Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/Ch 18C Sub 1 Art V

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch 18C Sub 1 Art V heading)
ARTICLE V. FEES AND TAXES

625 ILCS 5/18c-1501

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18c-1501)
    Sec. 18c-1501. Franchise, Franchise Renewal, Filing and Other Fees for Motor Carriers of Property.
    (1) Franchise, Franchise Renewal, Filing, and Other Fee Levels in Effect Absent Commission Regulations Prescribing Different Fee Levels. The levels of franchise, franchise renewal, filing, and other fees for motor carriers of property in effect, absent Commission regulations prescribing different fee levels, shall be:
        (a) Franchise and franchise renewal fees: $19 for
    
each motor vehicle operated by a motor carrier of property in intrastate commerce, and $2 for each motor vehicle operated by a motor carrier of property in interstate commerce.
        (b) Filing fees: $100 for each application seeking a
    
Commission license or other authority, the reinstatement of a cancelled license or authority, or authority to establish a rate, other than by special permission, excluding both released rate applications and rate filings which may be investigated or suspended but which require no prior authorization for filing; $25 for each released rate application and each application to register as an interstate carrier; $15 for each application seeking special permission in regard to rates; and $15 for each equipment lease.
    (2) Adjustment of Fee Levels. The Commission may, by rulemaking in accordance with provisions of The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, adjust franchise, franchise renewal, filing, and other fees for motor carriers of property by increasing or decreasing them from levels in effect absent Commission regulations prescribing different fee levels. Franchise and franchise renewal fees prescribed by the Commission for motor carriers of property shall not exceed:
        (a) $50 for each motor vehicle operated by a
    
household goods carrier in intrastate commerce;
        (a-5) $15 for each motor vehicle operated by a public
    
carrier in intrastate commerce; and
        (b) $7 for each motor vehicle operated by a motor
    
carrier of property in interstate commerce.
    (3) Late-Filing Fees.
        (a) Commission to Prescribe Late-Filing Fees. The
    
Commission may prescribe fees for the late filing of proof of insurance, operating reports, franchise or franchise renewal fee applications, or other documents required to be filed on a periodic basis with the Commission.
        (b) Late-filing Fees to Accrue Automatically.
    
Late-filing fees shall accrue automatically from the filing deadline set forth in Commission regulations, and all persons or entities required to make such filings shall be on notice of such deadlines.
        (c) Maximum Fees. Late-filing fees prescribed by the
    
Commission shall not exceed $100 for an initial period, plus $10 for each day after the expiration of the initial period. The Commission may provide for waiver of all or part of late-filing fees accrued under this subsection on a showing of good cause.
        (d) Effect of Failure to Make Timely Filings and Pay
    
Late-Filing Fees. Failure of a person to file proof of continuous insurance coverage or to make other periodic filings required under Commission regulations shall make licenses and registrations held by the person subject to revocation or suspension. The licenses or registrations cannot thereafter be returned to good standing until after payment of all late-filing fees accrued and not waived under this subsection.
    (4) Payment of Fees.
        (a) Franchise and Franchise Renewal Fees. Franchise
    
and franchise renewal fees for motor carriers of property shall be due and payable on or before the 31st day of December of the calendar year preceding the calendar year for which the fees are owing, unless otherwise provided in Commission regulations.
        (b) Filing and Other Fees. Filing and other fees
    
(including late-filing fees) shall be due and payable on the date of filing, or on such other date as is set forth in Commission regulations.
    (5) When Fees Returnable.
        (a) Whenever an application to the Illinois Commerce
    
Commission is accompanied by any fee as required by law and such application is refused or rejected, said fee shall be returned to said applicant.
        (b) The Illinois Commerce Commission may reduce by
    
interlineation the amount of any personal check or corporate check or company check drawn on the account of and delivered by any person for payment of a fee required by the Illinois Commerce Commission.
        (c) Any check altered pursuant to above shall be
    
endorsed by the Illinois Commerce Commission as follows: "This check is warranted to subsequent holders and to the drawee to be in the amount $      ."
        (d) All applications to the Illinois Commerce
    
Commission requiring fee payment upon reprinting shall contain the following authorization statement: "My signature authorizes the Illinois Commerce Commission to lower the amount of check if fee submitted exceeds correct amount."
(Source: P.A. 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/18c-1502

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1502) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18c-1502)
    Sec. 18c-1502. Gross Receipts Taxes For Motor Carriers of Passengers and Rail Carriers. Each motor carrier of passengers and rail carrier shall pay to the Commission, in accordance with Sections 2-202, 3-120 and 3-121 of "The Public Utilities Act", as amended, a gross receipts tax in the amount provided herein.
    The amount of the tax for motor carriers of passengers shall be prescribed by the Commission by rulemaking in accordance with provisions of The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, and shall not exceed 0.1% of the carrier's gross Illinois intrastate revenues for each calendar year.
    The amount of the tax for rail carriers shall be 0.15% of the carrier's gross Illinois intrastate revenues for each calendar year.
(Source: P.A. 89-42, eff. 1-1-96; 89-699, eff. 1-16-97.)

625 ILCS 5/18c-1502.05

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1502.05)
    Sec. 18c-1502.05. Route Mileage Fee for Rail Carriers. Beginning with calendar year 2004, every rail carrier shall pay to the Commission for each calendar year a route mileage fee of $45 for each route mile of railroad right of way owned by the rail carrier in Illinois. The fee shall be based on the number of route miles as of January 1 of the year for which the fee is due, and the payment of the route mileage fee shall be due by February 1 of each calendar year.
(Source: P.A. 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/18c-1502.10

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1502.10)
    Sec. 18c-1502.10. Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing and Grade Separation Fee. Beginning with calendar year 2004, every rail carrier shall pay to the Commission for each calendar year a fee of $28 for each location at which the rail carrier's track crosses a public road, highway, or street, whether the crossing be at grade, by overhead structure, or by subway. The fee shall be based on the number of the crossings as of January 1 of each calendar year, and the fee shall be due by February 1 of each calendar year.
(Source: P.A. 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/18c-1503

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1503) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18c-1503)
    Sec. 18c-1503. Legislative Intent. It is the intent of the Legislature that the exercise of powers under Sections 18c-1501 and 18c-1502 of this Chapter shall not diminish revenues to the Commission, and that any surplus or deficit of revenues in the Transportation Regulatory Fund, together with any projected changes in the cost of administering and enforcing this Chapter, should be considered in establishing or adjusting fees and taxes in succeeding years. The Commission shall administer fees and taxes under this Chapter in such a manner as to insure that any surplus generated or accumulated in the Transportation Regulatory Fund does not exceed 50% of the previous fiscal year's appropriation and shall adjust the level of such fees and taxes to insure compliance with this provision.
(Source: P.A. 95-1027, eff. 6-1-09.)