Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

COURTS
(705 ILCS 405/) Juvenile Court Act of 1987.

705 ILCS 405/Art. II

 
    (705 ILCS 405/Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. ABUSED, NEGLECTED OR
DEPENDENT MINORS

705 ILCS 405/2-1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-1) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-1)
    Sec. 2-1. Jurisdictional facts. Proceedings may be instituted under the provisions of this Article concerning boys and girls who are abused, neglected or dependent, as defined in Sections 2-3 or 2-4.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-2

    (705 ILCS 405/2-2) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-2)
    Sec. 2-2. Venue. (1) Venue under this Article lies in the county where the minor resides or is found.
    (2) If proceedings are commenced in any county other than that of the minor's residence, the court in which the proceedings were initiated may at any time before or after adjudication of wardship transfer the case to the county of the minor's residence by transmitting to the court in that county an authenticated copy of the court record, including all documents, petitions and orders filed therein, and the minute orders and docket entries of the court. Transfer in like manner may be made in the event of a change of residence from one county to another of a minor concerning whom proceedings are pending.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-3

    (705 ILCS 405/2-3) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-3)
    Sec. 2-3. Neglected or abused minor.
    (1) Those who are neglected include:
        (a) any minor under 18 years of age who is not
    
receiving the proper or necessary support, education as required by law, or medical or other remedial care recognized under State law as necessary for a minor's well-being, or other care necessary for his or her well-being, including adequate food, clothing and shelter, or who is abandoned by his or her parent or parents or other person or persons responsible for the minor's welfare, except that a minor shall not be considered neglected for the sole reason that the minor's parent or parents or other person or persons responsible for the minor's welfare have left the minor in the care of an adult relative for any period of time, who the parent or parents or other person responsible for the minor's welfare know is both a mentally capable adult relative and physically capable adult relative, as defined by this Act; or
        (b) any minor under 18 years of age whose environment
    
is injurious to his or her welfare; or
        (c) any newborn infant whose blood, urine, or
    
meconium contains any amount of a controlled substance as defined in subsection (f) of Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, as now or hereafter amended, or a metabolite of a controlled substance, with the exception of controlled substances or metabolites of such substances, the presence of which in the newborn infant is the result of medical treatment administered to the mother or the newborn infant; or
        (d) any minor under the age of 14 years whose parent
    
or other person responsible for the minor's welfare leaves the minor without supervision for an unreasonable period of time without regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or welfare of that minor; or
        (e) any minor who has been provided with interim
    
crisis intervention services under Section 3-5 of this Act and whose parent, guardian, or custodian refuses to permit the minor to return home unless the minor is an immediate physical danger to himself, herself, or others living in the home.
    Whether the minor was left without regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or welfare of that minor or the period of time was unreasonable shall be determined by considering the following factors, including but not limited to:
        (1) the age of the minor;
        (2) the number of minors left at the location;
        (3) special needs of the minor, including whether the
    
minor is a person with a physical or mental disability, or otherwise in need of ongoing prescribed medical treatment such as periodic doses of insulin or other medications;
        (4) the duration of time in which the minor was left
    
without supervision;
        (5) the condition and location of the place where the
    
minor was left without supervision;
        (6) the time of day or night when the minor was left
    
without supervision;
        (7) the weather conditions, including whether the
    
minor was left in a location with adequate protection from the natural elements such as adequate heat or light;
        (8) the location of the parent or guardian at the
    
time the minor was left without supervision, the physical distance the minor was from the parent or guardian at the time the minor was without supervision;
        (9) whether the minor's movement was restricted, or
    
the minor was otherwise locked within a room or other structure;
        (10) whether the minor was given a phone number of a
    
person or location to call in the event of an emergency and whether the minor was capable of making an emergency call;
        (11) whether there was food and other provision left
    
for the minor;
        (12) whether any of the conduct is attributable to
    
economic hardship or illness and the parent, guardian or other person having physical custody or control of the child made a good faith effort to provide for the health and safety of the minor;
        (13) the age and physical and mental capabilities of
    
the person or persons who provided supervision for the minor;
        (14) whether the minor was left under the supervision
    
of another person;
        (15) any other factor that would endanger the health
    
and safety of that particular minor.
    A minor shall not be considered neglected for the sole reason that the minor has been relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act.
    (2) Those who are abused include any minor under 18 years of age whose parent or immediate family member, or any person responsible for the minor's welfare, or any person who is in the same family or household as the minor, or any individual residing in the same home as the minor, or a paramour of the minor's parent:
        (i) inflicts, causes to be inflicted, or allows to be
    
inflicted upon such minor physical injury, by other than accidental means, which causes death, disfigurement, impairment of physical or emotional health, or loss or impairment of any bodily function;
        (ii) creates a substantial risk of physical injury to
    
such minor by other than accidental means which would be likely to cause death, disfigurement, impairment of emotional health, or loss or impairment of any bodily function;
        (iii) commits or allows to be committed any sex
    
offense against such minor, as such sex offenses are defined in the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or in the Wrongs to Children Act, and extending those definitions of sex offenses to include minors under 18 years of age;
        (iv) commits or allows to be committed an act or acts
    
of torture upon such minor;
        (v) inflicts excessive corporal punishment;
        (vi) commits or allows to be committed the offense of
    
involuntary servitude, involuntary sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons as defined in Section 10-9 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, upon such minor; or
        (vii) allows, encourages or requires a minor to
    
commit any act of prostitution, as defined in the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, and extending those definitions to include minors under 18 years of age.
    A minor shall not be considered abused for the sole reason that the minor has been relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act.
    (3) This Section does not apply to a minor who would be included herein solely for the purpose of qualifying for financial assistance for himself, his parents, guardian or custodian.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)

705 ILCS 405/2-4

    (705 ILCS 405/2-4) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-4)
    Sec. 2-4. Dependent minor.
    (1) Those who are dependent include any minor under 18 years of age:
        (a) who is without a parent, guardian or legal
    
custodian;
        (b) who is without proper care because of the
    
physical or mental disability of his parent, guardian or custodian;
        (c) who is without proper medical or other remedial
    
care recognized under State law or other care necessary for his or her well being through no fault, neglect or lack of concern by his parents, guardian or custodian, provided that no order may be made terminating parental rights, nor may a minor be removed from the custody of his or her parents for longer than 6 months, pursuant to an adjudication as a dependent minor under this subdivision (c), unless it is found to be in his or her best interest by the court or the case automatically closes as provided under Section 2-31 of this Act; or
        (d) who has a parent, guardian or legal custodian who
    
with good cause wishes to be relieved of all residual parental rights and responsibilities, guardianship or custody, and who desires the appointment of a guardian of the person with power to consent to the adoption of the minor under Section 2-29.
    (2) This Section does not apply to a minor who would be included herein solely for the purpose of qualifying for financial assistance for himself, his parent or parents, guardian or custodian or to a minor solely because his or her parent or parents or guardian has left the minor for any period of time in the care of an adult relative, who the parent or parents or guardian know is both a mentally capable adult relative and physically capable adult relative, as defined by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-168, eff. 8-10-09.)

705 ILCS 405/2-4a

    (705 ILCS 405/2-4a)
    Sec. 2-4a. Special immigrant minor.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided in this Act, a special immigrant minor under 18 years of age who has been made a ward of the court may be deemed eligible by the court for long-term foster care due to abuse, neglect, or abandonment and remain under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court until his or her special immigrant juvenile status and adjustment of status applications are adjudicated. The petition filed on behalf of the special immigrant minor must allege that he or she otherwise satisfies the prerequisites for special immigrant juvenile status pursuant to 8 U.S.C. Section 1101(a)(27)(J) and must state the custodial status sought on behalf of the minor.
    (b) For the purposes of this Section, a juvenile court may make a finding that a special immigrant minor is eligible for long term foster care if the court makes the following findings:
        (1) That a reasonable diligent search for biological
    
parents, prior adoptive parents, or prior legal guardians has been conducted; and
        (2) That reunification with the minor's biological
    
parents or prior adoptive parents is not a viable option.
    (c) For the purposes of this Section:
        (1) The term "abandonment" means the failure of a
    
parent or legal guardian to maintain a reasonable degree of interest, concern, or responsibility for the welfare of his or her minor child or ward.
        (2) The term "special immigrant minor" means an
    
immigrant minor who (i) is present in the United States and has been made a ward of the court and (ii) for whom it has been determined by the juvenile court or in an administrative or judicial proceeding that it would not be in his or her best interests to be returned to his or her previous country of nationality or country of last habitual residence.
    (d) This Section does not apply to a minor who applies for special immigrant minor status solely for the purpose of qualifying for financial assistance for himself or herself or for his or her parents, guardian, or custodian.
(Source: P.A. 93-145, eff. 7-10-03.)

705 ILCS 405/2-5

    (705 ILCS 405/2-5) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-5)
    Sec. 2-5. Taking into custody. (1) A law enforcement officer may, without a warrant, take into temporary custody a minor (a) whom the officer with reasonable cause believes to be a person described in Section 2-3 or 2-4; (b) who has been adjudged a ward of the court and has escaped from any commitment ordered by the court under this Act; or (c) who is found in any street or public place suffering from any sickness or injury which requires care, medical treatment or hospitalization.
    (2) Whenever a petition has been filed under Section 2-13 and the court finds that the conduct and behavior of the minor may endanger the health, person, welfare, or property of himself or others or that the circumstances of his home environment may endanger his health, person, welfare or property, a warrant may be issued immediately to take the minor into custody.
    (3) The taking of a minor into temporary custody under this Section is not an arrest nor does it constitute a police record.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-6

    (705 ILCS 405/2-6) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-6)
    Sec. 2-6. Duty of officer. (1) A law enforcement officer who takes a minor into custody under Section 2-5 shall immediately make a reasonable attempt to notify the parent or other person legally responsible for the minor's care or the person with whom the minor resides that the minor has been taken into custody and where he or she is being held.
    (a) A law enforcement officer who takes a minor into custody with a warrant shall without unnecessary delay take the minor to the nearest juvenile police officer designated for such purposes in the county of venue.
    (b) A law enforcement officer who takes a minor into custody without a warrant shall place the minor in temporary protective custody and shall immediately notify the Department of Children and Family Services by contacting either the central register established under 7.7 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act or the nearest Department of Children and Family Services office. If there is reasonable cause to suspect that a minor has died as a result of abuse or neglect, the law enforcement officer shall immediately report such suspected abuse or neglect to the appropriate medical examiner or coroner.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-7

    (705 ILCS 405/2-7) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-7)
    Sec. 2-7. Temporary custody. "Temporary custody" means the temporary placement of the minor out of the custody of his or her guardian or parent, and includes the following:
    (1) "Temporary protective custody" means custody within a hospital or other medical facility or a place previously designated for such custody by the Department of Children and Family Services, subject to review by the court, including a licensed foster home, group home, or other institution. However, such place shall not be a jail or other place for the detention of the criminal or juvenile offenders.
    (2) "Shelter care" means a physically unrestrictive facility designated by the Department of Children and Family Services or a licensed child welfare agency, or other suitable place designated by the court for a minor who requires care away from his or her home.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-8

    (705 ILCS 405/2-8) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-8)
    Sec. 2-8. Investigation; release. When a minor is delivered to the court, or to the place designated by the court under Section 2-7 of this Act, a probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court shall immediately investigate the circumstances of the minor and the facts surrounding his or her being taken into custody. The minor shall be immediately released to the custody of his or her parent, guardian, legal custodian or responsible relative, unless the probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court finds that further temporary protective custody is necessary, as provided in Section 2-7.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-9

    (705 ILCS 405/2-9) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-9)
    Sec. 2-9. Setting of temporary custody hearing; notice; release.
    (1) Unless sooner released, a minor as defined in Section 2-3 or 2-4 of this Act taken into temporary protective custody must be brought before a judicial officer within 48 hours, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays and court-designated holidays, for a temporary custody hearing to determine whether he shall be further held in custody.
    (2) If the probation officer or such other public officer designated by the court determines that the minor should be retained in custody, he shall cause a petition to be filed as provided in Section 2-13 of this Article, and the clerk of the court shall set the matter for hearing on the temporary custody hearing calendar. When a parent, guardian, custodian or responsible relative is present and so requests, the temporary custody hearing shall be held immediately if the court is in session, otherwise at the earliest feasible time. The petitioner through counsel or such other public officer designated by the court shall insure notification to the minor's parent, guardian, custodian or responsible relative of the time and place of the hearing by the best practicable notice, allowing for oral notice in place of written notice only if provision of written notice is unreasonable under the circumstances.
    (3) The minor must be released from temporary protective custody at the expiration of the 48 hour period specified by this Section if not brought before a judicial officer within that period.
(Source: P.A. 87-759.)

