Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

ENVIRONMENTAL SAFETY
(415 ILCS 5/) Environmental Protection Act.

415 ILCS 5/Tit. XII

 
    (415 ILCS 5/Tit. XII heading)
TITLE XII: PENALTIES

415 ILCS 5/42

    (415 ILCS 5/42) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1042)
    Sec. 42. Civil penalties.
    (a) Except as provided in this Section, any person that violates any provision of this Act or any regulation adopted by the Board, or any permit or term or condition thereof, or that violates any order of the Board pursuant to this Act, shall be liable for a civil penalty of not to exceed $50,000 for the violation and an additional civil penalty of not to exceed $10,000 for each day during which the violation continues; such penalties may, upon order of the Board or a court of competent jurisdiction, be made payable to the Environmental Protection Trust Fund, to be used in accordance with the provisions of the Environmental Protection Trust Fund Act.
    (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this Section:
        (1) Any person that violates Section 12(f) of this
    
Act or any NPDES permit or term or condition thereof, or any filing requirement, regulation or order relating to the NPDES permit program, shall be liable to a civil penalty of not to exceed $10,000 per day of violation.
        (2) Any person that violates Section 12(g) of this
    
Act or any UIC permit or term or condition thereof, or any filing requirement, regulation or order relating to the State UIC program for all wells, except Class II wells as defined by the Board under this Act, shall be liable to a civil penalty not to exceed $2,500 per day of violation; provided, however, that any person who commits such violations relating to the State UIC program for Class II wells, as defined by the Board under this Act, shall be liable to a civil penalty of not to exceed $10,000 for the violation and an additional civil penalty of not to exceed $1,000 for each day during which the violation continues.
        (3) Any person that violates Sections 21(f), 21(g),
    
21(h) or 21(i) of this Act, or any RCRA permit or term or condition thereof, or any filing requirement, regulation or order relating to the State RCRA program, shall be liable to a civil penalty of not to exceed $25,000 per day of violation.
        (4) In an administrative citation action under
    
Section 31.1 of this Act, any person found to have violated any provision of subsection (o) of Section 21 of this Act shall pay a civil penalty of $500 for each violation of each such provision, plus any hearing costs incurred by the Board and the Agency. Such penalties shall be made payable to the Environmental Protection Trust Fund, to be used in accordance with the provisions of the Environmental Protection Trust Fund Act; except that if a unit of local government issued the administrative citation, 50% of the civil penalty shall be payable to the unit of local government.
        (4-5) In an administrative citation action under
    
Section 31.1 of this Act, any person found to have violated any provision of subsection (p) of Section 21, Section 22.51, Section 22.51a, or subsection (k) of Section 55 of this Act shall pay a civil penalty of $1,500 for each violation of each such provision, plus any hearing costs incurred by the Board and the Agency, except that the civil penalty amount shall be $3,000 for each violation of any provision of subsection (p) of Section 21, Section 22.51, Section 22.51a, or subsection (k) of Section 55 that is the person's second or subsequent adjudication violation of that provision. The penalties shall be deposited into the Environmental Protection Trust Fund, to be used in accordance with the provisions of the Environmental Protection Trust Fund Act; except that if a unit of local government issued the administrative citation, 50% of the civil penalty shall be payable to the unit of local government.
        (5) Any person who violates subsection 6 of Section
    
39.5 of this Act or any CAAPP permit, or term or condition thereof, or any fee or filing requirement, or any duty to allow or carry out inspection, entry or monitoring activities, or any regulation or order relating to the CAAPP shall be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 per day of violation.
        (6) Any owner or operator of a community water system
    
that violates subsection (b) of Section 18.1 or subsection (a) of Section 25d-3 of this Act shall, for each day of violation, be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $5 for each of the premises connected to the affected community water system.
        (7) Any person who violates Section 52.5 of this Act
    
