Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/6-417

    (625 ILCS 5/6-417) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-417)
    Sec. 6-417. Instructor's license. Each driver training instructor's license shall authorize the licensee to instruct only at or for the driver training school indicated on the license. The Secretary shall not issue a driver training instructor's license to any individual who is licensed to instruct at or for another driver training school.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10; 96-962, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-418

    (625 ILCS 5/6-418) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-418)
    Sec. 6-418. Instructor's Records.
    Every licensee shall keep a record showing the name and address of each person given instruction and the instruction permit or driver's license number of every person given instruction in the driving of a motor vehicle, and shall show the particular type of instruction given and how much time was devoted to each such type of instruction. Such records shall be open to the inspection of the Secretary or his representatives at all reasonable times, but shall be for the confidential use of the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/6-419

    (625 ILCS 5/6-419) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-419)
    Sec. 6-419. Rules and regulations. The Secretary is authorized to prescribe by rule standards for the eligibility, conduct and operation of driver training schools, and instructors and to adopt other reasonable rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act. The Secretary may adopt rules exempting particular types of driver training schools from specific statutory provisions in Sections 6-401 through 6-424, where application of those provisions would be inconsistent with the manner of instruction offered by those schools. The Secretary, in consultation with the State Board of Education, shall adopt course content standards for driver education for those persons under the age of 18 years, which shall include the operation and equipment of motor vehicles. After June 30, 2017, the course content standards for driver education provided by a driver training school to those persons under the age of 18 years shall include instruction concerning law enforcement procedures for traffic stops, including a demonstration of the proper actions to be taken during a traffic stop and appropriate interactions with law enforcement.
(Source: P.A. 99-720, eff. 1-1-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-420

    (625 ILCS 5/6-420) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-420)
    Sec. 6-420. Denial, Cancellation, Suspension, Revocation and Failure to Renew License. The Secretary may deny, cancel, suspend or revoke, or refuse to renew any driver training school license or any driver training instructor license:
        (1) When the Secretary is satisfied that the licensee
    
fails to meet the requirements to receive or hold a license under this Code;
        (2) Whenever the licensee fails to keep the records
    
required by this Code;
        (3) Whenever the licensee permits fraud or engages in
    
fraudulent practices either with reference to a student or the Secretary, or induces or countenances fraud or fraudulent practices on the part of any applicant for a driver's license or permit;
        (4) Whenever the licensee fails to comply with any
    
provision of this Code or any rule of the Secretary made pursuant thereto;
        (5) Whenever the licensee represents himself as an
    
agent or employee of the Secretary or uses advertising designed to lead or which would reasonably have the effect of leading persons to believe that such licensee is in fact an employee or representative of the Secretary;
        (6) Whenever the licensee or any employee or agent of
    
the licensee solicits driver training or instruction in an office of any department of the Secretary of State having to do with the administration of any law relating to motor vehicles, or within 1,500 feet of any such office;
        (7) Whenever the licensee is convicted of driving
    
while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or a combination thereof; leaving the scene of an accident; reckless homicide or reckless driving; or
        (8) Whenever a driver training school advertises that
    
a driver's license is guaranteed upon completion of the course of instruction.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10; 96-962, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-421

    (625 ILCS 5/6-421) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-421)
    Sec. 6-421. Judicial Review. The action of the Secretary in cancelling, suspending, revoking or denying any license under this Act shall be subject to judicial review in the Circuit Court of Sangamon County or the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all amendments and modifications thereto, and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, are hereby adopted and shall apply to and govern every action for judicial review of the final acts or decisions of the Secretary under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

625 ILCS 5/6-422

    (625 ILCS 5/6-422) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-422)
    Sec. 6-422. Prior law and licenses thereunder. This Act shall not affect the validity of any outstanding license issued to any driver training school or driver training instructor by the Secretary of State under any prior law, nor shall this Act affect the validity or legality of any contract, agreement or undertaking entered into by any driver training school or driver training instructor, or any person, firm, corporation, partnership or association based on those provisions of any prior law.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10; 96-962, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-423

    (625 ILCS 5/6-423) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-423)
    Sec. 6-423. Deposit of fees. Fees collected under this Article shall be disbursed under subsection (g) of Section 2-119 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-424

    (625 ILCS 5/6-424) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-424)
    Sec. 6-424. Injunctions. If any person operates in violation of any provision of this Article, or any rule, regulation, order, or decision of the Secretary of State established under this Article, or in violation of any term, condition or limitation of any license issued under this Article, the Secretary of State, or any other person injured as a result, or any interested person, may apply to the circuit court of the county where the violation or some part occurred, or where the person complained of has an established or additional place of business or resides, to prevent the violation. The court may enforce compliance by injunction or other process restraining the person from further violation and compliance.
(Source: P.A. 87-829; 87-832.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. V

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. V heading)
ARTICLE V.
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATORS

625 ILCS 5/6-500

    (625 ILCS 5/6-500) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-500)
    Sec. 6-500. Definitions of words and phrases. Notwithstanding the definitions set forth elsewhere in this Code, for purposes of the Uniform Commercial Driver's License Act (UCDLA), the words and phrases listed below have the meanings ascribed to them as follows:
    (1) Alcohol. "Alcohol" means any substance containing any form of alcohol, including but not limited to ethanol, methanol, propanol, and isopropanol.
    (2) Alcohol concentration. "Alcohol concentration" means:
        (A) the number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of
    
breath; or
        (B) the number of grams of alcohol per 100
    
milliliters of blood; or
        (C) the number of grams of alcohol per 67 milliliters
    
of urine.
    Alcohol tests administered within 2 hours of the driver being "stopped or detained" shall be considered that driver's "alcohol concentration" for the purposes of enforcing this UCDLA.
    (3) (Blank).
    (4) (Blank).
    (5) (Blank).
    (5.3) CDLIS driver record. "CDLIS driver record" means the electronic record of the individual CDL driver's status and history stored by the State-of-Record as part of the Commercial Driver's License Information System, or CDLIS, established under 49 U.S.C. 31309.
    (5.5) CDLIS motor vehicle record. "CDLIS motor vehicle record" or "CDLIS MVR" means a report generated from the CDLIS driver record meeting the requirements for access to CDLIS information and provided by states to users authorized in 49 C.F.R. 384.225(e)(3) and (4), subject to the provisions of the Driver Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. 2721-2725.
    (5.7) Commercial driver's license downgrade. "Commercial driver's license downgrade" or "CDL downgrade" means either:
        (A) a state allows the driver to change his or her
    
self-certification to interstate, but operating exclusively in transportation or operation excepted from 49 C.F.R. Part 391, as provided in 49 C.F.R. 390.3(f), 391.2, 391.68, or 398.3;
        (B) a state allows the driver to change his or her
    
self-certification to intrastate only, if the driver qualifies under that state's physical qualification requirements for intrastate only;
        (C) a state allows the driver to change his or her
    
certification to intrastate, but operating exclusively in transportation or operations excepted from all or part of the state driver qualification requirements; or
        (D) a state removes the CDL privilege from the driver
    
license.
    (6) Commercial Motor Vehicle.
        (A) "Commercial motor vehicle" or "CMV" means a motor
    
vehicle or combination of motor vehicles used in commerce, except those referred to in subdivision (B), designed to transport passengers or property if the motor vehicle:
            (i) has a gross combination weight rating or
        
gross combination weight of 11,794 kilograms or more (26,001 pounds or more), whichever is greater, inclusive of any towed unit with a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of more than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds), whichever is greater; or
            (i-5) has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross
        
vehicle weight of 11,794 or more kilograms (26,001 pounds or more), whichever is greater; or
            (ii) is designed to transport 16 or more persons,
        
including the driver; or
            (iii) is of any size and is used in transporting
        
hazardous materials as defined in 49 C.F.R. 383.5.
        (B) Pursuant to the interpretation of the Commercial
    
Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 by the Federal Highway Administration, the definition of "commercial motor vehicle" does not include:
            (i) recreational vehicles, when operated
        
primarily for personal use;
            (ii) vehicles owned by or operated under the
        
direction of the United States Department of Defense or the United States Coast Guard only when operated by non-civilian personnel. This includes any operator on active military duty; members of the Reserves; National Guard; personnel on part-time training; and National Guard military technicians (civilians who are required to wear military uniforms and are subject to the Code of Military Justice); or
            (iii) firefighting, police, and other emergency
        
equipment (including, without limitation, equipment owned or operated by a HazMat or technical rescue team authorized by a county board under Section 5-1127 of the Counties Code), with audible and visual signals, owned or operated by or for a governmental entity, which is necessary to the preservation of life or property or the execution of emergency governmental functions which are normally not subject to general traffic rules and regulations.
    (7) Controlled Substance. "Controlled substance" shall have the same meaning as defined in Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, and shall also include cannabis as defined in Section 3 of the Cannabis Control Act and methamphetamine as defined in Section 10 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (8) Conviction. "Conviction" means an unvacated adjudication of guilt or a determination that a person has violated or failed to comply with the law in a court of original jurisdiction or by an authorized administrative tribunal; an unvacated forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the person's appearance in court; a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court; the payment of a fine or court cost regardless of whether the imposition of sentence is deferred and ultimately a judgment dismissing the underlying charge is entered; or a violation of a condition of release without bail, regardless of whether or not the penalty is rebated, suspended or probated.
    (8.5) Day. "Day" means calendar day.
    (9) (Blank).
    (10) (Blank).
    (11) (Blank).
    (12) (Blank).
    (13) Driver. "Driver" means any person who drives, operates, or is in physical control of a commercial motor vehicle, any person who is required to hold a CDL, or any person who is a holder of a CDL while operating a non-commercial motor vehicle.
    (13.5) Driver applicant. "Driver applicant" means an individual who applies to a state or other jurisdiction to obtain, transfer, upgrade, or renew a CDL or to obtain or renew a CLP.
    (13.8) Electronic device. "Electronic device" includes, but is not limited to, a cellular telephone, personal digital assistant, pager, computer, or any other device used to input, write, send, receive, or read text.
    (14) Employee. "Employee" means a person who is employed as a commercial motor vehicle driver. A person who is self-employed as a commercial motor vehicle driver must comply with the requirements of this UCDLA pertaining to employees. An owner-operator on a long-term lease shall be considered an employee.
    (15) Employer. "Employer" means a person (including the United States, a State or a local authority) who owns or leases a commercial motor vehicle or assigns employees to operate such a vehicle. A person who is self-employed as a commercial motor vehicle driver must comply with the requirements of this UCDLA.
    (15.1) Endorsement. "Endorsement" means an authorization to an individual's CLP or CDL required to permit the individual to operate certain types of commercial motor vehicles.
    (15.3) Excepted interstate. "Excepted interstate" means a person who operates or expects to operate in interstate commerce, but engages exclusively in transportation or operations excepted under 49 C.F.R. 390.3(f), 391.2, 391.68, or 398.3 from all or part of the qualification requirements of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 and is not required to obtain a medical examiner's certificate by 49 C.F.R. 391.45.
    (15.5) Excepted intrastate. "Excepted intrastate" means a person who operates in intrastate commerce but engages exclusively in transportation or operations excepted from all or parts of the state driver qualification requirements.
    (16) (Blank).
    (16.5) Fatality. "Fatality" means the death of a person as a result of a motor vehicle accident.
    (16.7) Foreign commercial driver. "Foreign commercial driver" means a person licensed to operate a commercial motor vehicle by an authority outside the United States, or a citizen of a foreign country who operates a commercial motor vehicle in the United States.
    (17) Foreign jurisdiction. "Foreign jurisdiction" means a sovereign jurisdiction that does not fall within the definition of "State".
    (18) (Blank).
    (19) (Blank).
    (20) Hazardous materials. "Hazardous Material" means any material that has been designated under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49 C.F.R. part 172 or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 C.F.R. part 73.
    (20.5) Imminent Hazard. "Imminent hazard" means the existence of any condition of a vehicle, employee, or commercial motor vehicle operations that substantially increases the likelihood of serious injury or death if not discontinued immediately; or a condition relating to hazardous material that presents a substantial likelihood that death, serious illness, severe personal injury, or a substantial endangerment to health, property, or the environment may occur before the reasonably foreseeable completion date of a formal proceeding begun to lessen the risk of that death, illness, injury or endangerment.
    (20.6) Issuance. "Issuance" means initial issuance, transfer, renewal, or upgrade of a CLP or CDL and non-domiciled CLP or CDL.
    (20.7) Issue. "Issue" means initial issuance, transfer, renewal, or upgrade of a CLP or CDL and non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL.
    (21) Long-term lease. "Long-term lease" means a lease of a commercial motor vehicle by the owner-lessor to a lessee, for a period of more than 29 days.
    (21.01) Manual transmission. "Manual transmission" means a transmission utilizing a driver-operated clutch that is activated by a pedal or lever and a gear-shift mechanism operated either by hand or foot including those known as a stick shift, stick, straight drive, or standard transmission. All other transmissions, whether semi-automatic or automatic, shall be considered automatic for the purposes of the standardized restriction code.
    (21.1) Medical examiner. "Medical examiner" means an individual certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners in accordance with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 49 CFR 390.101 et seq.
    (21.2) Medical examiner's certificate. "Medical examiner's certificate" means either (1) prior to June 22, 2018, a document prescribed or approved by the Secretary of State that is issued by a medical examiner to a driver to medically qualify him or her to drive; or (2) beginning June 22, 2018, an electronic submission of results of an examination conducted by a medical examiner listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration of a driver to medically qualify him or her to drive.
    (21.5) Medical variance. "Medical variance" means a driver has received one of the following from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration which allows the driver to be issued a medical certificate: (1) an exemption letter permitting operation of a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 C.F.R. Part 381, Subpart C or 49 C.F.R. 391.64; or (2) a skill performance evaluation (SPE) certificate permitting operation of a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 391.49.
    (21.7) Mobile telephone. "Mobile telephone" means a mobile communication device that falls under or uses any commercial mobile radio service, as defined in regulations of the Federal Communications Commission, 47 CFR 20.3. It does not include two-way or citizens band radio services.
    (22) Motor Vehicle. "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled, and every vehicle which is propelled by electric power obtained from over head trolley wires but not operated upon rails, except vehicles moved solely by human power and motorized wheel chairs.
    (22.2) Motor vehicle record. "Motor vehicle record" means a report of the driving status and history of a driver generated from the driver record provided to users, such as drivers or employers, and is subject to the provisions of the Driver Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. 2721-2725.
    (22.5) Non-CMV. "Non-CMV" means a motor vehicle or combination of motor vehicles not defined by the term "commercial motor vehicle" or "CMV" in this Section.
    (22.7) Non-excepted interstate. "Non-excepted interstate" means a person who operates or expects to operate in interstate commerce, is subject to and meets the qualification requirements under 49 C.F.R. Part 391, and is required to obtain a medical examiner's certificate by 49 C.F.R. 391.45.
    (22.8) Non-excepted intrastate. "Non-excepted intrastate" means a person who operates only in intrastate commerce and is subject to State driver qualification requirements.
    (23) Non-domiciled CLP or Non-domiciled CDL. "Non-domiciled CLP" or "Non-domiciled CDL" means a CLP or CDL, respectively, issued by a state or other jurisdiction under either of the following two conditions:
        (i) to an individual domiciled in a foreign country
    
meeting the requirements of Part 383.23(b)(1) of 49 C.F.R. of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
        (ii) to an individual domiciled in another state
    
meeting the requirements of Part 383.23(b)(2) of 49 C.F.R. of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
    (24) (Blank).
    (25) (Blank).
    (25.5) Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing Violation. "Railroad-highway grade crossing violation" means a violation, while operating a commercial motor vehicle, of any of the following:
        (A) Section 11-1201, 11-1202, or 11-1425 of this
    
