Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/13C-15

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-15)
    Sec. 13C-15. Inspections.
    (a) Computer-Matched Inspections and Notification.
        (1) The provisions of this subsection (a) are
    
operative until the implementation of the registration denial inspection and notification mechanisms required by subsection (b). Beginning with the implementation of the program required by this Chapter, every motor vehicle that is owned by a resident of an affected county, other than a vehicle that is exempt under paragraph (a)(6) or (a)(7), is subject to inspection under the program.
        The Agency shall send notice of the assigned
    
inspection month, at least 15 days before the beginning of the assigned month, to the owner of each vehicle subject to the program. An initial emission inspection sticker or initial inspection certificate, as the case may be, expires on the last day of the third month following the month assigned by the Agency for the first inspection of the vehicle. A renewal inspection sticker or certificate expires on the last day of the third month following the month assigned for inspection in the year in which the vehicle's next inspection is required.
        The Agency or its agent may issue an interim emission
    
inspection sticker or certificate for any vehicle subject to inspection that does not have a currently valid emission inspection sticker or certificate at the time the Agency is notified by the Secretary of State of its registration by a new owner, and for which an initial emission inspection sticker or certificate has already been issued. An interim emission inspection sticker or certificate expires no later than the last day of the sixth complete calendar month after the date the Agency issued the interim emission inspection sticker or certificate.
        The owner of each vehicle subject to inspection shall
    
obtain an emission inspection sticker or certificate for the vehicle in accordance with this paragraph (1). Before the expiration of the emission inspection sticker or certificate, the owner shall have the vehicle inspected and, upon demonstration of compliance, obtain a renewal emission inspection sticker or certificate. A renewal emission inspection sticker or certificate shall not be issued more than 5 months before the expiration date of the previous inspection sticker or certificate.
        (2) Except as provided in paragraph (a)(3), vehicles
    
shall be inspected every 2 years on a schedule that begins either in the second, fourth, or later calendar year after the vehicle model year. The beginning test schedule shall be set by the Agency and shall be consistent with the State's requirements for emission reductions as determined by the applicable United States Environmental Protection Agency vehicle emissions estimation model and applicable guidance and rules.
        (3) A vehicle may be inspected at a time outside of
    
its normal 2-year inspection schedule, if (i) the vehicle was acquired by a new owner and (ii) the vehicle was required to be in compliance with this Act at the time the vehicle was acquired by the new owner, but it was not then in compliance.
        (4) The owner of a vehicle subject to inspection
    
shall have the vehicle inspected and shall obtain and display on the vehicle or carry within the vehicle, in a manner specified by the Agency, a valid unexpired emission inspection sticker or certificate in the manner specified by the Agency. A person who violates this paragraph (4) is guilty of a petty offense, except that a third or subsequent violation within one year of the first violation is a Class C misdemeanor. The fine imposed for a violation of this paragraph (4) shall be not less than $50 if the violation occurred within 60 days following the date by which a new or renewal emission inspection sticker or certificate was required to be obtained for the vehicle, and not less than $300 if the violation occurred more than 60 days after that date.
        (5) For a $20 fee, to be paid into the Vehicle
    
Inspection Fund, the Agency may inspect:
            (A) A vehicle registered in and subject to the
        
emission inspections requirements of another state.
            (B) A vehicle presented for inspection on a
        
voluntary basis.
        Any fees collected under this paragraph (5) shall
    
not offset Motor Fuel Tax Funds normally appropriated for the program.
        (6) The following vehicles are not subject to
    
inspection:
            (A) Vehicles not subject to registration under
        
Article IV of Chapter 3 of this Code, other than vehicles owned by the federal government.
            (B) Motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and
        
motorized pedalcycles.
            (C) Farm vehicles and implements of husbandry.
            (D) Implements of warfare owned by the State or
        
federal government.
            (E) Antique vehicles, expanded-use antique
        
vehicles, custom vehicles, street rods, and vehicles of model year 1967 or before.
            (F) Vehicles operated exclusively for parade or
        
ceremonial purposes by any veterans, fraternal, or civic organization, organized on a not-for-profit basis.
            (G) Vehicles for which the Secretary of State,
        
under Section 3-117 of this Code, has issued a Junking Certificate.
            (H) Diesel powered vehicles and vehicles that are
        
powered exclusively by electricity.
            (I) Vehicles operated exclusively in organized
        
amateur or professional sporting activities, as defined in Section 3.310 of the Environmental Protection Act.
            (J) Vehicles registered in, subject to, and in
        
compliance with the emission inspection requirements of another state.
            (K) Vehicles participating in an OBD continuous
        
monitoring program operated in accordance with procedures adopted by the Agency.
            (L) Vehicles of model year 1995 or earlier that
        
do not have an expired emissions test sticker or certificate on February 1, 2007.
        The Agency may issue temporary or permanent exemption
    
stickers or certificates for vehicles temporarily or permanently exempt from inspection under this paragraph (6). An exemption sticker or certificate does not need to be displayed.
        (7) According to criteria that the Agency may adopt,
    
a motor vehicle may be exempted from the inspection requirements of this Section by the Agency on the basis of an Agency determination that the vehicle is located and primarily used outside of the affected counties or in other jurisdictions where vehicle emission inspections are not required. The Agency may issue an annual exemption sticker or certificate without inspection for any vehicle exempted from inspection under this paragraph (7).
        (8) Any owner or lessee of a fleet of 15 or more
    
motor vehicles that are subject to inspection under this Section may apply to the Agency for a permit to establish and operate a private official inspection station in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency.
        (9) Pursuant to Title 40, Section 51.371 of the Code
    
of Federal Regulations, the Agency may establish a program of on-road testing of in-use vehicles through the use of remote sensing devices. In any such program, the Agency shall evaluate the emission performance of 0.5% of the subject fleet or 20,000 vehicles, whichever is less. Under no circumstances shall on-road testing include any sort of roadblock or roadside pullover or cause any type of traffic delay. If, during the course of an on-road inspection, a vehicle is found to exceed the on-road emissions standards established for the model year and type of vehicle, the Agency shall send a notice to the vehicle owner. The notice shall document the occurrence and the results of the on-road exceedance. The notice of a second on-road exceedance shall indicate that the vehicle has been reassigned and is subject to an out-of-cycle follow-up inspection at an official inspection station. In no case shall the Agency send a notice of an on-road exceedance to the owner of a vehicle that was found to exceed the on-road emission standards established for the model year and type of vehicle, if the vehicle is registered outside of the affected counties.
    (b) Registration Denial Inspection and Notification.
        (1) No later than January 1, 2008, every motor
    
vehicle that is owned by a resident of an affected county, other than a vehicle that is exempt under paragraph (b)(8) or (b)(9), is subject to inspection under the program.
        The owner of a vehicle subject to inspection shall
    
have the vehicle inspected and obtain proof of compliance from the Agency in order to obtain or renew a vehicle registration for a subject vehicle.
        The Secretary of State shall notify the owner of a
    
vehicle subject to inspection of the requirement to have the vehicle tested at least 30 days prior to the beginning of the month in which the vehicle's registration is due to expire. Notwithstanding the preceding, vehicles with permanent registration plates shall be notified at least 30 days prior to the month corresponding to the date the vehicle was originally registered. This notification shall clearly state the vehicle's test status, based upon the vehicle type, model year and registration address.
        The owner of each vehicle subject to inspection shall
    
have the vehicle inspected and, upon demonstration of compliance, obtain an emissions compliance certificate for the vehicle.
        (2) Except as provided in paragraphs (b)(3), (b)(4),
    
and (b)(5), vehicles shall be inspected every 2 years on a schedule that begins in the fourth calendar year after the vehicle model year. Even model year vehicles shall be inspected and comply in order to renew registrations expiring in even calendar years and odd model year vehicles shall be inspected and comply in order to renew registrations expiring in odd calendar years.
        (3) A vehicle shall be inspected and comply at a time
    
outside of its normal 2-year inspection schedule if (i) the vehicle was acquired by a new owner and (ii) the vehicle had not been issued a Compliance Certificate within one year of the date of application for the title or registration, or both, for the vehicle.
        (4) Vehicles with 2-year registrations shall be
    
inspected every 2 years at the time of registration issuance or renewal on a schedule that begins in the fourth year after the vehicle model year.
        (5) Vehicles with permanent vehicle registration
    
plates shall be inspected every 2 years on a schedule that begins in the fourth calendar year after the vehicle model year in the month corresponding to the date the vehicle was originally registered. Even model year vehicles shall be inspected and comply in even calendar years, and odd model year vehicles shall be inspected and comply in odd calendar years.
        (6) The Agency and the Secretary of State shall
    
endeavor to ensure a smooth transition from test scheduling from the provisions of subsection (a) to subsection (b). Passing tests and waivers issued prior to the implementation of this subsection (b) may be utilized to establish compliance for a period of one year from the date of the emissions or waiver inspection.
        (7) For a $20 fee, to be paid into the Vehicle
    
Inspection Fund, the Agency may inspect:
            (A) A vehicle registered in and subject to the
        
emissions inspections requirements of another state.
            (B) A vehicle presented for inspection on a
        
voluntary basis.
        Any fees collected under this paragraph (7) shall not
    
offset Motor Fuel Tax Funds normally appropriated for the program.
        (8) The following vehicles are not subject to
    
inspection:
            (A) Vehicles not subject to registration under
        
Article IV of Chapter 3 of this Code, other than vehicles owned by the federal government.
            (B) Motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and
        
motorized pedalcycles.
            (C) Farm vehicles and implements of husbandry.
            (D) Implements of warfare owned by the State or
        
federal government.
            (E) Antique vehicles, expanded-use antique
        
vehicles, custom vehicles, street rods, and vehicles of model year 1967 or before.
            (F) Vehicles operated exclusively for parade or
        
ceremonial purposes by any veterans, fraternal, or civic organization, organized on a not-for-profit basis.
            (G) Vehicles for which the Secretary of State,
        
under Section 3-117 of this Code, has issued a Junking Certificate.
            (H) Diesel powered vehicles and vehicles that are
        
powered exclusively by electricity.
            (I) Vehicles operated exclusively in organized
        
amateur or professional sporting activities, as defined in Section 3.310 of the Environmental Protection Act.
            (J) Vehicles registered in, subject to, and in
        
compliance with the emission inspection requirements of another state.
            (K) Vehicles participating in an OBD continuous
        
monitoring program operated in accordance with procedures adopted by the Agency.
            (L) Vehicles of model year 1995 or earlier that
        
do not have an expired emissions test sticker or certificate on February 1, 2007.
            (M) Vehicles of model year 2006 or earlier with a
        
manufacturer gross vehicle weight rating between 8,501 and 14,000 pounds.
            (N) Vehicles with a manufacturer gross vehicle
        
weight rating greater than 14,000 pounds.
        The Agency may issue temporary or permanent exemption
    
certificates for vehicles temporarily or permanently exempt from inspection under this paragraph (8). An exemption sticker or certificate does not need to be displayed.
        (9) According to criteria that the Agency may adopt,
    
a motor vehicle may be exempted from the inspection requirements of this Section by the Agency on the basis of an Agency determination that the vehicle is located and primarily used outside of the affected counties and in other jurisdictions where vehicle emissions inspections are not required. The Agency may issue an annual exemption certificate without inspection for any vehicle exempted from inspection under this paragraph (9).
        (10) Any owner or lessee of a fleet of 15 or more
    
motor vehicles that are subject to inspection under this Section may apply to the Agency for a permit to establish and operate a private official inspection station in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency.
        (11) Pursuant to Title 40, Section 51.371 of the Code
    
of Federal Regulations, the Agency may establish a program of on-road testing of in-use vehicles through the use of remote sensing devices. In any such program, the Agency shall evaluate the emission performance of 0.5% of the subject fleet or 20,000 vehicles, whichever is less. Under no circumstances shall on-road testing include any sort of roadblock or roadside pullover or cause any type of traffic delay. If, during the course of an on-road inspection, a vehicle is found to exceed the on-road emissions standards established for the model year and type of vehicle, the Agency shall send a notice to the vehicle owner. The notice shall document the occurrence and the results of the on-road exceedance. The notice of a second on-road exceedance shall indicate that the vehicle has been reassigned and is subject to an out-of-cycle follow-up inspection at an official inspection station. In no case shall the Agency send a notice of an on-road exceedance to the owner of a vehicle that was found to exceed the on-road emissions standards established for the model year and type of vehicle, if the vehicle is registered outside of the affected counties.
(Source: P.A. 97-106, eff. 2-1-12; 97-412, eff. 1-1-12; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-20

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-20)
    Sec. 13C-20. Rules and standards.
    (a) The rules and emission standards adopted under subsection (a) of Section 13B-20 of this Code shall apply to the program established under this Chapter and continue in effect until amended or repealed by the Board under this subsection.
    The Agency shall propose any other standards necessary to achieve reductions in the emission of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and oxides of nitrogen from motor vehicles subject to inspection under this Chapter. Within 120 days after the Agency proposes those standards, the Board shall adopt any necessary rules establishing standards for the emission of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and oxides of nitrogen from motor vehicles subject to inspection under this Chapter. The rules may be amended from time to time pursuant to Agency proposals. The Board shall set standards necessary to achieve the reductions in vehicle hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and oxides of nitrogen emissions, as determined by the applicable vehicle emission estimation model and rules developed by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, that are required by the federal Clean Air Act. A predetermined rate of failure shall not be used in determining standards necessary to achieve the reductions in vehicle hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and oxides of nitrogen emissions. The emission standards established by the Board for vehicles of model year 1981 or later shall be identical in substance, as defined in Section 7.2(a) of the Environmental Protection Act, to the emission standards promulgated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.
    Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, subsection (b) of Section 27 of the Environmental Protection Act and the rulemaking provisions of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act do not apply to rules adopted by the Board under this subsection. Challenges to the validity of rules adopted by the Board under this subsection or subsection (a) of Section 13B-20 may be brought only by filing a petition for review in the Appellate Court under Section 29 of the Environmental Protection Act within 35 days after the rule is filed with the Secretary of State.
    (b) The procedures established by the Agency under subsection (b) of Section 13B-20 of this Code shall apply to the program established under this Chapter and remain in effect until amended or repealed under this subsection. The Agency may at any time amend or repeal those procedures and may establish additional procedures designed to implement this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-25