705 ILCS 405/2-10

    (705 ILCS 405/2-10) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-10)
    Sec. 2-10. Temporary custody hearing. At the appearance of the minor before the court at the temporary custody hearing, all witnesses present shall be examined before the court in relation to any matter connected with the allegations made in the petition.
    (1) If the court finds that there is not probable cause to believe that the minor is abused, neglected or dependent it shall release the minor and dismiss the petition.
    (2) If the court finds that there is probable cause to believe that the minor is abused, neglected or dependent, the court shall state in writing the factual basis supporting its finding and the minor, his or her parent, guardian, custodian and other persons able to give relevant testimony shall be examined before the court. The Department of Children and Family Services shall give testimony concerning indicated reports of abuse and neglect, of which they are aware of through the central registry, involving the minor's parent, guardian or custodian. After such testimony, the court may, consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor, enter an order that the minor shall be released upon the request of parent, guardian or custodian if the parent, guardian or custodian appears to take custody. If it is determined that a parent's, guardian's, or custodian's compliance with critical services mitigates the necessity for removal of the minor from his or her home, the court may enter an Order of Protection setting forth reasonable conditions of behavior that a parent, guardian, or custodian must observe for a specified period of time, not to exceed 12 months, without a violation; provided, however, that the 12-month period shall begin anew after any violation. Custodian shall include any agency of the State which has been given custody or wardship of the child. If it is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor, the court may also prescribe shelter care and order that the minor be kept in a suitable place designated by the court or in a shelter care facility designated by the Department of Children and Family Services or a licensed child welfare agency; however, on and after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 98th General Assembly and before January 1, 2017, a minor charged with a criminal offense under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or adjudicated delinquent shall not be placed in the custody of or committed to the Department of Children and Family Services by any court, except a minor less than 16 years of age and committed to the Department of Children and Family Services under Section 5-710 of this Act or a minor for whom an independent basis of abuse, neglect, or dependency exists; and on and after January 1, 2017, a minor charged with a criminal offense under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or adjudicated delinquent shall not be placed in the custody of or committed to the Department of Children and Family Services by any court, except a minor less than 15 years of age and committed to the Department of Children and Family Services under Section 5-710 of this Act or a minor for whom an independent basis of abuse, neglect, or dependency exists. An independent basis exists when the allegations or adjudication of abuse, neglect, or dependency do not arise from the same facts, incident, or circumstances which give rise to a charge or adjudication of delinquency.
    In placing the minor, the Department or other agency shall, to the extent compatible with the court's order, comply with Section 7 of the Children and Family Services Act. In determining the health, safety and best interests of the minor to prescribe shelter care, the court must find that it is a matter of immediate and urgent necessity for the safety and protection of the minor or of the person or property of another that the minor be placed in a shelter care facility or that he or she is likely to flee the jurisdiction of the court, and must further find that reasonable efforts have been made or that, consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor, no efforts reasonably can be made to prevent or eliminate the necessity of removal of the minor from his or her home. The court shall require documentation from the Department of Children and Family Services as to the reasonable efforts that were made to prevent or eliminate the necessity of removal of the minor from his or her home or the reasons why no efforts reasonably could be made to prevent or eliminate the necessity of removal. When a minor is placed in the home of a relative, the Department of Children and Family Services shall complete a preliminary background review of the members of the minor's custodian's household in accordance with Section 4.3 of the Child Care Act of 1969 within 90 days of that placement. If the minor is ordered placed in a shelter care facility of the Department of Children and Family Services or a licensed child welfare agency, the court shall, upon request of the appropriate Department or other agency, appoint the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator or other appropriate agency executive temporary custodian of the minor and the court may enter such other orders related to the temporary custody as it deems fit and proper, including the provision of services to the minor or his family to ameliorate the causes contributing to the finding of probable cause or to the finding of the existence of immediate and urgent necessity.
    Where the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator is appointed as the executive temporary custodian, the Department of Children and Family Services shall file with the court and serve on the parties a parent-child visiting plan, within 10 days, excluding weekends and holidays, after the appointment. The parent-child visiting plan shall set out the time and place of visits, the frequency of visits, the length of visits, who shall be present at the visits, and where appropriate, the minor's opportunities to have telephone and mail communication with the parents.
    Where the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator is appointed as the executive temporary custodian, and when the child has siblings in care, the Department of Children and Family Services shall file with the court and serve on the parties a sibling placement and contact plan within 10 days, excluding weekends and holidays, after the appointment. The sibling placement and contact plan shall set forth whether the siblings are placed together, and if they are not placed together, what, if any, efforts are being made to place them together. If the Department has determined that it is not in a child's best interest to be placed with a sibling, the Department shall document in the sibling placement and contact plan the basis for its determination. For siblings placed separately, the sibling placement and contact plan shall set the time and place for visits, the frequency of the visits, the length of visits, who shall be present for the visits, and where appropriate, the child's opportunities to have contact with their siblings in addition to in person contact. If the Department determines it is not in the best interest of a sibling to have contact with a sibling, the Department shall document in the sibling placement and contact plan the basis for its determination. The sibling placement and contact plan shall specify a date for development of the Sibling Contact Support Plan, under subsection (f) of Section 7.4 of the Children and Family Services Act, and shall remain in effect until the Sibling Contact Support Plan is developed.
     For good cause, the court may waive the requirement to file the parent-child visiting plan or the sibling placement and contact plan, or extend the time for filing either plan. Any party may, by motion, request the court to review the parent-child visiting plan to determine whether it is reasonably calculated to expeditiously facilitate the achievement of the permanency goal. A party may, by motion, request the court to review the parent-child visiting plan or the sibling placement and contact plan to determine whether it is consistent with the minor's best interest. The court may refer the parties to mediation where available. The frequency, duration, and locations of visitation shall be measured by the needs of the child and family, and not by the convenience of Department personnel. Child development principles shall be considered by the court in its analysis of how frequent visitation should be, how long it should last, where it should take place, and who should be present. If upon motion of the party to review either plan and after receiving evidence, the court determines that the parent-child visiting plan is not reasonably calculated to expeditiously facilitate the achievement of the permanency goal or that the restrictions placed on parent-child contact or sibling placement or contact are contrary to the child's best interests, the court shall put in writing the factual basis supporting the determination and enter specific findings based on the evidence. The court shall enter an order for the Department to implement changes to the parent-child visiting plan or sibling placement or contact plan, consistent with the court's findings. At any stage of proceeding, any party may by motion request the court to enter any orders necessary to implement the parent-child visiting plan, sibling placement or contact plan or subsequently developed Sibling Contact Support Plan. Nothing under this subsection (2) shall restrict the court from granting discretionary authority to the Department to increase opportunities for additional parent-child contacts or sibling contacts, without further court orders. Nothing in this subsection (2) shall restrict the Department from immediately restricting or terminating parent-child contact or sibling contacts, without either amending the parent-child visiting plan or the sibling contact plan or obtaining a court order, where the Department or its assigns reasonably believe that continuation of the contact, as set out in the plan, would be contrary to the child's health, safety, and welfare. The Department shall file with the court and serve on the parties any amendments to the plan within 10 days, excluding weekends and holidays, of the change of the visitation.
    Acceptance of services shall not be considered an admission of any allegation in a petition made pursuant to this Act, nor may a referral of services be considered as evidence in any proceeding pursuant to this Act, except where the issue is whether the Department has made reasonable efforts to reunite the family. In making its findings that it is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor to prescribe shelter care, the court shall state in writing (i) the factual basis supporting its findings concerning the immediate and urgent necessity for the protection of the minor or of the person or property of another and (ii) the factual basis supporting its findings that reasonable efforts were made to prevent or eliminate the removal of the minor from his or her home or that no efforts reasonably could be made to prevent or eliminate the removal of the minor from his or her home. The parents, guardian, custodian, temporary custodian and minor shall each be furnished a copy of such written findings. The temporary custodian shall maintain a copy of the court order and written findings in the case record for the child. The order together with the court's findings of fact in support thereof shall be entered of record in the court.
    Once the court finds that it is a matter of immediate and urgent necessity for the protection of the minor that the minor be placed in a shelter care facility, the minor shall not be returned to the parent, custodian or guardian until the court finds that such placement is no longer necessary for the protection of the minor.
    If the child is placed in the temporary custody of the Department of Children and Family Services for his or her protection, the court shall admonish the parents, guardian, custodian or responsible relative that the parents must cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services, comply with the terms of the service plans, and correct the conditions which require the child to be in care, or risk termination of their parental rights.
    (3) If prior to the shelter care hearing for a minor described in Sections 2-3, 2-4, 3-3 and 4-3 the moving party is unable to serve notice on the party respondent, the shelter care hearing may proceed ex-parte. A shelter care order from an ex-parte hearing shall be endorsed with the date and hour of issuance and shall be filed with the clerk's office and entered of record. The order shall expire after 10 days from the time it is issued unless before its expiration it is renewed, at a hearing upon appearance of the party respondent, or upon an affidavit of the moving party as to all diligent efforts to notify the party respondent by notice as herein prescribed. The notice prescribed shall be in writing and shall be personally delivered to the minor or the minor's attorney and to the last known address of the other person or persons entitled to notice. The notice shall also state the nature of the allegations, the nature of the order sought by the State, including whether temporary custody is sought, and the consequences of failure to appear and shall contain a notice that the parties will not be entitled to further written notices or publication notices of proceedings in this case, including the filing of an amended petition or a motion to terminate parental rights, except as required by Supreme Court Rule 11; and shall explain the right of the parties and the procedures to vacate or modify a shelter care order as provided in this Section. The notice for a shelter care hearing shall be substantially as follows:
NOTICE TO PARENTS AND CHILDREN
OF SHELTER CARE HEARING
        On ................ at ........., before the
    
Honorable ................, (address:) ................., the State of Illinois will present evidence (1) that (name of child or children) ....................... are abused, neglected or dependent for the following reasons:
    .............................................. and (2)
    
whether there is "immediate and urgent necessity" to remove the child or children from the responsible relative.
        YOUR FAILURE TO APPEAR AT THE HEARING MAY RESULT IN
    
PLACEMENT of the child or children in foster care until a trial can be held. A trial may not be held for up to 90 days. You will not be entitled to further notices of proceedings in this case, including the filing of an amended petition or a motion to terminate parental rights.
        At the shelter care hearing, parents have the
    
following rights:
            1. To ask the court to appoint a lawyer if they
        
cannot afford one.
            2. To ask the court to continue the hearing to
        
allow them time to prepare.
            3. To present evidence concerning:
                a. Whether or not the child or children were
            
abused, neglected or dependent.
                b. Whether or not there is "immediate and
            
urgent necessity" to remove the child from home (including: their ability to care for the child, conditions in the home, alternative means of protecting the child other than removal).
                c. The best interests of the child.
            4. To cross examine the State's witnesses.
 
    The Notice for rehearings shall be substantially as follows:
NOTICE OF PARENT'S AND CHILDREN'S RIGHTS
TO REHEARING ON TEMPORARY CUSTODY
        If you were not present at and did not have adequate
    
notice of the Shelter Care Hearing at which temporary custody of ............... was awarded to ................, you have the right to request a full rehearing on whether the State should have temporary custody of ................. To request this rehearing, you must file with the Clerk of the Juvenile Court (address): ........................, in person or by mailing a statement (affidavit) setting forth the following:
            1. That you were not present at the shelter care
        
hearing.
            2. That you did not get adequate notice
        
(explaining how the notice was inadequate).
            3. Your signature.
            4. Signature must be notarized.
        The rehearing should be scheduled within 48 hours of
    
your filing this affidavit.
        At the rehearing, your rights are the same as at the
    
initial shelter care hearing. The enclosed notice explains those rights.
        At the Shelter Care Hearing, children have the
    
following rights:
            1. To have a guardian ad litem appointed.
            2. To be declared competent as a witness and to
        
present testimony concerning:
                a. Whether they are abused, neglected or
            
dependent.
                b. Whether there is "immediate and urgent
            
necessity" to be removed from home.
                c. Their best interests.
            3. To cross examine witnesses for other parties.
            4. To obtain an explanation of any proceedings
        
and orders of the court.
    (4) If the parent, guardian, legal custodian, responsible relative, minor age 8 or over, or counsel of the minor did not have actual notice of or was not present at the shelter care hearing, he or she may file an affidavit setting forth these facts, and the clerk shall set the matter for rehearing not later than 48 hours, excluding Sundays and legal holidays, after the filing of the affidavit. At the rehearing, the court shall proceed in the same manner as upon the original hearing.
    (5) Only when there is reasonable cause to believe that the minor taken into custody is a person described in subsection (3) of Section 5-105 may the minor be kept or detained in a detention home or county or municipal jail. This Section shall in no way be construed to limit subsection (6).
    (6) No minor under 16 years of age may be confined in a jail or place ordinarily used for the confinement of prisoners in a police station. Minors under 18 years of age must be kept separate from confined adults and may not at any time be kept in the same cell, room, or yard with adults confined pursuant to the criminal law.
    (7) If the minor is not brought before a judicial officer within the time period as specified in Section 2-9, the minor must immediately be released from custody.
    (8) If neither the parent, guardian or custodian appears within 24 hours to take custody of a minor released upon request pursuant to subsection (2) of this Section, then the clerk of the court shall set the matter for rehearing not later than 7 days after the original order and shall issue a summons directed to the parent, guardian or custodian to appear. At the same time the probation department shall prepare a report on the minor. If a parent, guardian or custodian does not appear at such rehearing, the judge may enter an order prescribing that the minor be kept in a suitable place designated by the Department of Children and Family Services or a licensed child welfare agency.
    (9) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section any interested party, including the State, the temporary custodian, an agency providing services to the minor or family under a service plan pursuant to Section 8.2 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, foster parent, or any of their representatives, on notice to all parties entitled to notice, may file a motion that it is in the best interests of the minor to modify or vacate a temporary custody order on any of the following grounds:
        (a) It is no longer a matter of immediate and urgent
    
necessity that the minor remain in shelter care; or
        (b) There is a material change in the circumstances
    
of the natural family from which the minor was removed and the child can be cared for at home without endangering the child's health or safety; or
        (c) A person not a party to the alleged abuse,
    
neglect or dependency, including a parent, relative or legal guardian, is capable of assuming temporary custody of the minor; or
        (d) Services provided by the Department of Children
    
and Family Services or a child welfare agency or other service provider have been successful in eliminating the need for temporary custody and the child can be cared for at home without endangering the child's health or safety.
    In ruling on the motion, the court shall determine whether it is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor to modify or vacate a temporary custody order.
    The clerk shall set the matter for hearing not later than 14 days after such motion is filed. In the event that the court modifies or vacates a temporary custody order but does not vacate its finding of probable cause, the court may order that appropriate services be continued or initiated in behalf of the minor and his or her family.
    (10) When the court finds or has found that there is probable cause to believe a minor is an abused minor as described in subsection (2) of Section 2-3 and that there is an immediate and urgent necessity for the abused minor to be placed in shelter care, immediate and urgent necessity shall be presumed for any other minor residing in the same household as the abused minor provided:
        (a) Such other minor is the subject of an abuse or
    
neglect petition pending before the court; and
        (b) A party to the petition is seeking shelter care
    
for such other minor.
    Once the presumption of immediate and urgent necessity has been raised, the burden of demonstrating the lack of immediate and urgent necessity shall be on any party that is opposing shelter care for the other minor.
    (11) The changes made to this Section by Public Act 98-61 apply to a minor who has been arrested or taken into custody on or after January 1, 2014 (the effective date of Public Act 98-61).
(Source: P.A. 97-1076, eff. 8-24-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-61, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-803, eff. 1-1-15.)

705 ILCS 405/2-10.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-10.1) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-10.1)
    Sec. 2-10.1. Whenever a minor is placed in shelter care with the Department or a licensed child welfare agency in accordance with Section 2-10, the Department or agency, as appropriate, shall prepare and file with the court within 45 days of placement under Section 2-10 a case plan which complies with the federal Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 and is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor.
    For the purposes of this Act, "case plan" and "service plan" shall have the same meaning.
(Source: P.A. 94-604, eff. 1-1-06.)

705 ILCS 405/2-10.2

    (705 ILCS 405/2-10.2)
    Sec. 2-10.2. Educational surrogate parent.
    (a) Upon issuing an order under Section 2-10 of this Act, whenever a special education services or early intervention services surrogate parent is appointed for a minor under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, the court may appoint one or both parents or the minor's legal guardian who is a respondent as the educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent for the minor if:
        (1) the parent or legal guardian respondent requests
    
the appointment; and
        (2) the court finds that the best interests of the
    
minor are consistent with the appointment.
    (b) The court may appoint a person other than a parent or legal guardian respondent as educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent of the minor if:
        (1) the person is not a party to the abuse, neglect,
    
or dependency of the minor;
        (2) the person is familiar with the needs of the
    
minor;
        (3) a parent or guardian does not request
    
appointment, is unavailable, or the court denies the request for appointment by a parent or guardian respondent; and
        (4) the court finds that the best interests of the
    
minor are consistent with the appointment.
    (c) An educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent shall meet the requirements of applicable federal laws and rules governing educational surrogate parents or early intervention program surrogate parents. The court may rescind its appointment of an educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent at any time if it determines that rescinding the appointment is consistent with the best interests of the minor. If the court does not appoint a parent, guardian respondent, or other person as educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent, or if the court rescinds an appointment, the selection of an educational surrogate parent or early intervention program surrogate parent shall be made under applicable federal and State laws and rules.
(Source: P.A. 98-868, eff. 8-8-14.)

705 ILCS 405/2-11

    (705 ILCS 405/2-11) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-11)
    Sec. 2-11. Medical and dental treatment and care. At all times during temporary custody or shelter care, the court may authorize a physician, a hospital or any other appropriate health care provider to provide medical, dental or surgical procedures if such procedures are necessary to safeguard the minor's life or health.
    With respect to any minor for whom the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator is appointed the temporary custodian, the Guardianship Administrator or his designee shall be deemed the minor's legally authorized representative for purposes of consenting to an HIV test and obtaining and disclosing information concerning such test pursuant to the AIDS Confidentiality Act and for purposes of consenting to the release of information pursuant to the Illinois Sexually Transmissible Disease Control Act.
    Any person who administers an HIV test upon the consent of the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator or his designee, or who discloses the results of such tests to the Department's Guardianship Administrator or his designee, shall have immunity from any liability, civil, criminal or otherwise, that might result by reason of such actions. For the purpose of any proceedings, civil or criminal, the good faith of any persons required to administer or disclose the results of tests, or permitted to take such actions, shall be presumed.
(Source: P.A. 86-904.)