Code.
        (B) Any other similar law or local ordinance of any
    
state relating to railroad-highway grade crossing.
    (25.7) School Bus. "School bus" means a commercial motor vehicle used to transport pre-primary, primary, or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school-sponsored events. "School bus" does not include a bus used as a common carrier.
    (26) Serious Traffic Violation. "Serious traffic violation" means:
        (A) a conviction when operating a commercial motor
    
vehicle, or when operating a non-CMV while holding a CLP or CDL, of:
            (i) a violation relating to excessive speeding,
        
involving a single speeding charge of 15 miles per hour or more above the legal speed limit; or
            (ii) a violation relating to reckless driving; or
            (iii) a violation of any State law or local
        
ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than parking violations) arising in connection with a fatal traffic accident; or
            (iv) a violation of Section 6-501, relating to
        
having multiple driver's licenses; or
            (v) a violation of paragraph (a) of Section
        
6-507, relating to the requirement to have a valid CLP or CDL; or
            (vi) a violation relating to improper or erratic
        
traffic lane changes; or
            (vii) a violation relating to following another
        
vehicle too closely; or
            (viii) a violation relating to texting while
        
driving; or
            (ix) a violation relating to the use of a
        
hand-held mobile telephone while driving; or
        (B) any other similar violation of a law or local
    
ordinance of any state relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking violation, which the Secretary of State determines by administrative rule to be serious.
    (27) State. "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia and any province or territory of Canada.
    (28) (Blank).
    (29) (Blank).
    (30) (Blank).
    (31) (Blank).
    (32) Texting. "Texting" means manually entering alphanumeric text into, or reading text from, an electronic device.
        (1) Texting includes, but is not limited to, short
    
message service, emailing, instant messaging, a command or request to access a World Wide Web page, pressing more than a single button to initiate or terminate a voice communication using a mobile telephone, or engaging in any other form of electronic text retrieval or entry for present or future communication.
        (2) Texting does not include:
            (i) inputting, selecting, or reading information
        
on a global positioning system or navigation system; or
            (ii) pressing a single button to initiate or
        
terminate a voice communication using a mobile telephone; or
            (iii) using a device capable of performing
        
multiple functions (for example, a fleet management system, dispatching device, smart phone, citizens band radio, or music player) for a purpose that is not otherwise prohibited by Part 392 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
    (32.3) Third party skills test examiner. "Third party skills test examiner" means a person employed by a third party tester who is authorized by the State to administer the CDL skills tests specified in 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts G and H.
    (32.5) Third party tester. "Third party tester" means a person (including, but not limited to, another state, a motor carrier, a private driver training facility or other private institution, or a department, agency, or instrumentality of a local government) authorized by the State to employ skills test examiners to administer the CDL skills tests specified in 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts G and H.
    (32.7) United States. "United States" means the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
    (33) Use a hand-held mobile telephone. "Use a hand-held mobile telephone" means:
        (1) using at least one hand to hold a mobile
    
telephone to conduct a voice communication;
        (2) dialing or answering a mobile telephone by
    
pressing more than a single button; or
        (3) reaching for a mobile telephone in a manner that
    
requires a driver to maneuver so that he or she is no longer in a seated driving position, restrained by a seat belt that is installed in accordance with 49 CFR 393.93 and adjusted in accordance with the vehicle manufacturer's instructions.
(Source: P.A. 99-57, eff. 7-16-15; 100-223, eff. 8-18-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-500.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-500.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-500.1)
    Sec. 6-500.1. Short title. This Article may be cited as the Uniform Commercial Driver's License Act or "UCDLA".
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-500.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-500.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-500.2)
    Sec. 6-500.2. Statement of intent and purpose. The purpose of this UCDLA is to implement the federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (CMVSA) (Title XII of Pub. Law 99-570) and reduce or prevent commercial motor vehicle accidents, fatalities and injuries by:
    (a) permitting commercial drivers to hold only one driver's license;
    (b) disqualifying commercial drivers who have committed certain serious traffic violations, or other specified offenses; and
    (c) strengthening commercial driver licensing and testing standards.
    This UCDLA is remedial in nature and should be liberally construed to promote the public's health, safety and welfare. To the extent that this UCDLA conflicts with any other provisions of this Code, the UCDLA shall prevail. Where this UCDLA is silent, the other general provisions of this Code shall apply.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-501

    (625 ILCS 5/6-501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-501)
    Sec. 6-501. Commercial drivers - permitted only one driver's license. No person who drives a commercial motor vehicle, on the highways, shall have more than one driver's license.
    Any person convicted of violating this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 95-382, eff. 8-23-07.)

625 ILCS 5/6-502

    (625 ILCS 5/6-502) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-502)
    Sec. 6-502. Commercial motor vehicle drivers - reporting of traffic violations to the Secretary of State. When required by the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, every person who has been issued an Illinois non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL or who is a domiciliary of this State and drives a commercial motor vehicle in violation of a law or local ordinance of any State relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than parking violations) in any other state, shall notify the Secretary of State, on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Secretary, of such violation within 30 days after the date such person has been convicted of such offense.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-503

    (625 ILCS 5/6-503) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-503)
    Sec. 6-503. Commercial motor vehicle drivers - reporting of traffic violations to employer. Every person who is a domiciliary of this State or who has been issued an Illinois non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL and drives a commercial motor vehicle in violation of a law or local ordinance of any State relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than parking violations) in this or any other state, shall notify such person's employer of such violation within 30 days after the date such person is convicted of such offense.
    In the event such person is a "common carrier of property by motor vehicle", as defined in Section 18c-1104 of this Code, such person shall notify the principal lessor of such within 30 days after the date such person is convicted of the violation. However, if such person is an independent contractor or owner operator, such report shall be kept at the principal place of business and available during normal office hours for inspection and auditing purposes by an authorized agency.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-504

    (625 ILCS 5/6-504) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-504)
    Sec. 6-504. Commercial motor vehicle drivers - other reporting requirements. All drivers of commercial motor vehicles licensed or domiciled in Illinois:
    (1) who have their driving privileges suspended, revoked or cancelled by any state; or
    (2) who lose their privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in any state for any period; or
    (3) who are disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for any period; or
    (4) who are placed "out-of-service" pursuant to Section 6-515;
shall notify: (i) their employer of such suspension, revocation, cancellation, lost right, disqualification, or "out-of-service" action before the end of the business day following the day the driver received notice of such action; and within 30 days after the effective date of such action.
    (ii) the Secretary of State of any such out-of-state suspension, revocation, cancellation, lost right, disqualification, or "out-of-service" action within 30 days after the effective date of such action.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-505

    (625 ILCS 5/6-505) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-505)
    Sec. 6-505. Commercial motor vehicle driver - duty to report certain previous employment to potential employer. Each person who applies for employment as a driver of a commercial motor vehicle, with any employer, shall notify such potential employer at the time of such application of any and all previous employment for the last 10 years, as a driver of a commercial motor vehicle including, but not necessarily limited to, the dates between which the applicant drove for each employer, the reason for leaving each such employment and the information contained in the notification requirements of Section 6-504.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-506

    (625 ILCS 5/6-506) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-506)
    Sec. 6-506. Commercial motor vehicle driver - employer/owner responsibilities.
    (a) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall allow, permit, authorize, or require an employee to drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways if he or she knows or should reasonably know that the employee:
        (1) has a driver's license suspended, revoked or
    
cancelled by any state; or
        (2) has lost the privilege to drive a commercial
    
motor vehicle in any state; or
        (3) has been disqualified from driving a commercial
    
motor vehicle; or
        (4) has more than one CLP or CDL, except as provided
    
by this UCDLA; or
        (5) is subject to or in violation of an
    
"out-of-service" order; or
        (6) does not have a current CLP or CDL or a CLP or
    
CDL with the proper class or endorsements. An employer may not use a driver to operate a CMV who violates any restriction on the driver's CLP or CDL.
    (b) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle in violation of any law or regulation pertaining to railroad-highway grade crossings.
    (b-3) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the commercial motor vehicle is subject to an "out-of-service" order.
    (b-5) No employer or commercial motor vehicle owner shall knowingly allow, permit, authorize, or require a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order.
    (c) Any employer convicted of violating subsection (a), (b-3), or (b-5) of this Section, whether individually or in connection with one or more other persons, or as principal agent, or accessory, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-507