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-25)
    Sec. 13C-25. Performance of inspections.
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), the inspection of vehicles required under this Chapter shall be performed only: (i) by inspectors who have been certified by the Agency after successfully completing a course of training and successfully passing a written test; (ii) at official inspection stations, including on-road inspection sites established under this Chapter; and (iii) with equipment that has been approved by the Agency for these inspections.
    (b) The requirements of subdivisions (a)(i) and (a)(ii) of this Section do not preclude the performance of inspections (1) at self-service official inspection stations, (2) using Agency-approved wireless communication interfaces, and (3) using systems designed to perform remote on-board diagnostic inspections.
    (c) Except as provided in subsection (h), the inspection shall consist of an on-board diagnostic system test. The owner of the vehicle or the owner's agent shall be entitled to an emission inspection certificate issued by the Agency only if all required tests are passed at the time of the inspection.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) The on-board diagnostic system test shall consist of accessing the vehicle's on-board computer system, determining the vehicle's readiness status and MIL status, and retrieving any stored diagnostic codes that may be present. The vehicle shall be deemed to have passed this test if the vehicle readiness status indicates that the vehicle's OBD system has completed all required system and component checks, the MIL status is appropriate, and the diagnostic codes retrieved do not exceed standards set for vehicles of that type under Section 13C-20.
    (h) A visual inspection test of the MIL may be substituted for the on-board diagnostic system test on any vehicle for which on-board diagnostic testing is not possible due to the vehicle's originally certified design or its design as modified in accordance with federal law and regulations, and on any vehicle with known on-board diagnostic communications or software problems, as determined by the Agency. The visual inspection test shall consist of verifying the status of the MIL in the key-on/engine off position and the key-on/engine on position. The vehicle shall be deemed to have passed this test if the MIL illuminates briefly during the key-on/engine off position and does not illuminate during the key-on/engine on position.
(Source: P.A. 97-106, eff. 2-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-30

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-30)
    Sec. 13C-30. Waivers.
    (a) The Agency shall certify that a vehicle that has failed a vehicle emission retest qualifies for a waiver of the emission inspection standards if all of the following criteria are met:
        (1) The vehicle has received all repairs and
    
adjustments for which it is eligible under any emission performance warranty provided under Section 207 of the federal Clean Air Act.
        (2) The Agency determines by normal inspection
    
procedures that the vehicle's emission control devices are present and appear to be properly connected and operating.
        (3) Consistent with Title 40, Section 51.360 of the
    
Code of Federal Regulations, for vehicles required to be tested under this Chapter, an expenditure of at least $450 in emission-related repairs (but exclusive of any repairs related to tampering) has been made.
        (4) For a vehicle of model year 1981 or later, the
    
repairs were performed by a recognized repair technician.
        (5) Evidence of repair is presented, consisting of
    
either (i) signed and dated receipts identifying the vehicle and describing the work performed and the amount charged for the eligible emission-related repairs or (ii) an affidavit executed by the person performing the eligible emission-related repairs.
    (b) The Agency may issue an emission inspection certificate to a vehicle failing a retest if a complete documented physical and functional diagnosis and inspection shows that no additional emission-related repairs are needed. This diagnostic inspection must be performed by the Agency or its designated agent and shall be available only to a vehicle owner whose vehicle was repaired by a recognized repair technician.
    (c) The Agency may extend the emission inspection certificate expiration date by one year upon receipt of a petition by the vehicle owner that needed repairs cannot be made due to economic hardship. Consistent with Title 40, Section 51.360 of the Code of Federal Regulations, this extension may be granted more than once during the life of the vehicle.
    (d) The Agency may issue an emission inspection certificate for a vehicle subject to inspection under this Chapter that is located and primarily used in an area subject to the vehicle inspection requirements of another state. An emission inspection certificate shall be issued under this subsection only upon receipt by the Agency of evidence that the vehicle has been inspected and is in compliance with the emission inspection requirements and standards applicable in the state or local jurisdiction where the vehicle is being used.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-35

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-35)
    Sec. 13C-35. Inquiries. The Agency shall develop a means of responding to inquiries from inspectors and members of the public concerning the program, including (i) when inspections are required, (ii) what kind of inspections are required, (iii) whether emission inspection stickers or certificates previously required for a vehicle have been obtained, and (iv) the procedures for resolving disputes concerning inspections.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-40

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-40)
    Sec. 13C-40. Grievance and damage claim requirements and procedures.
    (a) Emissions inspection and waiver denial grievance procedures.
        (1) Any person aggrieved by a decision regarding the
    
failure of an emissions test or the denial of a waiver may file a petition with the Agency within 30 days after the decision was made, and the Agency shall thereupon investigate the matter. Within 45 days after its receipt of the petition, the Agency shall submit to the petitioner and any affected inspector or station its written determination of the correctness or incorrectness of the decision being grieved. The written determination shall include a statement of the facts relied upon and the legal and technical issues decided by the Agency in making its determination, and may also include an order directing the inspector (i) to issue an emission inspection certificate for the vehicle effective on such date as the Agency may specify, (ii) to reinspect the vehicle, (iii) to apply the standards that the Agency has determined to be applicable, or (iv) to take any other action that the Agency deems to be appropriate. In conducting the investigation, the Agency may require the petitioner to present the vehicle for inspection by the Agency or its designated agent.
        (2) The written determination of the Agency shall be
    
subject to review in circuit court in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Review Law, except that no challenge to the validity of a rule adopted or continued under subsection (a) of Section 13C-20 shall be heard by the circuit court if the challenge could have been raised in a timely petition for review as provided in Section 13C-20.
    (b) Vehicle damage claim requirements and procedures.
        (1) The contractor shall make vehicle damage claim
    
forms authorized by the Agency available for vehicle owners in sufficient quantities at all official inspection stations.
        (2) Notice of the vehicle damage claim procedures and
    
the vehicle owner's rights in relation to a vehicle damage claim shall be conspicuously posted at all official inspection stations.
        (3) If a vehicle owner believes that his or her
    
vehicle was damaged by an act or omission of the contractor during or as a result of an emissions inspection performed on or after August 1, 2002, the owner may initiate resolution of the damage claim under this subsection by complying with the following:
            (A) Within 30 days of the date of the vehicle
        
emissions inspection that allegedly caused the vehicle damage, the vehicle owner shall submit a vehicle damage claim to the contractor at the official inspection station at which the vehicle damage allegedly occurred.
            (B) Within 30 days of filing the claim, the owner
        
shall submit to the contractor any relevant information relating to the owner's claim for vehicle damage, including but not limited to evaluations conducted by a claims evaluation center or automotive repair shop meeting standards prescribed by the Agency.
        (4) The contractor shall promptly notify the Agency
    
of each vehicle damage claim received by the contractor under subdivision (b)(3) and shall forward to the Agency any additional information provided by the owner.
        (5) Within 60 days after the filing of a vehicle
    
damage claim, the contractor shall notify the vehicle owner of its proposed resolution of the damage claim.
        (6) Within 30 days after receiving the contractor's
    
proposed resolution of the damage claim, the owner may petition the Agency for a review of the adequacy and completeness of the contractor's proposed resolution. The petition shall be in a form specified by the Agency.
        (7) Upon receiving a petition for review, the Agency
    
shall request the contractor to deliver to the Agency a copy of the contractor's proposed resolution of the damage claim, together with all documents, videotapes, and information relevant to the damage claim and the proposed resolution. The contractor shall provide the requested materials to the Agency within 15 days of receiving the Agency's request.
        (8) Within 30 days after receiving the relevant
    
materials from the contractor, the Agency shall review the materials and determine whether the contractor's proposed resolution of the damage claim is adequate and complete. The Agency may deem the proposed resolution of the damage claim to be adequate and complete. If the Agency does not deem the proposed resolution of the damage claim to be adequate and complete, it may request the contractor to further investigate and evaluate the damage claim and resubmit its proposed resolution of the claim. The contractor shall then have 30 days to respond in writing to the Agency with the results of its further evaluation of the damage claim and its proposed resolution.
        (9) The Agency shall notify the vehicle owner in
    
writing of the result of its review of the adequacy and completeness of the contractor's proposed resolution of the damage claim. Copies of all correspondence between the Agency and the contractor relating to the damage claim shall also be sent to the vehicle owner.
        (10) If, after the Agency's review, the vehicle owner
    
still does not agree with all or a portion of the proposed resolution of the damage claim by the contractor, the vehicle owner may further pursue the damage claim through the binding arbitration process established by the contractor and accepted by the Agency, or in circuit court.
        (11) The Agency's review of the adequacy and
    
completeness of the contractor's proposed resolution of a damage claim is not binding upon the vehicle owner or the contractor and does not affect the rights of the vehicle owner or the contractor under law. The Agency's review of the adequacy and completeness of the contractor's proposed resolution of a damage claim is not a final action subject to administrative review and is not subject to review by the Pollution Control Board or otherwise appealable.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-45

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-45)
    Sec. 13C-45. Contracts.
    (a) The Agency may enter into contracts with one or more responsible parties to construct and operate official inspection stations, provide and maintain approved test equipment, administer tests, certify results, issue emission inspection stickers or certificates, maintain records, train personnel, provide information to the public concerning the program, or to otherwise further the goals of this Chapter.
    (b) In preparing its proposals for bidding by potential contractors, the Agency shall endeavor to include provisions relating to the following factors:
        (1) The demonstrated financial responsibility of the
    
potential contractor.
        (2) The specialized experience and technical
    
competence of the potential contractor in connection with the type of services required and the complexity of the project.
        (3) The potential contractor's past record of
    
performance on contracts with the Agency, with other government agencies or public bodies, and with private industry, including such items as cost, quality of work, and ability to meet schedules.
        (4) The capacity of the potential contractor to
    
perform the work within the time limitations.
        (5) The familiarity of the potential contractor with
    
the types of problems applicable to the project.
        (6) The potential contractor's proposed method to
    
accomplish the work required, including where appropriate any demonstrated capability of exploring and developing innovative or advanced techniques and methods.
        (7) Avoidance of personal and organizational
    
conflicts of interest prohibited under federal, State, or local law.
        (8) The potential contractor's present and prior
    
involvement in the community and in the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-50

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-50)
    Sec. 13C-50. Costs.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (a)(5) or (b)(7) of Section 13C-15, no fee shall be charged to motor vehicle owners for obtaining inspections required under this Chapter. The Vehicle Inspection Fund, which is a fund created in the State treasury for the purpose of receiving moneys from the Motor Fuel Tax Fund and other sources, shall be used, subject to appropriation, for the payment of the costs of the program, including reimbursement of those agencies of the State that incur expenses in the administration or enforcement of the program. The Vehicle Inspection Fund shall continue in existence notwithstanding the repeal of Chapter 13B. Any money in the Vehicle Inspection Fund on February 1, 2007, shall be used for the purposes set forth in this Chapter.
    (b) The Agency may acquire, own, maintain, operate, sell, lease and otherwise transfer real and personal property and interests in real and personal property for the purpose of creating or operating inspection stations and for any other purpose relating to the administration of this Chapter, and may use money from the Vehicle Inspection Fund for these purposes.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06; 94-848, eff. 6-9-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-55

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-55)
    Sec. 13C-55. Enforcement.
    (a) Computer-Matched Enforcement.
        (1) The provisions of this subsection (a) are
    
operative until the implementation of the registration denial enforcement mechanism required by subsection (b). The Agency shall cooperate in the enforcement of this Chapter by (i) identifying probable violations through computer matching of vehicle registration records and inspection records; (ii) sending one notice to each suspected violator identified through such matching, stating that registration and inspection records indicate that the vehicle owner has not complied with this Chapter; (iii) directing the vehicle owner to notify the Agency or the Secretary of State if he or she has ceased to own the vehicle or has changed residence; and (iv) advising the vehicle owner of the consequences of violating this Chapter.
        The Agency shall cooperate with the Secretary of
    
State in the administration of this Chapter and the related provisions of Chapter 3, and shall provide the Secretary of State with such information as the Secretary of State may deem necessary for these purposes, including regular and timely access to vehicle inspection records.
        The Secretary of State shall cooperate with the
    
