Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/3-818
(625 ILCS 5/3-818)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-818)
Mileage weight tax option.
(a) Any owner of a vehicle of
the second division may elect to pay a mileage weight tax for such vehicle
in lieu of the flat weight tax set out in Section 3-815. Such election
shall be binding to the end of the registration year. Renewal of this
election must be filed with the Secretary of State on or before July 1
of each registration period. In such event the owner shall, at the time
of making such election, pay the $10 registration fee and the minimum
guaranteed mileage weight tax, as hereinafter provided, which payment
shall permit the owner to operate that vehicle the maximum mileage in
this State hereinafter set forth. Any vehicle being operated on
mileage plates cannot be operated outside of this State. In addition
thereto, the owner of that vehicle shall pay a mileage weight tax at the
following rates for each mile traveled in this State in excess of the
maximum mileage provided under the minimum guaranteed basis:
BUS, TRUCK OR TRUCK TRACTOR
in excess of
12,000 lbs. or less
12,001 to 16,000 lbs.
16,001 to 20,000 lbs.
20,001 to 24,000 lbs.
24,001 to 28,000 lbs.
28,001 to 32,000 lbs.
32,001 to 36,000 lbs.
36,001 to 40,000 lbs.
40,001 to 45,000 lbs.
45,001 to 54,999 lbs.
55,000 to 59,500 lbs.
59,501 to 64,000 lbs.
64,001 to 73,280 lbs.
73,281 to 77,000 lbs.
77,001 to 80,000 lbs.
in excess of
14,000 lbs. or less
14,001 to 20,000 lbs.
20,001 to 36,000 lbs.
36,001 to 40,000 lbs.
(a-1) A Special Hauling Vehicle is a vehicle or combination of vehicles of
division registered under Section 3-813 transporting asphalt or concrete in the
plastic state or a vehicle or combination of vehicles that are subject to the
gross weight limitations in subsection (a) of Section 15-111 for which the
owner of the
vehicle or combination of vehicles has elected to pay, in addition to the
registration fee in subsection (a), $125 to the Secretary of State
registration year. The Secretary shall designate this class of vehicle as
a Special Hauling Vehicle.
In preparing rate schedules on registration applications, the Secretary
of State shall add to the above rates, the $10 registration fee. The
Secretary may decline to accept any renewal filed after July 1st.
The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum load provided
shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this Code.
Every owner of a second division motor vehicle for which he has
elected to pay a mileage weight tax shall keep a daily record upon forms
prescribed by the Secretary of State, showing the mileage covered by
that vehicle in this State. Such record shall contain the license number
of the vehicle and the miles traveled by the vehicle in this State for
each day of the calendar month. Such owner shall also maintain records
of fuel consumed by each such motor vehicle and fuel purchases therefor.
On or before the 10th day of July the owner
shall certify to the Secretary of State upon forms prescribed therefor,
summaries of his daily records which shall show the miles traveled by
the vehicle in this State during the preceding 12 months and such other
information as the Secretary of State may require. The daily record and
fuel records shall be filed, preserved and available for audit for a
period of 3 years. Any owner filing a return hereunder shall certify
that such return is a true, correct and complete return. Any person who
willfully makes a false return hereunder is guilty of perjury and shall
be punished in the same manner and to the same extent as is provided
At the time of filing his return, each owner shall pay to the
Secretary of State the proper amount of tax at the rate herein imposed.
Every owner of a vehicle of the second division who elects to pay on
a mileage weight tax basis and who operates the vehicle within this
State, shall file with the Secretary of State a bond in the amount of
$500. The bond shall be in a form approved by the Secretary of State and with
a surety company
approved by the Illinois Department of Insurance to transact
business in this State as surety, and shall be conditioned upon such
applicant's paying to the State of Illinois all money becoming
reason of the operation of the second division vehicle in this State,
together with all penalties and interest thereon.
Upon notice from the Secretary that the registrant has failed to pay the
excess mileage fees, the surety shall immediately pay the fees together with
any penalties and interest thereon in an amount not to exceed the limits of the
(b) Beginning January 1, 2016, upon the request of the
vehicle owner, a $10 surcharge shall be collected in addition
to the above fees for vehicles in the 12,000 lbs. and less mileage
weight plate category as described in subsection (a) to be
deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate
Fund. The $10 surcharge is to identify vehicles in the 12,000
lbs. and less mileage weight plate category as a covered farm
vehicle. The $10 surcharge is an annual flat fee that shall be
based on an applicant's new or existing registration year for
each vehicle in the 12,000 lbs. and less mileage weight plate
category. A designation as a covered farm vehicle under this
subsection (b) shall not alter a vehicle's registration as a
registration in the 12,000 lbs. or less mileage weight category.