    (625 ILCS 5/6-507) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-507)
    Sec. 6-507. Commercial Driver's License (CDL) or Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) required.
    (a) Except as expressly permitted by this UCDLA, or when driving pursuant to the issuance of a commercial learner's permit and accompanied by the holder of a CDL valid for the vehicle being driven; no person shall drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways without:
        (1) a CDL in the driver's possession;
        (2) having obtained a CLP or CDL;
        (3) the proper class of CLP or CDL or endorsements or
    
both for the specific vehicle group being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported; or
        (4) a copy of a medical variance document, if one
    
exists, such as an exemption letter or a skill performance evaluation certificate.
    (a-5) A CLP or CDL holder whose CLP or CDL is held by this State or any other state in the course of enforcement of a motor vehicle traffic code and who has not been convicted of a disqualifying offense under 49 C.F.R. 383.51 based on this enforcement, may drive a CMV while holding a dated receipt for the CLP or CDL.
    (b) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways while such person's driving privilege, license, or permit is:
        (1) Suspended, revoked, cancelled, or subject to
    
disqualification. Any person convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of this or any other state shall have their driving privileges revoked under paragraph 12 of subsection (a) of Section 6-205 of this Code.
        (2) Subject to or in violation of an "out-of-service"
    
order. Any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL and is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
        (3) Subject to or in violation of a driver or vehicle
    
"out of service" order while operating a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded. Any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL and is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of this or any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (b-3) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways during a period which the commercial motor vehicle or the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order. Any person who is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (b-5) Except as otherwise provided by this Code, no person may operate a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver or hazardous materials of a type or quantity that requires the vehicle to be placarded during a period in which the commercial motor vehicle or the motor carrier operation is subject to an "out-of-service" order. Any person who is convicted of violating this provision or a similar provision of any other state shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle under subsection (i) of Section 6-514 of this Code.
    (c) Pursuant to the options provided to the States by FHWA Docket No. MC-88-8, the driver of any motor vehicle controlled or operated by or for a farmer is waived from the requirements of this Section, when such motor vehicle is being used to transport: agricultural products; implements of husbandry; or farm supplies; to and from a farm, as long as such movement is not over 150 air miles from the originating farm. This waiver does not apply to the driver of any motor vehicle being used in a common or contract carrier type operation. However, for those drivers of any truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations registered under subsection (c) of Section 3-815 of this Code, this waiver shall apply only when the driver is a farmer or a member of the farmer's family and the driver is 21 years of age or more and has successfully completed any tests the Secretary of State deems necessary.
    In addition, the farmer or a member of the farmer's family who operates a truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations pursuant to this waiver shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties and restrictions with respect to Sections 6-514 and 6-515 of this Code applicable to the driver who possesses a commercial driver's license issued under this Code, except that the driver shall not be subject to any additional duties or restrictions contained in Part 382 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations that are not otherwise imposed under Section 6-514 or 6-515 of this Code.
    For purposes of this subsection (c), a member of the farmer's family is a natural or in-law spouse, child, parent, or sibling.
    As required under the Code of Federal Regulations 49 CFR 390.39, an operator of a covered farm vehicle, as defined under Section 18b-101 of this Code, is exempt from the requirements of this Section. However, for drivers of any truck-tractor semitrailer combination or combinations operating as a covered farm vehicle, the driver must successfully complete any tests the Secretary of State deems necessary. When operating any truck-tractor semitrailer combination as a covered farm vehicle, the exemption applies only to persons age 21 or older, if operating the vehicle in interstate driving, and to persons at least 18 years of age, if operating the vehicle in intrastate driving. The Secretary may adopt rules necessary to implement this Section.
    (c-5) An employee of a township or road district with a population of less than 3,000 operating a vehicle within the boundaries of the township or road district for the purpose of removing snow or ice from a roadway by plowing, sanding, or salting is waived from the requirements of this Section when the employee is needed to operate the vehicle because the employee of the township or road district who ordinarily operates the vehicle and who has a commercial driver's license is unable to operate the vehicle or is in need of additional assistance due to a snow emergency.
    (c-10) A driver of a commercial motor vehicle used primarily in the transportation of propane winter heating fuel or a driver of a motor vehicle used to respond to a pipeline emergency is waived from the requirements of this Section if such requirements would prevent the driver from responding to an emergency condition requiring immediate response as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5.
    (d) Any person convicted of violating this Section, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (e) Any person convicted of violating paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of this Section, shall have all driving privileges revoked by the Secretary of State.
    (f) This Section shall not apply to:
        (1) A person who currently holds a valid Illinois
    
driver's license, for the type of vehicle being operated, until the expiration of such license or April 1, 1992, whichever is earlier; or
        (2) A non-Illinois domiciliary who is properly
    
licensed in another State, until April 1, 1992. A non-Illinois domiciliary, if such domiciliary is properly licensed in another State or foreign jurisdiction, until April 1, 1992.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 99-57, eff. 7-16-15; 99-607, eff. 7-22-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-507.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-507.5)
    Sec. 6-507.5. Application for Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP).
    (a) The application for a CLP must include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) the driver applicant's full legal name and
    
current Illinois domiciliary address, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of Illinois residency or the driver applicant is from another state and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of domicile in the state which issued the driver applicant's Non-CDL;
        (2) a physical description of the driver applicant
    
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (3) date of birth;
        (4) the driver applicant's social security number;
        (5) the driver applicant's signature;
        (6) the names of all states where the driver
    
applicant has previously been licensed to drive any type of motor vehicle during the previous 10 years under 49 C.F.R. Part 383;
        (7) proof of citizenship or lawful permanent
    
residency as set forth in Table 1 of 49 C.F.R. 383.71, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CLP, in which case the applicant must provide an unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by USCIS or an unexpired foreign passport accompanied by an approved I-94 form documenting the applicant's most recent admittance into the United States; and
        (8) any other information required by the Secretary
    
of State.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (b-5), no CLP shall be issued to a driver applicant unless the applicant has taken and passed a general knowledge test that meets the federal standards contained in 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts F, G, and H for the commercial motor vehicle the applicant expects to operate.
    (b-5) The Secretary of State may waive the general knowledge test specified in 49 CFR 383.71(a)(2)(ii) for a qualifying driver applicant of a commercial learner's permit. A qualifying driver applicant shall:
        (1) be a current resident of this State;
        (2) be a current or former member of the military
    
services, including a member of any reserve component or National Guard unit;
        (3) within one year prior to the application, have
    
been regularly employed in a military position that requires the operation of large trucks;
        (4) have received formal military training in the
    
operation of a vehicle similar to the commercial motor vehicle the applicant expects to operate; and
        (5) provide the Secretary of State with a general
    
knowledge test waiver form signed by the applicant and his or her commanding officer certifying that the applicant qualifies for the general knowledge test waiver.
    (c) No CLP shall be issued to a driver applicant unless the applicant possesses a valid Illinois driver's license or if the applicant is applying for a non-domiciled CLP under subsection (b) of Section 6-509 of this Code, in which case the driver applicant must possess a valid driver's license from his or her state of domicile.
    (d) No CLP shall be issued to a person under 18 years of age.
    (e) No person shall be issued a CLP unless the person certifies to the Secretary one of the following types of driving operations in which he or she will be engaged:
        (1) non-excepted interstate;
        (2) non-excepted intrastate;
        (3) excepted interstate; or
        (4) excepted intrastate.
    (f) No person shall be issued a CLP unless the person certifies to the Secretary that he or she is not subject to any disqualification under 49 C.F.R. 383.51, or any license disqualification under State law, and that he or she does not have a driver's license from more than one state or jurisdiction.
    (g) No CLP shall be issued to a person while the person is subject to a disqualification from driving a commercial motor vehicle, unless otherwise permitted by this Code, while the person's driver's license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled in any state, or any territory or province of Canada; nor may a CLP be issued to a person who has a CLP or CDL issued by any other state or foreign jurisdiction, unless the person surrenders all of these licenses. No CLP shall be issued to or renewed for a person who does not meet the requirement of 49 C.F.R. 391.41(b)(11). The requirement may be met with the aid of a hearing aid.
    (h) No CLP with a Passenger, School Bus or Tank Vehicle endorsement shall be issued to a person unless the driver applicant has taken and passed the knowledge test for each endorsement.
        (1) A CLP holder with a Passenger (P) endorsement is
    