Agency in the administration of this Chapter and shall provide the Agency with such information as the Agency may deem necessary for the purposes of this Chapter, including regular and timely access to vehicle registration records. Section 2-123 of this Code does not apply to the provision of this information.
        (2) The Secretary of State shall suspend either the
    
driving privileges or the vehicle registration, or both, of any vehicle owner who has not complied with this Chapter, if (i) the vehicle owner has failed to satisfactorily respond to the one notice sent by the Agency under paragraph (a)(1), and (ii) the Secretary of State has mailed the vehicle owner a notice that the suspension will be imposed if the owner does not comply within a stated period, and the Secretary of State has not received satisfactory evidence of compliance within that period. The Secretary of State shall send this notice only after receiving a statement from the Agency that the vehicle owner has failed to comply with this Section. Notice shall be effective as specified in subsection (c) of Section 6-211 of this Code.
        A suspension under this paragraph (a)(2) shall not
    
be terminated until satisfactory proof of compliance has been submitted to the Secretary of State. No driver's license or permit, or renewal of a license or permit, may be issued to a person whose driving privileges have been suspended under this Section until the suspension has been terminated. No vehicle registration or registration plate that has been suspended under this Section may be reinstated or renewed, or transferred by the owner to any other vehicle, until the suspension has been terminated.
    (b) Registration Denial Enforcement.
        (1) No later than January 1, 2008, and consistent
    
with Title 40, Part 51, Section 51.361 of the Code of Federal Regulations, the Agency and the Secretary of State shall design, implement, maintain, and operate a registration denial enforcement mechanism to ensure compliance with the provisions of this Chapter, and cooperate with other State and local governmental entities to effectuate its provisions. Specifically, this enforcement mechanism shall contain, at a minimum, the following elements:
            (A) An external, readily visible means of
        
determining vehicle compliance with the registration requirement to facilitate enforcement of the program;
            (B) A biennial schedule of testing that clearly
        
determines when a vehicle shall comply prior to registration;
            (C) A testing certification mechanism (either
        
paper-based or electronic) that shall be used for registration purposes and clearly states whether the certification is valid for purposes of registration, including:
                (i) Expiration date of the certificate;
                (ii) Unambiguous vehicle identification
            
information; and
                (iii) Whether the vehicle passed or received
            
a waiver;
            (D) A commitment to routinely issue citations to
        
motorists with expired or missing license plates, with either no registration or an expired registration, and with no license plate decals or expired decals, and provide for enforcement officials other than police to issue citations (e.g., parking meter attendants) to parked vehicles in noncompliance;
            (E) A commitment to structure the penalty system
        
to deter noncompliance with the registration requirement through the use of mandatory minimum fines (meaning civil, monetary penalties) constituting a meaningful deterrent and through a requirement that compliance be demonstrated before a case can be closed;
            (F) Ensurance that evidence of testing is
        
available and checked for validity at the time of a new registration of a used vehicle or registration renewal;
            (G) Prevention of owners or lessors from avoiding
        
testing through manipulation of the title or registration system; title transfers may re-start the clock on the inspection cycle only if proof of current compliance is required at title transfer;
            (H) Prevention of the fraudulent initial
        
classification or reclassification of a vehicle from subject to non-subject or exempt by requiring proof of address changes prior to registration record modification, and documentation from the testing program (or delegate) certifying based on a physical inspection that the vehicle is exempt;
            (I) Limiting and tracking of the use of time
        
extensions of the registration requirement to prevent repeated extensions;
            (J) Providing for meaningful penalties for cases
        
of registration fraud;
            (K) Limiting and tracking exemptions to prevent
        
abuse of the exemption policy for vehicles claimed to be out-of-state; and
            (L) Encouraging enforcement of vehicle
        
registration transfer requirements when vehicle owners move into the affected counties by coordinating with local and State enforcement agencies and structuring other activities (e.g., driver's license issuance) to effect registration transfers.
        (2) The Agency shall cooperate in the enforcement of
    
this Chapter by providing the owner or owners of complying vehicles with a Compliance Certificate stating that the vehicle meets all applicable requirements of this Chapter.
        The Agency shall cooperate with the Secretary of
    
State in the administration of this Chapter and the related provisions of Chapter 3, and shall provide the Secretary of State with such information as the Secretary of State may deem necessary for these purposes, including regular and timely access to vehicle inspection records.
        The Secretary of State shall cooperate with the
    
Agency in the administration of this Chapter and shall provide the Agency with such information as the Agency may deem necessary for the purposes of this Chapter, including regular and timely access to vehicle registration records. Section 2-123 of this Code does not apply to the provision of this information.
        (3) Consistent with the requirements of Section
    
13C-15, the Secretary of State shall not renew any vehicle registration for a subject vehicle that has not complied with this Chapter. Additionally, the Secretary of State shall not allow the issuance of a new registration nor allow the transfer of a registration to a subject vehicle that has not complied with this Chapter.
        (4) The Secretary of State shall suspend the
    
registration of any vehicle which has permanent vehicle registration plates that has not complied with the requirements of this Chapter. A suspension under this paragraph (4) shall not be terminated until satisfactory proof of compliance has been submitted to the Secretary of State. No permanent vehicle registration plate that has been suspended under this Section may be reinstated or renewed, or transferred by the owner to any other vehicle, until the suspension has been terminated.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06; 94-848, eff. 6-9-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-60

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-60)
    Sec. 13C-60. Other offenses.
    (a) Any person who knowingly displays an emission inspection or exemption certificate for any vehicle other than the one for which the certificate was lawfully issued in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter, or duplicates, alters, uses, possesses, issues, or distributes any emission inspection or exemption certificate, or facsimile thereof, except in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter and the rules and regulations adopted hereunder, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
    (b) A vehicle owner shall pay a monetary fine equivalent to the test fee plus the applicable waiver repair expenditure for the continued operation of a non-complying vehicle beyond 4 months past the expiration of the vehicle emission inspection certificate. Any fines collected under this Section shall be divided equally between the local jurisdiction issuing the citation and the Vehicle Inspection Fund.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06; 94-848, eff. 6-9-06.)

625 ILCS 5/13C-75

    (625 ILCS 5/13C-75)
    Sec. 13C-75. Home rule. The vehicle emission inspection program created by this Chapter is hereby declared to be the subject of exclusive State jurisdiction. Pursuant to subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution, the exercise by a home rule unit of any power that is inconsistent with this Chapter is hereby specifically denied and preempted.
(Source: P.A. 94-526, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 heading)
CHAPTER 15. SIZE, WEIGHT, LOAD AND PERMITS

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOAD

625 ILCS 5/15-100

    (625 ILCS 5/15-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-100)
    Sec. 15-100. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 87-1203. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/15-101

    (625 ILCS 5/15-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-101)
    Sec. 15-101. Scope and effect of Chapter 15.
    (a) It is unlawful for any person to drive or move on, upon or across or for the owner to cause or knowingly permit to be driven or moved on, upon or across any highway any vehicle or vehicles of a size and weight exceeding the limitations stated in this Chapter or otherwise in violation of this Chapter, and the maximum size and weight of vehicles herein specified shall be lawful throughout this State, and local authorities shall have no power or authority to alter such limitations except as express authority may be granted in this Chapter.
    (b) The provisions of this Chapter governing size, weight, and load do not apply to equipment for snow and ice removal operations owned or operated by any governmental body, or to implements of husbandry, as defined in Chapter 1 of this Code, temporarily operated or towed in a combination upon a highway provided such combination does not consist of more than 3 vehicles or, in the case of hauling fresh, perishable fruits or vegetables from farm to the point of first processing, not more than 3 wagons being towed by an implement of husbandry, or to a vehicle operated under the terms of a special permit issued hereunder. The provisions of this Chapter governing size and load do not apply to fire apparatus.
    (c) The provisions of this Chapter governing size, weight, and load do not apply to any snow and ice removal equipment that is no more than 12 feet in width, if the equipment displays flags at least 18 inches square mounted on the driver's side of the snow plow.
    These vehicles must be equipped with an illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber light or lights, or a flashing amber strobe light or lights, mounted on the top of the cab and of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight. If the load on the transport vehicle blocks the visibility of the amber lighting from the rear of the vehicle, the vehicle must also be equipped with an illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber light or lights, or a flashing amber strobe light or lights, mounted on the rear of the load and of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.
(Source: P.A. 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)

625 ILCS 5/15-102

    (625 ILCS 5/15-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-102)
    Sec. 15-102. Width of Vehicles.
    (a) On Class III and non-designated State and local highways, the total outside width of any vehicle or load thereon shall not exceed 8 feet 6 inches.
    (b) Except during those times when, due to insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions, persons and vehicles on the highway are not clearly discernible at a distance of 1000 feet, the following vehicles may exceed the 8 feet 6 inch limitation during the period from a half hour before sunrise to a half hour after sunset:
        (1) Loads of hay, straw or other similar farm
    
products provided that the load is not more than 12 feet wide.
        (2) Implements of husbandry being transported on
    
another vehicle and the transporting vehicle while loaded.
        The following requirements apply to the
    
transportation on another vehicle of an implement of husbandry wider than 8 feet 6 inches on the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways or other highways in the system of State highways:
            (A) The driver of a vehicle transporting an
        
implement of husbandry that exceeds 8 feet 6 inches in width shall obey all traffic laws and shall check the roadways prior to making a movement in order to ensure that adequate clearance is available for the movement. It is prima facie evidence that the driver of a vehicle transporting an implement of husbandry has failed to check the roadway prior to making a movement if the vehicle is involved in a collision with a bridge, overpass, fixed structure, or properly placed traffic control device or if the vehicle blocks traffic due to its inability to proceed because of a bridge, overpass, fixed structure, or properly placed traffic control device.
            (B) Flags shall be displayed so as to wave freely
        
at the extremities of overwidth objects and at the extreme ends of all protrusions, projections, and overhangs. All flags shall be clean, bright red flags with no advertising, wording, emblem, or insignia inscribed upon them and at least 18 inches square.
            (C) "OVERSIZE LOAD" signs are mandatory on the
        
front and rear of all vehicles with loads over 10 feet wide. These signs must have 12-inch high black letters with a 2-inch stroke on a yellow sign that is 7 feet wide by 18 inches high.
            (D) One civilian escort vehicle is required for a
        
load that exceeds 14 feet 6 inches in width and 2 civilian escort vehicles are required for a load that exceeds 16 feet in width on the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways or other highways in the system of State highways.
            (E) The requirements for a civilian escort
        
vehicle and driver are as follows:
                (1) The civilian escort vehicle shall be a
            
passenger car or a second division vehicle not exceeding a gross vehicle weight of 8,000 pounds that is designed to afford clear and unobstructed vision to both front and rear.
                (2) The escort vehicle driver must be
            
properly licensed to operate the vehicle.
                (3) While in use, the escort vehicle must be
            
equipped with illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber lights or flashing amber strobe lights mounted on top that are of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.
                (4) "OVERSIZE LOAD" signs are mandatory on
            
all escort vehicles. The sign on an escort vehicle shall have 8-inch high black letters on a yellow sign that is 5 feet wide by 12 inches high.
                (5) When only one escort vehicle is required
            
and it is operating on a two-lane highway, the escort vehicle shall travel approximately 300 feet ahead of the load. The rotating, oscillating, or flashing lights or flashing amber strobe lights and an "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign shall be displayed on the escort vehicle and shall be visible from the front. When only one escort vehicle is required and it is operating on a multilane divided highway, the escort vehicle shall travel approximately 300 feet behind the load and the sign and lights shall be visible from the rear.
                (6) When 2 escort vehicles are required, one
            
escort shall travel approximately 300 feet ahead of the load and the second escort shall travel approximately 300 feet behind the load. The rotating, oscillating, or flashing lights or flashing amber strobe lights and an "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign shall be displayed on the escort vehicles and shall be visible from the front on the lead escort and from the rear on the trailing escort.
                (7) When traveling within the corporate
            
limits of a municipality, the escort vehicle shall maintain a reasonable and proper distance from the oversize load, consistent with existing traffic conditions.
                (8) A separate escort shall be provided for
            
each load hauled.
                (9) The driver of an escort vehicle shall
            
obey all traffic laws.
                (10) The escort vehicle must be in safe
            
operational condition.
                (11) The driver of the escort vehicle must be
            
in radio contact with the driver of the vehicle carrying the oversize load.
            (F) A transport vehicle while under load of more
        
than 8 feet 6 inches in width must be equipped with an illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber light or lights or a flashing amber strobe light or lights mounted on the top of the cab that are of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight. If the load on the transport vehicle blocks the visibility of the amber lighting from the rear of the vehicle, the vehicle must also be equipped with an illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber light or lights or a flashing amber strobe light or lights mounted on the rear of the load that are of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.
            (G) When a flashing amber light is required on
        
the transport vehicle under load and it is operating on a two-lane highway, the transport vehicle shall display to the rear at least one rotating, oscillating, or flashing light or a flashing amber strobe light and an "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign. When a flashing amber light is required on the transport vehicle under load and it is operating on a multilane divided highway, the sign and light shall be visible from the rear.
            (H) Maximum speed shall be 45 miles per hour on
        
all such moves or 5 miles per hour above the posted minimum speed limit, whichever is greater, but the vehicle shall not at any time exceed the posted maximum speed limit.
        (3) Portable buildings designed and used for
    
agricultural and livestock raising operations that are not more than 14 feet wide and with not more than a 1 foot overhang along the left side of the hauling vehicle. However, the buildings shall not be transported more than 10 miles and not on any route that is part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways.
    All buildings when being transported shall display at least 2 red cloth flags, not less than 12 inches square, mounted as high as practicable on the left and right side of the building.
    A State Police escort shall be required if it is necessary for this load to use part of the left lane when crossing any 2 laned State highway bridge.
    (c) Vehicles propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires operated wholly within the corporate limits of a municipality are also exempt from the width limitation.
    (d) (Blank).
    (d-1) A recreational vehicle, as defined in Section 1-169, may exceed 8 feet 6 inches in width if:
        (1) the excess width is attributable to appurtenances
    
that extend 6 inches or less beyond either side of the body of the vehicle; and
        (2) the roadway on which the vehicle is traveling has
    
marked lanes for vehicular traffic that are at least 11 feet in width.
    As used in this subsection (d-1) and in subsection (d-2), the term appurtenance includes (i) a retracted awning and its support hardware and (ii) any appendage that is intended to be an integral part of a recreation vehicle.
    (d-2) A recreational vehicle that exceeds 8 feet 6 inches in width as provided in subsection (d-1) may travel any roadway of the State if the vehicle is being operated between a roadway permitted under subsection (d-1) and:
        (1) the location where the recreation vehicle is
    
garaged;
        (2) the destination of the recreation vehicle; or
        (3) a facility for food, fuel, repair, services, or
    
rest.
    (e) A vehicle and load traveling upon the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways or any other highway in the system of State highways that has been designated as a Class I or Class II highway by the Department, or any street or highway designated by local authorities, may have a total outside width of 8 feet 6 inches, provided that certain safety devices that the Department determines as necessary for the safe and efficient operation of motor vehicles shall not be included in the calculation of width.
    Section 5-35 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act relating to procedures for rulemaking shall not apply to the designation of highways under this paragraph (e).
    (f) Mirrors required by Section 12-502 of this Code and other safety devices identified by the Department may project up to 14 inches beyond each side of a bus and up to 6 inches beyond each side of any other vehicle, and that projection shall not be deemed a violation of the width restrictions of this Section.
    (g) Any person who is convicted of violating this Section is subject to the penalty as provided in paragraph (b) of Section 15-113.
(Source: P.A. 96-34, eff. 1-1-10; 96-37, eff. 7-13-09; 96-220, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/15-103

    (625 ILCS 5/15-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-103)
    Sec. 15-103. Height of vehicles. The height of a vehicle from the under side of the tire to the top of the vehicle, inclusive of load, shall not exceed 13 feet, 6 inches on any highway in the State.
    A person convicted of violating this Section is subject to the penalty provided in paragraph (b) of Section 15-113.
(Source: P.A. 92-417, eff. 1-1-02.)