shall be liable for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for the first violation of that Section and a civil penalty of up to $2,500 for a second or subsequent violation of that Section.
    (b.5) In lieu of the penalties set forth in subsections (a) and (b) of this Section, any person who fails to file, in a timely manner, toxic chemical release forms with the Agency pursuant to Section 25b-2 of this Act shall be liable for a civil penalty of $100 per day for each day the forms are late, not to exceed a maximum total penalty of $6,000. This daily penalty shall begin accruing on the thirty-first day after the date that the person receives the warning notice issued by the Agency pursuant to Section 25b-6 of this Act; and the penalty shall be paid to the Agency. The daily accrual of penalties shall cease as of January 1 of the following year. All penalties collected by the Agency pursuant to this subsection shall be deposited into the Environmental Protection Permit and Inspection Fund.
    (c) Any person that violates this Act, any rule or regulation adopted under this Act, any permit or term or condition of a permit, or any Board order and causes the death of fish or aquatic life shall, in addition to the other penalties provided by this Act, be liable to pay to the State an additional sum for the reasonable value of the fish or aquatic life destroyed. Any money so recovered shall be placed in the Wildlife and Fish Fund in the State Treasury.
    (d) The penalties provided for in this Section may be recovered in a civil action.
    (e) The State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or the Attorney General, may, at the request of the Agency or on his own motion, institute a civil action for an injunction, prohibitory or mandatory, to restrain violations of this Act, any rule or regulation adopted under this Act, any permit or term or condition of a permit, or any Board order, or to require such other actions as may be necessary to address violations of this Act, any rule or regulation adopted under this Act, any permit or term or condition of a permit, or any Board order.
    (f) The State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or the Attorney General, shall bring such actions in the name of the people of the State of Illinois. Without limiting any other authority which may exist for the awarding of attorney's fees and costs, the Board or a court of competent jurisdiction may award costs and reasonable attorney's fees, including the reasonable costs of expert witnesses and consultants, to the State's Attorney or the Attorney General in a case where he has prevailed against a person who has committed a willful, knowing, or repeated violation of this Act, any rule or regulation adopted under this Act, any permit or term or condition of a permit, or any Board order.
    Any funds collected under this subsection (f) in which the Attorney General has prevailed shall be deposited in the Hazardous Waste Fund created in Section 22.2 of this Act. Any funds collected under this subsection (f) in which a State's Attorney has prevailed shall be retained by the county in which he serves.
    (g) All final orders imposing civil penalties pursuant to this Section shall prescribe the time for payment of such penalties. If any such penalty is not paid within the time prescribed, interest on such penalty at the rate set forth in subsection (a) of Section 1003 of the Illinois Income Tax Act, shall be paid for the period from the date payment is due until the date payment is received. However, if the time for payment is stayed during the pendency of an appeal, interest shall not accrue during such stay.
    (h) In determining the appropriate civil penalty to be imposed under subdivisions (a), (b)(1), (b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(5), (b)(6), or (b)(7) of this Section, the Board is authorized to consider any matters of record in mitigation or aggravation of penalty, including, but not limited to, the following factors:
        (1) the duration and gravity of the violation;
        (2) the presence or absence of due diligence on the
    
part of the respondent in attempting to comply with requirements of this Act and regulations thereunder or to secure relief therefrom as provided by this Act;
        (3) any economic benefits accrued by the respondent
    
because of delay in compliance with requirements, in which case the economic benefits shall be determined by the lowest cost alternative for achieving compliance;
        (4) the amount of monetary penalty which will serve
    
to deter further violations by the respondent and to otherwise aid in enhancing voluntary compliance with this Act by the respondent and other persons similarly subject to the Act;
        (5) the number, proximity in time, and gravity of
    
previously adjudicated violations of this Act by the respondent;
        (6) whether the respondent voluntarily
    
self-disclosed, in accordance with subsection (i) of this Section, the non-compliance to the Agency;
        (7) whether the respondent has agreed to undertake a
    