705 ILCS 405/2-12

    (705 ILCS 405/2-12) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-12)
    Sec. 2-12. Preliminary conferences.
    (1) The court may authorize the probation officer to confer in a preliminary conference with any person seeking to file a petition under Section 2-13, the prospective respondents and other interested persons concerning the advisability of filing the petition, with a view to adjusting suitable cases without the filing of a petition.
    The probation officer should schedule a conference promptly except where the State's Attorney insists on court action or where the minor has indicated that he or she will demand a judicial hearing and will not comply with an informal adjustment.
    (2) In any case of a minor who is in temporary custody, the holding of preliminary conferences does not operate to prolong temporary custody beyond the period permitted by Section 2-9.
    (3) This Section does not authorize any probation officer to compel any person to appear at any conference, produce any papers, or visit any place.
    (4) No statement made during a preliminary conference may be admitted into evidence at an adjudicatory hearing or at any proceeding against the minor under the criminal laws of this State prior to his or her conviction thereunder.
    (5) The probation officer shall promptly formulate a written, non-judicial adjustment plan following the initial conference.
    (6) Non-judicial adjustment plans include but are not limited to the following:
        (a) up to 6 months informal supervision within family;
        (b) up to 6 months informal supervision with a
    
probation officer involved;
        (c) up to 6 months informal supervision with release
    
to a person other than parent;
        (d) referral to special educational, counseling or
    
other rehabilitative social or educational programs;
        (e) referral to residential treatment programs; and
        (f) any other appropriate action with consent of the
    
minor and a parent.
    (7) The factors to be considered by the probation officer in formulating a non-judicial adjustment plan shall be the same as those limited in subsection (4) of Section 5-405.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)

705 ILCS 405/2-13

    (705 ILCS 405/2-13) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-13)
    Sec. 2-13. Petition.
    (1) Any adult person, any agency or association by its representative may file, or the court on its own motion, consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor may direct the filing through the State's Attorney of a petition in respect of a minor under this Act. The petition and all subsequent court documents shall be entitled "In the interest of ...., a minor".
    (2) The petition shall be verified but the statements may be made upon information and belief. It shall allege that the minor is abused, neglected, or dependent, with citations to the appropriate provisions of this Act, and set forth (a) facts sufficient to bring the minor under Section 2-3 or 2-4 and to inform respondents of the cause of action, including, but not limited to, a plain and concise statement of the factual allegations that form the basis for the filing of the petition; (b) the name, age and residence of the minor; (c) the names and residences of his parents; (d) the name and residence of his legal guardian or the person or persons having custody or control of the minor, or of the nearest known relative if no parent or guardian can be found; and (e) if the minor upon whose behalf the petition is brought is sheltered in custody, the date on which such temporary custody was ordered by the court or the date set for a temporary custody hearing. If any of the facts herein required are not known by the petitioner, the petition shall so state.
    (3) The petition must allege that it is in the best interests of the minor and of the public that he be adjudged a ward of the court and may pray generally for relief available under this Act. The petition need not specify any proposed disposition following adjudication of wardship. The petition may request that the minor remain in the custody of the parent, guardian, or custodian under an Order of Protection.
    (4) If termination of parental rights and appointment of a guardian of the person with power to consent to adoption of the minor under Section 2-29 is sought, the petition shall so state. If the petition includes this request, the prayer for relief shall clearly and obviously state that the parents could permanently lose their rights as a parent at this hearing.
    In addition to the foregoing, the petitioner, by motion, may request the termination of parental rights and appointment of a guardian of the person with power to consent to adoption of the minor under Section 2-29 at any time after the entry of a dispositional order under Section 2-22.
    (4.5) (a) With respect to any minors committed to its care pursuant to this Act, the Department of Children and Family Services shall request the State's Attorney to file a petition or motion for termination of parental rights and appointment of guardian of the person with power to consent to adoption of the minor under Section 2-29 if:
        (i) a minor has been in foster care, as described in
    
subsection (b), for 15 months of the most recent 22 months; or
        (ii) a minor under the age of 2 years has been
    
previously determined to be abandoned at an adjudicatory hearing; or
        (iii) the parent is criminally convicted of (A) first
    
degree murder or second degree murder of any child, (B) attempt or conspiracy to commit first degree murder or second degree murder of any child, (C) solicitation to commit murder of any child, solicitation to commit murder for hire of any child, or solicitation to commit second degree murder of any child, (D) aggravated battery, aggravated battery of a child, or felony domestic battery, any of which has resulted in serious injury to the minor or a sibling of the minor, (E) aggravated criminal sexual assault in violation of subdivision (a)(1) of Section 11-1.40 or subdivision (a)(1) of Section 12-14.1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or (F) an offense in any other state the elements of which are similar and bear a substantial relationship to any of the foregoing offenses
unless:
        (i) the child is being cared for by a relative,
        (ii) the Department has documented in the case plan a
    
compelling reason for determining that filing such petition would not be in the best interests of the child,
        (iii) the court has found within the preceding 12
    
months that the Department has failed to make reasonable efforts to reunify the child and family, or
        (iv) paragraph (c) of this subsection (4.5) provides
    
otherwise.
    (b) For purposes of this subsection, the date of entering foster care is defined as the earlier of:
        (1) The date of a judicial finding at an adjudicatory
    
hearing that the child is an abused, neglected, or dependent minor; or
        (2) 60 days after the date on which the child is
    
removed from his or her parent, guardian, or legal custodian.
    (c) With respect to paragraph (a)(i), the following transition rules shall apply:
        (1) If the child entered foster care after November
    
19, 1997 and this amendatory Act of 1998 takes effect before the child has been in foster care for 15 months of the preceding 22 months, then the Department shall comply with the requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection (4.5) for that child as soon as the child has been in foster care for 15 of the preceding 22 months.
        (2) If the child entered foster care after November
    
19, 1997 and this amendatory Act of 1998 takes effect after the child has been in foster care for 15 of the preceding 22 months, then the Department shall comply with the requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection (4.5) for that child within 3 months after the end of the next regular session of the General Assembly.
        (3) If the child entered foster care prior to
    
November 19, 1997, then the Department shall comply with the requirements of paragraph (a) of this subsection (4.5) for that child in accordance with Department policy or rule.
    (d) If the State's Attorney determines that the Department's request for filing of a petition or motion conforms to the requirements set forth in subdivisions (a), (b), and (c) of this subsection (4.5), then the State's Attorney shall file the petition or motion as requested.
    (5) The court shall liberally allow the petitioner to amend the petition to set forth a cause of action or to add, amend, or supplement factual allegations that form the basis for a cause of action up until 14 days before the adjudicatory hearing. The petitioner may amend the petition after that date and prior to the adjudicatory hearing if the court grants leave to amend upon a showing of good cause. The court may allow amendment of the petition to conform with the evidence at any time prior to ruling. In all cases in which the court has granted leave to amend based on new evidence or new allegations, the court shall permit the respondent an adequate opportunity to prepare a defense to the amended petition.
    (6) At any time before dismissal of the petition or before final closing and discharge under Section 2-31, one or more motions in the best interests of the minor may be filed. The motion shall specify sufficient facts in support of the relief requested.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

705 ILCS 405/2-13.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-13.1)
    Sec. 2-13.1. Early termination of reasonable efforts.
    (1) (a) In conjunction with, or at any time subsequent to, the filing of a petition on behalf of a minor in accordance with Section 2-13 of this Act, the State's Attorney, the guardian ad litem, or the Department of Children and Family Services may file a motion requesting a finding that reasonable efforts to reunify that minor with his or her parent or parents are no longer required and are to cease.
    (b) The court shall grant this motion with respect to a parent of the minor if the court finds after a hearing that the parent has:
        (i) had his or her parental rights to another child
    
of the parent involuntarily terminated; or
        (ii) been convicted of:
            (A) first degree or second degree murder of
        
another child of the parent;
            (B) attempt or conspiracy to commit first degree
        
or second degree murder of another child of the parent;
            (C) solicitation to commit murder of another
        
child of the parent, solicitation to commit murder for hire of another child of the parent, or solicitation to commit second degree murder of another child of the parent;
            (D) aggravated battery, aggravated battery of a
        
child, or felony domestic battery, any of which has resulted in serious bodily injury to the minor or another child of the parent; or
            (E) an offense in any other state the elements of
        
which are similar and bear substantial relationship to any of the foregoing offenses
unless the court sets forth in writing a compelling reason why terminating reasonable efforts to reunify the minor with the parent would not be in the best interests of that minor.
    (c) The court shall also grant this motion with respect to a parent of the minor if:
        (i) after a hearing it determines that further
    
reunification services would no longer be appropriate, and
        (ii) a dispositional hearing has already taken place.
    (2) (a) The court shall hold a permanency hearing within 30 days of granting a motion pursuant to this subsection. If an adjudicatory or a dispositional hearing, or both, has not taken place when the court grants a motion pursuant to this Section, then either or both hearings shall be held as needed so that both take place on or before the date a permanency hearing is held pursuant to this subsection.
    (b) Following a permanency hearing held pursuant to paragraph (a) of this subsection, the appointed custodian or guardian of the minor shall make reasonable efforts to place the child in accordance with the permanency plan and goal set by the court, and to complete the necessary steps to locate and finalize a permanent placement.
(Source: P.A. 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-14

    (705 ILCS 405/2-14) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-14)
    Sec. 2-14. Date for Adjudicatory Hearing.
    (a) Purpose and policy. The legislature recognizes that serious delay in the adjudication of abuse, neglect, or dependency cases can cause grave harm to the minor and the family and that it frustrates the health, safety and best interests of the minor and the effort to establish permanent homes for children in need. The purpose of this Section is to insure that, consistent with the federal Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, Public Law 96-272, as amended, and the intent of this Act, the State of Illinois will act in a just and speedy manner to determine the best interests of the minor, including providing for the safety of the minor, identifying families in need, reunifying families where the minor can be cared for at home without endangering the minor's health or safety and it is in the best interests of the minor, and, if reunification is not consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor, finding another permanent home for the minor.
    (b) When a petition is filed alleging that the minor is abused, neglected or dependent, an adjudicatory hearing shall be commenced within 90 days of the date of service of process upon the minor, parents, any guardian and any legal custodian, unless an earlier date is required pursuant to Section 2-13.1. Once commenced, subsequent delay in the proceedings may be allowed by the court when necessary to ensure a fair hearing.
    (c) Upon written motion of a party filed no later than 10 days prior to hearing, or upon the court's own motion and only for good cause shown, the Court may continue the hearing for a period not to exceed 30 days, and only if the continuance is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor. When the court grants a continuance, it shall enter specific factual findings to support its order, including factual findings supporting the court's determination that the continuance is in the best interests of the minor. Only one such continuance shall be granted. A period of continuance for good cause as described in this Section shall temporarily suspend as to all parties, for the time of the delay, the period within which a hearing must be held. On the day of the expiration of the delay, the period shall continue at the point at which it was suspended.
    The term "good cause" as applied in this Section shall be strictly construed and be in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 231 (a) through (f). Neither stipulation by counsel nor the convenience of any party constitutes good cause. If the adjudicatory hearing is not heard within the time limits required by subsection (b) or (c) of this Section, upon motion by any party the petition shall be dismissed without prejudice.
    (d) The time limits of this Section may be waived only by consent of all parties and approval by the court.
    (e) For all cases filed before July 1, 1991, an adjudicatory hearing must be held within 180 days of July 1, 1991.
(Source: P.A. 92-822, eff. 8-21-02.)

705 ILCS 405/2-15

    (705 ILCS 405/2-15) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-15)
    Sec. 2-15. Summons.
    (1) When a petition is filed, the clerk of the court shall issue a summons with a copy of the petition attached. The summons shall be directed to the minor's legal guardian or custodian and to each person named as a respondent in the petition, except that summons need not be directed to a minor respondent under 8 years of age for whom the court appoints a guardian ad litem if the guardian ad litem appears on behalf of the minor in any proceeding under this Act.
    (2) The summons must contain a statement that the minor or any of the respondents is entitled to have an attorney present at the hearing on the petition, and that the clerk of the court should be notified promptly if the minor or any other respondent desires to be represented by an attorney but is financially unable to employ counsel.
    (3) The summons shall be issued under the seal of the court, attested in and signed with the name of the clerk of the court, dated on the day it is issued, and shall require each respondent to appear and answer the petition on the date set for the adjudicatory hearing. The summons shall contain a notice that the parties will not be entitled to further written notices or publication notices of proceedings in this case, including the filing of an amended petition or a motion to terminate parental rights, except as required by Supreme Court Rule 11.
    (4) The summons may be served by any county sheriff, coroner or probation officer, even though the officer is the petitioner. The return of the summons with endorsement of service by the officer is sufficient proof thereof.
    (5) Service of a summons and petition shall be made by: (a) leaving a copy thereof with the person summoned at least 3 days before the time stated therein for appearance; (b) leaving a copy at his usual place of abode with some person of the family, of the age of 10 years or upwards, and informing that person of the contents thereof, provided the officer or other person making service shall also send a copy of the summons in a sealed envelope with postage fully prepaid, addressed to the person summoned at his usual place of abode, at least 3 days before the time stated therein for appearance; or (c) leaving a copy thereof with the guardian or custodian of a minor, at least 3 days before the time stated therein for appearance. If the guardian or custodian is an agency of the State of Illinois, proper service may be made by leaving a copy of the summons and petition with any administrative employee of such agency designated by such agency to accept service of summons and petitions. The certificate of the officer or affidavit of the person that he has sent the copy pursuant to this Section is sufficient proof of service.
    (6) When a parent or other person, who has signed a written promise to appear and bring the minor to court or who has waived or acknowledged service, fails to appear with the minor on the date set by the court, a bench warrant may be issued for the parent or other person, the minor, or both.
    (7) The appearance of the minor's legal guardian or custodian, or a person named as a respondent in a petition, in any proceeding under this Act shall constitute a waiver of service of summons and submission to the jurisdiction of the court, except that the filing of a motion authorized under Section 2-301 of the Code of Civil Procedure does not constitute an appearance under this subsection. A copy of the summons and petition shall be provided to the person at the time of his appearance.
    (8) Notice to a parent who has appeared or been served with summons personally or by certified mail, and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 11. Notice to a parent who was served by publication and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with this Section and Section 2-16.
(Source: P.A. 90-27, eff. 1-1-98; 90-28, eff. 1-1-98; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98; 91-145, eff. 1-1-00.)

705 ILCS 405/2-16

    (705 ILCS 405/2-16) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-16)
    Sec. 2-16. Notice by certified mail or publication.
    (1) If service on individuals as provided in Section 2-15 is not made on any respondent within a reasonable time or if it appears that any respondent resides outside the State, service may be made by certified mail. In such case the clerk shall mail the summons and a copy of the petition to that respondent by certified mail marked for delivery to addressee only. The court shall not proceed with the adjudicatory hearing until 5 days after such mailing. The regular return receipt for certified mail is sufficient proof of service.
    (2) Where a respondent's usual place of abode is not known, a diligent inquiry shall be made to ascertain the respondent's current and last known address. The Department of Children and Family Services shall adopt rules defining the requirements for conducting a diligent search to locate parents of minors in the custody of the Department. If, after diligent inquiry made at any time within the preceding 12 months, the usual place of abode cannot be reasonably ascertained, or if respondent is concealing his or her whereabouts to avoid service of process, petitioner's attorney shall file an affidavit at the office of the clerk of court in which the action is pending showing that respondent on due inquiry cannot be found or is concealing his or her whereabouts so that process cannot be served. The affidavit shall state the last known address of the respondent. The affidavit shall also state what efforts were made to effectuate service. Within 3 days of receipt of the affidavit, the clerk shall issue publication service as provided below. The clerk shall also send a copy thereof by mail addressed to each respondent listed in the affidavit at his or her last known address. The clerk of the court as soon as possible shall cause publication to be made once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the action is pending. Notice by publication is not required in any case when the person alleged to have legal custody of the minor has been served with summons personally or by certified mail, but the court may not enter any order or judgment against any person who cannot be served with process other than by publication unless notice by publication is given or unless that person appears. When a minor has been sheltered under Section 2-10 of this Act and summons has not been served personally or by certified mail within 20 days from the date of the order of court directing such shelter care, the clerk of the court shall cause publication. Notice by publication shall be substantially as follows:
    "A, B, C, D, (here giving the names of the named respondents, if any) and to All Whom It May Concern (if there is any respondent under that designation):
    Take notice that on (insert date) a petition was filed under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 by .... in the circuit court of .... county entitled 'In the interest of ...., a minor', and that in .... courtroom at .... on (insert date) at the hour of ...., or as soon thereafter as this cause may be heard, an adjudicatory hearing will be held upon the petition to have the child declared to be a ward of the court under that Act. THE COURT HAS AUTHORITY IN THIS PROCEEDING TO TAKE FROM YOU THE CUSTODY AND GUARDIANSHIP OF THE MINOR, TO TERMINATE YOUR PARENTAL RIGHTS, AND TO APPOINT A GUARDIAN WITH POWER TO CONSENT TO ADOPTION. YOU MAY LOSE ALL PARENTAL RIGHTS TO YOUR CHILD. IF THE PETITION REQUESTS THE TERMINATION OF YOUR PARENTAL RIGHTS AND THE APPOINTMENT OF A GUARDIAN WITH POWER TO CONSENT TO ADOPTION, YOU MAY LOSE ALL PARENTAL RIGHTS TO THE CHILD. Unless you appear you will not be entitled to further written notices or publication notices of the proceedings in this case, including the filing of an amended petition or a motion to terminate parental rights.
    Now, unless you appear at the hearing and show cause against the petition, the allegations of the petition may stand admitted as against you and each of you, and an order or judgment entered.
......................
Clerk
          Dated (insert the date of publication)"
 