The Secretary shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this
(Source: P.A. 99-57, eff. 7-16-15; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)
625 ILCS 5/3-819
(625 ILCS 5/3-819)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-819)
Trailer; Flat weight tax.
(a) Farm Trailer. Any farm trailer drawn by a motor vehicle of the
second division registered under paragraph (a) or (c) of Section 3-815 and
used exclusively by the owner for his own agricultural, horticultural or
livestock raising operations and not used for hire, or any farm trailer
utilized only in the transportation for-hire of seasonal, fresh, perishable
fruit or vegetables from farm to the point of first processing, and any
trailer used with a farm tractor that is not an implement of husbandry may
be registered under this paragraph in lieu of registration under paragraph
(b) of this Section upon the filing of a proper application and the payment
of the $10 registration fee and the highway use tax herein for use of the
public highways of this State, at the following rates which include the $10
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND TAXES
Gross Weight in Lbs.
and Maximum Load
10,000 lbs. or less
10,001 to 14,000 lbs.
14,001 to 20,000 lbs.
20,001 to 28,000 lbs.
28,001 to 36,000 lbs.
An owner may only apply for and receive two farm trailer
(b) All other owners of trailers, other than apportionable trailers
registered under Section 3-402.1 of this Code, used with a motor vehicle on
the public highways, shall pay to the Secretary of State for each
registration year a flat weight tax, for the use of the public highways
of this State, at the following rates (which includes the registration
fee of $10 required by Section 3-813):
SCHEDULE OF TRAILER FLAT
WEIGHT TAX REQUIRED
Gross Weight in Lbs.
Including Vehicle and
3,000 lbs. and less
5,000 lbs. and more than 3,000
8,000 lbs. and more than 5,000
10,000 lbs. and more than 8,000
14,000 lbs. and more than 10,000
20,000 lbs. and more than 14,000
32,000 lbs. and more than 20,000
36,000 lbs. and more than 32,000
40,000 lbs. and more than 36,000
(c) The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum load provided
shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 96-328, eff. 8-11-09.)
625 ILCS 5/3-820
(625 ILCS 5/3-820)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-820)
Duplicate Number Plates.
Upon filing in the Office of the
Secretary of State an affidavit to the effect that an original number plate
for a vehicle is lost, stolen or destroyed, a duplicate number plate shall
be furnished upon payment of a fee of $6 for each duplicate plate
and a fee of $9 for a pair of duplicate plates.
Upon filing in the Office of the Secretary of State an affidavit to the
effect that an original registration sticker for a vehicle is lost,
stolen or destroyed, a new registration sticker shall be
furnished upon payment of a fee of $5 for registration stickers issued on or before February 28, 2005 and $20 for registration stickers issued on or after March 1, 2005.
The Secretary of State may, in his discretion, assign a new number plate
or plates in lieu of a duplicate of the plate or plates so lost, stolen or
destroyed, but such assignment of a new plate or plates shall not affect
the right of the owner to secure a reassignment of his original
registration number in the manner provided in this Act. The fee for one new
number plate shall be $6, and for a pair of new number plates,
For the administration of this Section, the Secretary shall consider the
loss of a registration plate or plates with properly affixed registration
stickers as requiring the payment of:
(i) $11 for each duplicate issued on or before
February 28, 2005 and $26 for each duplicate issued on or after March 1, 2005; or
(ii) $14 for a pair of duplicate plates issued on or
before February 28, 2005 and $29 for a pair of duplicate plates issued on or after March 1, 2005.
(Source: P.A. 93-840, eff. 7-30-04; 93-1067, eff. 1-15-05.)
625 ILCS 5/3-821
(625 ILCS 5/3-821)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-821)
Miscellaneous registration and title fees.