prohibited from operating a CMV carrying passengers, other than federal or State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, or other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by subsection (a) of Section 6-507 of this Code. The P endorsement must be class specific.
        (2) A CLP holder with a School Bus (S) endorsement is
    
prohibited from operating a school bus with passengers other than federal or State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, or other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by subsection (a) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (3) A CLP holder with a Tank Vehicle (N) endorsement
    
may only operate an empty tank vehicle and is prohibited from operating any tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous material that has not been purged of all residue.
        (4) All other federal endorsements are prohibited on
    
a CLP.
    (i) No CLP holder may operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous material as defined in paragraph (20) of Section 6-500 of this Code.
    (j) The CLP holder must be accompanied by the holder of a valid CDL who has the proper CDL group and endorsement necessary to operate the CMV. The CDL holder must at all times be physically present in the front seat of the vehicle next to the CLP holder or, in the case of a passenger vehicle, directly behind or in the first row behind the driver and must have the CLP holder under observation and direct supervision.
    (k) A CLP is valid for 180 days from the date of issuance. A CLP may be renewed for an additional 180 days without requiring the CLP holder to retake the general and endorsement knowledge tests.
    (l) A CLP issued prior to July 1, 2014 for a limited time period according to state requirements, shall be considered a valid commercial driver's license for purposes of behind-the-wheel training on public roads or highways.
(Source: P.A. 100-223, eff. 8-18-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-508

    (625 ILCS 5/6-508) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-508)
    Sec. 6-508. Commercial Driver's License (CDL) - qualification standards.
    (a) Testing.
        (1) General. No person shall be issued an original
    
or renewal CDL unless that person is domiciled in this State or is applying for a non-domiciled CDL under Sections 6-509 and 6-510 of this Code. The Secretary shall cause to be administered such tests as the Secretary deems necessary to meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. Part 383, subparts F, G, H, and J.
        (1.5) Effective July 1, 2014, no person shall be
    
issued an original CDL or an upgraded CDL that requires a skills test unless that person has held a CLP, for a minimum of 14 calendar days, for the classification of vehicle and endorsement, if any, for which the person is seeking a CDL.
        (2) Third party testing. The Secretary of State may
    
authorize a "third party tester", pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 383.75 and 49 C.F.R. 384.228 and 384.229, to administer the skills test or tests specified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration pursuant to the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 and any appropriate federal rule.
    (b) Waiver of Skills Test. The Secretary of State may waive the skills test specified in this Section for a driver applicant for a commercial driver license who meets the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.77. The Secretary of State shall waive the skills tests specified in this Section for a driver applicant who has military commercial motor vehicle experience, subject to the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.77.
    (b-1) No person shall be issued a CDL unless the person certifies to the Secretary one of the following types of driving operations in which he or she will be engaged:
        (1) non-excepted interstate;
        (2) non-excepted intrastate;
        (3) excepted interstate; or
        (4) excepted intrastate.
    (b-2) (Blank).
    (c) Limitations on issuance of a CDL. A CDL shall not be issued to a person while the person is subject to a disqualification from driving a commercial motor vehicle, or unless otherwise permitted by this Code, while the person's driver's license is suspended, revoked or cancelled in any state, or any territory or province of Canada; nor may a CLP or CDL be issued to a person who has a CLP or CDL issued by any other state, or foreign jurisdiction, nor may a CDL be issued to a person who has an Illinois CLP unless the person first surrenders all of these licenses or permits. However, a person may hold an Illinois CLP and an Illinois CDL providing the CLP is necessary to train or practice for an endorsement or vehicle classification not present on the current CDL. No CDL shall be issued to or renewed for a person who does not meet the requirement of 49 CFR 391.41(b)(11). The requirement may be met with the aid of a hearing aid.
    (c-1) The Secretary may issue a CDL with a school bus driver endorsement to allow a person to drive the type of bus described in subsection (d-5) of Section 6-104 of this Code. The CDL with a school bus driver endorsement may be issued only to a person meeting the following requirements:
        (1) the person has submitted his or her fingerprints
    
to the Department of State Police in the form and manner prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the fingerprint records now and hereafter filed in the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history records databases;
        (2) the person has passed a written test,
    
administered by the Secretary of State, on charter bus operation, charter bus safety, and certain special traffic laws relating to school buses determined by the Secretary of State to be relevant to charter buses, and submitted to a review of the driver applicant's driving habits by the Secretary of State at the time the written test is given;
        (3) the person has demonstrated physical fitness to
    
operate school buses by submitting the results of a medical examination, including tests for drug use; and
        (4) the person has not been convicted of committing
    
or attempting to commit any one or more of the following offenses: (i) those offenses defined in Sections 8-1.2, 9-1, 9-1.2, 9-2, 9-2.1, 9-3, 9-3.2, 9-3.3, 10-1, 10-2, 10-3.1, 10-4, 10-5, 10-5.1, 10-6, 10-7, 10-9, 11-1.20, 11-1.30, 11-1.40, 11-1.50, 11-1.60, 11-6, 11-6.5, 11-6.6, 11-9, 11-9.1, 11-9.3, 11-9.4, 11-14, 11-14.1, 11-14.3, 11-14.4, 11-15, 11-15.1, 11-16, 11-17, 11-17.1, 11-18, 11-18.1, 11-19, 11-19.1, 11-19.2, 11-20, 11-20.1, 11-20.1B, 11-20.3, 11-21, 11-22, 11-23, 11-24, 11-25, 11-26, 11-30, 12-2.6, 12-3.1, 12-4, 12-4.1, 12-4.2, 12-4.2-5, 12-4.3, 12-4.4, 12-4.5, 12-4.6, 12-4.7, 12-4.9, 12-5.01, 12-6, 12-6.2, 12-7.1, 12-7.3, 12-7.4, 12-7.5, 12-11, 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, 12-16, 12-16.2, 12-21.5, 12-21.6, 12-33, 12C-5, 12C-10, 12C-20, 12C-30, 12C-45, 16-16, 16-16.1, 18-1, 18-2, 18-3, 18-4, 18-5, 19-6, 20-1, 20-1.1, 20-1.2, 20-1.3, 20-2, 24-1, 24-1.1, 24-1.2, 24-1.2-5, 24-1.6, 24-1.7, 24-2.1, 24-3.3, 24-3.5, 24-3.8, 24-3.9, 31A-1, 31A-1.1, 33A-2, and 33D-1, and in subsection (b) of Section 8-1, and in subdivisions (a)(1), (a)(2), (b)(1), (e)(1), (e)(2), (e)(3), (e)(4), and (f)(1) of Section 12-3.05, and in subsection (a) and subsection (b), clause (1), of Section 12-4, and in subsection (A), clauses (a) and (b), of Section 24-3, and those offenses contained in Article 29D of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (ii) those offenses defined in the Cannabis Control Act except those offenses defined in subsections (a) and (b) of Section 4, and subsection (a) of Section 5 of the Cannabis Control Act; (iii) those offenses defined in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; (iv) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; (v) any offense committed or attempted in any other state or against the laws of the United States, which if committed or attempted in this State would be punishable as one or more of the foregoing offenses; (vi) the offenses defined in Sections 4.1 and 5.1 of the Wrongs to Children Act or Section 11-9.1A of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (vii) those offenses defined in Section 6-16 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934; and (viii) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Precursor Control Act.
    The Department of State Police shall charge a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited into the State Police Services Fund and may not exceed the actual cost of the records check.
    (c-2) The Secretary shall issue a CDL with a school bus endorsement to allow a person to drive a school bus as defined in this Section. The CDL shall be issued according to the requirements outlined in 49 C.F.R. 383. A person may not operate a school bus as defined in this Section without a school bus endorsement. The Secretary of State may adopt rules consistent with Federal guidelines to implement this subsection (c-2).
    (d) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 97-208, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-52, eff. 1-1-14; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for effective date of changes made by 98-176); 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-508.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-508.1)
    Sec. 6-508.1. Medical examiner's certificate.
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to drive a CMV in non-excepted interstate commerce unless the person holds a CLP or CDL and is medically certified as physically qualified to do so.
    (b) No person who has certified to non-excepted interstate driving as provided in Sections 6-507.5 and 6-508 of this Code shall be issued a CLP or CDL unless that person has a current medical examiner's certificate on the CDLIS driver record.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) On and after January 30, 2014, all persons who hold a commercial driver instruction permit or CDL who have certified as non-excepted interstate shall maintain a current medical examiner's certificate on file with the Secretary. On and after July 1, 2014, all persons issued a CLP who have certified as non-excepted interstate shall maintain a current medical examiner's certificate on file with the Secretary.
    (e) Before June 22, 2018, the Secretary shall post the following to the CDLIS driver record within 10 calendar days of receipt of a medical examiner's certificate of a driver who has certified as non-excepted interstate:
        (1) the medical examiner's name;
        (2) the medical examiner's telephone number;
        (3) the date of issuance of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (4) the medical examiner's license number and the
    