    (3) The clerk shall also at the time of the publication of the notice send a copy thereof by mail to each of the respondents on account of whom publication is made at his or her last known address. The certificate of the clerk that he or she has mailed the notice is evidence thereof. No other publication notice is required. Every respondent notified by publication under this Section must appear and answer in open court at the hearing. The court may not proceed with the adjudicatory hearing until 10 days after service by publication on any parent, guardian or legal custodian in the case of a minor described in Section 2-3 or 2-4.
    (4) If it becomes necessary to change the date set for the hearing in order to comply with Section 2-14 or with this Section, notice of the resetting of the date must be given, by certified mail or other reasonable means, to each respondent who has been served with summons personally or by certified mail.
    (5) Notice to a parent who has appeared or been served with summons personally or by certified mail, and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 11. Notice to a parent who was served by publication and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with this Section and Section 2-15.
(Source: P.A. 90-27, eff. 1-1-98; 90-28, eff. 1-1-98; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98; 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

705 ILCS 405/2-17

    (705 ILCS 405/2-17) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-17)
    Sec. 2-17. Guardian ad litem.
    (1) Immediately upon the filing of a petition alleging that the minor is a person described in Sections 2-3 or 2-4 of this Article, the court shall appoint a guardian ad litem for the minor if:
        (a) such petition alleges that the minor is an abused
    
or neglected child; or
        (b) such petition alleges that charges alleging the
    
commission of any of the sex offenses defined in Article 11 or in Sections 11-1.20, 11-1.30, 11-1.40, 11-1.50, 11-1.60, 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15 or 12-16 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, have been filed against a defendant in any court and that such minor is the alleged victim of the acts of defendant in the commission of such offense.
    Unless the guardian ad litem appointed pursuant to this paragraph (1) is an attorney at law he shall be represented in the performance of his duties by counsel. The guardian ad litem shall represent the best interests of the minor and shall present recommendations to the court consistent with that duty.
    (2) Before proceeding with the hearing, the court shall appoint a guardian ad litem for the minor if
        (a) no parent, guardian, custodian or relative of the
    
minor appears at the first or any subsequent hearing of the case;
        (b) the petition prays for the appointment of a
    
guardian with power to consent to adoption; or
        (c) the petition for which the minor is before the
    
court resulted from a report made pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
    (3) The court may appoint a guardian ad litem for the minor whenever it finds that there may be a conflict of interest between the minor and his parents or other custodian or that it is otherwise in the minor's best interest to do so.
    (4) Unless the guardian ad litem is an attorney, he shall be represented by counsel.
    (5) The reasonable fees of a guardian ad litem appointed under this Section shall be fixed by the court and charged to the parents of the minor, to the extent they are able to pay. If the parents are unable to pay those fees, they shall be paid from the general fund of the county.
    (6) A guardian ad litem appointed under this Section, shall receive copies of any and all classified reports of child abuse and neglect made under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act in which the minor who is the subject of a report under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, is also the minor for whom the guardian ad litem is appointed under this Section.
    (7) The appointed guardian ad litem shall remain the child's guardian ad litem throughout the entire juvenile trial court proceedings, including permanency hearings and termination of parental rights proceedings, unless there is a substitution entered by order of the court.
    (8) The guardian ad litem or an agent of the guardian ad litem shall have a minimum of one in-person contact with the minor and one contact with one of the current foster parents or caregivers prior to the adjudicatory hearing, and at least one additional in-person contact with the child and one contact with one of the current foster parents or caregivers after the adjudicatory hearing but prior to the first permanency hearing and one additional in-person contact with the child and one contact with one of the current foster parents or caregivers each subsequent year. For good cause shown, the judge may excuse face-to-face interviews required in this subsection.
    (9) In counties with a population of 100,000 or more but less than 3,000,000, each guardian ad litem must successfully complete a training program approved by the Department of Children and Family Services. The Department of Children and Family Services shall provide training materials and documents to guardians ad litem who are not mandated to attend the training program. The Department of Children and Family Services shall develop and distribute to all guardians ad litem a bibliography containing information including but not limited to the juvenile court process, termination of parental rights, child development, medical aspects of child abuse, and the child's need for safety and permanence.
(Source: P.A. 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

705 ILCS 405/2-17.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-17.1)
    Sec. 2-17.1. Court appointed special advocate.
    (1) The court may appoint a special advocate upon the filing of a petition under this Article or at any time during the pendency of a proceeding under this Article. Except in counties with a population over 3,000,000, the court appointed special advocate may also serve as guardian ad litem by appointment of the court under Section 2-17 of this Act.
    (2) The court appointed special advocate shall act as a monitor and shall be notified of all administrative case reviews pertaining to the minor and work with the parties' attorneys, the guardian ad litem, and others assigned to the minor's case to protect the minor's health, safety and best interests and insure the proper delivery of child welfare services. The court may consider, at its discretion, testimony of the court appointed special advocate pertaining to the well-being of the child.
    (3) Court appointed special advocates shall serve as volunteers without compensation and shall receive training consistent with nationally developed standards.
    (4) No person convicted of a criminal offense as specified in Section 4.2 of the Child Care Act of 1969 and no person identified as a perpetrator of an act of child abuse or neglect as reflected in the Department of Children and Family Services State Central Register shall serve as a court appointed special advocate.
    (5) All costs associated with the appointment and duties of the court appointed special advocate shall be paid by the court appointed special advocate or an organization of court appointed special advocates. In no event shall the court appointed special advocate be liable for any costs of services provided to the child.
    (6) The court may remove the court appointed special advocate or the guardian ad litem from a case upon finding that the court appointed special advocate or the guardian ad litem has acted in a manner contrary to the child's best interest or if the court otherwise deems continued service is unwanted or unnecessary.
    (7) In any county in which a program of court appointed special advocates is in operation, the provisions of this Section shall apply unless the county board of that county, by resolution, determines that the county shall not be governed by this Section.
    (8) Any court appointed special advocate acting in good faith within the scope of his or her appointment shall have immunity from any civil or criminal liability that otherwise might result by reason of his or her actions, except in cases of willful and wanton misconduct. For the purpose of any civil or criminal proceedings, the good faith of any court appointed special advocate shall be presumed.
(Source: P.A. 90-28, eff. 1-1-98; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98; 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

705 ILCS 405/2-18

    (705 ILCS 405/2-18) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-18)
    Sec. 2-18. Evidence.
    (1) At the adjudicatory hearing, the court shall first consider only the question whether the minor is abused, neglected or dependent. The standard of proof and the rules of evidence in the nature of civil proceedings in this State are applicable to proceedings under this Article. If the petition also seeks the appointment of a guardian of the person with power to consent to adoption of the minor under Section 2-29, the court may also consider legally admissible evidence at the adjudicatory hearing that one or more grounds of unfitness exists under subdivision D of Section 1 of the Adoption Act.
    (2) In any hearing under this Act, the following shall constitute prima facie evidence of abuse or neglect, as the case may be:
        (a) proof that a minor has a medical diagnosis of
    
battered child syndrome is prima facie evidence of abuse;
        (b) proof that a minor has a medical diagnosis of
    
failure to thrive syndrome is prima facie evidence of neglect;
        (c) proof that a minor has a medical diagnosis of
    
fetal alcohol syndrome is prima facie evidence of neglect;
        (d) proof that a minor has a medical diagnosis at
    
birth of withdrawal symptoms from narcotics or barbiturates is prima facie evidence of neglect;
        (e) proof of injuries sustained by a minor or of the
    
condition of a minor of such a nature as would ordinarily not be sustained or exist except by reason of the acts or omissions of the parent, custodian or guardian of such minor shall be prima facie evidence of abuse or neglect, as the case may be;
        (f) proof that a parent, custodian or guardian of a
    
minor repeatedly used a drug, to the extent that it has or would ordinarily have the effect of producing in the user a substantial state of stupor, unconsciousness, intoxication, hallucination, disorientation or incompetence, or a substantial impairment of judgment, or a substantial manifestation of irrationality, shall be prima facie evidence of neglect;
        (g) proof that a parent, custodian, or guardian of a
    
minor repeatedly used a controlled substance, as defined in subsection (f) of Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, in the presence of the minor or a sibling of the minor is prima facie evidence of neglect. "Repeated use", for the purpose of this subsection, means more than one use of a controlled substance as defined in subsection (f) of Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act;
        (h) proof that a newborn infant's blood, urine, or
    
meconium contains any amount of a controlled substance as defined in subsection (f) of Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or a metabolite of a controlled substance, with the exception of controlled substances or metabolites of those substances, the presence of which is the result of medical treatment administered to the mother or the newborn, is prime facie evidence of neglect;
        (i) proof that a minor was present in a structure or
    
vehicle in which the minor's parent, custodian, or guardian was involved in the manufacture of methamphetamine constitutes prima facie evidence of abuse and neglect;
        (j) proof that a parent, custodian, or guardian of a
    
minor allows, encourages, or requires a minor to perform, offer, or agree to perform any act of sexual penetration as defined in Section 11-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 for any money, property, token, object, or article or anything of value, or any touching or fondling of the sex organs of one person by another person, for any money, property, token, object, or article or anything of value, for the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification, constitutes prima facie evidence of abuse and neglect;
        (k) proof that a parent, custodian, or guardian of a
    
minor commits or allows to be committed the offense of involuntary servitude, involuntary sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons as defined in Section 10-9 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, upon such minor, constitutes prima facie evidence of abuse and neglect.
    (3) In any hearing under this Act, proof of the abuse, neglect or dependency of one minor shall be admissible evidence on the issue of the abuse, neglect or dependency of any other minor for whom the respondent is responsible.
    (4) (a) Any writing, record, photograph or x-ray of any hospital or public or private agency, whether in the form of an entry in a book or otherwise, made as a memorandum or record of any condition, act, transaction, occurrence or event relating to a minor in an abuse, neglect or dependency proceeding, shall be admissible in evidence as proof of that condition, act, transaction, occurrence or event, if the court finds that the document was made in the regular course of the business of the hospital or agency and that it was in the regular course of such business to make it, at the time of the act, transaction, occurrence or event, or within a reasonable time thereafter. A certification by the head or responsible employee of the hospital or agency that the writing, record, photograph or x-ray is the full and complete record of the condition, act, transaction, occurrence or event and that it satisfies the conditions of this paragraph shall be prima facie evidence of the facts contained in such certification. A certification by someone other than the head of the hospital or agency shall be accompanied by a photocopy of a delegation of authority signed by both the head of the hospital or agency and by such other employee. All other circumstances of the making of the memorandum, record, photograph or x-ray, including lack of personal knowledge of the maker, may be proved to affect the weight to be accorded such evidence, but shall not affect its admissibility.
    (b) Any indicated report filed pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act shall be admissible in evidence.
    (c) Previous statements made by the minor relating to any allegations of abuse or neglect shall be admissible in evidence. However, no such statement, if uncorroborated and not subject to cross-examination, shall be sufficient in itself to support a finding of abuse or neglect.
    (d) There shall be a rebuttable presumption that a minor is competent to testify in abuse or neglect proceedings. The court shall determine how much weight to give to the minor's testimony, and may allow the minor to testify in chambers with only the court, the court reporter and attorneys for the parties present.
    (e) The privileged character of communication between any professional person and patient or client, except privilege between attorney and client, shall not apply to proceedings subject to this Article.
    (f) Proof of the impairment of emotional health or impairment of mental or emotional condition as a result of the failure of the respondent to exercise a minimum degree of care toward a minor may include competent opinion or expert testimony, and may include proof that such impairment lessened during a period when the minor was in the care, custody or supervision of a person or agency other than the respondent.
    (5) In any hearing under this Act alleging neglect for failure to provide education as required by law under subsection (1) of Section 2-3, proof that a minor under 13 years of age who is subject to compulsory school attendance under the School Code is a chronic truant as defined under the School Code shall be prima facie evidence of neglect by the parent or guardian in any hearing under this Act and proof that a minor who is 13 years of age or older who is subject to compulsory school attendance under the School Code is a chronic truant shall raise a rebuttable presumption of neglect by the parent or guardian. This subsection (5) shall not apply in counties with 2,000,000 or more inhabitants.
    (6) In any hearing under this Act, the court may take judicial notice of prior sworn testimony or evidence admitted in prior proceedings involving the same minor if (a) the parties were either represented by counsel at such prior proceedings or the right to counsel was knowingly waived and (b) the taking of judicial notice would not result in admitting hearsay evidence at a hearing where it would otherwise be prohibited.
(Source: P.A. 96-1464, eff. 8-20-10; 97-897, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

705 ILCS 405/2-19

    (705 ILCS 405/2-19) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-19)
    Sec. 2-19. Preliminary orders after filing a petition. In all cases involving physical abuse the court shall order, and in all cases involving neglect or sexual abuse the court may order, an examination of the child under Section 2-11 of this Act or by a physician appointed or designated for this purpose by the court. As part of the examination, the physician shall arrange to have color photographs taken, as soon as practical, of areas of trauma visible on the child and may, if indicated, arrange to have a radiological examination performed on the child. The physician, on the completion of the examination, shall forward the results of the examination together with the color photographs to the State's Attorney of the county of the court ordering such examination. The court may dispense with the examination in those cases which were commenced on the basis of a physical examination by a physician. Unless color photographs have already been taken or unless there are no areas of visible trauma, the court shall arrange to have color photographs taken if no such examination is conducted.
(Source: P.A. 87-1148.)

705 ILCS 405/2-20

    (705 ILCS 405/2-20) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-20)
    Sec. 2-20. Continuance under supervision.
    (1) The court may enter an order of continuance under supervision (a) upon an admission or stipulation by the appropriate respondent or minor respondent of the facts supporting the petition and before proceeding to findings and adjudication, or after hearing the evidence at the adjudicatory hearing but before noting in the minutes of proceeding a finding of whether or not the minor is abused, neglected or dependent; and (b) in the absence of objection made in open court by the minor, his parent, guardian, custodian, responsible relative, defense attorney or the State's Attorney.
    (2) If the minor, his parent, guardian, custodian, responsible relative, defense attorney or the State's Attorney, objects in open court to any such continuance and insists upon proceeding to findings and adjudication, the court shall so proceed.
    (3) Nothing in this Section limits the power of the court to order a continuance of the hearing for the production of additional evidence or for any other proper reason.
    (4) When a hearing where a minor is alleged to be abused, neglected or dependent is continued pursuant to this Section, the court may permit the minor to remain in his home if the court determines and makes written factual findings that the minor can be cared for at home when consistent with the minor's health, safety, and best interests, subject to such conditions concerning his conduct and supervision as the court may require by order.
    (5) If a petition is filed charging a violation of a condition of the continuance under supervision, the court shall conduct a hearing. If the court finds that such condition of supervision has not been fulfilled the court may proceed to findings and adjudication and disposition. The filing of a petition for violation of a condition of the continuance under supervision shall toll the period of continuance under supervision until the final determination of the charge, and the term of the continuance under supervision shall not run until the hearing and disposition of the petition for violation; provided where the petition alleges conduct that does not constitute a criminal offense, the hearing must be held within 15 days of the filing of the petition unless a delay in such hearing has been occasioned by the minor, in which case the delay shall continue the tolling of the period of continuance under supervision for the period of such delay.
(Source: P.A. 90-27, eff. 1-1-98; 90-28, eff. 1-1-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-21