"supplemental environmental project", which means an environmentally beneficial project that a respondent agrees to undertake in settlement of an enforcement action brought under this Act, but which the respondent is not otherwise legally required to perform; and
        (8) whether the respondent has successfully completed
    
a Compliance Commitment Agreement under subsection (a) of Section 31 of this Act to remedy the violations that are the subject of the complaint.
    In determining the appropriate civil penalty to be imposed under subsection (a) or paragraph (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), or (7) of subsection (b) of this Section, the Board shall ensure, in all cases, that the penalty is at least as great as the economic benefits, if any, accrued by the respondent as a result of the violation, unless the Board finds that imposition of such penalty would result in an arbitrary or unreasonable financial hardship. However, such civil penalty may be off-set in whole or in part pursuant to a supplemental environmental project agreed to by the complainant and the respondent.
    (i) A person who voluntarily self-discloses non-compliance to the Agency, of which the Agency had been unaware, is entitled to a 100% reduction in the portion of the penalty that is not based on the economic benefit of non-compliance if the person can establish the following:
        (1) that either the regulated entity is a small
    
entity or the non-compliance was discovered through an environmental audit or a compliance management system documented by the regulated entity as reflecting the regulated entity's due diligence in preventing, detecting, and correcting violations;
        (2) that the non-compliance was disclosed in writing
    
within 30 days of the date on which the person discovered it;
        (3) that the non-compliance was discovered and
    
disclosed prior to:
            (i) the commencement of an Agency inspection,
        
investigation, or request for information;
            (ii) notice of a citizen suit;
            (iii) the filing of a complaint by a citizen, the
        
Illinois Attorney General, or the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred;
            (iv) the reporting of the non-compliance by an
        
employee of the person without that person's knowledge; or
            (v) imminent discovery of the non-compliance by
        
the Agency;
        (4) that the non-compliance is being corrected and
    
any environmental harm is being remediated in a timely fashion;
        (5) that the person agrees to prevent a recurrence of
    
the non-compliance;
        (6) that no related non-compliance events have
    
occurred in the past 3 years at the same facility or in the past 5 years as part of a pattern at multiple facilities owned or operated by the person;
        (7) that the non-compliance did not result in serious
    
actual harm or present an imminent and substantial endangerment to human health or the environment or violate the specific terms of any judicial or administrative order or consent agreement;
        (8) that the person cooperates as reasonably
    
requested by the Agency after the disclosure; and
        (9) that the non-compliance was identified
    
voluntarily and not through a monitoring, sampling, or auditing procedure that is required by statute, rule, permit, judicial or administrative order, or consent agreement.
    If a person can establish all of the elements under this subsection except the element set forth in paragraph (1) of this subsection, the person is entitled to a 75% reduction in the portion of the penalty that is not based upon the economic benefit of non-compliance.
    For the purposes of this subsection (i), "small entity" has the same meaning as in Section 221 of the federal Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act of 1996 (5 U.S.C. 601).
    (j) In addition to any other remedy or penalty that may apply, whether civil or criminal, any person who violates Section 22.52 of this Act shall be liable for an additional civil penalty of up to 3 times the gross amount of any pecuniary gain resulting from the violation.
    (k) In addition to any other remedy or penalty that may apply, whether civil or criminal, any person who violates subdivision (a)(7.6) of Section 31 of this Act shall be liable for an additional civil penalty of $2,000.
(Source: P.A. 99-934, eff. 1-27-17; 100-436, eff. 8-25-17; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)

415 ILCS 5/43

    (415 ILCS 5/43) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1043)
    Sec. 43. (a) In circumstances of substantial danger to the environment or to the public health of persons or to the welfare of persons where such danger is to the livelihood of such persons, the State's Attorney or Attorney General, upon request of the Agency or on his own motion, may institute a civil action for an immediate injunction to halt any discharge or other activity causing or contributing to the danger or to require such other action as may be necessary. The court may issue an ex parte order and shall schedule a hearing on the matter not later than 3 working days from the date of injunction.
    (b) If any term or condition of an NPDES permit issued under this Act for discharges from a publicly owned or publicly regulated sewage works is violated, the use of the sewage works by a contaminant source not using the works prior to a finding that the condition was violated:
    (i) may be prohibited by the public body owning or regulating such sewage works, pursuant to State law or local ordinance; or
    (ii) may be prohibited or restricted under the provisions of Title VIII of this Act; or
    (iii) the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or the Attorney General, at the request of the Agency or on his own motion, may proceed in a court of competent jurisdiction to secure such relief.
    (c) If an industrial user of a publicly owned or publicly regulated sewage works is not in compliance with a system of user charges required under State law or local ordinance or regulations or as a term or condition of any NPDES permit issued under this Act to the sewage works into which the user is discharging contaminants, the system of charges may be enforced directly against the industrial user--
    (i) by the public body owning or regulating such sewage works, pursuant to State law or local ordinance; or
    (ii) under the provisions of Title VIII of this Act; or
    (iii) the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or the Attorney General, at the request of the Agency or on his own motion, may proceed in a court of competent jurisdiction to secure such relief.
(Source: P.A. 78-862.)

