Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 454/) Real Estate License Act of 2000.

225 ILCS 454/Art. 20

 
    (225 ILCS 454/Art. 20 heading)
ARTICLE 20. DISCIPLINARY PROVISIONS

225 ILCS 454/20-5

    (225 ILCS 454/20-5)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-5. Index of decisions. The Department shall maintain an index of formal decisions regarding the issuance, refusal to issue, renewal, refusal to renew, revocation, and suspension of licenses and probationary or other disciplinary action taken under this Act on or after December 31, 1999. The index shall be available to the public during regular business hours.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-10

    (225 ILCS 454/20-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-10. Unlicensed practice; civil penalty.
    (a) Any person who practices, offers to practice, attempts to practice, or holds oneself out to practice as a real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or leasing agent without being licensed under this Act shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, pay a civil penalty to the Department in an amount not to exceed $25,000 for each offense as determined by the Department. The civil penalty shall be assessed by the Department after a hearing is held in accordance with the provisions set forth in this Act regarding the provision of a hearing for the discipline of a license.
    (b) The Department has the authority and power to investigate any and all unlicensed activity.
    (c) The civil penalty shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the civil penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed and execution had thereon in the same manner from any court of record.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-15

    (225 ILCS 454/20-15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-15. Violations. The commission of a single act prohibited by this Act or prohibited by the rules promulgated under this Act or a violation of a disciplinary order issued under this Act constitutes a violation of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99.)

225 ILCS 454/20-20

    (225 ILCS 454/20-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-20. Grounds for discipline.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew a license, may place on probation, suspend, or revoke any license, reprimand, or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper and impose a fine not to exceed $25,000 upon any licensee or applicant under this Act or any person who holds himself or herself out as an applicant or licensee or against a licensee in handling his or her own property, whether held by deed, option, or otherwise, for any one or any combination of the following causes:
        (1) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for, or
    
procuring, a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
        (2) The conviction of or plea of guilty or plea of
    
nolo contendere to a felony or misdemeanor in this State or any other jurisdiction; or the entry of an administrative sanction by a government agency in this State or any other jurisdiction. Action taken under this paragraph (2) for a misdemeanor or an administrative sanction is limited to a misdemeanor or administrative sanction that has as an essential element dishonesty or fraud or involves larceny, embezzlement, or obtaining money, property, or credit by false pretenses or by means of a confidence game.
        (3) Inability to practice the profession with
    
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of a physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill, or a mental illness or disability.
        (4) Practice under this Act as a licensee in a retail
    
sales establishment from an office, desk, or space that is not separated from the main retail business by a separate and distinct area within the establishment.
        (5) Having been disciplined by another state, the
    
District of Columbia, a territory, a foreign nation, or a governmental agency authorized to impose discipline if at least one of the grounds for that discipline is the same as or the equivalent of one of the grounds for which a licensee may be disciplined under this Act. A certified copy of the record of the action by the other state or jurisdiction shall be prima facie evidence thereof.
        (6) Engaging in the practice of real estate brokerage
    
without a license or after the licensee's license was expired or while the license was inoperative.
        (7) Cheating on or attempting to subvert the Real
    
Estate License Exam or continuing education exam.
        (8) Aiding or abetting an applicant to subvert or
    
cheat on the Real Estate License Exam or continuing education exam administered pursuant to this Act.
        (9) Advertising that is inaccurate, misleading, or
    
contrary to the provisions of the Act.
        (10) Making any substantial misrepresentation or
    
untruthful advertising.
        (11) Making any false promises of a character likely
    
to influence, persuade, or induce.
        (12) Pursuing a continued and flagrant course of
    
misrepresentation or the making of false promises through licensees, employees, agents, advertising, or otherwise.
        (13) Any misleading or untruthful advertising, or
    
using any trade name or insignia of membership in any real estate organization of which the licensee is not a member.
        (14) Acting for more than one party in a transaction
    
without providing written notice to all parties for whom the licensee acts.
        (15) Representing or attempting to represent a broker
    