625 ILCS 5/15-105

    (625 ILCS 5/15-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-105)
    Sec. 15-105. Projecting loads on passenger vehicles.
    No passenger-type vehicle shall be operated on any highway with any load carried thereon extending beyond the line of the fenders on the left side of such vehicle nor extending more than 6 inches beyond the line of the fenders on the right side thereof.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/15-106

    (625 ILCS 5/15-106) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-106)
    Sec. 15-106. Protruding members of vehicles.
    No vehicle with boom, arm, drill rig or other protruding component shall be operated upon any highway in this State unless such protruding component is fastened so as to prevent shifting, bouncing or moving in any manner.
(Source: P.A. 92-417, eff. 1-1-02.)

625 ILCS 5/15-107

    (625 ILCS 5/15-107) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-107)
    Sec. 15-107. Length of vehicles.
    (a) The maximum length of a single vehicle on any highway of this State may not exceed 42 feet except the following:
        (1) Semitrailers.
        (2) Charter or regulated route buses may be up to 45
    
feet in length, not including energy absorbing bumpers.
    (a-1) A motor home as defined in Section 1-145.01 may be up to 45 feet in length, not including energy absorbing bumpers. The length limitations described in this subsection (a-1) shall be exclusive of energy-absorbing bumpers and rear view mirrors.
    (b) On all non-State highways, the maximum length of vehicles in combinations is as follows:
        (1) A truck tractor in combination with a semitrailer
    
may not exceed 55 feet overall dimension.
        (2) A truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer or truck
    
tractor semitrailer-semitrailer may not exceed 60 feet overall dimension.
        (3) Combinations specially designed to transport
    
motor vehicles or boats may not exceed 60 feet overall dimension.
    Vehicles operating during daylight hours when transporting poles, pipes, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot readily be dismembered are exempt from length limitations, provided that no object may exceed 80 feet in length and the overall dimension of the vehicle including the load may not exceed 100 feet. This exemption does not apply to operation on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. Legal holidays referred to in this Section are the days on which the following traditional holidays are celebrated: New Year's Day; Memorial Day; Independence Day; Labor Day; Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Day.
    Vehicles and loads operated by a public utility while en route to make emergency repairs to public service facilities or properties are exempt from length limitations, provided that during night operations every vehicle and its load must be equipped with a sufficient number of clearance lamps on both sides and marker lamps on the extreme ends of any projecting load to clearly mark the dimensions of the load.
    A tow truck in combination with a disabled vehicle or combination of disabled vehicles, as provided in paragraph (6) of subsection (c) of this Section, is exempt from length limitations.
    All other combinations not listed in this subsection (b) may not exceed 60 feet overall dimension.
    (c) Except as provided in subsections (c-1) and (c-2), combinations of vehicles may not exceed a total of 2 vehicles except the following:
        (1) A truck tractor semitrailer may draw one trailer.
        (2) A truck tractor semitrailer may draw one
    
converter dolly or one semitrailer.
        (3) A truck tractor semitrailer may draw one vehicle
    
that is defined in Chapter 1 as special mobile equipment, provided the overall dimension does not exceed 60 feet.
        (4) A truck in transit may draw 3 trucks in transit
    
coupled together by the triple saddlemount method.
        (5) Recreational vehicles consisting of 3 vehicles,
    
provided the following:
            (A) The total overall dimension does not exceed
        
60 feet.
            (B) The towing vehicle is a properly registered
        
vehicle capable of towing another vehicle using a fifth-wheel type assembly.
            (C) The second vehicle in the combination of
        
vehicles is a recreational vehicle that is towed by a fifth-wheel assembly. This vehicle must be properly registered and must be equipped with brakes, regardless of weight.
            (D) The third vehicle must be the lightest of the
        
3 vehicles and be a trailer or semitrailer designed or used for transporting a boat, all-terrain vehicle, personal watercraft, or motorcycle.
            (E) The towed vehicles may be only for the use of
        
the operator of the towing vehicle.
            (F) All vehicles must be properly equipped with
        
operating brakes and safety equipment required by this Code, except the additional brake requirement in subdivision (C) of this subparagraph (5).
        (6) A tow truck in combination with a disabled
    
vehicle or combination of disabled vehicles, provided the towing vehicle:
            (A) Is specifically designed as a tow truck
        
having a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 18,000 pounds and equipped with air brakes, provided that air brakes are required only if the towing vehicle is towing a vehicle, semitrailer, or tractor-trailer combination that is equipped with air brakes. For the purpose of this subsection, gross vehicle weight rating, or GVWR, means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of the tow truck.
            (B) Is equipped with flashing, rotating, or
        
oscillating amber lights, visible for at least 500 feet in all directions.
            (C) Is capable of utilizing the lighting and
        
braking systems of the disabled vehicle or combination of vehicles.
            (D) Does not engage a tow exceeding 50 highway
        
miles from the initial point of wreck or disablement to a place of repair. Any additional movement of the vehicles may occur only upon issuance of authorization for that movement under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Code.
        The Department may by rule or regulation prescribe
    
additional requirements regarding length limitations for a tow truck towing another vehicle.
        For purposes of this Section, a tow-dolly that merely
    
serves as substitute wheels for another legally licensed vehicle is considered part of the licensed vehicle and not a separate vehicle.
        (7) Commercial vehicles consisting of 3 vehicles,
    
provided the following:
            (A) The total overall dimension does not exceed
        
65 feet.
            (B) The towing vehicle is a properly registered
        
vehicle capable of towing another vehicle using a fifth-wheel type assembly or a goose-neck hitch ball.
            (C) The third vehicle must be the lightest of the
        
3 vehicles and be a trailer or semitrailer.
            (D) All vehicles must be properly equipped with
        
operating brakes and safety equipment required by this Code.
            (E) The combination of vehicles must be operated
        
by a person who holds a commercial driver's license (CDL).
            (F) The combination of vehicles must be en route
        
to a location where new or used trailers are sold by an Illinois or out-of-state licensed new or used trailer dealer.
    (c-1) A combination of 3 vehicles is allowed access to any State designated highway if:
        (1) the length of neither towed vehicle exceeds 28.5
    
feet;
        (2) the overall wheel base of the combination of
    
vehicles does not exceed 62 feet; and
        (3) the combination of vehicles is en route to a
    
location where new or used trailers are sold by an Illinois or out-of-state licensed new or used trailer dealer.
    (c-2) A combination of 3 vehicles is allowed access from any State designated highway onto any county, township, or municipal highway for a distance of 5 highway miles for the purpose of delivery or collection of one or both of the towed vehicles if:
        (1) the length of neither towed vehicle exceeds 28.5
    
feet;
        (2) the combination of vehicles does not exceed
    
40,000 pounds in gross weight and 8 feet 6 inches in width;
        (3) there is no sign prohibiting that access;
        (4) the route is not being used as a thoroughfare
    
between State designated highways; and
        (5) the combination of vehicles is en route to a
    
location where new or used trailers are sold by an Illinois or out-of-state licensed new or used trailer dealer.
    (d) On Class I highways there are no overall length limitations on motor vehicles operating in combinations provided:
        (1) The length of a semitrailer, unladen or with
    
load, in combination with a truck tractor may not exceed 53 feet.
        (2) The distance between the kingpin and the center
    
of the rear axle of a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, in combination with a truck tractor, may not exceed 45 feet 6 inches. The limit contained in this paragraph (2) shall not apply to trailers or semi-trailers used for the transport of livestock as defined by Section 18b-101.
        (3) The length of a semitrailer or trailer, unladen
    
or with load, operated in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer or truck tractor semitrailer-semitrailer combination, may not exceed 28 feet 6 inches.
        (4) Maxi-cube combinations, as defined in Chapter 1,
    
may not exceed 65 feet overall dimension.
        (5) Combinations of vehicles specifically designed to
    
transport motor vehicles or boats may not exceed 65 feet overall dimension. The length limitation is inclusive of front and rear bumpers but exclusive of the overhang of the transported vehicles, as provided in paragraph (i) of this Section.
        (6) Stinger steered semitrailer vehicles specifically
    
designed to transport motor vehicles or boats and automobile transporters, as defined in Chapter 1, may not exceed 80 feet overall dimension. The length limitation is inclusive of front and rear bumpers but exclusive of the overhang of the transported vehicles, as provided in paragraph (i) of this Section.
        (7) A truck in transit transporting 3 trucks coupled
    
together by the triple saddlemount method may not exceed 97 feet overall dimension.
        (8) A towaway trailer transporter combination may not
    
exceed 82 feet overall dimension.
    Vehicles operating during daylight hours when transporting poles, pipes, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot readily be dismembered are exempt from length limitations, provided that no object may exceed 80 feet in length and the overall dimension of the vehicle including the load may not exceed 100 feet. This exemption does not apply to operation on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. Legal holidays referred to in this Section are the days on which the following traditional holidays are celebrated: New Year's Day; Memorial Day; Independence Day; Labor Day; Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Day.
    Vehicles and loads operated by a public utility while en route to make emergency repairs to public service facilities or properties are exempt from length limitations, provided that during night operations every vehicle and its load must be equipped with a sufficient number of clearance lamps on both sides and marker lamps on the extreme ends of any projecting load to clearly mark the dimensions of the load.
    A tow truck in combination with a disabled vehicle or combination of disabled vehicles, as provided in paragraph (6) of subsection (c) of this Section, is exempt from length limitations.
    The length limitations described in this paragraph (d) shall be exclusive of safety and energy conservation devices, such as bumpers, refrigeration units or air compressors and other devices, that the Department may interpret as necessary for safe and efficient operation; except that no device excluded under this paragraph shall have by its design or use the capability to carry cargo.
    Section 5-35 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act relating to procedures for rulemaking shall not apply to the designation of highways under this paragraph (d).
    (e) On Class II highways there are no overall length limitations on motor vehicles operating in combinations, provided:
        (1) The length of a semitrailer, unladen or with
    
load, in combination with a truck tractor, may not exceed 53 feet overall dimension.
        (2) The distance between the kingpin and the center
    
of the rear axle of a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, in combination with a truck tractor, may not exceed 45 feet 6 inches. The limit contained in this paragraph (2) shall not apply to trailers or semi-trailers used for the transport of livestock as defined by Section 18b-101.
        (3) A truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer or truck
    
tractor semitrailer-semitrailer combination may not exceed 65 feet in dimension from front axle to rear axle.
        (4) The length of a semitrailer or trailer, unladen
    
or with load, operated in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer or truck tractor semitrailer-semitrailer combination, may not exceed 28 feet 6 inches.
        (5) Maxi-cube combinations, as defined in Chapter 1,
    
may not exceed 65 feet overall dimension.
        (6) A combination of vehicles, specifically designed
    
to transport motor vehicles or boats, may not exceed 65 feet overall dimension. The length limitation is inclusive of front and rear bumpers but exclusive of the overhang of the transported vehicles, as provided in paragraph (i) of this Section.
        (7) Stinger steered semitrailer vehicles specifically
    
designed to transport motor vehicles or boats, may not exceed 80 feet overall dimension. The length limitation is inclusive of front and rear bumpers but exclusive of the overhang of the transported vehicles, as provided in paragraph (i) of this Section.
        (8) A truck in transit transporting 3 trucks coupled
    
together by the triple saddlemount method may not exceed 97 feet overall dimension.
        (9) A towaway trailer transporter combination may not
    