415 ILCS 5/44

    (415 ILCS 5/44) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1044)
    Sec. 44. Criminal acts; penalties.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, it shall be a Class A misdemeanor to violate this Act or regulations thereunder, or any permit or term or condition thereof, or knowingly to submit any false information under this Act or regulations adopted thereunder, or under any permit or term or condition thereof. A court may, in addition to any other penalty herein imposed, order a person convicted of any violation of this Act to perform community service for not less than 100 hours and not more than 300 hours if community service is available in the jurisdiction. It shall be the duty of all State and local law-enforcement officers to enforce such Act and regulations, and all such officers shall have authority to issue citations for such violations.
    (b) Calculated Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Calculated
    
Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste when, without lawful justification, he knowingly disposes of hazardous waste while knowing that he thereby places another person in danger of great bodily harm or creates an immediate or long-term danger to the public health or the environment.
        (2) Calculated Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste
    
is a Class 2 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Calculated Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste is subject to a fine not to exceed $500,000 for each day of such offense.
    (c) Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Criminal Disposal
    
of Hazardous Waste when, without lawful justification, he knowingly disposes of hazardous waste.
        (2) Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste is a Class 3
    
felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste is subject to a fine not to exceed $250,000 for each day of such offense.
    (d) Unauthorized Use of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Unauthorized Use
    
of Hazardous Waste when he, being required to have a permit, registration, or license under this Act or any other law regulating the treatment, transportation, or storage of hazardous waste, knowingly:
            (A) treats, transports, or stores any hazardous
        
waste without such permit, registration, or license;
            (B) treats, transports, or stores any hazardous
        
waste in violation of the terms and conditions of such permit or license;
            (C) transports any hazardous waste to a facility
        
which does not have a permit or license required under this Act; or
            (D) transports by vehicle any hazardous waste
        
without having in each vehicle credentials issued to the transporter by the transporter's base state pursuant to procedures established under the Uniform Program.
        (2) A person who is convicted of a violation of
    
subparagraph (A), (B), or (C) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a Class 4 felony. A person who is convicted of a violation of subparagraph (D) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of violating subparagraph (A), (B), or (C) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is subject to a fine not to exceed $100,000 for each day of such violation, and a person who is convicted of violating subparagraph (D) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is subject to a fine not to exceed $1,000.
    (e) Unlawful Delivery of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) Except as authorized by this Act or the federal
    
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, and the regulations promulgated thereunder, it is unlawful for any person to knowingly deliver hazardous waste.
        (2) Unlawful Delivery of Hazardous Waste is a Class 3
    
felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Unlawful Delivery of Hazardous Waste is subject to a fine not to exceed $250,000 for each such violation.
        (3) For purposes of this Section, "deliver" or
    
"delivery" means the actual, constructive, or attempted transfer of possession of hazardous waste, with or without consideration, whether or not there is an agency relationship.
    (f) Reckless Disposal of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) A person commits Reckless Disposal of Hazardous
    
Waste if he disposes of hazardous waste, and his acts which cause the hazardous waste to be disposed of, whether or not those acts are undertaken pursuant to or under color of any permit or license, are performed with a conscious disregard of a substantial and unjustifiable risk that such disposing of hazardous waste is a gross deviation from the standard of care which a reasonable person would exercise in the situation.
        (2) Reckless Disposal of Hazardous Waste is a Class 4
    
felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Reckless Disposal of Hazardous Waste is subject to a fine not to exceed $50,000 for each day of such offense.
    (g) Concealment of Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Concealment of
    
Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste when he conceals, without lawful justification, the disposal of hazardous waste with the knowledge that such hazardous waste has been disposed of in violation of this Act.
        (2) Concealment of Criminal Disposal of a Hazardous
    
