demonstrated.
    Non-powered watercraft are exempt from this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-10

    (625 ILCS 45/3-10) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-10)
    Sec. 3-10. Registration list. A boat registration list may be furnished for official use at no charge only to such federal, state, county and municipal enforcement agencies as may require such data.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

625 ILCS 45/3-11

    (625 ILCS 45/3-11) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-11)
    Sec. 3-11. Penalty. No person shall at any time falsely alter or change in any manner a certificate of number issued under the provisions hereof, or falsify any record required by this Act, or counterfeit any form of license provided for by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-469, eff. 6-1-18.)

625 ILCS 45/3-12

    (625 ILCS 45/3-12) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-12)
    Sec. 3-12. Exemption from numbering provisions of this Act. A watercraft shall not be required to be numbered under this Act if it is:
    A. A watercraft which has a valid marine document issued by the United States Coast Guard, provided the owner of any such vessel used upon the waters of this State for more than 60 days in any calendar year shall be required to comply with the registration requirements of Section 3-9 of this Act.
    B. Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to Federal law or a Federally-approved numbering system of another State, if such boat will not be within this State for a period in excess of 60 consecutive days.
    C. A watercraft from a country other than the United States temporarily using the waters of this State.
    D. A watercraft whose owner is the United States, a State or a subdivision thereof, and used solely for official purposes and clearly identifiable.
    E. A vessel used exclusively as a ship's lifeboat.
    F. A watercraft belonging to a class of boats which has been exempted from numbering by the Department after such agency has found that an agency of the Federal Government has a numbering system applicable to the class of watercraft to which the watercraft in question belongs and would be exempt from numbering if it were subject to the Federal law.
    G. Watercraft while competing in any race approved by the Department under the provisions of Section 5-15 of this Act or if the watercraft is designed and intended solely for racing while engaged in navigation that is incidental to preparation of the watercraft for the race. Preparation of the watercraft for the race may be accomplished only after obtaining the written authorization of the Department.
    H. Non-powered, owned and operated on water completely impounded on land belonging to the owner of the watercraft. This Section does not apply to water controlled by a club or association.
    I. A non-powered watercraft.
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 45/3-13

    (625 ILCS 45/3-13) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-13)
    Sec. 3-13. Hull identification numbers. Any watercraft manufactured after the effective date of this amendatory Act shall have a hull identification number carved, burned, stamped, embossed, or otherwise permanently affixed to the outboard side of the transom or, if there is no transom, to the outermost starboard side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or other steering mechanism, above the water line in such a way that alteration, removal, or replacement would be obvious and evident. Any individual who manufactures any watercraft, either for private or public use, shall apply to the Department of Natural Resources for issuance of a Hull Identification Number and shall affix such number to watercraft as required by the rules and regulations of the Department.
(Source: P.A. 89-445, eff. 2-7-96.)

625 ILCS 45/3-14

    (625 ILCS 45/3-14) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 313-14)
    Sec. 3-14. A. The Department may issue a historical watercraft identification plaque for a boat that is (1) at least 25 years of age and (2) powered by the boat's original type of power plant. Such a boat shall be known as a "heritage watercraft".
    B. An application for such a plaque shall be on a form prescribed by the Department and shall be accompanied by a $25.00 fee. The heritage watercraft identification plaque shall be designed by the Department and shall be non-expiring.
    C. When prominently displayed on the boat, a heritage watercraft identification plaque shall entitle the boat owner to apply to participate in parades, shows, and special events. The heritage watercraft plaque does not in itself qualify a boat for recreational use.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)