(a) Except as provided under subsection (h), the fee to be paid to the Secretary of State for the following
certificates, registrations or evidences of proper registration, or for
corrected or duplicate documents shall be in accordance with the following
Certificate of Title, except for an all-terrain
vehicle or off-highway motorcycle
Certificate of Title for an all-terrain vehicle
or off-highway motorcycle
Certificate of Title for an all-terrain
or off-highway motorcycle used for production
agriculture, or accepted by a dealer in trade
Certificate of Title for a low-speed vehicle
Transfer of Registration or any evidence of
Duplicate Registration Card for plates or other
evidence of proper registration
Duplicate Registration Sticker or Stickers, each
Duplicate Certificate of Title
Corrected Registration Card or Card for other
evidence of proper registration
Corrected Certificate of Title
Fleet Reciprocity Permit
Prorate Backing Plate
Special Corrected Certificate of Title
Expedited Title Service (to be charged in addition to other applicable fees)
Dealer Lien Release Certificate of Title
A special corrected certificate of title shall be issued (i) to remove a co-owner's name due to the death of the co-owner, to transfer title to a spouse if the decedent-spouse was the sole owner on the title, or due to a divorce; (ii) to change a co-owner's name due to a marriage; or (iii) due to a name change under Article XXI of the Code of Civil Procedure.
There shall be no fee paid for a Junking Certificate.
There shall be no fee paid for a certificate of title issued to a county when the vehicle is forfeited to the county under Article 36 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
(a-5) The Secretary of State may revoke a certificate of title and registration card and issue a corrected certificate of title and registration card, at no fee to the vehicle owner or lienholder, if there is proof that the vehicle identification number is erroneously shown on the original certificate of title.
(a-10) The Secretary of State may issue, in connection with the sale of a motor vehicle, a corrected title to a motor vehicle dealer upon application and submittal of a lien release letter from the lienholder listed in the files of the Secretary. In the case of a title issued by another state, the dealer must submit proof from the state that issued the last title. The corrected title, which shall be known as a dealer lien release certificate of title, shall be issued in the name of the vehicle owner without the named lienholder. If the motor vehicle is currently titled in a state other than Illinois, the applicant must submit either (i) a letter from the current lienholder releasing the lien and stating that the lienholder has possession of the title; or (ii) a letter from the current lienholder releasing the lien and a copy of the records of the department of motor vehicles for the state in which the vehicle is titled, showing that the vehicle is titled in the name of the applicant and that no liens are recorded other than the lien for which a release has been submitted. The fee for the dealer lien release certificate of title is $20.
(b) The Secretary may prescribe the maximum service charge to be
imposed upon an applicant for renewal of a registration by any person
authorized by law to receive and remit or transmit to the Secretary such
renewal application and fees therewith.
(c) If payment is delivered to the Office of the Secretary of State
as payment of any fee or tax under this Code, and such payment is not
honored for any reason, the registrant
or other person tendering the payment remains liable for the payment of
such fee or tax. The Secretary of State may assess a service charge of $25
in addition to the fee or tax due and owing for all dishonored payments.
If the total amount then due and owing exceeds the sum of $100 and
has not been paid in full within 60 days from the date the dishonored payment was first delivered to the Secretary of State, the Secretary of State shall
assess a penalty of 25% of such amount remaining unpaid.
All amounts payable under this Section shall be computed to the
nearest dollar. Out of each fee collected for dishonored payments, $5 shall be deposited in the Secretary of State Special Services Fund.
(d) The minimum fee and tax to be paid by any applicant for
apportionment of a fleet of vehicles under this Code shall be $15
if the application was filed on or before the date specified by the
Secretary together with fees and taxes due. If an application and the
fees or taxes due are filed after the date specified by the Secretary,
the Secretary may prescribe the payment of interest at the rate of 1/2
of 1% per month or fraction thereof after such due date and a minimum of
(e) Trucks, truck tractors, truck tractors with loads, and motor buses,
any one of which having a combined total weight in excess of 12,000 lbs.
shall file an application for a Fleet Reciprocity Permit issued by the
Secretary of State. This permit shall be in the possession of any driver
operating a vehicle on Illinois highways. Any foreign licensed vehicle of the
second division operating at any time in Illinois without a Fleet Reciprocity
Permit or other proper Illinois registration, shall subject the operator to the
penalties provided in Section 3-834 of this Code. For the purposes of this
Code, "Fleet Reciprocity Permit" means any second division motor vehicle with a
foreign license and used only in interstate transportation of goods. The fee
for such permit shall be $15 per fleet which shall include all
vehicles of the fleet being registered.