other than the sponsoring broker.
        (16) Failure to account for or to remit any moneys or
    
documents coming into his or her possession that belong to others.
        (17) Failure to maintain and deposit in a special
    
account, separate and apart from personal and other business accounts, all escrow moneys belonging to others entrusted to a licensee while acting as a real estate broker, escrow agent, or temporary custodian of the funds of others or failure to maintain all escrow moneys on deposit in the account until the transactions are consummated or terminated, except to the extent that the moneys, or any part thereof, shall be:
            (A) disbursed prior to the consummation or
        
termination (i) in accordance with the written direction of the principals to the transaction or their duly authorized agents, (ii) in accordance with directions providing for the release, payment, or distribution of escrow moneys contained in any written contract signed by the principals to the transaction or their duly authorized agents, or (iii) pursuant to an order of a court of competent jurisdiction; or
            (B) deemed abandoned and transferred to the
        
Office of the State Treasurer to be handled as unclaimed property pursuant to the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act. Escrow moneys may be deemed abandoned under this subparagraph (B) only: (i) in the absence of disbursement under subparagraph (A); (ii) in the absence of notice of the filing of any claim in a court of competent jurisdiction; and (iii) if 6 months have elapsed after the receipt of a written demand for the escrow moneys from one of the principals to the transaction or the principal's duly authorized agent.
    The account shall be noninterest bearing, unless the
    
character of the deposit is such that payment of interest thereon is otherwise required by law or unless the principals to the transaction specifically require, in writing, that the deposit be placed in an interest bearing account.
        (18) Failure to make available to the Department all
    
escrow records and related documents maintained in connection with the practice of real estate within 24 hours of a request for those documents by Department personnel.
        (19) Failing to furnish copies upon request of
    
documents relating to a real estate transaction to a party who has executed that document.
        (20) Failure of a sponsoring broker to timely provide
    
information, sponsor cards, or termination of licenses to the Department.
        (21) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (22) Commingling the money or property of others with
    
his or her own money or property.
        (23) Employing any person on a purely temporary or
    
single deal basis as a means of evading the law regarding payment of commission to nonlicensees on some contemplated transactions.
        (24) Permitting the use of his or her license as a
    
broker to enable a salesperson or unlicensed person to operate a real estate business without actual participation therein and control thereof by the broker.
        (25) Any other conduct, whether of the same or a
    
different character from that specified in this Section, that constitutes dishonest dealing.
        (26) Displaying a "for rent" or "for sale" sign on
    
any property without the written consent of an owner or his or her duly authorized agent or advertising by any means that any property is for sale or for rent without the written consent of the owner or his or her authorized agent.
        (27) Failing to provide information requested by the
    
Department, or otherwise respond to that request, within 30 days of the request.
        (28) Advertising by means of a blind advertisement,
    
except as otherwise permitted in Section 10-30 of this Act.
        (29) Offering guaranteed sales plans, as defined in
    
clause (A) of this subdivision (29), except to the extent hereinafter set forth:
            (A) A "guaranteed sales plan" is any real estate
        
purchase or sales plan whereby a licensee enters into a conditional or unconditional written contract with a seller, prior to entering into a brokerage agreement with the seller, by the terms of which a licensee agrees to purchase a property of the seller within a specified period of time at a specific price in the event the property is not sold in accordance with the terms of a brokerage agreement to be entered into between the sponsoring broker and the seller.
            (B) A licensee offering a guaranteed sales plan
        
shall provide the details and conditions of the plan in writing to the party to whom the plan is offered.
            (C) A licensee offering a guaranteed sales plan
        
shall provide to the party to whom the plan is offered evidence of sufficient financial resources to satisfy the commitment to purchase undertaken by the broker in the plan.
            (D) Any licensee offering a guaranteed sales plan
        
shall undertake to market the property of the seller subject to the plan in the same manner in which the broker would market any other property, unless the agreement with the seller provides otherwise.
            (E) The licensee cannot purchase seller's
        
