Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB4000
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB4000  99th General Assembly


Rep. Robert Rita

Filed: 3/23/2015





09900HB4000ham001LRB099 09513 MGM 32235 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 4000 on page 1, line
35, by inserting "45," immediately after "35,"; and
4by replacing line 10 on page 3 through line 2 on page 6 with the
6    "(510 ILCS 72/35)
7    Sec. 35. Technician certification; duties.
8    (a) An applicant for certification as a euthanasia
9technician shall file an application with the Department and
11        (1) Be 18 years of age.
12        (2) Be of good moral character. In determining moral
13    character under this Section, the Department may take into
14    consideration whether the applicant has engaged in conduct
15    or activities that would constitute grounds for discipline
16    under this Act.



09900HB4000ham001- 2 -LRB099 09513 MGM 32235 a

1        (3) Each applicant for certification as a euthanasia
2    technician shall have his or her fingerprints submitted to
3    the Department of State Police in an electronic format that
4    complies with the form and manner for requesting and
5    furnishing criminal history record information as
6    prescribed by the Department of State Police. These
7    fingerprints shall be checked against the Department of
8    State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal
9    history record databases now and hereafter filed. The
10    Department of State Police shall charge applicants a fee
11    for conducting the criminal history records check, which
12    shall be deposited in the State Police Services Fund and
13    shall not exceed the actual cost of the records check. The
14    Department of State Police shall furnish, pursuant to
15    positive identification, records of Illinois convictions
16    to the Department.
17        (4) Hold a license or certification from the American
18    Humane Association, the National Animal Control
19    Association, the Illinois Federation of Humane Societies,
20    or the Humane Society of the United States issued within 3
21    years preceding the date of application. Every 5 years a
22    certified euthanasia technician must renew his or her
23    certification with the Department. At the time of renewal,
24    the technician must present proof that he or she attended a
25    class or seminar, administered by the American Humane
26    Association, the National Animal Control Association, the



09900HB4000ham001- 3 -LRB099 09513 MGM 32235 a

1    Illinois Federation of Humane Societies, or the Humane
2    Society of the United States, that teaches techniques or
3    guidelines, or both, for humane animal euthanasia.
4        (5) Pay the required fee.
5    (b) The duties of a euthanasia technician shall include but
6are not limited to:
7        (1) preparing animals for euthanasia and scanning each
8    animal, prior to euthanasia, for microchips;
9        (2) accurately recording the dosages administered and
10    the amount of drugs wasted;
11        (3) ordering supplies;
12        (4) maintaining the security of all controlled
13    substances and drugs;
14        (5) humanely euthanizing animals via intravenous
15    injection by hypodermic needle, intraperitoneal injection
16    by hypodermic needle, or intracardiac injection only on
17    comatose animals by hypodermic needle; and
18        (6) properly disposing of euthanized animals after
19    verification of death.
20    (c) A euthanasia technician employed by a euthanasia agency
21may perform euthanasia by the administration of a Schedule II
22nonnarcotic or Schedule III nonnarcotic controlled substance.
23A euthanasia technician may not personally possess, order, or
24administer a controlled substance except as an agent of the
25euthanasia agency.
26    (d) Upon termination from a euthanasia agency, a euthanasia



09900HB4000ham001- 4 -LRB099 09513 MGM 32235 a

1technician shall not perform animal euthanasia until he or she
2is employed by another certified euthanasia agency.
3    (e) A certified euthanasia technician or an instructor in
4an approved course does not engage in the practice of
5veterinary medicine when performing duties set forth in this
7(Source: P.A. 96-780, eff. 8-28-09.)
8    (510 ILCS 72/45)
9    Sec. 45. Certifications; renewal; restoration; person in
10military service; inactive status.
11    (a) The expiration date, renewal period, renewal fees, and
12procedures for renewal of each certification issued under this
13Act shall be set by rule. As a condition for renewal of a
14certification, humane euthanasia technicians may be required
15to complete additional coursework or education, as defined by
17    (b) Any person who has permitted a euthanasia technician
18certification to expire or who has a certification on inactive
19status may have it restored by submitting an application to the
20Department and filing proof of fitness, as defined by rule, to
21have the certification restored, including, if appropriate,
22evidence that is satisfactory to the Department certifying
23active practice in another jurisdiction and by paying the
24required fee.
25    (c) If the person has not maintained an active practice in



09900HB4000ham001- 5 -LRB099 09513 MGM 32235 a

1another jurisdiction that is satisfactory to the Department,
2the Department shall determine the person's fitness to resume
3active status.
4    (d) Any person whose euthanasia technician certification
5expired while on active duty with the armed forces of the
6United States, while called into service or training with the
7State Militia or in training or education under the supervision
8of the United States government prior to induction into the
9military service, however, may have his or her certification
10restored without paying any renewal fees if, within 2 years
11after the termination of that service, training, or education,
12except under conditions other than honorable, the Department is
13furnished with satisfactory evidence that the person has been
14so engaged and that the service, training, or education has
15been so terminated.
16    (e) A euthanasia technician certificate holder may place
17his or her certification on inactive status and shall be
18excused from paying renewal fees until he or she notifies the
19Department in writing of the intention to resume active
20practice. A certificate holder who is on inactive status shall
21not practice while the certificate is in inactive status.
22    (f) The Department shall set by rule the requirements for
23restoration of a euthanasia agency certification and the
24requirements for a change of location.
25(Source: P.A. 92-449, eff. 1-1-02.)".