Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/4-213
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/4-213)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-213)
Liability of law enforcement officers, agencies, and towing
(a) A law enforcement officer or agency, a department of municipal
government designated under Section 4-212.1 or its officers or
employees, or a towing service owner, operator, or
employee shall not be held to answer or be liable for damages in any action
brought by the registered owner, former registered owner, or his legal
representative, lienholder or any other person legally entitled to the
possession of a vehicle when the vehicle was processed and sold or disposed of
as provided by this Chapter.
(b) A towing service, and any of its officers or employees, that
removes or tows a vehicle as a result of being directed to do so by
a law enforcement officer or agency or a department of municipal government or
its officers or employees shall not be held to answer or be liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs in the
course of the removal or towing of a vehicle or its contents (i) on a limited
access highway in a designated Incident Management Program that uses fast lane
clearance techniques as defined by the Department of Transportation or (ii) at the direction of a peace officer, a highway authority official, or a representative of local authorities, under Section 11-402 or 11-404 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-407, eff. 1-1-08.)
625 ILCS 5/4-214
(625 ILCS 5/4-214)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-214)
Violations of Section 4-201.
(a) Any person who violates Section 4-201 of this Code or who
aids and abets in that violation:
(1) shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $200; and
(2) shall be required by the court to make a
disposition on the abandoned or unclaimed vehicle and pay all towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs pursuant to Section 4-203, subsections (a) and (e).
(b) When a vehicle is abandoned, it shall be presumed that the last
registered owner is responsible for the abandonment and shall be liable for
all towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs, less any
amounts realized in the disposal of the vehicle. The last registered owner's
liability for storage fees may not exceed a maximum of 30 days' storage fees.
The presumption established under this subsection may
be rebutted by a showing that, prior to the time of the tow:
(1) a report of vehicle theft was filed with respect
(2) the vehicle was sold or transferred and the last
registered owner provides the towing service with the correct identity and address of the new owner at the time of the sale or transfer.
If the presumption established under this subsection is rebutted, the person
responsible for theft of the vehicle or to whom the vehicle was sold or
transferred is liable for all towing, storage, and processing charges and
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)
625 ILCS 5/4-214.1
(625 ILCS 5/4-214.1)
Failure to pay fines, charges, and costs on an abandoned
(a) Whenever any resident of this State fails to pay any fine, charge, or
cost imposed for a violation of Section 4-201 of this Code, or a similar
provision of a local ordinance, the clerk shall notify the Secretary of State, on
a report prescribed by the Secretary, and the Secretary shall prohibit the
renewal, reissue, or reinstatement of the resident's driving privileges until
the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full. The clerk shall provide
notice to the owner, at the owner's last known address as shown on the court's
records, stating that the action will be effective on the 46th day following
the date of the above notice if payment is not received in full by the court of
(b) Following receipt of the report from the clerk, the Secretary of State
shall make the proper notation to the owner's file to prohibit the renewal,
reissue, or reinstatement of the owner's driving privileges. Except as provided
in subsection (d) of this Section, the notation shall not be removed from the
owner's record until the owner satisfies the outstanding fine, charge, or cost
and an appropriate notice on a form prescribed by the Secretary is received by
the Secretary from the court of venue, stating that the fine, charge, or cost
has been paid in full. Upon payment in full of a fine, charge, or court cost
which has previously been reported under this Section as unpaid, the clerk of
the court shall present the owner with a signed receipt containing the seal of
the court indicating that the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full, and
shall forward immediately to the Secretary of State a notice stating that the
fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full.
(c) Notwithstanding the receipt of a report from the clerk as prescribed in
subsection (a), nothing in this Section is intended to place
any responsibility upon the Secretary of State to provide independent
notice to the owner of any potential action to disallow the
renewal, reissue, or reinstatement of the owner's driving privileges.
(d) The Secretary of State shall renew, reissue, or reinstate an owner's
driving privileges which were previously refused under this Section upon
presentation of an original receipt which is signed by the clerk of the court
and contains the seal of the court indicating that the fine, charge, or cost
has been paid in full. The Secretary of State shall retain the receipt for his
or her records.
(Source: P.A. 95-621, eff. 6-1-08
625 ILCS 5/4-215
(625 ILCS 5/4-215)
Rebuilt vehicles; clean titles.
Persons licensed under
Section 5-301 of this Code may obtain a certificate of title that does not bear
the notation "REBUILT" from a certificate of purchase when the damage to the
vehicle is 25% or less of its market value, there has been no structural damage
to the vehicle, there is no history of a salvage certificate, and the vehicle
has undergone a salvage inspection by the Secretary of State and a safety
inspection under Section 13-101 of this Code. The application for a
certificate of title shall contain an affirmation under penalty for perjury
that the vehicle on the date of the application is not damaged in excess of 25%
of its market value, has no structural damage, and has no history of
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)
625 ILCS 5/4-216
(625 ILCS 5/4-216)
Storage fees; notice to lienholder of record.
