Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
35 ILCS 5/234
(35 ILCS 5/234)
Volunteer emergency workers.
(a) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023 and beginning prior to January 1, 2028, each individual who (i) serves as a volunteer emergency worker for at least 9 months during the taxable year and (ii) does not receive compensation for his or her services as a volunteer emergency worker of more than $5,000 for the taxable year may apply to the Department for a credit against the taxes imposed by subsections (a) and (b) of Section 201. The amount of the credit shall be $500 per eligible individual. The aggregate amount of all tax credits
awarded by the Department under this Section in any calendar year
may not exceed $5,000,000. Credits shall be awarded on a first-come first-served basis.
(b) A credit under this Section may not reduce a taxpayer's liability to less than zero.
(c) By January 24 of each year, the Office of the State Fire Marshal shall provide the Department of Revenue an electronic file with the names of volunteer emergency workers who (i) volunteered for at least 9 months during the immediately preceding calendar year, (ii) did not receive compensation for their services as a volunteer emergency worker of more than $5,000 during the immediately preceding calendar year, and (iii) are registered with the Office of the State Fire Marshal as of January 12 of the current year as meeting the requirements of items (i) and (ii) for the immediately preceding calendar year. The chief of the fire department, fire protection district, or fire protection association shall be responsible for notifying the State Fire Marshal of the volunteer emergency workers who met the requirements of items (i) and (ii) during the immediately preceding calendar year by January 12 of the current year. Notification shall be required in the format required by the State Fire Marshal. The chief of the fire department, fire protection district, or fire protection association shall be responsible for the verification and accuracy of their submission to the State Fire Marshal under this subsection.
(d) As used in this Section, "volunteer emergency worker" means a person who serves as a member, other than on a full-time career basis, of a fire department, fire protection district, or fire protection association that has a Fire Department Identification Number issued by the Office of the State Fire Marshal and who does not serve as a member on a full-time career basis for another fire department, fire protection district, fire protection association, or governmental entity.
(e) The Department shall adopt rules to implement and administer this Section, including rules concerning applications for the tax credit.
(Source: P.A. 103-9, eff. 6-7-23.)