Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. IV
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. IV heading)
625 ILCS 5/18a-400
(625 ILCS 5/18a-400)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-400)
Relocator's licenses - Applications, original determinations.
(a) Each application for a license to operate as a commercial vehicle relocator
shall be made in writing to the Commission, shall be verified under oath, shall be in
such form and contain such information as the Commission may by regulation
require, and shall be accompanied by the required application fee and
proof of security.
(b) Upon the filing of such application, the Commission shall, within
a reasonable time, fix a time and place for public hearing thereon. At least
10 days before the hearing, the Commission shall notify the applicant and
all parties of record to such proceeding of the time and place of such
hearing, by mailing a notice thereof to each such party to the address
of such party shown in the records of such proceeding. Any person having
an interest in the subject matter may appear at the hearing in support of
or in objection to the application.
(c) The applicant shall publish a notice on a form prescribed by the Commission
covering the filing of such application at least 10 days prior to the time
of the initial hearing in (i) the official newspaper selected by the Department
of Finance of the State of Illinois pursuant to Section 4 of the Illinois
Purchasing Act, and (ii) a secular newspaper of general
circulation and published in the county in the State of Illinois, wherein
the applicant or applicants propose to maintain their principal office and
place of business within the State of Illinois. The Commission may by regulation
or otherwise order applicants to give such further notice as it deems required.
The Commission may give additional notice of the filing of such application
as it may deem reasonable and proper as prescribed in its rules. The Director
of the Department of Finance of the State of Illinois for the purposes hereof
shall over his or her signature as such Director annually and immediately
upon selecting the official newspaper certify to the Illinois Commerce
the name and address of said newspaper, together with the date of expiration
of the period of one year for which said newspaper was so selected and the
Commission shall filemark each such certification as of the date it receives
the same and shall keep an official file of said certifications of said
Director conveniently available at its office in Springfield, Illinois;
provided, however, that in any and all events and for all purposes of this
Section and this Chapter, should the aforesaid Director for any reason fail
to make said certification annually, the newspaper set forth in the
aforesaid of said Director filemarked by the Commission as of the most recent
date shall be the official newspaper in which publication is required hereby.
In case publication is required hereby in a newspaper published in a particular
county and no newspaper is so published, then and in that case publication
shall be made in a newspaper published in the closest county thereto which
meets the circulation requirements of this Section.
(d) The Commission shall issue a relocator's license to any qualified
applicant therefor after hearing, pursuant to an application filed, if it
is found that the applicant is fit, willing and able properly to perform
the service proposed and to conform to provisions of this Chapter and the requirements,
rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder; otherwise such application
shall be denied. The order of the Commission granting or denying a relocator's
license shall set forth the specific findings of fact on which such order
is based. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Chapter no such license
shall be issued to any person who has failed to pay any registration fee
or any tax due from such person to the State of Illinois for the privilege
of operating any motor vehicle on the public highways in the State of Illinois.
(e) Operation over the public highways of this State conducted pursuant
to a relocator's license shall be in conformity with all of the laws of
this State pertaining to motor vehicle operation over such public highways.
(f) No relocator's license shall confer
any proprietary or property rights in the use of the public highways.
(Source: P.A. 80-1459.)
625 ILCS 5/18a-401
(625 ILCS 5/18a-401)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-401)
Relocator's licenses - Expiration and renewal.
licenses shall expire 2 years from the date of issuance by the Commission.
The Commission may temporarily extend the duration of a license for the
pendency of a renewal application until formally approved or denied.
Upon filing, no earlier than
90 days nor later than 45 days prior to such expiration,
of written application for renewal, verified under oath, in such form and
containing such information as the Commission shall by regulation require,
and accompanied by the required application fee and proof of security, the
Commission shall, unless it has received information of cause not to do
so, renew the license. If the Commission has information of cause not to
renew such license, it shall so notify the applicant, and shall hold a hearing
as provided for in Section 18a-400. The Commission may at any time during
the term of the license make inquiry into the management, conduct of business,
or otherwise to determine that the provisions of this Chapter 18A and the
regulations of the Commission promulgated thereunder are being observed.
(Source: P.A. 82-616.)
625 ILCS 5/18a-402
(625 ILCS 5/18a-402)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-402)
Relocator's license - Transfer.
A relocator's license is
(Source: P.A. 80-1459.)
625 ILCS 5/18a-403
(625 ILCS 5/18a-403)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-403)
Operator's or dispatcher's employment permits -
Applications, original determinations. (1) Each application for an
operator's or dispatcher's employment permit shall be made in writing to
the Commission, shall be acknowledged before a notary public, shall be in
such form and shall contain such information as the Commission may by
regulation require, and shall be accompanied by the required application
fee and proof, in a form prescribed by the Commission, that the operator
applicant has a valid driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.
(2) Upon the filing of such application, the Commission shall conduct
an investigation of the criminal record, if any, of the applicant. The
Commission shall, within 3 working days, issue to any new
applicant for an employment permit a provisional operator's or
dispatcher's employment permit unless the Commission finds that the
applicant has committed an offense for which the permit could be revoked
under Section 18a-404 of this Chapter.
This provisional employment permit shall be valid for
a period of 1 year unless suspended or revoked by order of the Commission.
At the end of 1 year, the provisional permit shall automatically become
permanent unless the permit was revoked by order of the Commission during
the preceding year. The permanent permit shall remain valid unless
suspended or revoked by order of the Commission under this law.
(3) The permit shall identify the operator or dispatcher by
name and address, and shall identify the relocator by which the operator or
dispatcher will be employed by name, address and relocator's permit
number. The permit shall be valid only when the operator or dispatcher is
employed by the relocator identified thereon.
Operation over the public highways of this State conducted pursuant
to an operator's license issued under the provisions of this Section shall
be in conformity with all the laws of this State pertaining to motor vehicle
operation over such public highways.
(Source: P.A. 85-923.)