(f) For purposes of this Section, "all-terrain vehicle or off-highway
motorcycle used for production agriculture" means any all-terrain vehicle or
off-highway motorcycle used in the raising
of or the propagation of livestock, crops for sale for human consumption,
crops for livestock consumption, and production seed stock grown for the
propagation of feed grains and the husbandry of animals or for the purpose
of providing a food product, including the husbandry of blood stock as a
main source of providing a food product.
"All-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used in production agriculture"
also means any all-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used in animal
husbandry, floriculture, aquaculture, horticulture, and viticulture.
(g) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by Public Act 96-34 shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
(h) The fee for a duplicate registration sticker or stickers shall be the amount required under subsection (a) or the vehicle's annual registration fee amount, whichever is less.
(Source: P.A. 99-260, eff. 1-1-16; 99-607, eff. 7-22-16; 100-956, eff. 1-1-19
625 ILCS 5/3-821.1
(625 ILCS 5/3-821.1)
Fees for record searches.
The fee to be paid to the
Secretary of State by any towing service requesting a record search shall be
in the amount the Secretary of State prescribes by rule.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)
625 ILCS 5/3-821.2
(625 ILCS 5/3-821.2)
Delinquent registration renewal fee.
(a) For registration renewal periods beginning on or after January 1, 2005, the Secretary of State may impose a delinquent registration renewal fee of $20 for the registration renewal of all passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds if the application for registration renewal is received by the Secretary more than one month after the expiration of the most recent period during which the vehicle was registered. If a delinquent registration renewal fee is imposed, the Secretary shall not renew the registration of such a vehicle until the delinquent registration renewal fee has been paid, in addition to any other registration fees owed for the vehicle. Active duty military personnel stationed outside of Illinois shall not be required to pay the delinquent registration renewal fee. If a delinquent registration renewal fee is imposed, the Secretary shall adopt rules for the implementation of this Section. All fees collected under this Section shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a), the Secretary of State shall not impose a delinquent registration renewal fee for the registration renewal of passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds if a vehicle's registration expires during a period of time in which the Secretary is not sending registration renewal notices to owners of all of those vehicles with registration expiring at the same time as the applicable vehicle. It shall be an affirmative defense to a citation for an expired registration issued by any local, county, municipal, or State law enforcement agency within one month after the expiration of vehicle registration, that the expiration occurred during a period of time in which the Secretary was not sending registration renewal notices to owners of all passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds with registration expiring at the same time as the applicable vehicle. A computer print-out of a page from the Secretary of State's official website setting forth the calendar months in which registration renewal notices were not sent to all owners of passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds shall be admissible as evidence to establish the affirmative defense. The computer print-out shall be prima facie evidence of the correctness of the information contained in it. The changes made by this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly apply only to vehicle registrations that expire on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly.
The provisions of this subsection (b), other than this sentence, are inoperative on and after June 30, 2017.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16; 99-887, eff. 8-25-16.)
625 ILCS 5/3-822
(625 ILCS 5/3-822)
(Source: P.A. 76-1586. Repealed by P.A. 94-239, eff. 1-1-06.)
625 ILCS 5/3-824
(625 ILCS 5/3-824)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-824)
When fees returnable.
(a) Whenever any application
to the Secretary of State is accompanied by any fee as required by
law and such application is refused or rejected, said fee shall
be returned to said applicant.
(b) Whenever the Secretary of State collects any
fee not required to be paid under the provisions of this Act,
the same shall be refunded to the person paying the same upon
application therefor made within 6 months after the date of
such payment, except as follows: (1) whenever a
refund is determined to be due and
owing as a result of an audit, by this State or any other state or province,
in accordance with Section 2-124 of this Code, of a prorate or apportion
license fee payment pursuant to any reciprocal compact or agreement
between this State and any other state or province, and the Secretary for
any reason fails to promptly make such refund, the licensee shall have one
year from the date of the notification of the audit result to file, with
the Secretary, an application for refund found to be due and owing as a
result of such audit; and (2) whenever a person eligible for a reduced
registration fee pursuant to Section
3-806.3 of this Code has paid in excess of the reduced registration fee
owed, the refund applicant shall have 2 years from the date of overpayment
to apply with the Secretary for a refund of that part of payment made in
excess of the established reduced registration fee.