Waste is a Class 4 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Concealment of Criminal Disposal of Hazardous Waste is subject to a fine not to exceed $50,000 for each day of such offense.
    (h) Violations; False Statements.
        (1) Any person who knowingly makes a false material
    
statement in an application for a permit or license required by this Act to treat, transport, store, or dispose of hazardous waste commits the offense of perjury and shall be subject to the penalties set forth in Section 32-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
        (2) Any person who knowingly makes a false material
    
statement or representation in any label, manifest, record, report, permit or license, or other document filed, maintained, or used for the purpose of compliance with this Act in connection with the generation, disposal, treatment, storage, or transportation of hazardous waste commits a Class 4 felony. A second or any subsequent offense after conviction hereunder is a Class 3 felony.
        (3) Any person who knowingly destroys, alters, or
    
conceals any record required to be made by this Act in connection with the disposal, treatment, storage, or transportation of hazardous waste commits a Class 4 felony. A second or any subsequent offense after a conviction hereunder is a Class 3 felony.
        (4) Any person who knowingly makes a false material
    
statement or representation in any application, bill, invoice, or other document filed, maintained, or used for the purpose of receiving money from the Underground Storage Tank Fund commits a Class 4 felony. A second or any subsequent offense after conviction hereunder is a Class 3 felony.
        (4.5) Any person who knowingly makes a false material
    
statement or representation in any label, manifest, record, report, permit or license, or other document filed, maintained, or used for the purpose of compliance with Title XVI of this Act commits a Class 4 felony. Any second or subsequent offense after conviction hereunder is a Class 3 felony.
        (5) Any person who knowingly destroys, alters, or
    
conceals any record required to be made or maintained by this Act or required to be made or maintained by Board or Agency rules for the purpose of receiving money from the Underground Storage Tank Fund commits a Class 4 felony. A second or any subsequent offense after a conviction hereunder is a Class 3 felony.
        (6) A person who knowingly and falsely certifies
    
under Section 22.48 that an industrial process waste or pollution control waste is not special waste commits a Class 4 felony for a first offense and commits a Class 3 felony for a second or subsequent offense.
        (7) In addition to any other penalties prescribed by
    
law, a person convicted of violating this subsection (h) is subject to a fine not to exceed $50,000 for each day of such violation.
        (8) Any person who knowingly makes a false,
    
fictitious, or fraudulent material statement, orally or in writing, to the Agency, or to a unit of local government to which the Agency has delegated authority under subsection (r) of Section 4 of this Act, related to or required by this Act, a regulation adopted under this Act, any federal law or regulation for which the Agency has responsibility, or any permit, term, or condition thereof, commits a Class 4 felony, and each such statement or writing shall be considered a separate Class 4 felony. A person who, after being convicted under this paragraph (8), violates this paragraph (8) a second or subsequent time, commits a Class 3 felony.
    (i) Verification.
        (1) Each application for a permit or license to
    
dispose of, transport, treat, store, or generate hazardous waste under this Act shall contain an affirmation that the facts are true and are made under penalty of perjury as defined in Section 32-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012. It is perjury for a person to sign any such application for a permit or license which contains a false material statement, which he does not believe to be true.
        (2) Each request for money from the Underground
    
Storage Tank Fund shall contain an affirmation that the facts are true and are made under penalty of perjury as defined in Section 32-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012. It is perjury for a person to sign any request that contains a false material statement that he does not believe to be true.
    (j) Violations of Other Provisions.
        (1) It is unlawful for a person knowingly to violate:
            (A) subsection (f) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (B) subsection (g) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (C) any term or condition of any Underground
        
Injection Control (UIC) permit;
            (D) any filing requirement, regulation, or order
        
relating to the State Underground Injection Control (UIC) program;
            (E) any provision of any regulation, standard, or
        
filing requirement under subsection (b) of Section 13 of this Act;
            (F) any provision of any regulation, standard, or
        
filing requirement under subsection (b) of Section 39 of this Act;
            (G) any National Pollutant Discharge Elimination
        
System (NPDES) permit issued under this Act or any term or condition of such permit;
            (H) subsection (h) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (I) subsection 6 of Section 39.5 of this Act;
            (J) any provision of any regulation, standard or
        
filing requirement under Section 39.5 of this Act;
            (K) a provision of the Procedures for Asbestos
        