exceed 82 feet overall dimension.
    Vehicles operating during daylight hours when transporting poles, pipes, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot readily be dismembered are exempt from length limitations, provided that no object may exceed 80 feet in length and the overall dimension of the vehicle including the load may not exceed 100 feet. This exemption does not apply to operation on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. Legal holidays referred to in this Section are the days on which the following traditional holidays are celebrated: New Year's Day; Memorial Day; Independence Day; Labor Day; Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Day.
    Vehicles and loads operated by a public utility while en route to make emergency repairs to public service facilities or properties are exempt from length limitations, provided that during night operations every vehicle and its load must be equipped with a sufficient number of clearance lamps on both sides and marker lamps on the extreme ends of any projecting load to clearly mark the dimensions of the load.
    A tow truck in combination with a disabled vehicle or combination of disabled vehicles, as provided in paragraph (6) of subsection (c) of this Section, is exempt from length limitations.
    Local authorities, with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction, may also by ordinance or resolution allow length limitations of this subsection (e).
    The length limitations described in this paragraph (e) shall be exclusive of safety and energy conservation devices, such as bumpers, refrigeration units or air compressors and other devices, that the Department may interpret as necessary for safe and efficient operation; except that no device excluded under this paragraph shall have by its design or use the capability to carry cargo.
    Section 5-35 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act relating to procedures for rulemaking shall not apply to the designation of highways under this paragraph (e).
    (e-1) Combinations of vehicles not exceeding 65 feet overall length are allowed access as follows:
        (1) From any State designated highway onto any
    
county, township, or municipal highway for a distance of 5 highway miles for the purpose of loading and unloading, provided:
            (A) The vehicle does not exceed 80,000 pounds in
        
gross weight and 8 feet 6 inches in width.
            (B) There is no sign prohibiting that access.
            (C) The route is not being used as a thoroughfare
        
between State designated highways.
        (2) From any State designated highway onto any county
    
or township highway for a distance of 5 highway miles or onto any municipal highway for a distance of one highway mile for the purpose of food, fuel, repairs, and rest, provided:
            (A) The vehicle does not exceed 80,000 pounds in
        
gross weight and 8 feet 6 inches in width.
            (B) There is no sign prohibiting that access.
            (C) The route is not being used as a thoroughfare
        
between State designated highways.
    (e-2) Except as provided in subsection (e-3), combinations of vehicles over 65 feet in length, with no overall length limitation except as provided in subsections (d) and (e) of this Section, are allowed access as follows:
        (1) From a Class I highway onto any street or highway
    
for a distance of one highway mile for the purpose of loading, unloading, food, fuel, repairs, and rest, provided there is no sign prohibiting that access.
        (2) From a Class I or Class II highway onto any State
    
highway or any locally designated highway for a distance of 5 highway miles for the purpose of loading, unloading, food, fuel, repairs, and rest.
    (e-3) Combinations of vehicles over 65 feet in length operated by household goods carriers or towaway trailer transporter combinations, with no overall length limitations except as provided in subsections (d) and (e) of this Section, have unlimited access to points of loading, unloading, or delivery to or from a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer.
    (f) On Class III and other non-designated State highways, the length limitations for vehicles in combination are as follows:
        (1) Truck tractor-semitrailer combinations, must
    
comply with either a maximum 55 feet overall wheel base or a maximum 65 feet extreme overall dimension.
        (2) Semitrailers, unladen or with load, may not
    
exceed 53 feet overall dimension.
        (3) No truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer or truck
    
tractor semitrailer-semitrailer combination may exceed 60 feet extreme overall dimension.
        (4) The distance between the kingpin and the center
    
axle of a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, in combination with a truck tractor, may not exceed 42 feet 6 inches. The limit contained in this paragraph (4) shall not apply to trailers or semi-trailers used for the transport of livestock as defined by Section 18b-101.
    (g) Length limitations in the preceding subsections of this Section 15-107 do not apply to the following:
        (1) Vehicles operated in the daytime, except on
    
Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays, when transporting poles, pipe, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot readily be dismembered, provided the overall length of vehicle and load may not exceed 100 feet and no object exceeding 80 feet in length may be transported unless a permit has been obtained as authorized in Section 15-301.
        (2) Vehicles and loads operated by a public utility
    
while en route to make emergency repairs to public service facilities or properties, but during night operation every vehicle and its load must be equipped with a sufficient number of clearance lamps on both sides and marker lamps upon the extreme ends of any projecting load to clearly mark the dimensions of the load.
        (3) A tow truck in combination with a disabled
    
vehicle or combination of disabled vehicles, provided the towing vehicle meets the following conditions:
            (A) It is specifically designed as a tow truck
        
having a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 18,000 pounds and equipped with air brakes, provided that air brakes are required only if the towing vehicle is towing a vehicle, semitrailer, or tractor-trailer combination that is equipped with air brakes.
            (B) It is equipped with flashing, rotating, or
        
oscillating amber lights, visible for at least 500 feet in all directions.
            (C) It is capable of utilizing the lighting and
        
braking systems of the disabled vehicle or combination of vehicles.
            (D) It does not engage in a tow exceeding 50
        
miles from the initial point of wreck or disablement.
    The Department may by rule or regulation prescribe additional requirements regarding length limitations for a tow truck towing another vehicle. The towing vehicle, however, may tow any disabled vehicle from the initial point of wreck or disablement to a point where repairs are actually to occur. This movement shall be valid only on State routes. The tower must abide by posted bridge weight limits.
    For the purpose of this subsection, gross vehicle weight rating, or GVWR, shall mean the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of the tow truck. Legal holidays referred to in this Section shall be specified as the day on which the following traditional holidays are celebrated:
    New Year's Day;
    Memorial Day;
    Independence Day;
    Labor Day;
    Thanksgiving Day; and
    Christmas Day.
    (h) The load upon any vehicle operated alone, or the load upon the front vehicle of a combination of vehicles, shall not extend more than 3 feet beyond the front wheels of the vehicle or the front bumper of the vehicle if it is equipped with a front bumper. The provisions of this subsection (h) shall not apply to any vehicle or combination of vehicles specifically designed for the collection and transportation of waste, garbage, or recyclable materials during the vehicle's operation in the course of collecting garbage, waste, or recyclable materials if the vehicle is traveling at a speed not in excess of 15 miles per hour during the vehicle's operation and in the course of collecting garbage, waste, or recyclable materials. However, in no instance shall the load extend more than 7 feet beyond the front wheels of the vehicle or the front bumper of the vehicle if it is equipped with a front bumper.
    (i) The load upon the front vehicle of an automobile transporter or a stinger-steered vehicle specifically designed to transport motor vehicles shall not extend more than 4 feet beyond the foremost part of the transporting vehicle and the load upon the rear transporting vehicle shall not extend more than 6 feet beyond the rear of the bed or body of the vehicle. This paragraph shall only be applicable upon highways designated in paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Section.
    (j) Articulated vehicles comprised of 2 sections, neither of which exceeds a length of 42 feet, designed for the carrying of more than 10 persons, may be up to 60 feet in length, not including energy absorbing bumpers, provided that the vehicles are:
        1. operated by or for any public body or motor
    
carrier authorized by law to provide public transportation services; or
        2. operated in local public transportation service by
    
any other person and the municipality in which the service is to be provided approved the operation of the vehicle.
    (j-1) (Blank).
    (k) Any person who is convicted of violating this Section is subject to the penalty as provided in paragraph (b) of Section 15-113.
    (l) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)

625 ILCS 5/15-108

    (625 ILCS 5/15-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-108)
    Sec. 15-108. Planking edge of a pavement. No tractor, traction engine or other metal tired vehicle, weighing more than 4 tons, including the weight of the vehicle and its load, shall drive up onto, off or over the edge of any paved public highway in this State, without protecting such edge by putting down solid planks or other suitable device to prevent such vehicle from breaking off the edges or corners of such pavement.
(Source: P.A. 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)

625 ILCS 5/15-109

    (625 ILCS 5/15-109) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-109)
    Sec. 15-109. Spilling loads on highways prohibited. (a) No vehicle shall be driven or moved on any highway unless such vehicle is so constructed or loaded as to prevent any of its load from dropping, shifting, leaking or otherwise escaping therefrom, except that sand may be dropped for the purpose of securing traction, or water or other substance may be sprinkled on a roadway in cleaning or maintaining such roadway.
    (b) No person shall operate on any highway any vehicle with any load unless said load and any covering thereon is securely fastened so as to prevent said covering or load from becoming loose, detached, or in any manner a hazard to other users of the highway.
    (c) The Department shall adopt such rules and regulations it deems appropriate which require the securing of steel rolls and other objects on flatbed trucks so as to prevent injury to users of highways and damage to property. Any person who operates a flatbed truck on any highway in violation of the rules and regulations promulgated by the Department under this subsection shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 82-231.)

625 ILCS 5/15-109.1

    (625 ILCS 5/15-109.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-109.1)
    Sec. 15-109.1. Covers or tarpaulins required for certain loads.
    (a) No person shall operate or cause to be operated, on a highway, any second division vehicle loaded with dirt, aggregate, garbage, refuse, or other similar material, when any portion of the load is falling, sifting, blowing, dropping or in any way escaping from the vehicle.
    (b) No person shall operate or cause to be operated, on a highway, any second division vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,000 pounds or more loaded with dirt, aggregate, garbage, refuse, or other similar material in or on any part of the vehicle other than in the cargo area. In addition, no person shall operate on any highway, such vehicle unless the tailgate on the vehicle is in good repair and operating condition and closes securely so as to prevent any load, residue, or other material from escaping.
    (c) This Section shall not apply to the operation of highway maintenance vehicles engaged in removing snow and ice from the roadway, nor to implements of husbandry or other farm vehicles while transporting agricultural products to or from the original place of production.
    (d) For the purpose of this Section "aggregate" shall include all ores, minerals, sand, gravel, shale, coal, clay, limestone or any other ore or mineral which may be mined.
    (e) Notwithstanding any other penalty, whenever a police officer determines that the operator of a vehicle is in violation of this Section, as evidenced by the issuance of a citation for a violation of Section 15-109.1 of this Code, or where a police officer determines that a dangerous condition exists whereby any portion of the load may fall, sift, blow, drop, or in any way escape or fall from the vehicle, the police officer shall require the operator to stop the vehicle in a suitable place and keep such vehicle stationary until the load has either been reduced, secured, or covered with a cover or tarpaulin of sufficient size to prevent any further violation of this Section.
    (f) Any violation of the provisions of this Section shall be a petty offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $250.
(Source: P.A. 91-858, eff. 1-1-01.)

625 ILCS 5/15-110

    (625 ILCS 5/15-110) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-110)
    Sec. 15-110. Towed vehicles.
    (a) When one vehicle is towing another, the drawbar or other connection shall be of sufficient strength to pull all the weight towed thereby and the drawbar or other connection shall not exceed 15 feet from one vehicle to the other, except for the connection between any 2 vehicles transporting poles, pipes, machinery or other objects of structural nature which cannot readily be dismembered.
    (b) Outside a business, residential or suburban district or on any controlled access highway, no vehicle other than a pole trailer or a semitrailer which is being towed by a truck tractor and is connected by the means of a fifth wheel shall be towed on a roadway except by a drawbar and each such vehicle so towed shall, in addition, be coupled with 2 safety chains or cables to the towing vehicle. Such chains or cables shall be of sufficient size and strength to prevent the towed vehicle parting from the drawing vehicle in case the drawbar should break or become disengaged.
    (c) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any second division vehicle owned, operated or controlled by any person who is registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration and has complied with the federal safety provisions of the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration and the rules and regulations of the Bureau.
(Source: P.A. 77-22.)

625 ILCS 5/15-111

    (625 ILCS 5/15-111) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-111)
    Sec. 15-111. Wheel and axle loads and gross weights.
    (a) No vehicle or combination of vehicles with pneumatic tires may be operated, unladen or with load, when the total weight on the road surface exceeds the following: 20,000 pounds on a single axle; 34,000 pounds on a tandem axle with no axle within the tandem exceeding 20,000 pounds; 80,000 pounds gross weight for vehicle combinations of 5 or more axles; or a total weight on a group of 2 or more consecutive axles in excess of that weight produced by the application of the following formula: W = 500 times the sum of (LN divided by N-1) + 12N + 36, where "W" equals overall total weight on any group of 2 or more consecutive axles to the nearest 500 pounds, "L" equals the distance measured to the nearest foot between extremes of any group of 2 or more consecutive axles, and "N" equals the number of axles in the group under consideration.
    The above formula when expressed in tabular form results in allowable loads as follows:
 
Distance measured
to the nearest
foot between the
extremes of any         Maximum weight in pounds
group of 2 or           of any group of
more consecutive        2 or more consecutive axles
axles
feet2 axles3 axles4 axles5 axles6 axles
434,000
534,000
634,000
734,000
838,000*42,000
939,00042,500
1040,00043,500
1144,000
1245,00050,000
1345,50050,500
1446,50051,500
1547,00052,000
1648,00052,50058,000
1748,50053,50058,500
1849,50054,00059,000
1950,00054,50060,000
2051,00055,50060,50066,000
2151,50056,00061,00066,500
2252,50056,50061,50067,000
2353,00057,50062,50068,000
2454,00058,00063,00068,500
2554,50058,50063,50069,000
2655,50059,50064,00069,500
2756,00060,00065,00070,000
2857,00060,50065,50071,000
2957,50061,50066,00071,500
3058,50062,00066,50072,000
3159,00062,50067,50072,500
3260,00063,50068,00073,000
3364,00068,50074,000
3464,50069,00074,500
3565,50070,00075,000
3666,00070,50075,500
3766,50071,00076,000
3867,50072,00077,000
3968,00072,50077,500
4068,50073,00078,000
4169,50073,50078,500
4270,00074,00079,000
4370,50075,00080,000
4471,50075,500
4572,00076,000
4672,50076,500
4773,50077,500
4874,00078,000
4974,50078,500
5075,50079,000
5176,00080,000
5276,500
5377,500
5478,000
5578,500
5679,500
5780,000
*If the distance between 2 axles is 96 inches or less, the 2 axles are tandem axles and the maximum total weight may not exceed 34,000 pounds, notwithstanding the higher limit resulting from the application of the formula.
    Vehicles not in a combination having more than 4 axles may not exceed the weight in the table in this subsection (a) for 4 axles measured between the extreme axles of the vehicle.
    Vehicles in a combination having more than 6 axles may not exceed the weight in the table in this subsection (a) for 6 axles measured between the extreme axles of the combination.
    Local authorities, with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction, without additional fees, may also by ordinance or resolution allow the weight limitations of this subsection, provided the maximum gross weight on any one axle shall not exceed 20,000 pounds and the maximum total weight on any tandem axle shall not exceed 34,000 pounds, on designated highways when appropriate regulatory signs giving notice are erected upon the street or highway or portion of any street or highway affected by the ordinance or resolution.
    The following are exceptions to the above formula:
        (1) Vehicles for which a different limit is
    
established and posted in accordance with Section 15-316 of this Code.
        (2) Vehicles for which the Department of
    