(c) Whenever a person dies after making application for
registration, application for a refund of the registration
fees and taxes may be made if the vehicle is then sold or
disposed of so that the registration plates, registration
sticker and card are never used. The Secretary of State shall
refund the registration fees and taxes upon receipt within 6
months after the application for registration of an application
for refund accompanied with the unused registration plates or
registration sticker and card and proof of both the death of
the applicant and the sale or disposition of the vehicle.
(d) Any application for refund received after the times
specified in this Section shall be denied and the applicant
in order to receive a refund must apply to the Court of Claims.
(d-5) Refunds may be granted for any title-related transaction if a title application has not been processed by the Secretary of State. If any application for a certificate of title under Section 3-104 or salvage title under Section 3-118 is verified by the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS), and receives a warning or error from the NMVTIS reporting that the vehicle requires either a salvage certificate or a junk certificate in lieu of the original applied certificate of title or salvage title, then the applicant shall have 6 months to apply for a refund of cost, or the difference of the certificate of title or salvage certificate.
(e) The Secretary of State is authorized to maintain a two
signature revolving checking account with a suitable commercial
bank for the purpose of depositing
and withdrawal-for-return those monies received and determined
upon receipt to be in excess of the amount or amounts required by law.
(f) Refunds on audits performed by Illinois or another member of the
International Registration Plan shall be made in accordance with the procedures
as set forth in the agreement.
(Source: P.A. 99-414, eff. 8-20-15.)
625 ILCS 5/3-824.5
(625 ILCS 5/3-824.5)
Applicability of fee and tax increases.
The fee and tax
increases in this Code made by this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly
that apply to registrations apply to registration year 2001 and thereafter.
The registration fees and taxes in existence on the day prior to the effective
date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly apply throughout
registration year 2000. All other fee and tax increases in this Code made by
this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly shall apply beginning January
1, 2000 and thereafter.
(Source: P.A. 91-37, eff. 7-1-99.)
625 ILCS 5/3-825
(625 ILCS 5/3-825)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-825)
Certificate of Safety.
Every application for registration of a motor vehicle which is subject
to vehicle inspection may be accompanied by proof that a valid and
unrevoked Certificate of Safety has been issued for each such vehicle. The
Secretary of State may at his discretion decline to register any such
vehicle unless the application is accompanied with such proof.
(Source: P.A. 76-1997.)
625 ILCS 5/3-827
(625 ILCS 5/3-827)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-827)
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-415.)
625 ILCS 5/3-828
(625 ILCS 5/3-828)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-828)
Lien for violations.
Any vehicle used in violation of the provision of this Act shall be
subject to a lien for the full amount of all unpaid registration fees, flat
weight taxes, and penalties. Such lien shall not release the offender from
the full payment of all such fees, taxes, penalties and damages. The lien
shall attach at the time of operation of any such vehicle within this State
and shall remain effective until all unpaid registration fees, flat weight
taxes, penalties and audit fees are paid, or until the vehicle is sold for
the payment thereof. Such liens shall be superior to any other lien except
(a) no lien for any amounts due or assessed pursuant to this Section
shall be enforceable against any vehicle which prior to such assessment had
been transferred in good faith to a bona fide transferee for value;
(b) the lien of any amounts due or assessed shall be subject to a prior
lien of any indebtedness existing against such vehicle which is noted on
the certificate of title of such vehicle issued under this Act, or as to a
vehicle from another jurisdiction, if written notice thereof is filed with
the Secretary of State before such lien becomes operative and if
(1) Such prior indebtedness was incurred in good faith to secure all or
a portion of the purchase price of such vehicle, and
(2) Such prior indebtedness is secured by a chattel mortgage or
conditional sales agreement duly filed or perfected in this State pursuant
to law and such chattel mortgage or conditional sales was not given
directly or indirectly, to any officer, director or shareholder of a
corporation, or to a partner of a partnership, or to a trustee or
beneficiary of a trust, owning or having the lawful use or control of such
vehicle, whether as a purchase money mortgage or otherwise.