Emission Control in subsection (c) of Section 61.145 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; or
            (L) the standard for waste disposal for
        
manufacturing, fabricating, demolition, renovation, and spraying operations in Section 61.150 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
        (2) A person convicted of a violation of subdivision
    
(1) of this subsection commits a Class 4 felony, and in addition to any other penalty prescribed by law is subject to a fine not to exceed $25,000 for each day of such violation.
        (3) A person who negligently violates the following
    
shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 for each day of such violation:
            (A) subsection (f) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (B) subsection (g) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (C) any provision of any regulation, standard, or
        
filing requirement under subsection (b) of Section 13 of this Act;
            (D) any provision of any regulation, standard, or
        
filing requirement under subsection (b) of Section 39 of this Act;
            (E) any National Pollutant Discharge Elimination
        
System (NPDES) permit issued under this Act;
            (F) subsection 6 of Section 39.5 of this Act; or
            (G) any provision of any regulation, standard, or
        
filing requirement under Section 39.5 of this Act.
        (4) It is unlawful for a person knowingly to:
            (A) make any false statement, representation, or
        
certification in an application form, or form pertaining to, a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit;
            (B) render inaccurate any monitoring device or
        
record required by the Agency or Board in connection with any such permit or with any discharge which is subject to the provisions of subsection (f) of Section 12 of this Act;
            (C) make any false statement, representation, or
        
certification in any form, notice, or report pertaining to a CAAPP permit under Section 39.5 of this Act;
            (D) render inaccurate any monitoring device or
        
record required by the Agency or Board in connection with any CAAPP permit or with any emission which is subject to the provisions of Section 39.5 of this Act; or
            (E) violate subsection 6 of Section 39.5 of this
        
Act or any CAAPP permit, or term or condition thereof, or any fee or filing requirement.
        (5) A person convicted of a violation of paragraph
    
(4) of this subsection commits a Class A misdemeanor, and in addition to any other penalties provided by law is subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 for each day of violation.
    (k) Criminal operation of a hazardous waste or PCB incinerator.
        (1) A person commits the offense of criminal
    
operation of a hazardous waste or PCB incinerator when, in the course of operating a hazardous waste or PCB incinerator, he knowingly and without justification operates the incinerator (i) without an Agency permit, or in knowing violation of the terms of an Agency permit, and (ii) as a result of such violation, knowingly places any person in danger of great bodily harm or knowingly creates an immediate or long term material danger to the public health or the environment.
        (2) Any person who commits the offense of criminal
    
operation of a hazardous waste or PCB incinerator for the first time commits a Class 4 felony and, in addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $100,000 for each day of the offense.
        Any person who commits the offense of criminal
    
operation of a hazardous waste or PCB incinerator for a second or subsequent time commits a Class 3 felony and, in addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $250,000 for each day of the offense.
        (3) For the purpose of this subsection (k), the term
    
"hazardous waste or PCB incinerator" means a pollution control facility at which either hazardous waste or PCBs, or both, are incinerated. "PCBs" means any substance or mixture of substances that contains one or more polychlorinated biphenyls in detectable amounts.
    (l) It shall be the duty of all State and local law enforcement officers to enforce this Act and the regulations adopted hereunder, and all such officers shall have authority to issue citations for such violations.
    (m) Any action brought under this Section shall be brought by the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or by the Attorney General, and shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963.
    (n) For an offense described in this Section, the period for commencing prosecution prescribed by the statute of limitations shall not begin to run until the offense is discovered by or reported to a State or local agency having the authority to investigate violations of this Act.
    (o) In addition to any other penalties provided under this Act, if a person is convicted of (or agrees to a settlement in an enforcement action over) illegal dumping of waste on the person's own property, the Attorney General, the Agency, or local prosecuting authority shall file notice of the conviction, finding, or agreement in the office of the Recorder in the county in which the landowner lives.
    (p) Criminal Disposal of Waste.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Criminal Disposal
    
of Waste when he or she:
            (A) if required to have a permit under subsection
        