Transportation and local authorities issue overweight permits under authority of Section 15-301 of this Code. These vehicles are not subject to the bridge formula.
        (3) Cities having a population of more than 50,000
    
may permit by ordinance axle loads on 2-axle motor vehicles 33 1/2% above those provided for herein, but the increase shall not become effective until the city has officially notified the Department of the passage of the ordinance and shall not apply to those vehicles when outside of the limits of the city, nor shall the gross weight of any 2-axle motor vehicle operating over any street of the city exceed 40,000 pounds.
        (4) Weight limitations shall not apply to vehicles
    
(including loads) operated by a public utility when transporting equipment required for emergency repair of public utility facilities or properties or water wells.
        (4.5) A 3-axle or 4-axle vehicle (including when
    
laden) operated or hired by a municipality within Cook, Lake, McHenry, Kane, DuPage, or Will county being operated for the purpose of performing emergency sewer repair that would be subject to a weight limitation less than 66,000 pounds under the formula in this subsection (a) shall have a weight limitation of 66,000 pounds or the vehicle's gross vehicle weight rating, whichever is less. This paragraph (4.5) does not apply to vehicles being operated on the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, or to vehicles being operated on bridges or other elevated structures constituting a part of a highway.
        (5) Two consecutive sets of tandem axles may carry a
    
total weight of 34,000 pounds each if the overall distance between the first and last axles of the consecutive sets of tandem axles is 36 feet or more, notwithstanding the lower limit resulting from the application of the above formula.
        (6) A truck, not in combination and used exclusively
    
for the collection of rendering materials, may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on a single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle.
        (7) A truck not in combination, equipped with a self
    
compactor or an industrial roll-off hoist and roll-off container, used exclusively for garbage, refuse, or recycling operations, may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on a single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle; 40,000 pounds gross weight on a 2-axle vehicle; 54,000 pounds gross weight on a 3-axle vehicle. This vehicle is not subject to the bridge formula.
        (7.5) A 3-axle rear discharge truck mixer registered
    
as a Special Hauling Vehicle, used exclusively for the mixing and transportation of concrete in the plastic state, may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle; 54,000 pounds gross weight on a 3-axle vehicle. This vehicle is not subject to the bridge formula.
        (8) Except as provided in paragraph (7.5) of this
    
subsection (a), tandem axles on a 3-axle truck registered as a Special Hauling Vehicle, manufactured prior to or in the model year of 2024 and first registered in Illinois prior to January 1, 2025, with a distance greater than 72 inches but not more than 96 inches between any series of 2 axles, is allowed a combined weight on the series not to exceed 36,000 pounds and neither axle of the series may exceed 20,000 pounds. Any vehicle of this type manufactured after the model year of 2024 or first registered in Illinois after December 31, 2024 may not exceed a combined weight of 34,000 pounds through the series of 2 axles and neither axle of the series may exceed 20,000 pounds.
        A 3-axle combination sewer cleaning jetting vacuum
    
truck registered as a Special Hauling Vehicle, used exclusively for the transportation of non-hazardous solid waste, manufactured before or in the model year of 2014, first registered in Illinois before January 1, 2015, may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on a single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle; 54,000 pounds gross weight on a 3-axle vehicle. This vehicle is not subject to the bridge formula.
        (9) A 4-axle truck mixer registered as a Special
    
Hauling Vehicle, used exclusively for the mixing and transportation of concrete in the plastic state, and not operated on a highway that is part of the National System of Interstate Highways, is allowed the following maximum weights: 20,000 pounds on any single axle; 36,000 pounds on a series of axles greater than 72 inches but not more than 96 inches; and 34,000 pounds on any series of 2 axles greater than 40 inches but not more than 72 inches. The gross weight of this vehicle may not exceed the weights allowed by the bridge formula for 4 axles. The bridge formula does not apply to any series of 3 axles while the vehicle is transporting concrete in the plastic state, but no axle or tandem axle of the series may exceed the maximum weight permitted under this paragraph (9) of subsection (a).
        (10) Combinations of vehicles, registered as Special
    
Hauling Vehicles that include a semitrailer manufactured prior to or in the model year of 2024, and registered in Illinois prior to January 1, 2025, having 5 axles with a distance of 42 feet or less between extreme axles, may not exceed the following maximum weights: 20,000 pounds on a single axle; 34,000 pounds on a tandem axle; and 72,000 pounds gross weight. This combination of vehicles is not subject to the bridge formula. For all those combinations of vehicles that include a semitrailer manufactured after the effective date of P.A. 92-0417, the overall distance between the first and last axles of the 2 sets of tandems must be 18 feet 6 inches or more. Any combination of vehicles that has had its cargo container replaced in its entirety after December 31, 2024 may not exceed the weights allowed by the bridge formula.
        (11) The maximum weight allowed on a vehicle with
    
crawler type tracks is 40,000 pounds.
        (12) A combination of vehicles, including a tow truck
    
and a disabled vehicle or disabled combination of vehicles, that exceeds the weight restriction imposed by this Code, may be operated on a public highway in this State provided that neither the disabled vehicle nor any vehicle being towed nor the tow truck itself shall exceed the weight limitations permitted under this Chapter. During the towing operation, neither the tow truck nor the vehicle combination shall exceed 24,000 pounds on a single rear axle and 44,000 pounds on a tandem rear axle, provided the towing vehicle:
            (i) is specifically designed as a tow truck
        
having a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 18,000 pounds and is equipped with air brakes, provided that air brakes are required only if the towing vehicle is towing a vehicle, semitrailer, or tractor-trailer combination that is equipped with air brakes;
            (ii) is equipped with flashing, rotating, or
        
oscillating amber lights, visible for at least 500 feet in all directions;
            (iii) is capable of utilizing the lighting and
        
braking systems of the disabled vehicle or combination of vehicles; and
            (iv) does not engage in a tow exceeding 20 miles
        
from the initial point of wreck or disablement. Any additional movement of the vehicles may occur only upon issuance of authorization for that movement under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Code. The towing vehicle, however, may tow any disabled vehicle to a point where repairs are actually to occur. This movement shall be valid only on State routes. The tower must abide by posted bridge weight limits.
        (12.5) The vehicle weight limitations in this Section
    
do not apply to a covered heavy duty tow and recovery vehicle. The covered heavy duty tow and recovery vehicle license plate must cover the operating empty weight of the covered heavy duty tow and recovery vehicle only.
        (13) Upon and during a declaration of an emergency
    
propane supply disaster by the Governor under Section 7 of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act:
            (i) a truck not in combination, equipped with a
        
cargo tank, used exclusively for the transportation of propane or liquefied petroleum gas may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on a single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle; 40,000 pounds gross weight on a 2-axle vehicle; 54,000 pounds gross weight on a 3-axle vehicle; and
            (ii) a truck when in combination with a trailer
        
equipped with a cargo tank used exclusively for the transportation of propane or liquefied petroleum gas may, when laden, transmit upon the road surface, except when on part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the following maximum weights: 22,000 pounds on a single axle; 40,000 pounds on a tandem axle; 90,000 pounds gross weight on a 5-axle or 6-axle vehicle.
        Vehicles operating under this paragraph (13) are not
    
subject to the bridge formula.
        (14) A vehicle or combination of vehicles that
    
uses natural gas or propane gas as a motor fuel may exceed the above weight limitations by up to 2,000 pounds, the total allowance is calculated by an amount that is equal to the difference between the weight of the vehicle attributable to the natural gas or propane gas tank and fueling system carried by the vehicle, and the weight of a comparable diesel tank and fueling system. This paragraph (14) shall not allow a vehicle to exceed any posted weight limit on a highway or structure.
        (15) An emergency vehicle that is a vehicle designed
    
to be used under emergency conditions to transport personnel and equipment, and used to support the suppression of fires and mitigation of other hazardous situations, may not exceed 86,000 pounds gross weight, or any of the following weight allowances:
            (i) 24,000 pounds on a single steering axle;
            (ii) 33,500 pounds on a single drive axle;
            (iii) 62,000 pounds on a tandem axle; or
            (iv) 52,000 pounds on a tandem rear drive steer
        
axle.
        (16) A bus, motor coach, or recreational vehicle may
    
carry a total weight of 24,000 pounds on a single axle, but may not exceed other weight provisions of this Section.
    Gross weight limits shall not apply to the combination of the tow truck and vehicles being towed. The tow truck license plate must cover the operating empty weight of the tow truck only. The weight of each vehicle being towed shall be covered by a valid license plate issued to the owner or operator of the vehicle being towed and displayed on that vehicle. If no valid plate issued to the owner or operator of that vehicle is displayed on that vehicle, or the plate displayed on that vehicle does not cover the weight of the vehicle, the weight of the vehicle shall be covered by the third tow truck plate issued to the owner or operator of the tow truck and temporarily affixed to the vehicle being towed. If a roll-back carrier is registered and being used as a tow truck, however, the license plate or plates for the tow truck must cover the gross vehicle weight, including any load carried on the bed of the roll-back carrier.
    The Department may by rule or regulation prescribe additional requirements. However, nothing in this Code shall prohibit a tow truck under instructions of a police officer from legally clearing a disabled vehicle, that may be in violation of weight limitations of this Chapter, from the roadway to the berm or shoulder of the highway. If in the opinion of the police officer that location is unsafe, the officer is authorized to have the disabled vehicle towed to the nearest place of safety.
    For the purpose of this subsection, gross vehicle weight rating, or GVWR, means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of the tow truck.
    (b) As used in this Section, "recycling haul" or "recycling operation" means the hauling of non-hazardous, non-special, non-putrescible materials, such as paper, glass, cans, or plastic, for subsequent use in the secondary materials market.
    (c) No vehicle or combination of vehicles equipped with pneumatic tires shall be operated, unladen or with load, upon the highways of this State in violation of the provisions of any permit issued under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Chapter.
    (d) No vehicle or combination of vehicles equipped with other than pneumatic tires may be operated, unladen or with load, upon the highways of this State when the gross weight on the road surface through any wheel exceeds 800 pounds per inch width of tire tread or when the gross weight on the road surface through any axle exceeds 16,000 pounds.
    (e) No person shall operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles over a bridge or other elevated structure constituting part of a highway with a gross weight that is greater than the maximum weight permitted by the Department, when the structure is sign posted as provided in this Section.
    (f) The Department upon request from any local authority shall, or upon its own initiative may, conduct an investigation of any bridge or other elevated structure constituting a part of a highway, and if it finds that the structure cannot with safety to itself withstand the weight of vehicles otherwise permissible under this Code the Department shall determine and declare the maximum weight of vehicles that the structures can withstand, and shall cause or permit suitable signs stating maximum weight to be erected and maintained before each end of the structure. No person shall operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles over any structure with a gross weight that is greater than the posted maximum weight.
    (g) Upon the trial of any person charged with a violation of subsection (e) or (f) of this Section, proof of the determination of the maximum allowable weight by the Department and the existence of the signs, constitutes conclusive evidence of the maximum weight that can be maintained with safety to the bridge or structure.
(Source: P.A. 98-409, eff. 1-1-14; 98-410, eff. 8-16-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-942, eff. 1-1-15; 98-956, eff. 1-1-15; 98-1029, eff. 1-1-15; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15; 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)