    (705 ILCS 405/2-21) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-21)
    Sec. 2-21. Findings and adjudication.
    (1) The court shall state for the record the manner in which the parties received service of process and shall note whether the return or returns of service, postal return receipt or receipts for notice by certified mail, or certificate or certificates of publication have been filed in the court record. The court shall enter any appropriate orders of default against any parent who has been properly served in any manner and fails to appear.
    No further service of process as defined in Sections 2-15 and 2-16 is required in any subsequent proceeding for a parent who was properly served in any manner, except as required by Supreme Court Rule 11.
    The caseworker shall testify about the diligent search conducted for the parent.
    After hearing the evidence the court shall determine whether or not the minor is abused, neglected, or dependent. If it finds that the minor is not such a person, the court shall order the petition dismissed and the minor discharged. The court's determination of whether the minor is abused, neglected, or dependent shall be stated in writing with the factual basis supporting that determination.
    If the court finds that the minor is abused, neglected, or dependent, the court shall then determine and put in writing the factual basis supporting that determination, and specify, to the extent possible, the acts or omissions or both of each parent, guardian, or legal custodian that form the basis of the court's findings. That finding shall appear in the order of the court.
    If the court finds that the child has been abused, neglected or dependent, the court shall admonish the parents that they must cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services, comply with the terms of the service plan, and correct the conditions that require the child to be in care, or risk termination of parental rights.
    If the court determines that a person has inflicted physical or sexual abuse upon a minor, the court shall report that determination to the Department of State Police, which shall include that information in its report to the President of the school board for a school district that requests a criminal history records check of that person, or the regional superintendent of schools who requests a check of that person, as required under Section 10-21.9 or 34-18.5 of the School Code.
    (2) If, pursuant to subsection (1) of this Section, the court determines and puts in writing the factual basis supporting the determination that the minor is either abused or neglected or dependent, the court shall then set a time not later than 30 days after the entry of the finding for a dispositional hearing (unless an earlier date is required pursuant to Section 2-13.1) to be conducted under Section 2-22 at which hearing the court shall determine whether it is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor and the public that he be made a ward of the court. To assist the court in making this and other determinations at the dispositional hearing, the court may order that an investigation be conducted and a dispositional report be prepared concerning the minor's physical and mental history and condition, family situation and background, economic status, education, occupation, history of delinquency or criminality, personal habits, and any other information that may be helpful to the court. The dispositional hearing may be continued once for a period not to exceed 30 days if the court finds that such continuance is necessary to complete the dispositional report.
    (3) The time limits of this Section may be waived only by consent of all parties and approval by the court, as determined to be consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor.
    (4) For all cases adjudicated prior to July 1, 1991, for which no dispositional hearing has been held prior to that date, a dispositional hearing under Section 2-22 shall be held within 90 days of July 1, 1991.
    (5) The court may terminate the parental rights of a parent at the initial dispositional hearing if all of the following conditions are met:
        (i) the original or amended petition contains a
    
request for termination of parental rights and appointment of a guardian with power to consent to adoption; and
        (ii) the court has found by a preponderance of
    
evidence, introduced or stipulated to at an adjudicatory hearing, that the child comes under the jurisdiction of the court as an abused, neglected, or dependent minor under Section 2-18; and
        (iii) the court finds, on the basis of clear and
    
convincing evidence admitted at the adjudicatory hearing that the parent is an unfit person under subdivision D of Section 1 of the Adoption Act; and
        (iv) the court determines in accordance with the
    
rules of evidence for dispositional proceedings, that:
            (A) it is in the best interest of the minor and
        
public that the child be made a ward of the court;
            (A-5) reasonable efforts under subsection (l-1)
        
of Section 5 of the Children and Family Services Act are inappropriate or such efforts were made and were unsuccessful; and
            (B) termination of parental rights and
        
appointment of a guardian with power to consent to adoption is in the best interest of the child pursuant to Section 2-29.
(Source: P.A. 93-909, eff. 8-12-04.)

705 ILCS 405/2-21.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-21.1)
    Sec. 2-21.1. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 89-17, eff. 5-31-95.)

705 ILCS 405/2-22

    (705 ILCS 405/2-22) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-22)
    Sec. 2-22. Dispositional hearing; evidence; continuance.
    (1) At the dispositional hearing, the court shall determine whether it is in the best interests of the minor and the public that he be made a ward of the court, and, if he is to be made a ward of the court, the court shall determine the proper disposition best serving the health, safety and interests of the minor and the public. The court also shall consider the permanency goal set for the minor, the nature of the service plan for the minor and the services delivered and to be delivered under the plan. All evidence helpful in determining these questions, including oral and written reports, may be admitted and may be relied upon to the extent of its probative value, even though not competent for the purposes of the adjudicatory hearing.
    (2) Once all parties respondent have been served in compliance with Sections 2-15 and 2-16, no further service or notice must be given to a party prior to proceeding to a dispositional hearing. Before making an order of disposition the court shall advise the State's Attorney, the parents, guardian, custodian or responsible relative or their counsel of the factual contents and the conclusions of the reports prepared for the use of the court and considered by it, and afford fair opportunity, if requested, to controvert them. The court may order, however, that the documents containing such reports need not be submitted to inspection, or that sources of confidential information need not be disclosed except to the attorneys for the parties. Factual contents, conclusions, documents and sources disclosed by the court under this paragraph shall not be further disclosed without the express approval of the court pursuant to an in camera hearing.
    (3) A record of a prior continuance under supervision under Section 2-20, whether successfully completed with regard to the child's health, safety and best interest, or not, is admissible at the dispositional hearing.
    (4) On its own motion or that of the State's Attorney, a parent, guardian, custodian, responsible relative or counsel, the court may adjourn the hearing for a reasonable period to receive reports or other evidence, if the adjournment is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor, but in no event shall continuances be granted so that the dispositional hearing occurs more than 6 months after the initial removal of a minor from his or her home. In scheduling investigations and hearings, the court shall give priority to proceedings in which a minor has been removed from his or her home before an order of disposition has been made.
    (5) Unless already set by the court, at the conclusion of the dispositional hearing, the court shall set the date for the first permanency hearing, to be conducted under subsection (2) of Section 2-28, which shall be held: (a) within 12 months from the date temporary custody was taken, (b) if the parental rights of both parents have been terminated in accordance with the procedure described in subsection (5) of Section 2-21, within 30 days of the termination of parental rights and appointment of a guardian with power to consent to adoption, or (c) in accordance with subsection (2) of Section 2-13.1.
    (6) When the court declares a child to be a ward of the court and awards guardianship to the Department of Children and Family Services, (a) the court shall admonish the parents, guardian, custodian or responsible relative that the parents must cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services, comply with the terms of the service plans, and correct the conditions which require the child to be in care, or risk termination of their parental rights; and (b) the court shall inquire of the parties of any intent to proceed with termination of parental rights of a parent:
        (A) whose identity still remains unknown;
        (B) whose whereabouts remain unknown; or
        (C) who was found in default at the adjudicatory
    
hearing and has not obtained an order setting aside the default in accordance with Section 2-1301 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 92-822, eff. 8-21-02.)

705 ILCS 405/2-23

    (705 ILCS 405/2-23) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-23)
    Sec. 2-23. Kinds of dispositional orders.
    (1) The following kinds of orders of disposition may be made in respect of wards of the court:
        (a) A minor under 18 years of age found to be
    
neglected or abused under Section 2-3 or dependent under Section 2-4 may be (1) continued in the custody of his or her parents, guardian or legal custodian; (2) placed in accordance with Section 2-27; (3) restored to the custody of the parent, parents, guardian, or legal custodian, provided the court shall order the parent, parents, guardian, or legal custodian to cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services and comply with the terms of an after-care plan or risk the loss of custody of the child and the possible termination of their parental rights; or (4) ordered partially or completely emancipated in accordance with the provisions of the Emancipation of Minors Act.
        However, in any case in which a minor is found by the
    
court to be neglected or abused under Section 2-3 of this Act, custody of the minor shall not be restored to any parent, guardian or legal custodian whose acts or omissions or both have been identified, pursuant to subsection (1) of Section 2-21, as forming the basis for the court's finding of abuse or neglect, until such time as a hearing is held on the issue of the best interests of the minor and the fitness of such parent, guardian or legal custodian to care for the minor without endangering the minor's health or safety, and the court enters an order that such parent, guardian or legal custodian is fit to care for the minor.
        (b) A minor under 18 years of age found to be
    
dependent under Section 2-4 may be (1) placed in accordance with Section 2-27 or (2) ordered partially or completely emancipated in accordance with the provisions of the Emancipation of Minors Act.
        However, in any case in which a minor is found by the
    
court to be dependent under Section 2-4 of this Act, custody of the minor shall not be restored to any parent, guardian or legal custodian whose acts or omissions or both have been identified, pursuant to subsection (1) of Section 2-21, as forming the basis for the court's finding of dependency, until such time as a hearing is held on the issue of the fitness of such parent, guardian or legal custodian to care for the minor without endangering the minor's health or safety, and the court enters an order that such parent, guardian or legal custodian is fit to care for the minor.
        (b-1) A minor between the ages of 18 and 21 may be
    
placed pursuant to Section 2-27 of this Act if (1) the court has granted a supplemental petition to reinstate wardship of the minor pursuant to subsection (2) of Section 2-33, or (2) the court has adjudicated the minor a ward of the court, permitted the minor to return home under an order of protection, and subsequently made a finding that it is in the minor's best interest to vacate the order of protection and commit the minor to the Department of Children and Family Services for care and service.
        (c) When the court awards guardianship to the
    
Department of Children and Family Services, the court shall order the parents to cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services, comply with the terms of the service plans, and correct the conditions that require the child to be in care, or risk termination of their parental rights.
    (2) Any order of disposition may provide for protective supervision under Section 2-24 and may include an order of protection under Section 2-25.
    Unless the order of disposition expressly so provides, it does not operate to close proceedings on the pending petition, but is subject to modification, not inconsistent with Section 2-28, until final closing and discharge of the proceedings under Section 2-31.
    (3) The court also shall enter any other orders necessary to fulfill the service plan, including, but not limited to, (i) orders requiring parties to cooperate with services, (ii) restraining orders controlling the conduct of any party likely to frustrate the achievement of the goal, and (iii) visiting orders. When the child is placed separately from a sibling, the court shall review the Sibling Contact Support Plan developed under subsection (f) of Section 7.4 of the Children and Family Services Act, if applicable. If the Department has not convened a meeting to develop a Sibling Contact Support Plan, or if the court finds that the existing Plan is not in the child's best interest, the court may enter an order requiring the Department to develop and implement a Sibling Contact Support Plan under subsection (f) of Section 7.4 of the Children and Family Services Act or order mediation. Unless otherwise specifically authorized by law, the court is not empowered under this subsection (3) to order specific placements, specific services, or specific service providers to be included in the plan. If, after receiving evidence, the court determines that the services contained in the plan are not reasonably calculated to facilitate achievement of the permanency goal, the court shall put in writing the factual basis supporting the determination and enter specific findings based on the evidence. The court also shall enter an order for the Department to develop and implement a new service plan or to implement changes to the current service plan consistent with the court's findings. The new service plan shall be filed with the court and served on all parties within 45 days after the date of the order. The court shall continue the matter until the new service plan is filed. Unless otherwise specifically authorized by law, the court is not empowered under this subsection (3) or under subsection (2) to order specific placements, specific services, or specific service providers to be included in the plan.
    (4) In addition to any other order of disposition, the court may order any minor adjudicated neglected with respect to his or her own injurious behavior to make restitution, in monetary or non-monetary form, under the terms and conditions of Section 5-5-6 of the Unified Code of Corrections, except that the "presentence hearing" referred to therein shall be the dispositional hearing for purposes of this Section. The parent, guardian or legal custodian of the minor may pay some or all of such restitution on the minor's behalf.
    (5) Any order for disposition where the minor is committed or placed in accordance with Section 2-27 shall provide for the parents or guardian of the estate of such minor to pay to the legal custodian or guardian of the person of the minor such sums as are determined by the custodian or guardian of the person of the minor as necessary for the minor's needs. Such payments may not exceed the maximum amounts provided for by Section 9.1 of the Children and Family Services Act.
    (6) Whenever the order of disposition requires the minor to attend school or participate in a program of training, the truant officer or designated school official shall regularly report to the court if the minor is a chronic or habitual truant under Section 26-2a of the School Code.
    (7) The court may terminate the parental rights of a parent at the initial dispositional hearing if all of the conditions in subsection (5) of Section 2-21 are met.
(Source: P.A. 96-581, eff. 1-1-10; 96-600, eff. 8-21-09; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10; 97-1076, eff. 8-24-12.)

705 ILCS 405/2-24

    (705 ILCS 405/2-24) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-24)
    Sec. 2-24. Protective supervision.
    (1) If the order of disposition, following a determination of the best interests of the minor, releases the minor to the custody of his parents, guardian or legal custodian, or continues him in such custody, the court may, if the health, safety and best interests of the minor require, place the person having custody of the minor, except for representatives of private or public agencies or governmental departments, under supervision of the probation office.
    (2) An order of protective supervision may require the parent to present the child for periodic medical examinations, which shall include an opportunity for medical personnel to speak with and examine the child outside the presence of the parent. The results of the medical examinations conducted in accordance with this Section shall be made available to the Department, the guardian ad litem, and the court.
    (3) Rules or orders of court shall define the terms and conditions of protective supervision, which may be modified or terminated when the court finds that the health, safety and best interests of the minor and the public will be served thereby.
(Source: P.A. 90-28, eff. 1-1-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-25

    (705 ILCS 405/2-25) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-25)
    Sec. 2-25. Order of protection.
    (1) The court may make an order of protection in assistance of or as a condition of any other order authorized by this Act. The order of protection shall be based on the health, safety and best interests of the minor and may set forth reasonable conditions of behavior to be observed for a specified period. Such an order may require a person:
        (a) to stay away from the home or the minor;
        (b) to permit a parent to visit the minor at stated
    
periods;
        (c) to abstain from offensive conduct against the
    
minor, his parent or any person to whom custody of the minor is awarded;
        (d) to give proper attention to the care of the home;
        (e) to cooperate in good faith with an agency to
    
which custody of a minor is entrusted by the court or with an agency or association to which the minor is referred by the court;
        (f) to prohibit and prevent any contact whatsoever
    
with the respondent minor by a specified individual or individuals who are alleged in either a criminal or juvenile proceeding to have caused injury to a respondent minor or a sibling of a respondent minor;
        (g) to refrain from acts of commission or omission
    
that tend to make the home not a proper place for the minor;
        (h) to refrain from contacting the minor and the
    
foster parents in any manner that is not specified in writing in the case plan.
    (2) The court shall enter an order of protection to prohibit and prevent any contact between a respondent minor or a sibling of a respondent minor and any person named in a petition seeking an order of protection who has been convicted of heinous battery or aggravated battery under subdivision (a)(2) of Section 12-3.05, aggravated battery of a child or aggravated battery under subdivision (b)(1) of Section 12-3.05, criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, criminal sexual abuse, or aggravated criminal sexual abuse as described in the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or has been convicted of an offense that resulted in the death of a child, or has violated a previous order of protection under this Section.
    (3) When the court issues an order of protection against any person as provided by this Section, the court shall direct a copy of such order to the Sheriff of that county. The Sheriff shall furnish a copy of the order of protection to the Department of State Police within 24 hours of receipt, in the form and manner required by the Department. The Department of State Police shall maintain a complete record and index of such orders of protection and make this data available to all local law enforcement agencies.
    (4) After notice and opportunity for hearing afforded to a person subject to an order of protection, the order may be modified or extended for a further specified period or both or may be terminated if the court finds that the health, safety, and best interests of the minor and the public will be served thereby.
    (5) An order of protection may be sought at any time during the course of any proceeding conducted pursuant to this Act if such an order is consistent with the health, safety, and best interests of the minor. Any person against whom an order of protection is sought may retain counsel to represent him at a hearing, and has rights to be present at the hearing, to be informed prior to the hearing in writing of the contents of the petition seeking a protective order and of the date, place and time of such hearing, and to cross examine witnesses called by the petitioner and to present witnesses and argument in opposition to the relief sought in the petition.
    (6) Diligent efforts shall be made by the petitioner to serve any person or persons against whom any order of protection is sought with written notice of the contents of the petition seeking a protective order and of the date, place and time at which the hearing on the petition is to be held. When a protective order is being sought in conjunction with a temporary custody hearing, if the court finds that the person against whom the protective order is being sought has been notified of the hearing or that diligent efforts have been made to notify such person, the court may conduct a hearing. If a protective order is sought at any time other than in conjunction with a temporary custody hearing, the court may not conduct a hearing on the petition in the absence of the person against whom the order is sought unless the petitioner has notified such person by personal service at least 3 days before the hearing or has sent written notice by first class mail to such person's last known address at least 5 days before the hearing.
    (7) A person against whom an order of protection is being sought who is neither a parent, guardian, legal custodian or responsible relative as described in Section 1-5 is not a party or respondent as defined in that Section and shall not be entitled to the rights provided therein. Such person does not have a right to appointed counsel or to be present at any hearing other than the hearing in which the order of protection is being sought or a hearing directly pertaining to that order. Unless the court orders otherwise, such person does not have a right to inspect the court file.
    (8) All protective orders entered under this Section shall be in writing. Unless the person against whom the order was obtained was present in court when the order was issued, the sheriff, other law enforcement official or special process server shall promptly serve that order upon that person and file proof of such service, in the manner provided for service of process in civil proceedings. The person against whom the protective order was obtained may seek a modification of the order by filing a written motion to modify the order within 7 days after actual receipt by the person of a copy of the order. Any modification of the order granted by the court must be determined to be consistent with the best interests of the minor.
    (9) If a petition is filed charging a violation of a condition contained in the protective order and if the court determines that this violation is of a critical service necessary to the safety and welfare of the minor, the court may proceed to findings and an order for temporary custody.
(Source: P.A. 96-1551, Article 1, Section 955, eff. 7-1-11; 96-1551, Article 2, Section 1030, eff. 7-1-11; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

705 ILCS 405/2-26

    (705 ILCS 405/2-26) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-26)
    Sec. 2-26. Enforcement of orders of protective supervision or of protection. (1) Orders of protective supervision and orders of protection may be enforced by citation to show cause for contempt of court by reason of any violation thereof and, where protection of the welfare of the minor so requires, by the issuance of a warrant to take the alleged violator into custody and bring him before the court.
    (2) In any case where an order of protection has been entered, the clerk of the court may issue to the petitioner, to the minor or to any other person affected by the order a certificate stating that an order of protection has been made by the court concerning such persons and setting forth its terms and requirements. The presentation of the certificate to any peace officer authorizes him to take into custody a person charged with violating the terms of the order of protection, to bring such person before the court and, within the limits of his legal authority as such peace officer, otherwise to aid in securing the protection the order is intended to afford.
(Source: P.A. 85-601.)