(d) of Section 21 of this Act, knowingly conducts a waste-storage, waste-treatment, or waste-disposal operation in a quantity that exceeds 250 cubic feet of waste without a permit; or
            (B) knowingly conducts open dumping of waste in
        
violation of subsection (a) of Section 21 of this Act.
        (2) (A) A person who is convicted of a violation of
    
subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a Class 4 felony for a first offense and, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, is subject to a fine not to exceed $25,000 for each day of violation. A person who is convicted of a violation of subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a Class 3 felony for a second or subsequent offense and, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, is subject to a fine not to exceed $50,000 for each day of violation.
            (B) A person who is convicted of a violation of
        
subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. However, a person who is convicted of a violation of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of this subsection for the open dumping of waste in a quantity that exceeds 250 cubic feet or that exceeds 50 waste tires is guilty of a Class 4 felony and, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, is subject to a fine not to exceed $25,000 for each day of violation.
    (q) Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Criminal Damage
    
to a Public Water Supply when, without lawful justification, he knowingly alters, damages, or otherwise tampers with the equipment or property of a public water supply, or knowingly introduces a contaminant into the distribution system of a public water supply so as to cause, threaten, or allow the distribution of water from any public water supply of such quality or quantity as to be injurious to human health or the environment.
        (2) Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply is a
    
Class 4 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply is subject to a fine not to exceed $250,000 for each day of such offense.
    (r) Aggravated Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply.
        (1) A person commits the offense of Aggravated
    
Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply when, without lawful justification, he commits Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply while knowing that he thereby places another person in danger of serious illness or great bodily harm, or creates an immediate or long-term danger to public health or the environment.
        (2) Aggravated Criminal Damage to a Public Water
    
Supply is a Class 2 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, a person convicted of the offense of Aggravated Criminal Damage to a Public Water Supply is subject to a fine not to exceed $500,000 for each day of such offense.
(Source: P.A. 97-220, eff. 7-28-11; 97-286, eff. 8-10-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-822, eff. 8-1-14.)

415 ILCS 5/44.1

    (415 ILCS 5/44.1)
    Sec. 44.1. (a) In addition to all other civil and criminal penalties provided by law, any person convicted of a criminal violation of this Act or the regulations adopted thereunder shall forfeit to the State (1) an amount equal to the value of all profits earned, savings realized, and benefits incurred as a direct or indirect result of such violation, and (2) any vehicle or conveyance used in the perpetration of such violation, except as provided in subsection (b).
    (b) Forfeiture of conveyances shall be subject to the following exceptions:
        (1) No conveyance used by any person as a common
    
carrier in the transaction of business as a common carrier is subject to forfeiture under this Section unless it is proven that the owner or other person in charge of the conveyance consented to or was privy to the covered violation.
        (2) No conveyance is subject to forfeiture under this
    
Section by reason of any covered violation which the owner proves to have been committed without his knowledge or consent.
        (3) A forfeiture of a conveyance encumbered by a bona
    
fide security interest is subject to the interest of the secured party if he neither had knowledge of nor consented to the covered violation.
    (c) Except as provided in subsection (d), all property subject to forfeiture under this Section shall be seized pursuant to the order of a circuit court.
    (d) Property subject to forfeiture under this Section may be seized by the Director or any peace officer without process:
        (1) if the seizure is incident to an inspection under
    
an administrative inspection warrant, or incident to the execution of a criminal search or arrest warrant;
        (2) if the property subject to seizure has been the
    
subject of a prior judgment in favor of the State in a criminal proceeding, or in an injunction or forfeiture proceeding based upon this Act; or
        (3) if there is probable cause to believe that the
    
property is directly or indirectly dangerous to health or safety.
    (e) Property taken or detained under this Section shall not be subject to eviction or replevin, but is deemed to be in the custody of the Director subject only to the order and judgments of the circuit court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceedings. When property is seized under this Act, the Director may:
        (1) place the property under seal;
        (2) secure the property or remove the property to a
    
place designated by him; or
        (3) require the sheriff of the county in which the
    
seizure occurs to take custody of the property and secure or remove it to an appropriate location for disposition in accordance with law.
    (f) All amounts forfeited under item (1) of subsection (a) shall be apportioned in the following manner:
        (1) 40% shall be deposited in the Hazardous Waste
    
