Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
FINANCE30 ILCS 205/0.01
(30 ILCS 205/) Uncollected State Claims Act.
(30 ILCS 205/0.01)
(from Ch. 15, par. 100)
This Act may be cited as the
Uncollected State Claims Act.
(Source: P.A. 86-1324.)
30 ILCS 205/1
(30 ILCS 205/1)
(from Ch. 15, par. 101)
As used in this Act, "State agency" means any office, officer,
department, commission, board, bureau, division, school, college,
university, institution or other agency or unit of the State government
subject to audit by the State Comptroller or Auditor General of this State.
(Source: P.A. 78-592.)
30 ILCS 205/2
(30 ILCS 205/2)
(from Ch. 15, par. 102)
(a) When any State agency is unable to collect any claim or
account receivable of $1,000 or more due the agency after having pursued
the procedure prescribed by law or applicable rules and regulations for the
collection thereof or, if no procedure is so prescribed, then after having
undertaken all reasonable and appropriate procedures available to the agency
to effectuate collection, the State agency shall request the Attorney General
to certify the claim or account receivable to be uncollectible.
(b) Each request to the Attorney General asking that a claim or account
receivable of $1,000 or more be declared uncollectible shall be in a format
prescribed by the Attorney General and shall include at a minimum the
following information: debtor's name, debtor's social security number or
comparable identifying number, debtor's last known address, nature of the
debt, efforts made to collect the debt and the time period covered by those
efforts, the age of the debt, the age of the debtor and the specific reason
the State agency believes the debt to be uncollectible. Nothing in this
provision should be interpreted as a limitation on the authority of the
Attorney General to require additional information that he may find to be
necessary to evaluate requests sent him pursuant to this provision.
(c) Claims or accounts receivable of less than $1,000 may be
certified as uncollectible by the agency when the agency determines that
further collection efforts are not in the best economic interest of the
State. Such determination shall be made in accordance with rules of the
(d) If any item of information required by this provision or any item
of additional information required by the Attorney General is not
available, the State agency shall specifically so state in its request to
the Attorney General asking that the debt be declared uncollectible.
(e) A State agency participating in a federal student loan program may
remove student loans from its records by assigning or referring such student
loans to the federal government for collection pursuant to the procedures
prescribed by federal laws and regulations.
(f) Claims and receivables due from another State agency may be written off
if the agency has pursued all reasonable means of collection and if the amount
(1) is payable from an appropriation which has lapsed; (2) may not properly be
charged against a current appropriation; and (3) was not originally payable
from federal funds, a trust fund or locally held funds. Each agency which
writes off claims or receivables pursuant to this subparagraph shall submit a
listing of all such write-offs to the Comptroller within 60 days of taking such
(g) Debts certified as uncollectible may be reopened for collection by
an agency upon the approval of the Attorney General.
(h) Agencies shall submit a list of debts certified as uncollectible to
the Comptroller in the form and manner specified by the Comptroller. The
Comptroller shall take reasonable steps to accept information on
agency computer tapes.
(i) After compliance with all provisions of this Section, an agency may
delete from its records debts certified as uncollectible as follows:
(1) When the debt is less than $1,000, immediately
upon certification by the agency;
(2) For debts of $1,000 or more that are less than 5
years old, when the agency determines pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Comptroller that such deletion is in the best economic interest of the State;
(3) For debts of $1,000 or more, when the debt is
more than 5 years old or, in the case of a public university, more than 8 years old.
(j) The Attorney General shall report to the General Assembly by
February 1 of each year the following:
(1) the total number and dollar amount of debts
referred to him for collection in the preceding calendar year;
(2) the total amount actually collected;
(3) the number of cases by agency.
(k) Each State agency shall report in its annual report the total amount
and the number of claims due and payable to the State. Each agency shall
also describe in its annual report the method used in collecting debts,
whether by a private collection service or by the Attorney General.
(l) The provisions of Section 2505-250 of the Department of Revenue Law
(20 ILCS 2505/2505-250) take precedence over the provisions of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-444, eff. 8-19-11.)
30 ILCS 205/2.1
(30 ILCS 205/2.1)
Sale of debts certified as uncollectible.
After accounts have been certified by the Attorney General, or the State agency for accounts of less than $1,000, as uncollectible pursuant to this Act, the Department of Revenue may sell the debts to one or more outside private vendors. Sales shall be conducted under rules adopted by the Department of Revenue using a request for proposals procedure similar to that procedure under the Illinois Procurement Code. The outside private vendors shall remit to the Department of Revenue the purchase price for debts sold under this Section. The Department of Revenue shall deposit the money received under this Section into the General Revenue Fund. The State Comptroller shall provide the Department of Revenue with any information that the Department requests for the purpose of administering this Section. This Section does not apply to any tax debt owing to the Department of Revenue. This Section does not apply to (i) debts, in the case of a public university, when the debt is less than 8 years old; (ii) child support debts enforced by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services pursuant to Title IV-D of the federal Social Security Act and Article X of the Illinois Public Aid Code; and (iii) debts that are enforced by the Department of Employment Security and owed to any federal account, including but not limited to the Unemployment Trust Fund, and penalties and interest assessed under the Unemployment Insurance Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1435, eff. 8-16-10; 97-444, eff. 8-19-11.)