state that issued it;
        (5) the medical certification status;
        (6) the expiration date of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (7) the existence of any medical variance on the
    
medical examiner's certificate, including, but not limited to, an exemption, Skills Performance Evaluation certification, issuance and expiration date of the medical variance, or any grandfather provisions;
        (8) any restrictions noted on the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (9) the date the medical examiner's certificate
    
information was posted to the CDLIS driver record; and
        (10) the medical examiner's National Registry of
    
Certified Medical Examiners identification number.
    (e-5) Beginning June 22, 2018, the Secretary shall post the following to the CDLIS driver record within one business day of electronic receipt from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration of a driver's identification, examination results, restriction information, and medical variance information resulting from an examination performed by a medical examiner on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners for any driver who has certified as non-excepted interstate:
        (1) the medical examiner's name;
        (2) the medical examiner's telephone number;
        (3) the date of issuance of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (4) the medical examiner's license number and the
    
state that issued it;
        (5) the medical certification status;
        (6) the expiration date of the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (7) the existence of any medical variance on the
    
medical examiner's certificate, including, but not limited to, an exemption, Skills Performance Evaluation certification, issue and expiration date of a medical variance, or any grandfather provisions;
        (8) any restrictions noted on the medical examiner's
    
certificate;
        (9) the date the medical examiner's certificate
    
information was posted to the CDLIS driver record; and
        (10) the medical examiner's National Registry of
    
Certified Medical Examiners identification number.
    (f) Within 10 calendar days of the expiration or rescission of the driver's medical examiner's certificate or medical variance or both, the Secretary shall update the medical certification status to "not certified".
    (g) Within 10 calendar days of receipt of information from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regarding issuance or renewal of a medical variance, the Secretary shall update the CDLIS driver record to include the medical variance information provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
    (g-5) Beginning June 22, 2018, within one business day of electronic receipt of information from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regarding issuance or renewal of a medical variance, the Secretary shall update the CDLIS driver record to include the medical variance information provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
    (h) The Secretary shall notify the driver of his or her non-certified status and that his or her CDL will be canceled unless the driver submits a current medical examiner's certificate or medical variance or changes his or her self-certification to driving only in excepted or intrastate commerce.
    (i) Within 60 calendar days of a driver's medical certification status becoming non-certified, the Secretary shall cancel the CDL.
    (j) As required under the Code of Federal Regulations 49 CFR 390.39, an operator of a covered farm vehicle, as defined under Section 18b-101 of this Code, is exempt from the requirements of this Section.
    (k) For purposes of ensuring a person is medically fit to drive a commercial motor vehicle, the Secretary may release medical information provided by an applicant or a holder of a CDL or CLP to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Medical information includes, but is not limited to, a medical examiner's certificate, a medical report that the Secretary requires to be submitted, statements regarding medical conditions made by an applicant or a holder of a CDL or CLP, or statements made by his or her physician.
(Source: P.A. 99-57, eff. 7-16-15; 99-607, eff. 7-22-16; 100-223, eff. 8-18-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-509

    (625 ILCS 5/6-509) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-509)
    Sec. 6-509. Non-domiciled commercial learner's permit and non-domiciled commercial driver's license.
    (a) The Secretary of State may issue a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL to a domiciliary of a foreign jurisdiction if the United States Secretary of Transportation has determined that the commercial motor vehicle testing and licensing standards, in that foreign jurisdiction, do not meet the testing standards established in 49 C.F.R. Part 383. A non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL shall be issued in accordance with the testing and licensing standards contained in subparts F, G, and H of 49 C.F.R. Part 383. The word "Non-domiciled" must appear on the face of the non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL. A driver applicant must surrender any non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL, license or permit issued by any other state.
    (b) If an individual is domiciled in a state while that state is prohibited from issuing CDLs in accordance with 49 C.F.R. Part 384.405, that individual is eligible to obtain a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL from any state that elects to issue a non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL and which complies with the testing and licensing standards contained in subparts F, G, and H of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.23. "Non-domiciled" must appear on the face of the non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL. A driver applicant must surrender any non-domiciled CLP or non-domiciled CDL issued in any other state.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-510

    (625 ILCS 5/6-510) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-510)
    Sec. 6-510. Application for Commercial Driver's License (CDL). The application for a CDL must include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) the driver applicant's full legal name and
    
current Illinois domiciliary address, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of Illinois residency or the driver applicant is from another state and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL in which case the driver applicant shall submit proof of domicile in the state which issued the driver applicant's Non-CDL;
        (2) a physical description of the driver applicant
    
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (3) date of birth;
        (4) the driver applicant's social security number;
        (5) the driver applicant's signature;
        (6) certifications required by 49 C.F.R. Part 383.71;
        (6.1) the names of all states where the driver
    
applicant has previously been licensed to drive any type of motor vehicle during the previous 10 years pursuant to 49 C.F.R. Part 383;
        (6.2) proof of citizenship or lawful permanent
    
residency as set forth in Table 1 of 49 C.F.R. 383.71, unless the driver applicant is from a foreign country and is applying for a non-domiciled CDL, in which case the applicant must provide an unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by USCIS or an unexpired foreign passport accompanied by an approved I-94 form documenting the applicant's most recent admittance into the United States; and
        (7) any other information required by the Secretary
    
of State.
(Source: P.A. 97-263, eff. 8-5-11; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-511

    (625 ILCS 5/6-511) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-511)
    Sec. 6-511. Change of legal name or domiciliary address.
    (a) All persons to whom a CLP or CDL has been issued, shall notify the Driver Services Department of the Secretary of State's Office within 10 days of any change in domiciliary address. In addition, the person shall make application for a corrected CLP or CDL within 30 days after the change.
    (b) Any person to whom a CLP or CDL has been issued whose legal name has changed from the name on the previously-issued CLP or CDL shall apply for a corrected card within 30 days after the change.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-512

    (625 ILCS 5/6-512) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-512)
    Sec. 6-512. Unlawful operation of a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to a non-Illinois issued CLP or CDL. No person, after becoming a domiciliary of this State for 30 days or more, shall drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways of this State pursuant to the authority of a CLP or CDL issued by any other State or foreign jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-512.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-512.5)
    Sec. 6-512.5. Commercial Learner's Permit or CLP.
    (a) The content of the CLP shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) A CLP shall be distinctly marked "Commercial
    