property until the brokerage agreement has ended according to its terms or is otherwise terminated.
            (F) Any licensee who fails to perform on a
        
guaranteed sales plan in strict accordance with its terms shall be subject to all the penalties provided in this Act for violations thereof and, in addition, shall be subject to a civil fine payable to the party injured by the default in an amount of up to $25,000.
        (30) Influencing or attempting to influence, by any
    
words or acts, a prospective seller, purchaser, occupant, landlord, or tenant of real estate, in connection with viewing, buying, or leasing real estate, so as to promote or tend to promote the continuance or maintenance of racially and religiously segregated housing or so as to retard, obstruct, or discourage racially integrated housing on or in any street, block, neighborhood, or community.
        (31) Engaging in any act that constitutes a violation
    
of any provision of Article 3 of the Illinois Human Rights Act, whether or not a complaint has been filed with or adjudicated by the Human Rights Commission.
        (32) Inducing any party to a contract of sale or
    
lease or brokerage agreement to break the contract of sale or lease or brokerage agreement for the purpose of substituting, in lieu thereof, a new contract for sale or lease or brokerage agreement with a third party.
        (33) Negotiating a sale, exchange, or lease of real
    
estate directly with any person if the licensee knows that the person has an exclusive brokerage agreement with another broker, unless specifically authorized by that broker.
        (34) When a licensee is also an attorney, acting as
    
the attorney for either the buyer or the seller in the same transaction in which the licensee is acting or has acted as a broker or salesperson.
        (35) Advertising or offering merchandise or services
    
as free if any conditions or obligations necessary for receiving the merchandise or services are not disclosed in the same advertisement or offer. These conditions or obligations include without limitation the requirement that the recipient attend a promotional activity or visit a real estate site. As used in this subdivision (35), "free" includes terms such as "award", "prize", "no charge", "free of charge", "without charge", and similar words or phrases that reasonably lead a person to believe that he or she may receive or has been selected to receive something of value, without any conditions or obligations on the part of the recipient.
        (36) Disregarding or violating any provision of the
    
Land Sales Registration Act of 1989, the Illinois Real Estate Time-Share Act, or the published rules promulgated by the Department to enforce those Acts.
        (37) Violating the terms of a disciplinary order
    
issued by the Department.
        (38) Paying or failing to disclose compensation in
    
violation of Article 10 of this Act.
        (39) Requiring a party to a transaction who is not a
    
client of the licensee to allow the licensee to retain a portion of the escrow moneys for payment of the licensee's commission or expenses as a condition for release of the escrow moneys to that party.
        (40) Disregarding or violating any provision of this
    
Act or the published rules promulgated by the Department to enforce this Act or aiding or abetting any individual, partnership, registered limited liability partnership, limited liability company, or corporation in disregarding any provision of this Act or the published rules promulgated by the Department to enforce this Act.
        (41) Failing to provide the minimum services required
    
by Section 15-75 of this Act when acting under an exclusive brokerage agreement.
        (42) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in a managing broker, broker, salesperson, or leasing agent's inability to practice with reasonable skill or safety.
        (43) Enabling, aiding, or abetting an auctioneer, as
    
defined in the Auction License Act, to conduct a real estate auction in a manner that is in violation of this Act.
    (b) The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of that tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (c) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has defaulted on an educational loan or scholarship provided or guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission or any governmental agency of this State in accordance with item (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (d) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with item (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (e) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board upon a showing of a possible violation may compel an individual licensed to practice under this Act, or who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of this examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for suspension of his or her license until the individual submits to the examination if the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause.
    If the Department or Board finds an individual unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department or Board may require that individual to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department or Board, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice; or, in lieu of care, counseling, or treatment, the Department may file, or the Board may recommend to the Department to file, a complaint to immediately suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual. An individual whose license was granted, continued, reinstated, renewed, disciplined or supervised subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions, and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions, shall be referred to the Secretary for a determination as to whether the individual shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
    In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 30 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12; 98-553, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