625 ILCS 5/15-112

    (625 ILCS 5/15-112) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-112)
    Sec. 15-112. Officers to weigh vehicles and require removal of excess loads.
    (a) Any police officer having reason to believe that the weight of a vehicle and load is unlawful shall require the driver to stop and submit to a weighing of the same either by means of a portable or stationary scales that have been tested and approved at a frequency prescribed by the Illinois Department of Agriculture, or for those scales operated by the State, when such tests are requested by the Department of State Police, whichever is more frequent. If such scales are not available at the place where such vehicle is stopped, the police officer shall require that such vehicle be driven to the nearest available scale that has been tested and approved pursuant to this Section by the Illinois Department of Agriculture. Notwithstanding any provisions of the Weights and Measures Act or the United States Department of Commerce NIST handbook 44, multi or single draft weighing is an acceptable method of weighing by law enforcement for determining a violation of Chapter 3 or 15 of this Code. Law enforcement is exempt from the requirements of commercial weighing established in NIST handbook 44.
    Within 18 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, all municipal and county officers, technicians, and employees who set up and operate portable scales for wheel load or axle load or both and issue citations based on the use of portable scales for wheel load or axle load or both and who have not successfully completed initial classroom and field training regarding the set up and operation of portable scales, shall attend and successfully complete initial classroom and field training administered by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board.
    (b) Whenever an officer, upon weighing a vehicle and the load, determines that the weight is unlawful, such officer shall require the driver to stop the vehicle in a suitable place and remain standing until such portion of the load is removed as may be necessary to reduce the weight of the vehicle to the limit permitted under this Chapter, or to the limit permitted under the terms of a permit issued pursuant to Sections 15-301 through 15-318 and shall forthwith arrest the driver or owner. All material so unloaded shall be cared for by the owner or operator of the vehicle at the risk of such owner or operator; however, whenever a 3 or 4 axle vehicle with a tandem axle dimension greater than 72 inches, but less than 96 inches and registered as a Special Hauling Vehicle is transporting asphalt or concrete in the plastic state that exceeds axle weight or gross weight limits by less than 4,000 pounds, the owner or operator of the vehicle shall accept the arrest ticket or tickets for the alleged violations under this Section and proceed without shifting or reducing the load being transported or may shift or reduce the load under the provisions of subsection (d) or (e) of this Section, when applicable. Any fine imposed following an overweight violation by a vehicle registered as a Special Hauling Vehicle transporting asphalt or concrete in the plastic state shall be paid as provided in subsection 4 of paragraph (a) of Section 16-105 of this Code.
    (c) The Department of Transportation may, at the request of the Department of State Police, erect appropriate regulatory signs on any State highway directing second division vehicles to a scale. The Department of Transportation may also, at the direction of any State Police officer, erect portable regulating signs on any highway directing second division vehicles to a portable scale. Every such vehicle, pursuant to such sign, shall stop and be weighed.
    (d) Whenever any axle load of a vehicle exceeds the axle or tandem axle weight limits permitted by paragraph (a) of Section 15-111 by 2000 pounds or less, the owner or operator of the vehicle must shift or remove the excess so as to comply with paragraph (a) of Section 15-111. No overweight arrest ticket shall be issued to the owner or operator of the vehicle by any officer if the excess weight is shifted or removed as required by this paragraph.
    (e) Whenever the gross weight of a vehicle with a registered gross weight of 77,000 pounds or less exceeds the weight limits of paragraph (a) of Section 15-111 of this Chapter by 2000 pounds or less, the owner or operator of the vehicle must remove the excess. Whenever the gross weight of a vehicle with a registered gross weight over 77,000 pounds or more exceeds the weight limits of paragraph (a) of Section 15-111 by 1,000 pounds or less or 2,000 pounds or less if weighed on wheel load weighers, the owner or operator of the vehicle must remove the excess. In either case no arrest ticket for any overweight violation of this Code shall be issued to the owner or operator of the vehicle by any officer if the excess weight is removed as required by this paragraph. A person who has been granted a special permit under Section 15-301 of this Code shall not be granted a tolerance on wheel load weighers.
    (e-5) Auxiliary power or idle reduction unit (APU) weight.
        (1) A vehicle with a fully functional APU shall be
    
allowed an additional 550 pounds or the certified unit weight, whichever is less. The additional pounds may be allowed in gross, axles, or bridge formula weight limits above the legal weight limits except when overweight on an axle or axles of the towed unit or units in combination. This tolerance shall be given in addition to the limits in subsection (d) of this Section.
        (2) An operator of a vehicle equipped with an APU
    
shall carry written certification showing the weight of the APU, which shall be displayed upon the request of any law enforcement officer.
        (3) The operator may be required to demonstrate or
    
certify that the APU is fully functional at all times.
        (4) This allowance may not be granted above the
    
weight limits specified on any loads permitted under Section 15-301 of this Code.
    (f) Whenever an axle load of a vehicle exceeds axle weight limits allowed by the provisions of a permit an arrest ticket shall be issued, but the owner or operator of the vehicle may shift the load so as to comply with the provisions of the permit. Where such shifting of a load to comply with the permit is accomplished, the owner or operator of the vehicle may then proceed.
    (g) Any driver of a vehicle who refuses to stop and submit his vehicle and load to weighing after being directed to do so by an officer or removes or causes the removal of the load or part of it prior to weighing is guilty of a business offense and shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $2,000.
(Source: P.A. 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)

625 ILCS 5/15-113

    (625 ILCS 5/15-113) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-113)
    Sec. 15-113. Violations; Penalties.
    (a) Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of Section 15-111 or subsection (d) of Section 3-401, the owner or driver of such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of such violation and either the owner or the driver of such vehicle may be prosecuted for such violation. Any person charged with a violation of any of these provisions who pleads not guilty shall be present in court for the trial on the charge. Any person, firm or corporation convicted of any violation of Section 15-111 including, but not limited to, a maximum axle or gross limit specified on a regulatory sign posted in accordance with paragraph (e) or (f) of Section 15-111, shall be fined according to the following schedule:
 
Up to and including 2000 pounds overweight, the fine is $100
 
From 2001 through 2500 pounds overweight, the fine is $270
 
From 2501 through 3000 pounds overweight, the fine is $330
 
From 3001 through 3500 pounds overweight, the fine is $520
 
From 3501 through 4000 pounds overweight, the fine is $600
 
From 4001 through 4500 pounds overweight, the fine is $850
 
From 4501 through 5000 pounds overweight, the fine is $950
 
From 5001 or more pounds overweight, the fine shall be computed by assessing $1500 for the first 5000 pounds overweight and $150 for each additional increment of 500 pounds overweight or fraction thereof.
 
    In addition any person, firm or corporation convicted of 4 or more violations of Section 15-111 within any 12 month period shall be fined an additional amount of $5,000 for the fourth and each subsequent conviction within the 12 month period. Provided, however, that with regard to a firm or corporation, a fourth or subsequent conviction shall mean a fourth or subsequent conviction attributable to any one employee-driver.
    (b) Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of Sections 15-102, 15-103 or 15-107, the owner or driver of such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of such violation and either may be prosecuted for such violation. Any person, firm or corporation convicted of any violation of Sections 15-102, 15-103 or 15-107 shall be fined for the first or second conviction an amount equal to not less than $50 nor more than $500, and for the third and subsequent convictions by the same person, firm or corporation within a period of one year after the date of the first offense, not less than $500 nor more than $1,000.
    (c) All proceeds of the additional fines imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
(Source: P.A. 96-34, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10; 97-201, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/15-113.1

    (625 ILCS 5/15-113.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-113.1)
    Sec. 15-113.1. Violations-Sentence of permit moves.
    Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of a permit issued under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Chapter by operating under a fraudulent permit or under a permit not specifically covering the move, the owner or driver of such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of a business offense and either the owner or the driver of such vehicle may be prosecuted for such violation. When any person, firm or corporation is convicted of such violation, the permit shall be null and void and such person, firm or corporation shall be fined in an amount not less than 10 cents per pound for each pound the gross weight of the vehicle exceeds the gross weight of such vehicles allowable under Section 15-111 of this Chapter.
    Penalties for violations of this section shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for violation of Section 15-301 (j) of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 77-2830.)

625 ILCS 5/15-113.2

    (625 ILCS 5/15-113.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-113.2)
    Sec. 15-113.2. Violations - Sentence of permit moves exceeding axle weights. Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of a permit issued under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Chapter by operating with axle weights in excess of those authorized in such permit, the owner or driver of such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of a business offense and either the owner or the driver of such vehicle may be prosecuted for such violation. Any person, firm or corporation convicted of such violation shall be fined in an amount not less than 2 cents nor more than 5 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight on such axle or tandem axle in excess of the weight authorized in the permit when the excess is 1,000 pounds or less; not less than 5 cents nor more than 10 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 1,000 pounds and is 2,000 pounds or less; not less than 10 cents nor more than 15 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 2,000 pounds and is 3,000 pounds or less; and not less than 15 cents nor more than 20 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 3,000 pounds.
    Penalties for violations of this section shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for violation of Section 15-301 (j) of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 81-199.)

625 ILCS 5/15-113.3

    (625 ILCS 5/15-113.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-113.3)
    Sec. 15-113.3. Violations-Sentence of permit moves exceeding gross weight.
    Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of a permit issued under the provisions of Sections 15-301 through 15-319 of this Chapter by operating with the gross weight in excess of that authorized in such permit, the owner or driver of such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of a business offense and either the owner or the driver of such vehicle may be prosecuted for such violation. Any person, firm or corporation convicted of such violation shall be fined in an amount not less than 2 cents nor more than 5 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight in excess of the gross weight authorized in the permit when the excess is 1,000 pounds or less; not less than 4 cents nor more than 7 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 1,000 pounds and is 2,000 pounds or less; not less than 7 cents nor more than 10 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 2,000 pounds and is 3,000 pounds or less; not less than 10 cents nor more than 15 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 3,000 pounds and is 4,000 pounds or less; not less than 15 cents nor more than 20 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 4,000 pounds and is 5,000 pounds or less; and not less than 17 cents nor more than 25 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight when the excess exceeds 5,000 pounds.
    Penalties for violations of this section shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for violation of Section 15-301 (j) of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 77-2830.)

625 ILCS 5/15-114

    (625 ILCS 5/15-114) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-114)
    Sec. 15-114. Pushing of disabled vehicles.
    It is unlawful under any circumstances for any vehicle to push any other vehicle on or along any highway outside an urban area in this State, except in an extreme emergency and then the vehicle shall not be pushed farther than is reasonably necessary to remove it from the roadway or from the immediate hazard that exists.
(Source: P.A. 78-486.)

625 ILCS 5/15-115

    (625 ILCS 5/15-115)
    Sec. 15-115. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-12. Repealed by P.A. 98-44, eff. 6-28-13.)

625 ILCS 5/15-116

    (625 ILCS 5/15-116)
    Sec. 15-116. Designated truck route system. The Department of Transportation shall maintain and provide a listing of all Class I, Class II, and Class III designated streets and highways as defined in Chapter 1 of this Code. The Department shall also maintain and provide a listing of all local streets or highways that have been designated Class II or Class III by local agencies. Local agencies shall be responsible for reporting to the Department all streets and highways under their jurisdiction designated Class II and Class III. Local agencies shall also provide to the Department reference contact names and telephone numbers. The Department shall also maintain and provide an official map of the Designated State Truck Route System that includes State and local streets and highways that have been designated Class I, Class II, or Class III.
(Source: P.A. 94-763, eff. 1-1-07.)

625 ILCS 5/15-117

    (625 ILCS 5/15-117)
    Sec. 15-117. Global Positioning System Technology and the Designated Truck Route System Task Force.
    (a) A Global Positioning System Technology and the Designated Truck Route System Task Force shall be appointed to study and make recommendations for statutory change.
    (b) The Task Force shall study advances in and utilization of Global Positioning System (GPS) technology relating to routing information for commercial vehicles. The Task Force shall also study the implementation and compliance with the Designated Truck Route System under Section 15-116 of this Code.
    (c) The Task Force shall be composed of the following members, who shall serve without pay:
        (1) one member of the Senate appointed by the
    
President of the Senate;
        (2) one member of the Senate appointed by the
    
Minority Leader of the Senate;
        (3) one member of the House of Representatives
    
appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
        (4) one member of the House of Representatives
    
appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives;
        (5) the Secretary of the Illinois Department of
    
Transportation or his or her designee;
        (6) one member representing the global positioning
    
system technology industry appointed by the President of the Senate;
        (7) one member representing the commercial trucking
    
industry appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate;
        (8) one member representing a unit of county
    
government appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
        (9) one member representing a unit of municipal
    
government appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; and
        (10) one member representing the county engineers
    
appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.
    The members shall select a chairperson from among themselves.
    (d) The Task Force shall meet within 60 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly and meet at least 2 additional times before December 31, 2010. Staff support services may be provided to the Task Force by the Illinois Department of Transportation.
    (e) The Task Force shall submit to the Governor and General Assembly a report of its findings and recommendations for legislative action necessary to accomplish one or more of the following goals: (1) improving public traffic safety, (2) preserving roadway infrastructure, (3) addressing advances in GPS technology relating to truck routing, and (4) producing an accurate statewide designated truck route system through effective enforcement of Section 15-116 of this Code. The Task Force report must be submitted no later than January 1, 2011. The activities of the Task Force shall conclude no later than January 31, 2011.
(Source: P.A. 96-1370, eff. 7-28-10.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. VEHICLES EXCEEDING WEIGHT LIMITS

625 ILCS 5/15-201

    (625 ILCS 5/15-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-201)
    Sec. 15-201. Vehicles exceeding prescribed weight limits - Preventing use of highway by. The Department of State Police is directed to institute and maintain a program designed to prevent the use of public highways by vehicles which exceed the maximum weights allowed by Section 15-111 of this Act or which exceeds the maximum weights allowed as evidenced by the license plates attached to such vehicle and which license is required by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 84-25.)

625 ILCS 5/15-202

    (625 ILCS 5/15-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-202)
    Sec. 15-202. Enforcement.
    Such program shall make provision for an intensive campaign by the State Police to apprehend any violators of the acts above mentioned, and at all times to maintain a vigilant watch for possible violators of such acts.
(Source: P.A. 77-506.)