Learner's Permit" or "CLP" and that it is invalid unless accompanied by the underlying driver's license issued by the State of Illinois;
        (2) the full legal name and the Illinois domiciliary
    
address (unless it is a non-domiciled CLP) of the person to whom the CLP is issued;
        (3) a physical description of the person including
    
gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (4) date of birth;
        (5) the Illinois driver's license number assigned by
    
the Secretary of State;
        (6) the person's signature;
        (7) an indicator showing that the CLP was issued by
    
the State of Illinois;
        (8) the date of issuance and the date of expiration
    
of the CLP;
        (9) the class or type of commercial vehicle or
    
vehicles which the person is authorized to drive together with any endorsement or restriction.
    (b) If the CLP is a non-domiciled CLP, it must contain the prominent statement that the permit is a "Non-domiciled Commercial Learner's Permit" or "Non-domiciled CLP".
    (c) Applicant Record Check. Prior to issuing, renewing, upgrading, or transferring a CLP, the Secretary of State shall obtain, review, and maintain upon issuance, renewal, upgrade, or transfer the driver applicant's driving record as required by 49 C.F.R. Parts 383 and 384 and the United States Secretary of Transportation.
    (d) Notification of Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) Issuance and Self-Certification. Within 10 days after issuing a CLP, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of that fact, and provide all information required to ensure identification of the person. The Secretary shall also post the driver's self-certification for the type of driving operations to the CDLIS driver record.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-513

    (625 ILCS 5/6-513) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-513)
    Sec. 6-513. Commercial Driver's License or CDL. The content of the CDL shall include, but is not limited to the following:
        (a) A CDL shall be distinctly marked "Commercial
    
Driver's License" or "CDL". It must include, but is not limited to, the following information:
            (1) the full legal name and the Illinois
        
domiciliary address (unless it is a non-domiciled CDL) of the person to whom the CDL is issued;
            (2) a color photograph of the person;
            (3) a physical description of the person
        
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
            (4) date of birth;
            (5) a CDL or file number assigned by the
        
Secretary of State;
            (6) the person's signature;
            (7) the class or type of commercial vehicle or
        
vehicles which the person is authorized to drive together with any endorsements or restrictions;
            (8) the name of the issuing state;
            (9) the issuance and expiration dates of the CDL;
        
and
            (10) the restriction code "V" if the driver has
        
been issued a medical variance.
        (a-5) If the CDL is a non-domiciled CDL it must
    
contain the prominent statement that the license is a "Non-domiciled Commercial Driver's License" or "Non-domiciled CDL".
        (b) Applicant Record Check. Prior to issuing,
    
renewing, upgrading, or transferring a CDL, the Secretary of State shall obtain, review, and maintain upon issuance, renewal, upgrade, or transfer the driver applicant's driving record as required by 49 C.F.R. Part 383 and Part 384 and the United States Secretary of Transportation.
        (c) Notification of Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
    
Issuance and Self-Certification. Within 10 days after issuing a CDL, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of that fact, and provide all information required to ensure identification of the person. The Secretary shall also post the driver's self-certification for the type of driving operations to the CDLIS driver record.
        (c-5) Change in driver identification information.
    
Within 10 days of any change of driver identification information on any CDL holder, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of the change.
        (d) Renewal. Every person applying for a renewal of a
    
CDL must complete the appropriate application form required by this Code and any other test deemed necessary by the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 97-208, eff. 1-1-12; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-514

    (625 ILCS 5/6-514) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-514)
    Sec. 6-514. Commercial driver's license (CDL); commercial learner's permit (CLP); disqualifications.
    (a) A person shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 12 months for the first violation of:
        (1) Refusing to submit to or failure to complete a
    
test or tests to determine the driver's blood concentration of alcohol, other drug, or both while driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, while driving a non-CMV; or
        (2) Operating a commercial motor vehicle while the
    
alcohol concentration of the person's blood, breath, other bodily substance, or urine is at least 0.04, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in the person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act as indicated by a police officer's sworn report or other verified evidence; or operating a non-commercial motor vehicle while the alcohol concentration of the person's blood, breath, other bodily substance, or urine was above the legal limit defined in Section 11-501.1 or 11-501.8 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in the person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act as indicated by a police officer's sworn report or other verified evidence while holding a CLP or CDL; or
        (3) Conviction for a first violation of:
            (i) Driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if the
        
driver is a CLP or CDL holder, driving a non-CMV while under the influence of alcohol, or any other drug, or combination of drugs to a degree which renders such person incapable of safely driving; or
            (ii) Knowingly leaving the scene of an accident
        
while operating a commercial motor vehicle or, if the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, while driving a non-CMV; or
            (iii) Driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if
        
the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, driving a non-CMV while committing any felony; or
            (iv) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while the
        
person's driving privileges or driver's license or permit is revoked, suspended, or cancelled or the driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle; or
            (v) Causing a fatality through the negligent
        
operation of a commercial motor vehicle, including but not limited to the crimes of motor vehicle manslaughter, homicide by a motor vehicle, and negligent homicide.
            As used in this subdivision (a)(3)(v), "motor
        
vehicle manslaughter" means the offense of involuntary manslaughter if committed by means of a vehicle; "homicide by a motor vehicle" means the offense of first degree murder or second degree murder, if either offense is committed by means of a vehicle; and "negligent homicide" means reckless homicide under Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof under subdivision (d)(1)(F) of Section 11-501 of this Code.
        If any of the above violations or refusals occurred
    
while transporting hazardous material(s) required to be placarded, the person shall be disqualified for a period of not less than 3 years; or
        (4) (Blank).
    (b) A person is disqualified for life for a second conviction of any of the offenses specified in paragraph (a), or any combination of those offenses, arising from 2 or more separate incidents.
    (c) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for life if the person either (i) uses a commercial motor vehicle in the commission of any felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance or (ii) if the person is a CLP or CDL holder, uses a non-CMV in the commission of a felony involving any of those activities.
    (d) The Secretary of State may, when the United States Secretary of Transportation so authorizes, issue regulations in which a disqualification for life under paragraph (b) may be reduced to a period of not less than 10 years. If a reinstated driver is subsequently convicted of another disqualifying offense, as specified in subsection (a) of this Section, he or she shall be permanently disqualified for life and shall be ineligible to again apply for a reduction of the lifetime disqualification.
    (e) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 2 months if convicted of 2 serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, non-CMV while holding a CLP or CDL, or any combination thereof, arising from separate incidents, occurring within a 3 year period, provided the serious traffic violation committed in a non-CMV would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges. However, a person will be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 4 months if convicted of 3 serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, non-CMV while holding a CLP or CDL, or any combination thereof, arising from separate incidents, occurring within a 3 year period, provided the serious traffic violation committed in a non-CMV would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges. If all the convictions occurred in a non-CMV, the disqualification shall be entered only if the convictions would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges.
    (e-1) (Blank).
    (f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, any driver disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle, pursuant to this UCDLA, shall not be eligible for restoration of commercial driving privileges during any such period of disqualification.
    (g) After suspending, revoking, or cancelling a CLP or CDL, the Secretary of State must update the driver's records to reflect such action within 10 days. After suspending or revoking the driving privilege of any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL from another jurisdiction, the Secretary shall originate notification to such issuing jurisdiction within 10 days.
    (h) The "disqualifications" referred to in this Section shall not be imposed upon any commercial motor vehicle driver, by the Secretary of State, unless the prohibited action(s) occurred after March 31, 1992.
    (i) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle in accordance with the following:
        (1) For 6 months upon a first conviction of paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (2) For 2 years upon a second conviction of paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the second conviction is a violation of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3).
        (3) For 3 years upon a third or subsequent conviction
    
of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the third or subsequent conviction is a violation of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3).
        (4) For one year upon a first conviction of paragraph
    
(3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (5) For 3 years upon a second conviction of paragraph
    
