Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/18a-105

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-105)
    Sec. 18a-105. Exemptions. This Chapter shall not apply to the relocation of motorcycles.
    Such relocation shall be governed by the provisions of Section 4-203 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-407, eff. 1-1-08; 95-562, eff. 7-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. DUTIES AND POWERS

625 ILCS 5/18a-200

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-200) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-200)
    Sec. 18a-200. General powers and duties of Commission. The Commission shall:
    (1) Regulate commercial vehicle relocators and their employees or agents in accordance with this Chapter and to that end may establish reasonable requirements with respect to proper service and practices relating thereto;
    (2) Require the maintenance of uniform systems of accounts, records and the preservation thereof;
    (3) Require that all drivers and other personnel used in relocation be employees of a licensed relocator;
    (4) Regulate equipment leasing to and by relocators;
    (5) Adopt reasonable and proper rules covering the exercise of powers conferred upon it by this Chapter, and reasonable rules governing investigations, hearings and proceedings under this Chapter;
    (6) Set reasonable rates for the commercial towing or removal of trespassing vehicles from private property. The rates shall not exceed the mean average of the 5 highest rates for police tows within the territory to which this Chapter applies that are performed under Sections 4-201 and 4-214 of this Code and that are of record at hearing; provided that the Commission shall not re-calculate the maximum specified herein if the order containing the previous calculation was entered within one calendar year of the date on which the new order is entered. Set reasonable rates for the storage, for periods in excess of 24 hours, of the vehicles in connection with the towing or removal; however, no relocator shall impose charges for storage for the first 24 hours after towing or removal. Set reasonable rates for other services provided by relocators, provided that the rates shall not be charged to the owner or operator of a relocated vehicle. Any fee charged by a relocator for the use of a credit card that is used to pay for any service rendered by the relocator shall be included in the total amount that shall not exceed the maximum reasonable rate established by the Commission. The Commission shall require a relocator to refund any amount charged in excess of the reasonable rate established by the Commission, including any fee for the use of a credit card;
    (7) Investigate and maintain current files of the criminal records, if any, of all relocators and their employees and of all applicants for relocator's license, operator's licenses and dispatcher's licenses. If the Commission determines that an applicant for a license issued under this Chapter will be subjected to a criminal history records check, the applicant shall submit his or her fingerprints to the Department of State Police in the form and manner prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record information databases now and hereafter filed. The Department of State Police shall charge the applicant a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited in the State Police Services Fund and shall not exceed the actual cost of the records check. The Department of State Police shall furnish pursuant to positive identification, records of conviction to the Commission;
    (8) Issue relocator's licenses, dispatcher's employment permits, and operator's employment permits in accordance with Article IV of this Chapter;
    (9) Establish fitness standards for applicants seeking relocator licensees and holders of relocator licenses;
    (10) Upon verified complaint in writing by any person, organization or body politic, or upon its own initiative may, investigate whether any commercial vehicle relocator, operator, dispatcher, or person otherwise required to comply with any provision of this Chapter or any rule promulgated hereunder, has failed to comply with any provision or rule;
    (11) Whenever the Commission receives notice from the Secretary of State that any domestic or foreign corporation regulated under this Chapter has not paid a franchise tax, license fee or penalty required under the Business Corporation Act of 1983, institute proceedings for the revocation of the license or right to engage in any business required under this Chapter or the suspension thereof until such time as the delinquent franchise tax, license fee or penalty is paid.
(Source: P.A. 93-418, eff. 1-1-04.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-201

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-201)
    Sec. 18a-201. Additional officers and employees. The Commission, for the purpose of more effectively carrying out the provisions of this Chapter, shall obtain pursuant to the provisions of the "Personnel Code" such officers and employees as it may deem necessary to carry out the provisions of this Chapter or to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred by law upon the Commission.
(Source: P.A. 80-1459.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 18a Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. REQUIREMENTS AND PROHIBITIONS