Fund created in Section 22.2;
        (2) 30% shall be paid to the office of the Attorney
    
General or the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, whichever brought and prosecuted the action; and
        (3) 30% shall be paid to the law enforcement agency
    
which investigated the violation.
    Any funds received under this subsection (f) shall be used solely for the enforcement of the environmental protection laws of this State.
    (g) When property is forfeited under this Section the court may order:
        (1) that the property shall be made available for the
    
official use of the Agency, the Office of the Attorney General, the State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurred, or the law enforcement agency which investigated the violation, to be used solely for the enforcement of the environmental protection laws of this State;
        (2) the sheriff of the county in which the forfeiture
    
occurs to take custody of the property and remove it for disposition in accordance with law; or
        (3) the sheriff of the county in which the forfeiture
    
occurs to sell that which is not required to be destroyed by law and which is not harmful to the public. The proceeds of such sale shall be used for payment of all proper expenses of the proceedings for forfeiture and sale, including expenses of seizure, maintenance of custody, advertising and court costs, and the balance, if any, shall be apportioned pursuant to subsection (f).
    (h) Property seized or forfeited under this Section is subject to reporting under the Seizure and Forfeiture Reporting Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-173, eff. 1-1-18; 100-512, eff. 7-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)

415 ILCS 5/45

    (415 ILCS 5/45) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1045)
    Sec. 45. Injunctive and other relief.
    (a) No existing civil or criminal remedy for any wrongful action shall be excluded or impaired by this Act. Nothing in this Act shall be construed to limit or supersede the provisions of the Illinois Oil and Gas Act and the powers therein granted to prevent the intrusion of water into oil, gas or coal strata and to prevent the pollution of fresh water supplies by oil, gas or salt water or oil field wastes, except that water quality standards as set forth by the Pollution Control Board apply to and are effective within the areas covered by and affected by permits issued by the Department of Natural Resources. However, if the Department of Natural Resources fails to act upon any complaint within a period of 10 working days following the receipt of a complaint by the Department, the Environmental Protection Agency may proceed under the provisions of this Act.
    (b) Any person adversely affected in fact by a violation of this Act, any rule or regulation adopted under this Act, any permit or term or condition of a permit, or any Board order may sue for injunctive relief against such violation. However, except as provided in subsections (d) and (e), no action shall be brought under this Section until 30 days after the plaintiff has been denied relief by the Board in a proceeding brought under subdivision (d)(1) of Section 31 of this Act. The prevailing party shall be awarded costs and reasonable attorneys' fees.
    (c) Nothing in Section 39.4 of this Act shall limit the authority of the Agency to proceed with enforcement under the provisions of this Act for violations of terms and conditions of an endorsed agrichemical facility permit, an endorsed lawncare containment permit, or this Act or regulations hereunder caused or threatened by an agrichemical facility or a lawncare wash water containment area, provided that prior notice is given to the Department of Agriculture which provides that Department an opportunity to respond as appropriate.
    (d) If the State brings an action under this Act against a person with an interest in real property upon which the person is alleged to have allowed open dumping or open burning by a third party in violation of this Act, which action seeks to compel the defendant to remove the waste or otherwise clean up the site, the defendant may, in the manner provided by law for third-party complaints, bring in as a third-party defendant a person who with actual knowledge caused or contributed to the illegal open dumping or open burning, or who is or may be liable for all or part of the removal and cleanup costs. The court may include any of the parties which it determines to have, with actual knowledge, allowed, caused or contributed to the illegal open dumping or open burning in any order that it may issue to compel removal of the waste and cleanup of the site, and may apportion the removal and cleanup costs among such parties, as it deems appropriate. However, a person may not seek to recover any fines or civil penalties imposed upon him under this Act from a third-party defendant in an action brought under this subsection.
    (e) A final order issued by the Board pursuant to Section 33 of this Act may be enforced through a civil action for injunctive or other relief instituted by a person who was a party to the Board enforcement proceeding in which the Board issued the final order.
(Source: P.A. 92-574, eff. 6-26-02; 93-152, eff. 7-10-03.)