(3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the second conviction is a violation of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or (b-5).
        (6) For 5 years upon a third or subsequent conviction
    
of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the third or subsequent conviction is a violation of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or (b-5).
    (j) Disqualification for railroad-highway grade crossing violation.
        (1) General rule. A driver who is convicted of a
    
violation of a federal, State, or local law or regulation pertaining to one of the following 6 offenses at a railroad-highway grade crossing must be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for the period of time specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection (j) if the offense was committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle:
            (i) For drivers who are not required to always
        
stop, failing to slow down and check that the tracks are clear of an approaching train or railroad track equipment, as described in subsection (a-5) of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (ii) For drivers who are not required to always
        
stop, failing to stop before reaching the crossing, if the tracks are not clear, as described in subsection (a) of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (iii) For drivers who are always required to
        
stop, failing to stop before driving onto the crossing, as described in Section 11-1202 of this Code;
            (iv) For all drivers, failing to have sufficient
        
space to drive completely through the crossing without stopping, as described in subsection (b) of Section 11-1425 of this Code;
            (v) For all drivers, failing to obey a traffic
        
control device or the directions of an enforcement official at the crossing, as described in subdivision (a)2 of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (vi) For all drivers, failing to negotiate a
        
crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance, as described in subsection (d-1) of Section 11-1201 of this Code.
        (2) Duration of disqualification for railroad-highway
    
grade crossing violation.
            (i) First violation. A driver must be
        
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than 60 days if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had no convictions for a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j).
            (ii) Second violation. A driver must be
        
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than 120 days if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had one other conviction for a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) that was committed in a separate incident.
            (iii) Third or subsequent violation. A driver
        
must be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than one year if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had 2 or more other convictions for violations described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) that were committed in separate incidents.
    (k) Upon notification of a disqualification of a driver's commercial motor vehicle privileges imposed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, in accordance with 49 C.F.R. 383.52, the Secretary of State shall immediately record to the driving record the notice of disqualification and confirm to the driver the action that has been taken.
    (l) A foreign commercial driver is subject to disqualification under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-122, eff. 1-1-14; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-1172, eff. 1-12-15; 99-697, eff. 7-29-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-515

    (625 ILCS 5/6-515) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-515)
    Sec. 6-515. Prohibitions against a person driving a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both in such person's system.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Code, a person shall not drive a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both in such person's system.
    (b) A person who drives a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both, in such person's system or who refuses to submit to or fails to complete an alcohol or other drug test or tests pursuant to Section 6-517, as evidenced by the issuance of a Sworn Report by a police officer, must be placed "out-of-service" for at least 24 hours.
    (c) The police officer shall provide the Secretary of State with a copy of all Sworn Reports issued pursuant to this UCDLA.
    (d) The "out-of-service" referred to in this Section shall not be entered to the record of any Illinois commercial motor vehicle driver, by the Secretary of State, unless the prohibited action or actions occurred after March 31, 1992.
(Source: P.A. 88-212.)

625 ILCS 5/6-516

    (625 ILCS 5/6-516) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-516)
    Sec. 6-516. Implied consent requirements for commercial motor vehicle drivers.
    (a) Effective April 1, 1992, any person who drives a commercial motor vehicle upon the highways is hereby deemed to have given consent to submit to a test or tests, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, of such person's breath, blood or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol, or other drugs, in such person's system.
    (b) A test or tests may be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer, who after stopping or detaining the commercial motor vehicle driver, has probable cause to believe that driver was driving a commercial motor vehicle while having alcohol or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in such driver's system.
    (c) Effective April 1, 1992, any person who operates a school bus at the time of an accident involving the school bus is hereby deemed to have given consent to submit to a test or tests to be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, of the driver's breath, blood or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol, or other drugs, in the person's system.
(Source: P.A. 95-355, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/6-517

    (625 ILCS 5/6-517) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-517)
    Sec. 6-517. Commercial driver; implied consent warnings.
    (a) Any person driving a commercial motor vehicle who is requested by a police officer, pursuant to Section 6-516, to submit to a chemical test or tests to determine the alcohol concentration or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in such person's system, must be warned by the police officer requesting the test or tests that a refusal to submit to the test or tests will result in that person being immediately placed out-of-service for a period of 24 hours and being disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 12 months; the person shall also be warned that if such person submits to testing which discloses an alcohol concentration of greater than 0.00 but less than 0.04 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, such person shall be placed immediately out-of-service for a period of 24 hours; if the person submits to testing which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, such person shall be placed immediately out-of-service and disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of at least 12 months; also the person shall be warned that if such testing discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08, or more or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, in addition to the person being immediately placed out-of-service and disqualified for 12 months as provided in this UCDLA, the results of such testing shall also be admissible in prosecutions for violations of Section 11-501 of this Code, or similar violations of local ordinances, however, such results shall not be used to impose any driving sanctions pursuant to Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    The person shall also be warned that any disqualification imposed pursuant to this Section, shall be for life for any such offense or refusal, or combination thereof; including a conviction for violating Section 11-501 while driving a commercial motor vehicle, or similar provisions of local ordinances, committed a second time involving separate incidents.
    A person requested to submit to a test shall also acknowledge, in writing, receipt of the warning required under this Section. If the person refuses to acknowledge receipt of the warning, the police officer shall make a written notation on the warning that the person refused to sign the warning. A person's refusal to sign the warning shall not be evidence that the person was not read the warning.
    (b) If the person refuses or fails to complete testing, or submits to a test which discloses an alcohol concentration of at least 0.04, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the law enforcement officer must submit a Sworn Report to the Secretary of State, in a form prescribed by the Secretary, certifying that the test or tests was requested pursuant to paragraph (a); that the person was warned, as provided in paragraph (a) and that such person refused to submit to or failed to complete testing, or submitted to a test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (c) The police officer submitting the Sworn Report under this Section shall serve notice of the CDL disqualification on the person and such CDL disqualification shall be effective as provided in paragraph (d). In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, is established by subsequent analysis of blood, other bodily substance, or urine collected at the time of the request, the police officer shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of such notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of such notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to such person's domiciliary address as shown on the Sworn Report and the CDL disqualification shall begin as provided in paragraph (d).
    (d) The CDL disqualification referred to in this Section shall take effect on the 46th day following the date the Sworn Report was given to the affected person.
    (e) Upon receipt of the Sworn Report from the police officer, the Secretary of State shall disqualify the person from driving any commercial motor vehicle and shall confirm the CDL disqualification by mailing the notice of the effective date to the person. However, should the Sworn Report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the confirmation of the CDL disqualification shall not be mailed to the affected person or entered into the record, instead the Sworn Report shall be forwarded to the issuing agency identifying any such defect.
(Source: P.A. 99-467, eff. 1-1-16; 99-697, eff. 7-29-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-518

    (625 ILCS 5/6-518) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-518)
    Sec. 6-518. Notification of traffic convictions.
    (a) Within 5 days after receiving a report of an Illinois conviction, or other verified evidence, of any driver who has been issued a CLP or CDL by another State or has been issued a foreign commercial driver's license, for a violation of any law or local ordinance of this State, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than parking violations, committed in any motor vehicle, the Secretary of State must notify the driver licensing authority which issued such CLP or CDL of said conviction.
    (b) Within 5 days after receiving a report of an Illinois conviction, or other verified evidence, of any driver from another state who is licensed or unlicensed or holds a foreign non-commercial driver's license, for a violation of any law or local ordinance of this State, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than parking violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, the Secretary of State must notify the driver licensing authority which issued the person's driver's license of the conviction.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-519

    (625 ILCS 5/6-519) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-519)
    Sec. 6-519. Driving Record Information To Be Furnished. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the Secretary of State shall furnish the following information regarding a commercial driver's driving record: all information on CDLIS driver records to the driver licensing administrator of any other State; all information on CDLIS driver records to the U.S. Department of Transportation; all information on the CDLIS driver record obtained on the CDLIS motor vehicle record to the affected driver or a motor carrier or prospective motor carrier requesting such information; all information on the CDLIS driver record obtained on the CDLIS motor vehicle record of a current or prospective driver to a motor carrier or prospective motor carrier requesting such information within 10 days of the request; and any other entity or person authorized to receive such information pursuant to Section 2-123 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-208, eff. 1-1-12.)