625 ILCS 5/18a-300

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-300) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-300)
    Sec. 18a-300. Commercial vehicle relocators - Unlawful practices. It shall be unlawful for any commercial vehicle relocator:
        (1) To operate in any county in which this Chapter is
    
applicable without a valid, current relocator's license as provided in Article IV of this Chapter;
        (2) To employ as an operator, or otherwise so use the
    
services of, any person who does not have at the commencement of employment or service, or at any time during the course of employment or service, a valid, current operator's employment permit, or temporary operator's employment permit issued in accordance with Sections 18a-403 or 18a-405 of this Chapter; or to fail to notify the Commission, in writing, of any known criminal conviction of any employee occurring at any time before or during the course of employment or service;
        (3) To employ as a dispatcher, or otherwise so use
    
the services of, any person who does not have at the commencement of employment or service, or at any time during the course of employment or service, a valid, current dispatcher's or operator's employment permit or temporary dispatcher's or operator's employment permit issued in accordance with Sections 18a-403 or 18a-407 of this Chapter; or to fail to notify the Commission, in writing, of any known criminal conviction of any employee occurring at any time before or during the course of employment or service;
        (4) To operate upon the highways of this State any
    
vehicle used in connection with any commercial vehicle relocation service unless:
             (A) There is painted or firmly affixed to the
        
vehicle on both sides of the vehicle in a color or colors vividly contrasting to the color of the vehicle the name, address and telephone number of the relocator. The Commission shall prescribe reasonable rules and regulations pertaining to insignia to be painted or firmly affixed to vehicles and shall waive the requirements of the address on any vehicle in cases where the operator of a vehicle has painted or otherwise firmly affixed to the vehicle a seal or trade mark that clearly identifies the operator of the vehicle; and
             (B) There is carried in the power unit of the
        
vehicle a certified copy of the currently effective relocator's license and operator's employment permit. Copies may be photographed, photocopied, or reproduced or printed by any other legible and durable process. Any person guilty of not causing to be displayed a copy of his relocator's license and operator's employment permit may in any hearing concerning the violation be excused from the payment of the penalty hereinafter provided upon a showing that the license was issued by the Commission, but was subsequently lost or destroyed;
        (5) To operate upon the highways of this State any
    
vehicle used in connection with any commercial vehicle relocation service that bears the name or address and telephone number of any person or entity other than the relocator by which it is owned or to which it is leased;
        (6) To advertise in any newspaper, book, list,
    
classified directory or other publication unless there is contained in the advertisement the license number of the relocator;
        (7) To remove any vehicle from private property
    
without having first obtained the written authorization of the property owner or other person in lawful possession or control of the property, his authorized agent, or an authorized law enforcement officer. The authorization may be on a contractual basis covering a period of time or limited to a specific removal;
        (8) To charge the private property owner, who
    
requested that an unauthorized vehicle be removed from his property, with the costs of removing the vehicle contrary to any terms that may be a part of the contract between the property owner and the commercial relocator. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent a relocator from assessing, collecting, or receiving from the property owner, lessee, or their agents any fee prescribed by the Commission;
        (9) To remove a vehicle when the owner or operator of
    
the vehicle is present or arrives at the vehicle location at any time prior to the completion of removal, and is willing and able to remove the vehicle immediately, except for vehicles that require a commercial driver's license to operate. Vehicles that require a commercial driver's license to operate shall be disconnected from the tow truck and the owner or operator shall be allowed to remove the vehicle without interference upon the payment of a reasonable service fee of not more than one-half of the posted rate of the towing service per tow vehicle on the scene and up to a maximum of 2 tow vehicles as provided in paragraph 6 of subsection (f) of Section 4-203 of this Code, for which a receipt shall be given;
        (10) To remove any vehicle from property on which
    
signs are required and on which there are not posted appropriate signs under Section 18a-302;
        (11) To fail to notify law enforcement authorities in
    
the jurisdiction in which the trespassing vehicle was removed within one hour of the removal. Notification shall include a complete description of the vehicle, registration numbers if possible, the locations from which and to which the vehicle was removed, the time of removal, and any other information required by regulation, statute or ordinance;
        (12) To impose any charge other than in accordance
    
with the rates set by the Commission as provided in paragraph (6) of Section 18a-200 of this Chapter;
        (13) To fail, in the office or location at which
    
relocated vehicles are routinely returned to their owners, to prominently post the name, address and telephone number of the nearest office of the Commission to which inquiries or complaints may be sent;
        (13.1) To fail to distribute to each owner or
    
operator of a relocated vehicle, in written form as prescribed by Commission rule or regulation, the relevant statutes, regulations and ordinances governing commercial vehicle relocators, including, in at least 12 point boldface type, the name, address and telephone number of the nearest office of the Commission to which inquiries or complaints may be sent;
        (13.2) To fail, in the office or location at which
    
relocated vehicles are routinely returned to their owners, to ensure that the relocator's representative provides suitable evidence of his or her identity to the owners of relocated vehicles upon request;
        (14) To remove any vehicle, otherwise in accordance
    
with this Chapter, more than 15 air miles from its location when towed from a location in an unincorporated area of a county or more than 10 air miles from its location when towed from any other location;
        (15) To fail to make a telephone number available to
    