705 ILCS 405/2-27

    (705 ILCS 405/2-27) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-27)
    Sec. 2-27. Placement; legal custody or guardianship.
    (1) If the court determines and puts in writing the factual basis supporting the determination of whether the parents, guardian, or legal custodian of a minor adjudged a ward of the court are unfit or are unable, for some reason other than financial circumstances alone, to care for, protect, train or discipline the minor or are unwilling to do so, and that the health, safety, and best interest of the minor will be jeopardized if the minor remains in the custody of his or her parents, guardian or custodian, the court may at this hearing and at any later point:
        (a) place the minor in the custody of a suitable
    
relative or other person as legal custodian or guardian;
        (a-5) with the approval of the Department of Children
    
and Family Services, place the minor in the subsidized guardianship of a suitable relative or other person as legal guardian; "subsidized guardianship" means a private guardianship arrangement for children for whom the permanency goals of return home and adoption have been ruled out and who meet the qualifications for subsidized guardianship as defined by the Department of Children and Family Services in administrative rules;
        (b) place the minor under the guardianship of a
    
probation officer;
        (c) commit the minor to an agency for care or
    
placement, except an institution under the authority of the Department of Corrections or of the Department of Children and Family Services;
        (d) on and after the effective date of this
    
amendatory Act of the 98th General Assembly and before January 1, 2017, commit the minor to the Department of Children and Family Services for care and service; however, a minor charged with a criminal offense under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or adjudicated delinquent shall not be placed in the custody of or committed to the Department of Children and Family Services by any court, except (i) a minor less than 16 years of age and committed to the Department of Children and Family Services under Section 5-710 of this Act, (ii) a minor for whom an independent basis of abuse, neglect, or dependency exists, or (iii) a minor for whom the court has granted a supplemental petition to reinstate wardship pursuant to subsection (2) of Section 2-33 of this Act. On and after January 1, 2017, commit the minor to the Department of Children and Family Services for care and service; however, a minor charged with a criminal offense under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or adjudicated delinquent shall not be placed in the custody of or committed to the Department of Children and Family Services by any court, except (i) a minor less than 15 years of age and committed to the Department of Children and Family Services under Section 5-710 of this Act, (ii) a minor for whom an independent basis of abuse, neglect, or dependency exists, or (iii) a minor for whom the court has granted a supplemental petition to reinstate wardship pursuant to subsection (2) of Section 2-33 of this Act. An independent basis exists when the allegations or adjudication of abuse, neglect, or dependency do not arise from the same facts, incident, or circumstances which give rise to a charge or adjudication of delinquency. The Department shall be given due notice of the pendency of the action and the Guardianship Administrator of the Department of Children and Family Services shall be appointed guardian of the person of the minor. Whenever the Department seeks to discharge a minor from its care and service, the Guardianship Administrator shall petition the court for an order terminating guardianship. The Guardianship Administrator may designate one or more other officers of the Department, appointed as Department officers by administrative order of the Department Director, authorized to affix the signature of the Guardianship Administrator to documents affecting the guardian-ward relationship of children for whom he or she has been appointed guardian at such times as he or she is unable to perform the duties of his or her office. The signature authorization shall include but not be limited to matters of consent of marriage, enlistment in the armed forces, legal proceedings, adoption, major medical and surgical treatment and application for driver's license. Signature authorizations made pursuant to the provisions of this paragraph shall be filed with the Secretary of State and the Secretary of State shall provide upon payment of the customary fee, certified copies of the authorization to any court or individual who requests a copy.
    (1.5) In making a determination under this Section, the court shall also consider whether, based on health, safety, and the best interests of the minor,
        (a) appropriate services aimed at family preservation
    
and family reunification have been unsuccessful in rectifying the conditions that have led to a finding of unfitness or inability to care for, protect, train, or discipline the minor, or
        (b) no family preservation or family reunification
    
services would be appropriate,
and if the petition or amended petition contained an allegation that the parent is an unfit person as defined in subdivision (D) of Section 1 of the Adoption Act, and the order of adjudication recites that parental unfitness was established by clear and convincing evidence, the court shall, when appropriate and in the best interest of the minor, enter an order terminating parental rights and appointing a guardian with power to consent to adoption in accordance with Section 2-29.
    When making a placement, the court, wherever possible, shall require the Department of Children and Family Services to select a person holding the same religious belief as that of the minor or a private agency controlled by persons of like religious faith of the minor and shall require the Department to otherwise comply with Section 7 of the Children and Family Services Act in placing the child. In addition, whenever alternative plans for placement are available, the court shall ascertain and consider, to the extent appropriate in the particular case, the views and preferences of the minor.
    (2) When a minor is placed with a suitable relative or other person pursuant to item (a) of subsection (1), the court shall appoint him or her the legal custodian or guardian of the person of the minor. When a minor is committed to any agency, the court shall appoint the proper officer or representative thereof as legal custodian or guardian of the person of the minor. Legal custodians and guardians of the person of the minor have the respective rights and duties set forth in subsection (9) of Section 1-3 except as otherwise provided by order of court; but no guardian of the person may consent to adoption of the minor unless that authority is conferred upon him or her in accordance with Section 2-29. An agency whose representative is appointed guardian of the person or legal custodian of the minor may place the minor in any child care facility, but the facility must be licensed under the Child Care Act of 1969 or have been approved by the Department of Children and Family Services as meeting the standards established for such licensing. No agency may place a minor adjudicated under Sections 2-3 or 2-4 in a child care facility unless the placement is in compliance with the rules and regulations for placement under this Section promulgated by the Department of Children and Family Services under Section 5 of the Children and Family Services Act. Like authority and restrictions shall be conferred by the court upon any probation officer who has been appointed guardian of the person of a minor.
    (3) No placement by any probation officer or agency whose representative is appointed guardian of the person or legal custodian of a minor may be made in any out of State child care facility unless it complies with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. Placement with a parent, however, is not subject to that Interstate Compact.
    (4) The clerk of the court shall issue to the legal custodian or guardian of the person a certified copy of the order of court, as proof of his authority. No other process is necessary as authority for the keeping of the minor.
    (5) Custody or guardianship granted under this Section continues until the court otherwise directs, but not after the minor reaches the age of 19 years except as set forth in Section 2-31, or if the minor was previously committed to the Department of Children and Family Services for care and service and the court has granted a supplemental petition to reinstate wardship pursuant to subsection (2) of Section 2-33.
    (6) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-803, eff. 1-1-15.)

705 ILCS 405/2-27.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-27.1)
    Sec. 2-27.1. Placement; secure child care facility.
    (1) A minor under 18 years of age and who is subject under Article II of this Act to a secure child care facility may be admitted to a secure child care facility for inpatient treatment upon application to the facility director if, prior to admission, the facility director and the Director of the Department of Children and Family Services or the Director's designate find that: the minor has a mental illness or emotional disturbance, including but not limited to a behavior disorder, of such severity that placement in a secure child care facility is necessary because in the absence of such a placement, the minor is likely to endanger self or others or not meet his or her basic needs and this placement is the least restrictive alternative. Prior to admission, a psychiatrist, clinical social worker, or clinical psychologist who has personally examined the minor shall state in writing that the minor meets the standards for admission. The statement must set forth in detail the reasons for that conclusion and shall indicate what alternatives to secure treatment have been explored. When the minor is placed in a child care facility which includes a secure child care facility in addition to a less restrictive setting, and the application for admission states that the minor will be permanently placed in the less restrictive setting of the child care facility as part of his or her permanency plan after the need for secure treatment has ended, the psychiatrist, clinical social worker, or clinical psychologist shall state the reasons for the minor's need to be placed in secure treatment, the conditions under which the minor may be placed in the less restrictive setting of the facility, and the conditions under which the minor may need to be returned to secure treatment.
    (2) The application for admission under this Section shall contain, in large bold-face type, a statement written in simple non-technical terms of the minor's right to object and the right to a hearing. A minor 12 years of age or older must be given a copy of the application and the statement should be explained to him or her in an understandable manner. A copy of the application shall also be given to the person who executed it, the designate of the Director of the Department of Children and Family Services, the minor's parent, the minor's attorney, and, if the minor is 12 years of age or older, 2 other persons whom the minor may designate, excluding persons whose whereabouts cannot reasonably be ascertained.
    (3) Thirty days after admission, the facility director shall review the minor's record and assess the need for continuing placement in a secure child care facility. When the minor has been placed in a child care facility which includes a secure child care facility in addition to a less restrictive setting, and the application for admission states that the minor will be permanently placed in the less restrictive setting of the child care facility as part of his or her permanency plan after the need for secure treatment has ended, the facility director shall review the stated reasons for the minor's need to be placed in secure treatment, the conditions under which the minor may be placed in the less restrictive setting of the facility, and the conditions under which the minor may need to be returned to secure treatment. The director of the facility shall consult with the designate of the Director of the Department of Children and Family Services and request authorization for continuing placement of the minor. Request and authorization should be noted in the minor's record. Every 60 days thereafter a review shall be conducted and new authorization shall be secured from the designate for as long as placement continues. Failure or refusal to authorize continued placement shall constitute a request for the minor's discharge.
    (4) At any time during a minor's placement in a secure child care facility, an objection may be made to that placement by the minor, the minor's parents (except where parental rights have been terminated), the minor's guardian ad litem, or the minor's attorney. When an objection is made, the minor shall be discharged at the earliest appropriate time not to exceed 15 days, including Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays unless the objection is withdrawn in writing or unless, within that time, the Director or his or her designate files with the Court a petition for review of the admission. The petition must be accompanied by a certificate signed by a psychiatrist, clinical social worker, or clinical psychologist. The certificate shall be based upon a personal examination and shall specify that the minor has a mental illness or an emotional disturbance of such severity that placement in a secure facility is necessary, that the minor can benefit from the placement, that a less restrictive alternative is not appropriate, and that the placement is in the minor's best interest.
    (5) Upon receipt of a petition, the court shall set a hearing to be held within 5 days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. The court shall direct that notice of the time and place of the hearing shall be served upon the minor, his or her attorney and the minor's guardian ad litem, the Director of the Department of Children and Family Services or his or her designate, the State's Attorney, and the attorney for the parents.
    (6) The court shall order the minor discharged from the secure child care facility if it determines that the minor does not have a mental illness or emotional disturbance of such severity that placement in a secure facility is necessary, or if it determines that a less restrictive alternative is appropriate.
    (7) If however, the court finds that the minor does have a mental illness or an emotional disturbance for which the minor is likely to benefit from treatment but that a less restrictive alternative is appropriate, the court shall order that the Department of Children and Family Services prepare a case plan for the minor which permits alternative treatment which is capable of providing adequate and humane treatment in the least restrictive setting that is appropriate to the minor's condition and serves the minor's best interests, and shall authorize the continued placement of the minor in the secure child care facility. At each permanency hearing conducted thereafter, the court shall determine whether the minor does not have a mental illness or emotional disturbance of such severity that placement in a secure facility is necessary or, if a less restrictive alternative is appropriate. If either of these 2 conditions are not met, the court shall order the minor discharged from the secure child care facility.
    (8) Unwillingness or inability of the Department of Children and Family Services to find a placement for the minor shall not be grounds for the court's refusing to order discharge of the minor.
(Source: P.A. 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-27.5

    (705 ILCS 405/2-27.5)
    Sec. 2-27.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 90-28, eff. 1-1-98. Repealed by P.A. 90-27, eff. 1-1-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-28

    (705 ILCS 405/2-28) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-28)
    Sec. 2-28. Court review.
    (1) The court may require any legal custodian or guardian of the person appointed under this Act to report periodically to the court or may cite him into court and require him or his agency, to make a full and accurate report of his or its doings in behalf of the minor. The custodian or guardian, within 10 days after such citation, shall make the report, either in writing verified by affidavit or orally under oath in open court, or otherwise as the court directs. Upon the hearing of the report the court may remove the custodian or guardian and appoint another in his stead or restore the minor to the custody of his parents or former guardian or custodian. However, custody of the minor shall not be restored to any parent, guardian or legal custodian in any case in which the minor is found to be neglected or abused under Section 2-3 or dependent under Section 2-4 of this Act, unless the minor can be cared for at home without endangering the minor's health or safety and it is in the best interests of the minor, and if such neglect, abuse, or dependency is found by the court under paragraph (1) of Section 2-21 of this Act to have come about due to the acts or omissions or both of such parent, guardian or legal custodian, until such time as an investigation is made as provided in paragraph (5) and a hearing is held on the issue of the fitness of such parent, guardian or legal custodian to care for the minor and the court enters an order that such parent, guardian or legal custodian is fit to care for the minor.
    (2) The first permanency hearing shall be conducted by the judge. Subsequent permanency hearings may be heard by a judge or by hearing officers appointed or approved by the court in the manner set forth in Section 2-28.1 of this Act. The initial hearing shall be held (a) within 12 months from the date temporary custody was taken, regardless of whether an adjudication or dispositional hearing has been completed within that time frame, (b) if the parental rights of both parents have been terminated in accordance with the procedure described in subsection (5) of Section 2-21, within 30 days of the order for termination of parental rights and appointment of a guardian with power to consent to adoption, or (c) in accordance with subsection (2) of Section 2-13.1. Subsequent permanency hearings shall be held every 6 months or more frequently if necessary in the court's determination following the initial permanency hearing, in accordance with the standards set forth in this Section, until the court determines that the plan and goal have been achieved. Once the plan and goal have been achieved, if the minor remains in substitute care, the case shall be reviewed at least every 6 months thereafter, subject to the provisions of this Section, unless the minor is placed in the guardianship of a suitable relative or other person and the court determines that further monitoring by the court does not further the health, safety or best interest of the child and that this is a stable permanent placement. The permanency hearings must occur within the time frames set forth in this subsection and may not be delayed in anticipation of a report from any source or due to the agency's failure to timely file its written report (this written report means the one required under the next paragraph and does not mean the service plan also referred to in that paragraph).
    The public agency that is the custodian or guardian of the minor, or another agency responsible for the minor's care, shall ensure that all parties to the permanency hearings are provided a copy of the most recent service plan prepared within the prior 6 months at least 14 days in advance of the hearing. If not contained in the plan, the agency shall also include a report setting forth (i) any special physical, psychological, educational, medical, emotional, or other needs of the minor or his or her family that are relevant to a permanency or placement determination and (ii) for any minor age 16 or over, a written description of the programs and services that will enable the minor to prepare for independent living. The agency's written report must detail what progress or lack of progress the parent has made in correcting the conditions requiring the child to be in care; whether the child can be returned home without jeopardizing the child's health, safety, and welfare, and if not, what permanency goal is recommended to be in the best interests of the child, and why the other permanency goals are not appropriate. The caseworker must appear and testify at the permanency hearing. If a permanency hearing has not previously been scheduled by the court, the moving party shall move for the setting of a permanency hearing and the entry of an order within the time frames set forth in this subsection.
    At the permanency hearing, the court shall determine the future status of the child. The court shall set one of the following permanency goals:
        (A) The minor will be returned home by a specific
    
date within 5 months.
        (B) The minor will be in short-term care with a
    
continued goal to return home within a period not to exceed one year, where the progress of the parent or parents is substantial giving particular consideration to the age and individual needs of the minor.
        (B-1) The minor will be in short-term care with a
    
continued goal to return home pending a status hearing. When the court finds that a parent has not made reasonable efforts or reasonable progress to date, the court shall identify what actions the parent and the Department must take in order to justify a finding of reasonable efforts or reasonable progress and shall set a status hearing to be held not earlier than 9 months from the date of adjudication nor later than 11 months from the date of adjudication during which the parent's progress will again be reviewed.
        (C) The minor will be in substitute care pending
    
court determination on termination of parental rights.
        (D) Adoption, provided that parental rights have been
    
terminated or relinquished.
        (E) The guardianship of the minor will be transferred
    
to an individual or couple on a permanent basis provided that goals (A) through (D) have been ruled out.
        (F) The minor over age 15 will be in substitute care
    
pending independence.
        (G) The minor will be in substitute care because he
    
or she cannot be provided for in a home environment due to developmental disabilities or mental illness or because he or she is a danger to self or others, provided that goals (A) through (D) have been ruled out.
    In selecting any permanency goal, the court shall indicate in writing the reasons the goal was selected and why the preceding goals were ruled out. Where the court has selected a permanency goal other than (A), (B), or (B-1), the Department of Children and Family Services shall not provide further reunification services, but shall provide services consistent with the goal selected.
        (H) Notwithstanding any other provision in this
    