625 ILCS 5/15-203

    (625 ILCS 5/15-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-203)
    Sec. 15-203. Records of violations. The Department of State Police shall maintain records of the number of violators of such acts apprehended and the number of convictions obtained. A resume of such records shall be included in the Department's annual report to the Governor; and the Department shall also present such resume to each regular session of the General Assembly.
    The requirement for reporting to the General Assembly shall be satisfied by filing copies of the report with the Speaker, the Minority Leader and the Clerk of the House of Representatives and the President, the Minority Leader and the Secretary of the Senate and the Legislative Research Unit, as required by Section 3.1 of "An Act to revise the law in relation to the General Assembly", approved February 25, 1874, as amended, and filing such additional copies with the State Government Report Distribution Center for the General Assembly as is required under paragraph (t) of Section 7 of the State Library Act.
(Source: P.A. 84-1438.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 15 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. PERMITS

625 ILCS 5/15-301

    (625 ILCS 5/15-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-301)
    Sec. 15-301. Permits for excess size and weight.
    (a) The Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction and local authorities with respect to highways under their jurisdiction may, in their discretion, upon application and good cause being shown therefor, issue a special permit authorizing the applicant to operate or move a vehicle or combination of vehicles of a size or weight of vehicle or load exceeding the maximum specified in this Act or otherwise not in conformity with this Act upon any highway under the jurisdiction of the party granting such permit and for the maintenance of which the party is responsible. Applications and permits other than those in written or printed form may only be accepted from and issued to the company or individual making the movement. Except for an application to move directly across a highway, it shall be the duty of the applicant to establish in the application that the load to be moved by such vehicle or combination cannot reasonably be dismantled or disassembled, the reasonableness of which shall be determined by the Secretary of the Department. For the purpose of over length movements, more than one object may be carried side by side as long as the height, width, and weight laws are not exceeded and the cause for the over length is not due to multiple objects. For the purpose of over height movements, more than one object may be carried as long as the cause for the over height is not due to multiple objects and the length, width, and weight laws are not exceeded. For the purpose of an over width movement, more than one object may be carried as long as the cause for the over width is not due to multiple objects and length, height, and weight laws are not exceeded. Except for transporting fluid milk products, no State or local agency shall authorize the issuance of excess size or weight permits for vehicles and loads that are divisible and that can be carried, when divided, within the existing size or weight maximums specified in this Chapter. Any excess size or weight permit issued in violation of the provisions of this Section shall be void at issue and any movement made thereunder shall not be authorized under the terms of the void permit. In any prosecution for a violation of this Chapter when the authorization of an excess size or weight permit is at issue, it is the burden of the defendant to establish that the permit was valid because the load to be moved could not reasonably be dismantled or disassembled, or was otherwise nondivisible.
    (b) The application for any such permit shall: (1) state whether such permit is requested for a single trip or for limited continuous operation; (2) state if the applicant is an authorized carrier under the Illinois Motor Carrier of Property Law, if so, his certificate, registration or permit number issued by the Illinois Commerce Commission; (3) specifically describe and identify the vehicle or vehicles and load to be operated or moved except that for vehicles or vehicle combinations registered by the Department as provided in Section 15-319 of this Chapter, only the Illinois Department of Transportation's (IDT) registration number or classification need be given; (4) state the routing requested including the points of origin and destination, and may identify and include a request for routing to the nearest certified scale in accordance with the Department's rules and regulations, provided the applicant has approval to travel on local roads; and (5) state if the vehicles or loads are being transported for hire. No permits for the movement of a vehicle or load for hire shall be issued to any applicant who is required under the Illinois Motor Carrier of Property Law to have a certificate, registration or permit and does not have such certificate, registration or permit.
    (c) The Department or local authority when not inconsistent with traffic safety is authorized to issue or withhold such permit at its discretion; or, if such permit is issued at its discretion to prescribe the route or routes to be traveled, to limit the number of trips, to establish seasonal or other time limitations within which the vehicles described may be operated on the highways indicated, or otherwise to limit or prescribe conditions of operations of such vehicle or vehicles, when necessary to assure against undue damage to the road foundations, surfaces or structures, and may require such undertaking or other security as may be deemed necessary to compensate for any injury to any roadway or road structure. The Department shall maintain a daily record of each permit issued along with the fee and the stipulated dimensions, weights, conditions and restrictions authorized and this record shall be presumed correct in any case of questions or dispute. The Department shall install an automatic device for recording applications received and permits issued by telephone. In making application by telephone, the Department and applicant waive all objections to the recording of the conversation.
    (d) The Department shall, upon application in writing from any local authority, issue an annual permit authorizing the local authority to move oversize highway construction, transportation, utility and maintenance equipment over roads under the jurisdiction of the Department. The permit shall be applicable only to equipment and vehicles owned by or registered in the name of the local authority, and no fee shall be charged for the issuance of such permits.
    (e) As an exception to paragraph (a) of this Section, the Department and local authorities, with respect to highways under their respective jurisdictions, in their discretion and upon application in writing may issue a special permit for limited continuous operation, authorizing the applicant to move loads of agricultural commodities on a 2 axle single vehicle registered by the Secretary of State with axle loads not to exceed 35%, on a 3 or 4 axle vehicle registered by the Secretary of State with axle loads not to exceed 20%, and on a 5 axle vehicle registered by the Secretary of State not to exceed 10% above those provided in Section 15-111. The total gross weight of the vehicle, however, may not exceed the maximum gross weight of the registration class of the vehicle allowed under Section 3-815 or 3-818 of this Code.
    As used in this Section, "agricultural commodities" means:
        (1) cultivated plants or agricultural produce grown
    
including, but is not limited to, corn, soybeans, wheat, oats, grain sorghum, canola, and rice;
        (2) livestock, including but not limited to hogs,
    
equine, sheep, and poultry;
        (3) ensilage; and
        (4) fruits and vegetables.
    Permits may be issued for a period not to exceed 40 days and moves may be made of a distance not to exceed 50 miles from a field, an on-farm grain storage facility, a warehouse as defined in the Illinois Grain Code, or a livestock management facility as defined in the Livestock Management Facilities Act over any highway except the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways. The operator of the vehicle, however, must abide by posted bridge and posted highway weight limits. All implements of husbandry operating under this Section between sunset and sunrise shall be equipped as prescribed in Section 12-205.1.
    (e-1) Upon a declaration by the Governor that an emergency harvest situation exists, a special permit issued by the Department under this Section shall not be required from September 1 through December 31 during harvest season emergencies, provided that the weight does not exceed 20% above the limits provided in Section 15-111. All other restrictions that apply to permits issued under this Section shall apply during the declared time period. With respect to highways under the jurisdiction of local authorities, the local authorities may, at their discretion, waive special permit requirements during harvest season emergencies. This permit exemption shall apply to all vehicles eligible to obtain permits under this Section, including commercial vehicles in use during the declared time period.
    (f) The form and content of the permit shall be determined by the Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction and by local authorities with respect to highways under their jurisdiction. Every permit shall be in written form and carried in the vehicle or combination of vehicles to which it refers and shall be open to inspection by any police officer or authorized agent of any authority granting the permit and no person shall violate any of the terms or conditions of such special permit. Violation of the terms and conditions of the permit shall not be deemed a revocation of the permit; however, any vehicle and load found to be off the route prescribed in the permit shall be held to be operating without a permit. Any off route vehicle and load shall be required to obtain a new permit or permits, as necessary, to authorize the movement back onto the original permit routing. No rule or regulation, nor anything herein shall be construed to authorize any police officer, court, or authorized agent of any authority granting the permit to remove the permit from the possession of the permittee unless the permittee is charged with a fraudulent permit violation as provided in paragraph (i). However, upon arrest for an offense of violation of permit, operating without a permit when the vehicle is off route, or any size or weight offense under this Chapter when the permittee plans to raise the issuance of the permit as a defense, the permittee, or his agent, must produce the permit at any court hearing concerning the alleged offense.
    If the permit designates and includes a routing to a certified scale, the permittee, while enroute to the designated scale, shall be deemed in compliance with the weight provisions of the permit provided the axle or gross weights do not exceed any of the permitted limits by more than the following amounts:
        Single axle               2000 pounds
        Tandem axle               3000 pounds
        Gross                     5000 pounds
    (g) The Department is authorized to adopt, amend, and to make available to interested persons a policy concerning reasonable rules, limitations and conditions or provisions of operation upon highways under its jurisdiction in addition to those contained in this Section for the movement by special permit of vehicles, combinations, or loads which cannot reasonably be dismantled or disassembled, including manufactured and modular home sections and portions thereof. All rules, limitations and conditions or provisions adopted in the policy shall have due regard for the safety of the traveling public and the protection of the highway system and shall have been promulgated in conformity with the provisions of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The requirements of the policy for flagmen and escort vehicles shall be the same for all moves of comparable size and weight. When escort vehicles are required, they shall meet the following requirements:
        (1) All operators shall be 18 years of age or over
    
and properly licensed to operate the vehicle.
        (2) Vehicles escorting oversized loads more than
    
12-feet wide must be equipped with a rotating or flashing amber light mounted on top as specified under Section 12-215.
    The Department shall establish reasonable rules and regulations regarding liability insurance or self insurance for vehicles with oversized loads promulgated under the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. Police vehicles may be required for escort under circumstances as required by rules and regulations of the Department.
    (h) Violation of any rule, limitation or condition or provision of any permit issued in accordance with the provisions of this Section shall not render the entire permit null and void but the violator shall be deemed guilty of violation of permit and guilty of exceeding any size, weight or load limitations in excess of those authorized by the permit. The prescribed route or routes on the permit are not mere rules, limitations, conditions, or provisions of the permit, but are also the sole extent of the authorization granted by the permit. If a vehicle and load are found to be off the route or routes prescribed by any permit authorizing movement, the vehicle and load are operating without a permit. Any off route movement shall be subject to the size and weight maximums, under the applicable provisions of this Chapter, as determined by the type or class highway upon which the vehicle and load are being operated.
    (i) Whenever any vehicle is operated or movement made under a fraudulent permit the permit shall be void, and the person, firm, or corporation to whom such permit was granted, the driver of such vehicle in addition to the person who issued such permit and any accessory, shall be guilty of fraud and either one or all persons may be prosecuted for such violation. Any person, firm, or corporation committing such violation shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and the Department shall not issue permits to the person, firm or corporation convicted of such violation for a period of one year after the date of conviction. Penalties for violations of this Section shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for violation of other Sections of this Act.
    (j) Whenever any vehicle is operated or movement made in violation of a permit issued in accordance with this Section, the person to whom such permit was granted, or the driver of such vehicle, is guilty of such violation and either, but not both, persons may be prosecuted for such violation as stated in this subsection (j). Any person, firm or corporation convicted of such violation shall be guilty of a petty offense and shall be fined for the first offense, not less than $50 nor more than $200 and, for the second offense by the same person, firm or corporation within a period of one year, not less than $200 nor more than $300 and, for the third offense by the same person, firm or corporation within a period of one year after the date of the first offense, not less than $300 nor more than $500 and the Department shall not issue permits to the person, firm or corporation convicted of a third offense during a period of one year after the date of conviction for such third offense.
    (k) Whenever any vehicle is operated on local roads under permits for excess width or length issued by local authorities, such vehicle may be moved upon a State highway for a distance not to exceed one-half mile without a permit for the purpose of crossing the State highway.
    (l) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, the Department, with respect to highways under its jurisdiction, and local authorities, with respect to highways under their jurisdiction, may at their discretion authorize the movement of a vehicle in violation of any size or weight requirement, or both, that would not ordinarily be eligible for a permit, when there is a showing of extreme necessity that the vehicle and load should be moved without unnecessary delay.
    For the purpose of this subsection, showing of extreme necessity shall be limited to the following: shipments of livestock, hazardous materials, liquid concrete being hauled in a mobile cement mixer, or hot asphalt.
    (m) Penalties for violations of this Section shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for violating any other Section of this Code.
    (n) The Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction and local authorities with respect to highways under their jurisdiction, in their discretion and upon application in writing, may issue a special permit for continuous limited operation, authorizing the applicant to operate a tow-truck that exceeds the weight limits provided for in subsection (a) of Section 15-111, provided:
        (1) no rear single axle of the tow-truck exceeds
    
26,000 pounds;
        (2) no rear tandem axle of the tow-truck exceeds
    
50,000 pounds;
        (2.1) no triple rear axle on a manufactured recovery
    
unit exceeds 60,000 pounds;
        (3) neither the disabled vehicle nor the disabled
    
combination of vehicles exceed the weight restrictions imposed by this Chapter 15, or the weight limits imposed under a permit issued by the Department prior to hookup;
        (4) the tow-truck prior to hookup does not exceed the
    
weight restrictions imposed by this Chapter 15;
        (5) during the tow operation the tow-truck does not
    
violate any weight restriction sign;
        (6) the tow-truck is equipped with flashing,
    
rotating, or oscillating amber lights, visible for at least 500 feet in all directions;
        (7) the tow-truck is specifically designed and
    
licensed as a tow-truck;
        (8) the tow-truck has a gross vehicle weight rating
    
of sufficient capacity to safely handle the load;
        (9) the tow-truck is equipped with air brakes;
        (10) the tow-truck is capable of utilizing the
    
lighting and braking systems of the disabled vehicle or combination of vehicles;
        (11) the tow commences at the initial point of wreck
    
or disablement and terminates at a point where the repairs are actually to occur;
        (12) the permit issued to the tow-truck is carried in
    
the tow-truck and exhibited on demand by a police officer; and
        (13) the movement shall be valid only on state routes
    
approved by the Department.
    (o) (Blank).
    (p) In determining whether a load may be reasonably dismantled or disassembled for the purpose of paragraph (a), the Department shall consider whether there is a significant negative impact on the condition of the pavement and structures along the proposed route, whether the load or vehicle as proposed causes a safety hazard to the traveling public, whether dismantling or disassembling the load promotes or stifles economic development and whether the proposed route travels less than 5 miles. A load is not required to be dismantled or disassembled for the purposes of paragraph (a) if the Secretary of the Department determines there will be no significant negative impact to pavement or structures along the proposed route, the proposed load or vehicle causes no safety hazard to the traveling public, dismantling or disassembling the load does not promote economic development and the proposed route travels less than 5 miles. The Department may promulgate rules for the purpose of establishing the divisibility of a load pursuant to paragraph (a). Any load determined by the Secretary to be nondivisible shall otherwise comply with the existing size or weight maximums specified in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)