The lien imposed under this Section shall be enforceable as to any
equity after the encumbrance of any such chattel mortgage or conditional
sales contract, and in the event any such vehicle subject to a lien
hereunder is repossessed by a chattel mortgagee or a conditional vendor,
such vehicle shall not be sold at any public or private sale unless at
least 5 days written notice by registered mail is served upon the Secretary
The Secretary of State, upon perfecting a prior lien hereunder for any
flat weight taxes required to be paid under Section 3-815 may in his
discretion waive the requirement for the surety bond specified in Section
3-816, providing that the said prior lien is so noted on the certificate of
title for such vehicle or vehicles.
Any surety making payment of a second installment of taxes under Section
3-816 of this Act, may impress a lien similar to that of the Secretary of
State, and such lien may be noted on title records and documents. The
surety shall, however, pay any statutory fees therefor.
(Source: P.A. 77-1464.)
625 ILCS 5/3-829
(625 ILCS 5/3-829)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-829)
Foreclosure of Lien - Service of Processes - Notices.
In any action to foreclose the lien imposed by Section 3-828 service of
process on all known owners and parties in interest shall be made in the
manner now prescribed by law, and, as to all unknown owners and parties in
interest, notice of the pendency of such action shall be given by
publication in some newspaper of general circulation published in the
county where the suit is pending, or if there is no such newspaper, then in
a newspaper of general circulation published in an adjoining county in this
State and having a general circulation in the county in which such suit is
pending. Such notice shall contain the title of the court; the title of the
case, showing the names of all known owners and parties in interest; a
statement that publication is being made as to unknown owners and parties
in interest; and the date on or after which default may be entered against
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/3-830
(625 ILCS 5/3-830)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-830)
Notice of pendency of action - Time and number of publications - Default.
The notice required by Section 3-829 may be given at any time after
commencement of the suit, and shall be published at least once each week
for 3 successive weeks. No default or other proceeding shall be taken
against any defendant as to whom publication was made and who does not
appear, unless the first publication is at least 30 days prior to the time
when the default or other proceeding is sought to be taken.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586
625 ILCS 5/3-831
(625 ILCS 5/3-831)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-831)
Secretary to institute suits.
The Secretary of State may institute, in the name of the People of the
State of Illinois, a suit or suits in the circuit court
to enforce the collection of any fees, taxes, interest, penalties or
damages provided for in this Act, or to enjoin violations of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 79-1358
625 ILCS 5/3-832
(625 ILCS 5/3-832)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-832)
Service of Process.
The operation, with the consent of the owner, upon the highways of the
State of any motor vehicle of the second division shall be deemed an
appointment by the owner of the driver of the vehicle as the owner's agent
upon whom may be served process in any civil or criminal proceeding against
such owner based upon failure to register, improper registration or failure
to pay the proper fees or taxes with respect to any motor vehicles of the
second division of such owner.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/3-833
(625 ILCS 5/3-833)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-833)
It shall be unlawful for any person to own or operate a vehicle on the
public highways of this State without complying with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/3-834
(625 ILCS 5/3-834)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-834)
Violations of this Chapter 3.
(a) It is unlawful for any person to violate any of the
provisions of this Chapter 3, except as provided in paragraph
of this Section, unless such violation is by this Code or other law of
this State declared to be a felony.
(b) Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any
of the provisions of this Chapter 3 for which another penalty is not
provided shall for a first and second conviction be guilty of a petty offense;
upon a third or subsequent conviction within one year after
the first conviction such person shall be guilty of a Class C
misdemeanor. Compliance with the registration provisions of this Code
after apprehension or arrest shall not excuse imposition of the
penalties herein provided nor be cause for dismissal of the arrest or of
the summons nor be a basis for setting aside a conviction therefor.
(Source: P.A. 88-476.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. IX
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. IX heading)
625 ILCS 5/3-900
(625 ILCS 5/3-900)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-900)
(Source: P.A. 88-470. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)
625 ILCS 5/3-901
(625 ILCS 5/3-901)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-901)
Purpose of Article.
Many persons throughout the State hold themselves out to the public as
being engaged in, and have engaged in, accepting money from members of the
public for remittance to the State of Illinois, and its licensing and
taxing agencies in payment of registration plates, vehicle certificates of title, taxes, or
registration fees. Some of these persons have failed to make such
remittance with the consequent loss to the remitters. It is the public
policy of this State that its people be protected against such hazards.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)