Section, the court may select the goal of continuing foster care as a permanency goal if:
            (1) The Department of Children and Family
        
Services has custody and guardianship of the minor;
            (2) The court has ruled out all other permanency
        
goals based on the child's best interest;
            (3) The court has found compelling reasons, based
        
on written documentation reviewed by the court, to place the minor in continuing foster care. Compelling reasons include:
                (a) the child does not wish to be adopted or
            
to be placed in the guardianship of his or her relative or foster care placement;
                (b) the child exhibits an extreme level of
            
need such that the removal of the child from his or her placement would be detrimental to the child; or
                (c) the child who is the subject of the
            
permanency hearing has existing close and strong bonds with a sibling, and achievement of another permanency goal would substantially interfere with the subject child's sibling relationship, taking into consideration the nature and extent of the relationship, and whether ongoing contact is in the subject child's best interest, including long-term emotional interest, as compared with the legal and emotional benefit of permanence;
            (4) The child has lived with the relative
        
or foster parent for at least one year; and
            (5) The relative or foster parent
        
currently caring for the child is willing and capable of providing the child with a stable and permanent environment.
    The court shall set a permanency goal that is in the best interest of the child. In determining that goal, the court shall consult with the minor in an age-appropriate manner regarding the proposed permanency or transition plan for the minor. The court's determination shall include the following factors:
        (1) Age of the child.
        (2) Options available for permanence, including both
    
out-of-State and in-State placement options.
        (3) Current placement of the child and the intent of
    
the family regarding adoption.
        (4) Emotional, physical, and mental status or
    
condition of the child.
        (5) Types of services previously offered and whether
    
or not the services were successful and, if not successful, the reasons the services failed.
        (6) Availability of services currently needed and
    
whether the services exist.
        (7) Status of siblings of the minor.
    The court shall consider (i) the permanency goal contained in the service plan, (ii) the appropriateness of the services contained in the plan and whether those services have been provided, (iii) whether reasonable efforts have been made by all the parties to the service plan to achieve the goal, and (iv) whether the plan and goal have been achieved. All evidence relevant to determining these questions, including oral and written reports, may be admitted and may be relied on to the extent of their probative value.
    The court shall make findings as to whether, in violation of Section 8.2 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, any portion of the service plan compels a child or parent to engage in any activity or refrain from any activity that is not reasonably related to remedying a condition or conditions that gave rise or which could give rise to any finding of child abuse or neglect. The services contained in the service plan shall include services reasonably related to remedy the conditions that gave rise to removal of the child from the home of his or her parents, guardian, or legal custodian or that the court has found must be remedied prior to returning the child home. Any tasks the court requires of the parents, guardian, or legal custodian or child prior to returning the child home, must be reasonably related to remedying a condition or conditions that gave rise to or which could give rise to any finding of child abuse or neglect.
    If the permanency goal is to return home, the court shall make findings that identify any problems that are causing continued placement of the children away from the home and identify what outcomes would be considered a resolution to these problems. The court shall explain to the parents that these findings are based on the information that the court has at that time and may be revised, should additional evidence be presented to the court.
    The court shall review the Sibling Contact Support Plan developed or modified under subsection (f) of Section 7.4 of the Children and Family Services Act, if applicable. If the Department has not convened a meeting to develop or modify a Sibling Contact Support Plan, or if the court finds that the existing Plan is not in the child's best interest, the court may enter an order requiring the Department to develop, modify or implement a Sibling Contact Support Plan, or order mediation.
    If the goal has been achieved, the court shall enter orders that are necessary to conform the minor's legal custody and status to those findings.
    If, after receiving evidence, the court determines that the services contained in the plan are not reasonably calculated to facilitate achievement of the permanency goal, the court shall put in writing the factual basis supporting the determination and enter specific findings based on the evidence. The court also shall enter an order for the Department to develop and implement a new service plan or to implement changes to the current service plan consistent with the court's findings. The new service plan shall be filed with the court and served on all parties within 45 days of the date of the order. The court shall continue the matter until the new service plan is filed. Unless otherwise specifically authorized by law, the court is not empowered under this subsection (2) or under subsection (3) to order specific placements, specific services, or specific service providers to be included in the plan.
    A guardian or custodian appointed by the court pursuant to this Act shall file updated case plans with the court every 6 months.
    Rights of wards of the court under this Act are enforceable against any public agency by complaints for relief by mandamus filed in any proceedings brought under this Act.
    (3) Following the permanency hearing, the court shall enter a written order that includes the determinations required under subsection (2) of this Section and sets forth the following:
        (a) The future status of the minor, including the
    
permanency goal, and any order necessary to conform the minor's legal custody and status to such determination; or
        (b) If the permanency goal of the minor cannot be
    
achieved immediately, the specific reasons for continuing the minor in the care of the Department of Children and Family Services or other agency for short term placement, and the following determinations:
            (i) (Blank).
            (ii) Whether the services required by the court
        
and by any service plan prepared within the prior 6 months have been provided and (A) if so, whether the services were reasonably calculated to facilitate the achievement of the permanency goal or (B) if not provided, why the services were not provided.
            (iii) Whether the minor's placement is necessary,
        
and appropriate to the plan and goal, recognizing the right of minors to the least restrictive (most family-like) setting available and in close proximity to the parents' home consistent with the health, safety, best interest and special needs of the minor and, if the minor is placed out-of-State, whether the out-of-State placement continues to be appropriate and consistent with the health, safety, and best interest of the minor.
            (iv) (Blank).
            (v) (Blank).
    (4) The minor or any person interested in the minor may apply to the court for a change in custody of the minor and the appointment of a new custodian or guardian of the person or for the restoration of the minor to the custody of his parents or former guardian or custodian.
    When return home is not selected as the permanency goal:
        (a) The Department, the minor, or the current foster
    
parent or relative caregiver seeking private guardianship may file a motion for private guardianship of the minor. Appointment of a guardian under this Section requires approval of the court.
        (b) The State's Attorney may file a motion to
    
terminate parental rights of any parent who has failed to make reasonable efforts to correct the conditions which led to the removal of the child or reasonable progress toward the return of the child, as defined in subdivision (D)(m) of Section 1 of the Adoption Act or for whom any other unfitness ground for terminating parental rights as defined in subdivision (D) of Section 1 of the Adoption Act exists.
        When parental rights have been terminated for a
    
minimum of 3 years and the child who is the subject of the permanency hearing is 13 years old or older and is not currently placed in a placement likely to achieve permanency, the Department of Children and Family Services shall make reasonable efforts to locate parents whose rights have been terminated, except when the Court determines that those efforts would be futile or inconsistent with the subject child's best interests. The Department of Children and Family Services shall assess the appropriateness of the parent whose rights have been terminated, and shall, as appropriate, foster and support connections between the parent whose rights have been terminated and the youth. The Department of Children and Family Services shall document its determinations and efforts to foster connections in the child's case plan.
    Custody of the minor shall not be restored to any parent, guardian or legal custodian in any case in which the minor is found to be neglected or abused under Section 2-3 or dependent under Section 2-4 of this Act, unless the minor can be cared for at home without endangering his or her health or safety and it is in the best interest of the minor, and if such neglect, abuse, or dependency is found by the court under paragraph (1) of Section 2-21 of this Act to have come about due to the acts or omissions or both of such parent, guardian or legal custodian, until such time as an investigation is made as provided in paragraph (5) and a hearing is held on the issue of the health, safety and best interest of the minor and the fitness of such parent, guardian or legal custodian to care for the minor and the court enters an order that such parent, guardian or legal custodian is fit to care for the minor. In the event that the minor has attained 18 years of age and the guardian or custodian petitions the court for an order terminating his guardianship or custody, guardianship or custody shall terminate automatically 30 days after the receipt of the petition unless the court orders otherwise. No legal custodian or guardian of the person may be removed without his consent until given notice and an opportunity to be heard by the court.
    When the court orders a child restored to the custody of the parent or parents, the court shall order the parent or parents to cooperate with the Department of Children and Family Services and comply with the terms of an after-care plan, or risk the loss of custody of the child and possible termination of their parental rights. The court may also enter an order of protective supervision in accordance with Section 2-24.
    (5) Whenever a parent, guardian, or legal custodian files a motion for restoration of custody of the minor, and the minor was adjudicated neglected, abused, or dependent as a result of physical abuse, the court shall cause to be made an investigation as to whether the movant has ever been charged with or convicted of any criminal offense which would indicate the likelihood of any further physical abuse to the minor. Evidence of such criminal convictions shall be taken into account in determining whether the minor can be cared for at home without endangering his or her health or safety and fitness of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian.
        (a) Any agency of this State or any subdivision
    
thereof shall co-operate with the agent of the court in providing any information sought in the investigation.
        (b) The information derived from the investigation
    
and any conclusions or recommendations derived from the information shall be provided to the parent, guardian, or legal custodian seeking restoration of custody prior to the hearing on fitness and the movant shall have an opportunity at the hearing to refute the information or contest its significance.
        (c) All information obtained from any investigation
    
shall be confidential as provided in Section 5-150 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-425, eff. 8-16-11; 97-1076, eff. 8-24-12; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

705 ILCS 405/2-28.01

    (705 ILCS 405/2-28.01)
    Sec. 2-28.01. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 90-655, eff. 7-30-98. Repealed by P.A. 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-28.1

    (705 ILCS 405/2-28.1)
    Sec. 2-28.1. Permanency hearings; before hearing officers.
    (a) The chief judge of the circuit court may appoint hearing officers to conduct the permanency hearings set forth in subsection (2) of Section 2-28, in accordance with the provisions of this Section. The hearing officers shall be attorneys with at least 3 years experience in child abuse and neglect or permanency planning and in counties with a population of 3,000,000 or more, any hearing officer appointed after September 1, 1997, must be an attorney admitted to practice for at least 7 years. Once trained by the court, hearing officers shall be authorized to do the following:
        (1) Conduct a fair and impartial hearing.
        (2) Summon and compel the attendance of witnesses.
        (3) Administer the oath or affirmation and take
    
testimony under oath or affirmation.
        (4) Require the production of evidence relevant to
    
the permanency hearing to be conducted. That evidence may include, but need not be limited to case plans, social histories, medical and psychological evaluations, child placement histories, visitation records, and other documents and writings applicable to those items.
        (5) Rule on the admissibility of evidence using the
    
standard applied at a dispositional hearing under Section 2-22 of this Act.
        (6) When necessary, cause notices to be issued
    
requiring parties, the public agency that is custodian or guardian of the minor, or another agency responsible for the minor's care to appear either before the hearing officer or in court.
        (7) Analyze the evidence presented to the hearing
    
officer and prepare written recommended orders, including findings of fact, based on the evidence.
        (8) Prior to the hearing, conduct any pre-hearings
    
that may be necessary.
        (9) Conduct in camera interviews with children when
    
requested by a child or the child's guardian ad litem.
In counties with a population of 3,000,000 or more, hearing officers shall also be authorized to do the following:
        (i) Accept specific consents for adoption or
    
surrenders of parental rights from a parent or parents.
        (ii) Conduct hearings on the progress made toward the
    
permanency goal set for the minor.
        (iii) Perform other duties as assigned by the court.
    (b) The hearing officer shall consider evidence and conduct the permanency hearings as set forth in subsections (2) and (3) of Section 2-28 in accordance with the standards set forth therein. The hearing officer shall assure that a verbatim record of the proceedings is made and retained for a period of 12 months or until the next permanency hearing, whichever date is later, and shall direct to the clerk of the court all documents and evidence to be made part of the court file. The hearing officer shall inform the participants of their individual rights and responsibilities. The hearing officer shall identify the issues to be reviewed under subsection (2) of Section 2-28, consider all relevant facts, and receive or request any additional information necessary to make recommendations to the court.
    If a party fails to appear at the hearing, the hearing officer may proceed to the permanency hearing with the parties present at the hearing. The hearing officer shall specifically note for the court the absence of any parties. If all parties are present at the permanency hearing, and the parties and the Department are in agreement that the service plan and permanency goal are appropriate or are in agreement that the permanency goal for the child has been achieved, the hearing officer shall prepare a recommended order, including findings of fact, to be submitted to the court, and all parties and the Department shall sign the recommended order at the time of the hearing. The recommended order will then be submitted to the court for its immediate consideration and the entry of an appropriate order.
    The court may enter an order consistent with the recommended order without further hearing or notice to the parties, may refer the matter to the hearing officer for further proceedings, or may hold such additional hearings as the court deems necessary. All parties present at the hearing and the Department shall be tendered a copy of the court's order at the conclusion of the hearing.
    (c) If one or more parties are not present at the permanency hearing, or any party or the Department of Children and Family Services objects to the hearing officer's recommended order, including any findings of fact, the hearing officer shall set the matter for a judicial determination within 30 days of the permanency hearing for the entry of the recommended order or for receipt of the parties' objections. Any objections shall be in writing and identify the specific findings or recommendations that are contested, the basis for the objections, and the evidence or applicable law supporting the objection. The recommended order and its contents may not be disclosed to anyone other than the parties and the Department or other agency unless otherwise specifically ordered by a judge of the court.
    Following the receipt of objections consistent with this subsection from any party or the Department of Children and Family Services to the hearing officer's recommended orders, the court shall make a judicial determination of those portions of the order to which objections were made, and shall enter an appropriate order. The court may refuse to review any objections that fail to meet the requirements of this subsection.
    (d) The following are judicial functions and shall be performed only by a circuit judge or associate judge:
        (1) Review of the recommended orders of the hearing
    
officer and entry of orders the court deems appropriate.
        (2) Conduct of judicial hearings on all pre-hearing
    
motions and other matters that require a court order and entry of orders as the court deems appropriate.
        (3) Conduct of judicial determinations on all matters
    
in which the parties or the Department of Children and Family Services disagree with the hearing officer's recommended orders under subsection (3).
        (4) Issuance of rules to show cause, conduct of
    
contempt proceedings, and imposition of appropriate sanctions or relief.
(Source: P.A. 89-17, eff. 5-31-95; 90-27, eff. 1-1-98; 90-28, eff. 1-1-98; 90-87, eff. 9-1-97; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98; 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-29