the police department of any municipality in which a relocator operates at which the relocator or an employee of the relocator may be contacted at any time during the hours in which the relocator is engaged in the towing of vehicles, or advertised as engaged in the towing of vehicles, for the purpose of effectuating the release of a towed vehicle; or to fail to include the telephone number in any advertisement of the relocator's services published or otherwise appearing on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act; or to fail to have an employee available at any time on the premises owned or controlled by the relocator for the purposes of arranging for the immediate release of the vehicle.
        Apart from any other penalty or liability authorized
    
under this Act, if after a reasonable effort, the owner of the vehicle is unable to make telephone contact with the relocator for a period of one hour from his initial attempt during any time period in which the relocator is required to respond at the number, all fees for towing, storage, or otherwise are to be waived. Proof of 3 attempted phone calls to the number provided to the police department by an officer or employee of the department on behalf of the vehicle owner within the space of one hour, at least 2 of which are separated by 45 minutes, shall be deemed sufficient proof of the owner's reasonable effort to make contact with the vehicle relocator. Failure of the relocator to respond to the phone calls is not a criminal violation of this Chapter;
        (16) To use equipment which the relocator does not
    
own, except in compliance with Section 18a-306 of this Chapter and Commission regulations. No equipment can be leased to more than one relocator at any time. Equipment leases shall be filed with the Commission. If equipment is leased to one relocator, it cannot thereafter be leased to another relocator until a written cancellation of lease is properly filed with the Commission;
        (17) To use drivers or other personnel who are not
    
employees or contractors of the relocator;
        (18) To fail to refund any amount charged in excess
    
of the reasonable rate established by the Commission;
        (19) To violate any other provision of this Chapter,
    
or of Commission regulations or orders adopted under this Chapter;
        (20) To engage in the removal of a commercial motor
    
vehicle that requires a commercial driver's license to operate by operating the vehicle under its own power on a highway without authorization by a law enforcement officer.
(Source: P.A. 99-438, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-301

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-301)
    Sec. 18a-301. Commercial vehicle relocators - Security requirements. Every commercial vehicle relocator shall file with the Commission and have in effect an indemnity bond or insurance policy or certificates of bonds or insurance in lieu thereof which shall indemnify or insure the relocator for its liability: (1) for injury to person, in an amount not less than $100,000 to any one person and $300,000 for any one accident; (2) in case of damage to property other than a vehicle being removed, in an amount not less than $50,000 for any one accident; and (3) in case of damage to any vehicle relocated or stored by the relocator, in an amount not less than $15,000 per vehicle. Any such bond or policy shall be issued by a bonding or insurance firm authorized to do business as such in the State of Illinois. All certificates or indemnity bonds or insurance filed with the Commission must show the coverage effective continuously until cancelled, and the Commission may require such evidence of continued validity as it deems necessary.
(Source: P.A. 85-1396.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-302

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-302)
    Sec. 18a-302. Owner or other person in lawful possession or control of private property - Right to employ relocation service. It shall be unlawful for an owner or other person in lawful possession or control of private property to remove or employ a commercial relocator to remove an unauthorized vehicle from such property unless written notice is provided to the effect that such vehicles will be removed, including the name, address and telephone number of the appropriate commercial vehicle relocator, if any. Such notice shall consist of a sign, posted in a conspicuous place in the affected area, of a size at least 24 inches in height by 36 inches in width. Such sign shall be at least 4 feet from the ground but less than 8 feet from the ground and shall be either illuminated or painted with reflective paint, or both. Such sign shall state the amount of towing charges to which the person parking may be subject. This provision shall not be construed as prohibiting any unit of local government from imposing additional or greater notice requirements.
    No express notice shall be required under this Section upon residential property which, paying due regard to the circumstances and the surrounding area, is clearly reserved or intended exclusively for the use or occupation of residents or their vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 81-332.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-303

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-303)
    Sec. 18a-303. Civil and Criminal liability. Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to limit or alter the vehicle owner's civil or criminal liability for trespass. Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to limit or alter the civil or criminal liability of any person or entity for any act or omission. All penalties accruing under this Law shall be cumulative of each other and a suit for recovery of one penalty shall not bar or affect the recovery of another penalty.
(Source: P.A. 85-923.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-304

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-304) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-304)
    Sec. 18a-304. Operators - Unlawful Practices. It shall be unlawful for any operator:
    (1) To act as an operator without a valid, current operator's employment permit.
    (2) To violate any other provision of this Chapter, or of Commission regulations or orders adopted under this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 85-923.)