Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB2253
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB2253  103rd General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Christopher Belt - Tom Bennett - Adriane Johnson - Doris Turner - Patrick J. Joyce, David Koehler, Dave Syverson, Dale Fowler, Julie A. Morrison, Neil Anderson, Cristina Castro, Suzy Glowiak Hilton, Laura M. Murphy, Sally J. Turner, Jil Tracy, Meg Loughran Cappel, Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas, Jason Plummer, Karina Villa, Donald P. DeWitte, Chapin Rose, Steve McClure, Erica Harriss and Ram Villivalam

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/10/2023SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
5 ILCS 100/5-45.36 new
35 ILCS 5/234 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Provides that for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, each individual who serves as a volunteer emergency worker for at least 9 months during the taxable year and does not receive compensation for his or her services as a volunteer emergency worker of more than $10,000 for the taxable year is entitled to a credit against specified taxes in an amount equal to $500. Defines "volunteer emergency worker". Amends the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. Provides for emergency rulemaking. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2023SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Christopher Belt
  2/10/2023SenateFirst Reading
  2/10/2023SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/21/2023SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Tom Bennett
  2/22/2023SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Adriane Johnson
  2/28/2023SenateAssigned to Revenue
  3/7/2023SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Doris Turner
  3/7/2023SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patrick J. Joyce
  3/10/2023SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Suzy Glowiak Hilton
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sally J. Turner
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel
  4/25/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas
  4/26/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason Plummer
  4/26/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Karina Villa
  4/27/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Donald P. DeWitte
  4/28/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chapin Rose
  5/5/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve McClure
  5/8/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Erica Harriss
  5/11/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam

Back To Top