(a) Any commercial vehicle relocator or any other private towing service providing removal or towing services pursuant to this Code and seeking to impose fees in connection with the furnishing of storage for a vehicle in the possession of the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service must provide written notice within 2 business days after the vehicle is removed or towed, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the lienholder of record, regardless of whether the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service enforces a lien under the Labor and Storage Lien Act or the Labor and Storage Lien (Small Amount) Act. The notice shall be effective upon mailing and include the rate at which fees will be incurred, and shall provide the lienholder with an opportunity to inspect the vehicle on the premises where the vehicle is stored within 2 business days of the lienholder's request. The date on which the assessment and accrual of storage fees may commence is the date of the impoundment of the vehicle, subject to any applicable limitations set forth by a municipality authorizing the vehicle removal. Payment of the storage fees by the lienholder may be made in cash or by cashier's check, certified check, debit card, credit card, or wire transfer, at the option of the lienholder taking possession of the vehicle. The commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service shall furnish a copy of the certified mail receipt to the lienholder upon request.
(b) The notification requirements in subsection (a) of this Section apply in addition to any lienholder notice requirements under this Code relating to the removal or towing of an abandoned, lost, stolen, or unclaimed vehicle. If the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service fails to comply with the notification requirements set forth in subsection (a) of this Section, storage fees shall not be assessed and collected and the lienholder shall be entitled to injunctive relief for possession of the vehicle without the payment of any storage fees.
(c) If the notification required under subsection (a) was not sent and a lienholder discovers its collateral is in the possession of a commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service by means other than the notification required in subsection (a) of this Section, the lienholder is entitled to recover any storage fees paid to the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service to reclaim possession of its collateral.
(d) An action under this Section may be brought by the lienholder against the commercial vehicle locator or other private towing service in the circuit court.
(e) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in this Act or the Illinois Vehicle Code, a commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service seeking to impose storage fees for a vehicle in its possession may not foreclose or otherwise enforce its claim for payment of storage services or any lien relating to the claim pursuant to this Code or other applicable law unless it first complies with the lienholder notification requirements set forth in subsection (a) of this Section.
(f) If the vehicle that is removed or towed is registered in a state other than Illinois, the assessment and accrual of storage fees may commence on the date that the request for lienholder information is filed by the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service with the applicable administrative agency or office in that state if: (i) the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service furnishes the lienholder with a copy or proof of filing of the request for lienholder information; (ii) the commercial vehicle relocator or other private towing service provides to the lienholder of record the notification required by this Section within one business day after receiving the requested lienholder information; and (iii) the assessment of storage fees complies with any applicable limitations set forth by a municipality authorizing the vehicle removal.
(Source: P.A. 100-311, eff. 11-23-17
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. III
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. III heading)
VEHICLE RECYCLING BOARD
625 ILCS 5/4-300
(625 ILCS 5/4-300)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-300)
For the purposes of this Article, the following word shall have the
meaning ascribed to it as follows:
Board. The Vehicle Recycling Board of the State of Illinois, acting
directly or through its duly authorized officers and agents.
(Source: P.A. 78-857.)
625 ILCS 5/4-301
(625 ILCS 5/4-301)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-301)
The General Assembly finds that abandoned and derelict vehicles: constitute a
safety hazard and a public nuisance; are detrimental to the health,
safety and welfare of the general public by harboring disease, providing
breeding places for vermin, inviting plundering, creating fire hazards,
and presenting physical dangers to children and others; produce scenic blights which
degrade the environment and adversely affect land values and the proper
continuing development of the State of Illinois and all of its
subdivisions; represent a resource out of place and an energy
loss to the Illinois economy, and require state and
local governmental attention, in conjunction with any federal
governmental attention, in order to assure the expeditious removal and
recycling of these abandoned and derelict vehicles.
The General Assembly declares therefore, that it is the policy of the
State of Illinois, to:
1. Prohibit the abandonment of vehicles and the retention of derelicts,
and to enforce such
prohibition by law while reminding vehicle owners of their own individual
responsibility to dispose of such vehicles;
2. Encourage the development of procedures and techniques to
facilitate the expeditious removal of abandoned and derelict vehicles from public or
3. Encourage the State of Illinois and all of its political
subdivisions, in cooperation with the federal government and the private
sector of our State, and in cooperation with other states of the United
States, to recover and recycle the resource represented by abandoned
and derelict vehicles to the fullest extent practicable.
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)
625 ILCS 5/4-302
(625 ILCS 5/4-302)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-302)
Vehicle Recycling Board.
There is hereby created the Vehicle Recycling Board of the State of
Illinois composed of the
Secretary of Transportation, the Director
of State Police, the Director of Public Health,
the Director of the Environmental
Protection Agency, the Superintendent of State Troopers or their
designated representatives. The Governor shall designate the Chairman and
Secretary of the Board.
The Board shall appoint an advisory committee, of no less than 10 members,
to include an official representative of the Office of the Secretary of
State as designated by the Secretary; and other appropriate representatives
from such sources as: statewide associations of city, county and township
governing bodies; knowledgeable successful leaders from the auto recycling
private sector; the State associations of chiefs of police, county sheriffs,
police officers; and State agencies having a direct or indirect relationship
with vehicle recycling.
(Source: P.A. 84-25.)
625 ILCS 5/4-303
(625 ILCS 5/4-303)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-303)
Tenure, vacancies and expenses.
State officers and their designated representatives on the Board and representatives
of the State agencies serving on the advisory committee, shall serve
without additional compensation and their necessary expenses shall be
borne by the State office or agency represented. Members
of the advisory committee shall be
reimbursed for their necessary expenses in their attendance to
meetings and functions as required by the Board.
The Board shall employ such personnel as deemed necessary by the Board
to implement and administer this Act and any expenses incurred in its administration
incurred and expended only within and pursuant to the appropriations
made by the General Assembly.
The records of the Board shall be subject to audit by the Auditor
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)