Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/6-522
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/6-522)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-522)
Authority to Enter Agreements.
The Secretary of State may
enter into or make agreements, arrangements, or declarations to carry out
the provisions of this UCDLA.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)
625 ILCS 5/6-523
(625 ILCS 5/6-523)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-523)
(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a
person may drive a commercial motor vehicle in this State if the person has
a valid CDL, non-domiciled CDL, CLP, or non-domiciled CLP issued by
another State or foreign jurisdiction as long as that person has not been
an established domiciliary of this State for 30 days or more.
(b) The Secretary of State shall give out of state convictions full
faith and credit and treat them for sanctioning purposes, under this UCDLA,
just as if they occurred in this State.
(c) A CLP or CDL issued by this State or any other state before the date on and after which the state is prohibited from issuing CLPs or CDLs under 49 C.F.R. Part 384, remains valid until its stated expiration date.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)
625 ILCS 5/6-524
(625 ILCS 5/6-524)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-524)
(a) Every person convicted of violating any
provision of this UCDLA for which another penalty is not provided shall for
a first offense be guilty of a petty offense; and for a second conviction
for any offense committed within 3 years of any previous offense, shall be
guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
(b) Any person convicted of violating subsection (b) of Section 6-506 of
this Code shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000.
(c) Any person or employer convicted of violating paragraph (5) of subsection (a) or subsection (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-506 shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $2,750 nor more than $25,000.
(d) Any person convicted of violating paragraph (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $2,750 nor more than $25,000 for a first conviction and not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000 for a second conviction.
(Source: P.A. 95-382, eff. 8-23-07; 96-544, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1080, eff. 7-16-10.)
625 ILCS 5/6-525
(625 ILCS 5/6-525)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-525)
The provisions of this UCLDA shall be
severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision of this UCLDA is
declared to be contrary to the Constitutions of this State, or of the
United States, such unconstitutionality shall not affect the validity of
the remainder of this UCDLA.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)
625 ILCS 5/6-526
(625 ILCS 5/6-526)
Prohibition against texting.
(a) A driver may not engage in texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(b) A motor carrier may not allow or require its drivers to engage in texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(c) For the purpose of this Section, when a person is operating a commercial motor vehicle, driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle on a highway, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor vehicle when the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and has halted in a location where the vehicle can safely remain stationary.
(d) Texting while driving is permissible by a driver of a commercial motor vehicle when necessary to communicate with law enforcement officials or other emergency services.
(Source: P.A. 97-829, eff. 1-1-13.)
625 ILCS 5/6-527
(625 ILCS 5/6-527)
Using a hand-held mobile telephone.
(a) A driver may not use a hand-held mobile telephone while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(b) A motor carrier may not allow or require its drivers to use a hand-held mobile telephone while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(c) For the purpose of this Section, driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle on a highway, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor vehicle when the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and has halted in a location where the vehicle can safely remain stationary.
(d) Using a hand-held mobile telephone is permissible by a driver of a commercial motor vehicle when necessary to communicate with law enforcement officials or other emergency services.
(Source: P.A. 97-829, eff. 1-1-13.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VI
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VI heading)
625 ILCS 5/6-601
(625 ILCS 5/6-601)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-601)
(a) It is a petty offense for any person to violate any of the
provisions of this Chapter unless such violation is by this Code or other
law of this State declared to be a misdemeanor or a felony.
(b) General penalties. Unless another penalty is in this Code
or other laws of this State, every person convicted of a petty
offense for the violation of any provision of this Chapter shall be
punished by a fine of not more than $500.
(c) Unlicensed driving. Except as hereinafter provided a violation
of Section 6-101 shall be:
1. A Class A misdemeanor if the person failed to
obtain a driver's license or permit after expiration of a period of revocation.
2. A Class B misdemeanor if the person has been
issued a driver's license or permit, which has expired, and if the period of expiration is greater than one year; or if the person has never been issued a driver's license or permit, or is not qualified to obtain a driver's license or permit because of his age.
3. A petty offense if the person has been issued a
temporary visitor's driver's license or permit and is unable to provide proof of liability insurance as provided in subsection (d-5) of Section 6-105.1.
If a licensee under this Code is convicted of violating Section 6-303 for
operating a motor vehicle during a time when such licensee's driver's license
was suspended under the provisions of Section 6-306.3 or 6-308, then such act shall be
a petty offense (provided the licensee has answered the charge which was the
basis of the suspension under Section 6-306.3 or 6-308), and there shall be imposed no
additional like period of suspension as provided in paragraph (b) of Section
(d) For violations of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance for which a violation is a petty offense as defined by Section 5-1-17 of the Unified Code of Corrections, excluding business offenses as defined by Section 5-1-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a violation of Section 15-111 or subsection (d) of Section 3-401 of this Code, if the violation may be satisfied without a court appearance, the violator may, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule, satisfy the case with a written plea of guilty and payment of fines, penalties, and costs equal to the bail amount established by the Supreme Court for the offense.
(Source: P.A. 97-1157, eff. 11-28-13; 98-870, eff. 1-1-15; 98-1134, eff. 1-1-15.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VII
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VII heading)
DRIVER LICENSE COMPACT
625 ILCS 5/6-700
(625 ILCS 5/6-700)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-700)
As used in this compact:
(a) "State" means a state, territory or possession of the United States,
the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
(b) "Home state" means the state which has issued and has the power to
suspend or revoke the use of the license or permit to operate a motor
(c) "Conviction" means a conviction of any offense related to the use or
operation of a motor vehicle which is prohibited by state law, municipal
ordinance or administrative rule or regulation, or a forfeiture of bail,
bond or other security deposited to secure appearance by a person charged
with having committed any such offense, and which conviction or forfeiture
is required to be reported to the licensing authority.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)