    (705 ILCS 405/2-29) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-29)
    Sec. 2-29. Adoption; appointment of guardian with power to consent.
    (1) With leave of the court, a minor who is the subject of an abuse, neglect, or dependency petition under this Act may be the subject of a petition for adoption under the Adoption Act.
    (1.1) The parent or parents of a child in whose interest a petition under Section 2-13 of this Act is pending may, in the manner required by the Adoption Act, (a) surrender him or her for adoption to an agency legally authorized or licensed to place children for adoption, (b) consent to his or her adoption, or (c) consent to his or her adoption by a specified person or persons. Nothing in this Section requires that the parent or parents execute the surrender, consent, or consent to adoption by a specified person in open court.
    (2) If a petition or motion alleges and the court finds that it is in the best interest of the minor that parental rights be terminated and the petition or motion requests that a guardian of the person be appointed and authorized to consent to the adoption of the minor, the court, with the consent of the parents, if living, or after finding, based upon clear and convincing evidence, that a parent is an unfit person as defined in Section 1 of the Adoption Act, may terminate parental rights and empower the guardian of the person of the minor, in the order appointing him or her as such guardian, to appear in court where any proceedings for the adoption of the minor may at any time be pending and to consent to the adoption. Such consent is sufficient to authorize the court in the adoption proceedings to enter a proper order or judgment of adoption without further notice to, or consent by, the parents of the minor. An order so empowering the guardian to consent to adoption deprives the parents of the minor of all legal rights as respects the minor and relieves them of all parental responsibility for him or her, and frees the minor from all obligations of maintenance and obedience to his or her natural parents.
    If the minor is over 14 years of age, the court may, in its discretion, consider the wishes of the minor in determining whether the best interests of the minor would be promoted by the finding of the unfitness of a non-consenting parent.
    (2.1) Notice to a parent who has appeared or been served with summons personally or by certified mail, and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 11. Notice to a parent who was served by publication and for whom an order of default has been entered on the petition for wardship and has not been set aside shall be provided in accordance with Sections 2-15 and 2-16.
    (3) Parental consent to the order terminating parental rights and authorizing the guardian of the person to consent to adoption of the minor must be in writing and signed in the form provided in the Adoption Act, but no names of petitioners for adoption need be included.
    (4) A finding of the unfitness of a parent must be made in compliance with the Adoption Act, without regard to the likelihood that the child will be placed for adoption, and be based upon clear and convincing evidence. Provisions of the Adoption Act relating to minor parents and to mentally ill or mentally deficient parents apply to proceedings under this Section and any findings with respect to such parents shall be based upon clear and convincing evidence.
(Source: P.A. 89-704, eff. 8-16-97 (changed from 1-1-98 by P.A. 90-443); 90-28, eff. 1-1-98; 90-443, eff. 8-16-97; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-30

    (705 ILCS 405/2-30) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-30)
    Sec. 2-30. Notice to putative father; service.
    1. Upon the written request to any clerk of any circuit court by any interested party, including persons intending to adopt a child, a child welfare agency with whom the mother has placed or has given written notice of her intention to place a child for adoption, the mother of a child, or any attorney representing an interested party, a notice may be served on a putative father in the same manner as Summons is served in other proceedings under this Act, or in lieu of personal service, service may be made as follows:
        (a) The person requesting notice shall furnish to the
    
clerk an original and one copy of a notice together with an affidavit setting forth the putative father's last known address. The original notice shall be retained by the clerk.
        (b) The clerk forthwith shall mail to the putative
    
father, at the address appearing in the affidavit, the copy of the notice, certified mail, return receipt requested; the envelope and return receipt shall bear the return address of the clerk. The receipt for certified mail shall state the name and address of the addressee, and the date of mailing, and shall be attached to the original notice.
        (c) The return receipt, when returned to the clerk,
    
shall be attached to the original notice, and shall constitute proof of service.
        (d) The clerk shall note the fact of service in a
    
permanent record.
    2. The notice shall be signed by the clerk, and may be served on the putative father at any time after conception, and shall read as follows:
    "IN THE MATTER OF NOTICE TO ....., PUTATIVE FATHER.
    You have been identified as the father of a child born or expected to be born on or about (insert date). The mother of said child is .....
    The mother has indicated she intends to place the child for adoption or otherwise have a judgment entered terminating her rights with respect to such child.
    As the alleged father of said child, you have certain legal rights with respect to said child, including the right to notice of the filing of proceedings instituted for the termination of your parental rights regarding said child. If you wish to retain your rights with respect to said child, you must file with the Clerk of this Circuit Court of ..... County, Illinois, whose address is ....., ....., Illinois, within 30 days after the date of receipt of this notice, a declaration of paternity stating that you are, in fact, the father of said child and that you intend to retain your legal rights with respect to said child, or request to be notified of any further proceedings with respect to custody, termination of parental rights or adoption of the child.
    If you do not file such a declaration of paternity, or a request for notice, then whatever legal rights you have with respect to said child, including the right to notice of any future proceedings for the adoption of said child, may be terminated without any further notice to you. When your legal rights with respect to said child are so terminated, you will not be entitled to notice of any proceeding instituted for the adoption of said child.
    If you are not the father of said child, you may file with the Clerk of this Court, a disclaimer of paternity which will be noted in the Clerk's file and you will receive no further notice with respect to said child.".
 
    The disclaimer of paternity shall be substantially as follows:
"IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
.......... JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, ILLINOIS
.......... County
              )
              )
              ) No.              )
              )
DENIAL OF PATERNITY WITH ENTRY OF APPEARANCE
AND CONSENT TO ADOPTION
I, .........., state as follows:
    (1) That I am ..... years of age; and I reside at .......... in the County of .........., State of ...........
    (2) That I have been advised that .......... is the mother of a .....male child named ..... born or expected to be born on or about ..... and that such mother has stated that I am the father of this child.
    (3) I deny that I am the father of this child.
    (4) I further understand that the mother of this child wishes to consent to the adoption of the child. I hereby consent to the adoption of this child, and waive any rights, remedies and defenses that I may now or in the future have as a result of the mother's allegation of the paternity of this child. This consent is being given in order to facilitate the adoption of the child and so that the court may terminate what rights I may have to the child as a result of being named the father by the mother. This consent is not in any manner an admission of paternity.
    (5) I hereby enter my appearance in the above entitled cause and waive service of summons and other pleading and consent to an immediate hearing on a petition TO TERMINATE PARENTAL RIGHTS AND TO APPOINT A GUARDIAN WITH THE POWER TO CONSENT TO THE ADOPTION OF THIS CHILD.
OATH
    I have been duly sworn and I say under oath that I have read and understood this Denial of Paternity With Entry of Appearance and Consent to Adoption. The facts it contains are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and I understand that by signing this document I have not admitted paternity. I have signed this document as my free and voluntary act in order to facilitate the adoption of the child.
...........
(signature)
Dated (insert date).
Signed and sworn before me on (insert date).
.................
(notary public)".

      The names of adoptive parents, if any, shall not be included in the notice.
    3. If the putative father files a disclaimer of paternity, he shall be deemed not to be the father of the child with respect to any adoption or other proceeding held to terminate the rights of parents as respects such child.
    4. In the event the putative father does not file a declaration of paternity of the child or request for notice within 30 days of service of the above notice, he need not be made a party to or given notice of any proceeding brought for the adoption of the child. An order or judgment may be entered in such proceeding terminating all of his rights with respect to said child without further notice to him.
    5. If the putative father files a declaration of paternity or a request for notice in accordance with subsection 2 with respect to the child, he shall be given notice in the event any proceeding is brought for the adoption of the child or for termination of parents' rights of the child.
    6. The Clerk shall maintain separate numbered files and records of requests and proofs of service and all other documents filed pursuant to this article. All such records shall be impounded.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

705 ILCS 405/2-31

    (705 ILCS 405/2-31) (from Ch. 37, par. 802-31)
    Sec. 2-31. Duration of wardship and discharge of proceedings.
    (1) All proceedings under this Act in respect of any minor for whom a petition was filed after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1991 automatically terminate upon his attaining the age of 19 years, except that a court may continue the wardship of a minor until age 21 for good cause when there is satisfactory evidence presented to the court and the court makes written factual findings that the health, safety, and best interest of the minor and the public require the continuation of the wardship.
    (2) Whenever the court determines, and makes written factual findings, that health, safety, and the best interests of the minor and the public no longer require the wardship of the court, the court shall order the wardship terminated and all proceedings under this Act respecting that minor finally closed and discharged. The court may at the same time continue or terminate any custodianship or guardianship theretofore ordered but the termination must be made in compliance with Section 2-28. When terminating wardship under this Section, if the minor is over 18, or if wardship is terminated in conjunction with an order partially or completely emancipating the minor in accordance with the Emancipation of Minors Act, the court shall also make specific findings of fact as to the minor's wishes regarding case closure and the manner in which the minor will maintain independence. The minor's lack of cooperation with services provided by the Department of Children and Family Services shall not by itself be considered sufficient evidence that the minor is prepared to live independently and that it is in the best interest of the minor to terminate wardship.
    (3) The wardship of the minor and any custodianship or guardianship respecting the minor for whom a petition was filed after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1991 automatically terminates when he attains the age of 19 years except as set forth in subsection (1) of this Section. The clerk of the court shall at that time record all proceedings under this Act as finally closed and discharged for that reason.
(Source: P.A. 96-581, eff. 1-1-10.)

705 ILCS 405/2-32

    (705 ILCS 405/2-32)
    Sec. 2-32. Time limit for relief from final order pursuant to a petition under Section 2-1401 of the Code of Civil Procedure. A petition for relief from a final order entered in a proceeding under this Act, after 30 days from the entry thereof under the provisions of Section 2-1401 of the Code of Civil Procedure or otherwise, must be filed not later than one year after the entry of the order or judgment.
(Source: P.A. 90-27, eff. 1-1-98; 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

705 ILCS 405/2-33

    (705 ILCS 405/2-33)
    Sec. 2-33. Supplemental petition to reinstate wardship.
    (1) Any time prior to a minor's 18th birthday, pursuant to a supplemental petition filed under this Section, the court may reinstate wardship and open a previously closed case when:
        (a) wardship and guardianship under the Juvenile
    
Court Act of 1987 was vacated in conjunction with the appointment of a private guardian under the Probate Act of 1975;
        (b) the minor is not presently a ward of the court
    
under Article II of this Act nor is there a petition for adjudication of wardship pending on behalf of the minor; and
        (c) it is in the minor's best interest that wardship
    
be reinstated.
    (2) Any time prior to a minor's 21st birthday, pursuant to a supplemental petition filed under this Section, the court may reinstate wardship and open a previously closed case when:
        (a) wardship and guardianship under this Act was
    
vacated pursuant to:
            (i) an order entered under subsection (2) of
        
Section 2-31 in the case of a minor over the age of 18;
            (ii) closure of a case under subsection (2) of
        
Section 2-31 in the case of a minor under the age of 18 who has been partially or completely emancipated in accordance with the Emancipation of Minors Act; or
            (iii) an order entered under subsection (3) of
        
Section 2-31 based on the minor's attaining the age of 19 years;
        (b) the minor is not presently a ward of the court
    
under Article II of this Act nor is there a petition for adjudication of wardship pending on behalf of the minor; and
        (c) it is in the minor's best interest that wardship
    
be reinstated.
    (3) The supplemental petition must be filed in the same proceeding in which the original adjudication order was entered. Unless excused by court for good cause shown, the petitioner shall give notice of the time and place of the hearing on the supplemental petition, in person or by mail, to the minor, if the minor is 14 years of age or older, and to the parties to the juvenile court proceeding. Notice shall be provided at least 3 court days in advance of the hearing date.
    (4) A minor who is the subject of a petition to reinstate wardship under this Section shall be provided with representation in accordance with Sections 1-5 and 2-17 of this Act.
    (5) Whenever a minor is committed to the Department of Children and Family Services for care and services following the reinstatement of wardship under this Section, the Department shall:
        (a) Within 30 days of such commitment, prepare and
    
file with the court a case plan which complies with the federal Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 and is consistent with the health, safety and best interests of the minor; and
        (b) Promptly refer the minor for such services as are
    
necessary and consistent with the minor's health, safety and best interests.
(Source: P.A. 96-581, eff. 1-1-10.)

705 ILCS 405/2-34

    (705 ILCS 405/2-34)
    Sec. 2-34. Motion to reinstate parental rights.
    (1) For purposes of this subsection (1), the term "parent" refers to the person or persons whose rights were terminated as described in paragraph (a) of this subsection; and the term "minor" means a person under the age of 21 years subject to this Act for whom the Department of Children and Family Services Guardianship Administrator is appointed the temporary custodian or guardian.
    A motion to reinstate parental rights may be filed only by the Department of Children and Family Services or the minor regarding any minor who is presently a ward of the court under Article II of this Act when all the conditions set out in paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this subsection (1) are met:
        (a) while the minor was under the jurisdiction of the
    
court under Article II of this Act, the minor's parent or parents surrendered the minor for adoption to an agency legally authorized to place children for adoption, or the minor's parent or parents consented to his or her adoption, or the minor's parent or parents consented to his or her adoption by a specified person or persons, or the parent or parents' rights were terminated pursuant to a finding of unfitness pursuant to Section 2-29 of this Act and a guardian was appointed with the power to consent to adoption pursuant to Section 2-29 of this Act; and
        (b) (i) since the signing of the surrender, the
    
signing of the consent, or the unfitness finding, the minor has remained a ward of the Court under Article II of this Act; or
        (ii) the minor was made a ward of the Court, the
    
minor was placed in the private guardianship of an individual or individuals, and after the appointment of a private guardian and a new petition alleging abuse, neglect, or dependency pursuant to Section 2-3 or 2-4 is filed, and the minor is again found by the court to be abused, neglected or dependent; or a supplemental petition to reinstate wardship is filed pursuant to Section 2-33, and the court reinstates wardship; or
        (iii) the minor was made a ward of the Court,
    
wardship was terminated after the minor was adopted, after the adoption a new petition alleging abuse, neglect, or dependency pursuant to Section 2-3 or 2-4 is filed, and the minor is again found by the court to be abused, neglected, or dependent, and either (i) the adoptive parent or parents are deceased, (ii) the adoptive parent or parents signed a surrender of parental rights, or (iii) the parental rights of the adoptive parent or parents were terminated;
        (c) the minor is not currently in a placement likely
    
to achieve permanency;
        (d) it is in the minor's best interest that parental
    
rights be reinstated;
        (e) the parent named in the motion wishes parental
    
rights to be reinstated and is currently appropriate to have rights reinstated;
        (f) more than 3 years have lapsed since the signing
    
of the consent or surrender, or the entry of the order appointing a guardian with the power to consent to adoption;
        (g) (i) the child is 13 years of age or older or (ii)
    
the child is the younger sibling of such child, 13 years of age or older, for whom reinstatement of parental rights is being sought and the younger sibling independently meets the criteria set forth in paragraphs (a) through (h) of this subsection; and
        (h) if the court has previously denied a motion to
    
reinstate parental rights filed by the Department, there has been a substantial change in circumstances following the denial of the earlier motion.
    (2) The motion may be filed only by the Department of Children and Family Services or by the minor. Unless excused by the court for good cause shown, the movant shall give notice of the time and place of the hearing on the motion, in person or by mail, to the parties to the juvenile court proceeding. Notice shall be provided at least 14 days in advance of the hearing date. The motion shall include the allegations required in subsection (1) of this Section.
    (3) Any party may file a motion to dismiss the motion with prejudice on the basis that the parent has intentionally acted to prevent the child from being adopted, after parental rights were terminated or the parent intentionally acted to disrupt the child's adoption. If the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the parent has intentionally acted to prevent the child from being adopted, after parental rights were terminated or that the parent intentionally acted to disrupt the child's adoption, the court shall dismiss the petition with prejudice.
    (4) The court shall not grant a motion for reinstatement of parental rights unless the court finds that the motion is supported by clear and convincing evidence. In ruling on a motion to reinstate parental rights, the court shall make findings consistent with the requirements in subsection (1) of this Section. The court shall consider the reasons why the child was initially brought to the attention of the court, the history of the child's case as it relates to the parent seeking reinstatement, and the current circumstances of the parent for whom reinstatement of rights is sought. If reinstatement is being considered subsequent to a finding of unfitness pursuant to Section 2-29 of this Act having been entered with respect to the parent whose rights are being restored, the court in determining the minor's best interest shall consider, in addition to the factors set forth in paragraph (4.05) of Section 1-3 of this Act, the specific grounds upon which the unfitness findings were made. Upon the entry of an order granting a motion to reinstate parental rights, parental rights of the parent named in the order shall be reinstated, any previous order appointing a guardian with the power to consent to adoption shall be void and with respect to the parent named in the order, any consent shall be void.
    (5) If the case is post-disposition, the court, upon the entry of an order granting a motion to reinstate parental rights, shall schedule the matter for a permanency hearing pursuant to Section 2-28 of this Act within 45 days.
    (6) Custody of the minor shall not be restored to the parent, except by order of court pursuant to subsection (4) of Section 2-28 of this Act.
    (7) In any case involving a child over the age of 13 who meets the criteria established in this Section for reinstatement of parental rights, the Department of Children and Family Services shall conduct an assessment of the child's circumstances to assist in future planning for the child, including, but not limited to a determination regarding the appropriateness of filing a motion to reinstate parental rights.
    (8) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 98-477, eff. 8-16-13.)