225 ILCS 454/20-21

    (225 ILCS 454/20-21)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-21. Injunctions; cease and desist order.
    (a) If any person violates the provisions of this Act, the Secretary may, in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, through the Attorney General of the State of Illinois or the State's Attorney for any county in which the action is brought, petition for an order enjoining the violation or for an order enforcing compliance with this Act. Upon the filing of a verified petition in court, the court may issue a temporary restraining order, without notice or condition, and may preliminarily and permanently enjoin the violation. If it is established that the person has violated or is violating the injunction, the Court may punish the offender for contempt of court. Proceedings under this Section shall be in addition to, and not in lieu of, all other remedies and penalties provided by this Act.
    (b) Whenever in the opinion of the Department a person violates a provision of this Act, the Department may issue a ruling to show cause why an order to cease and desist should not be entered against that person. The rule shall clearly set forth the grounds relied upon by the Department and shall allow at least 7 days from the date of the rule to file an answer to the satisfaction of the Department. Failure to answer to the satisfaction of the Department shall cause an order to cease and desist to be issued immediately.
    (c) Other than as provided in Section 5-20 of this Act, if any person practices as a real estate broker, real estate salesperson or leasing agent or holds himself or herself out as a licensed sponsoring broker, managing broker, real estate broker, real estate salesperson or leasing agent under this Act without being issued a valid existing license by the Department, then any licensed sponsoring broker, managing broker, real estate broker, real estate salesperson, leasing agent, any interested party, or any person injured thereby may, in addition to the Secretary, petition for relief as provided in subsection (a) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-22

    (225 ILCS 454/20-22)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-22. Violations. Any person who is found working or acting as a managing broker, real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or leasing agent or holding himself or herself out as a licensed sponsoring broker, managing broker, real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or leasing agent without being issued a valid existing license is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and on conviction of a second or subsequent offense the violator shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-23

    (225 ILCS 454/20-23)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-23. Confidentiality. All information collected by the Department in the course of an examination or investigation of a licensee or applicant, including, but not limited to, any complaint against a licensee, applicant, or any person who holds himself or herself out as a licensee or applicant that is filed with the Department and information collected to investigate any such complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the Department and shall not be disclosed. The Department may not disclose the information to anyone other than law enforcement officials, regulatory agencies that have an appropriate regulatory interest as determined by the Secretary, or a party presenting a lawful subpoena to the Department. Information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, county, or local law enforcement agency shall not be disclosed by the agency for any purpose to any other agency or person. A formal complaint filed against a licensee by the Department or any order issued by the Department against a licensee or applicant shall be a public record, except as otherwise prohibited by law.
(Source: P.A. 98-553, eff. 1-1-14.)

225 ILCS 454/20-25

    (225 ILCS 454/20-25)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-25. Returned checks; fees. Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is drawn shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fee of $50. The Department shall notify the person that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days of the notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. If, after termination or denial, the person seeks a license, he or she shall apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all expenses of processing this application. The Secretary may waive the fees due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the fees would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-30

    (225 ILCS 454/20-30)
    Sec. 20-30. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-35

    (225 ILCS 454/20-35)
    Sec. 20-35. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-40

    (225 ILCS 454/20-40)
    Sec. 20-40. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-45

    (225 ILCS 454/20-45)
    Sec. 20-45. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-50

    (225 ILCS 454/20-50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-50. Illegal discrimination. When there has been an adjudication in a civil or criminal proceeding that a licensee has illegally discriminated while engaged in any activity for which a license is required under this Act, the Department, upon the recommendation of the Board as to the extent of the suspension or revocation, shall suspend or revoke the license of that licensee in a timely manner, unless the adjudication is in the appeal process. When there has been an order in an administrative proceeding finding that a licensee has illegally discriminated while engaged in any activity for which a license is required under this Act, the Department, upon recommendation of the Board as to the nature and extent of the discipline, shall take one or more of the disciplinary actions provided for in Section 20-20 of this Act in a timely manner, unless the administrative order is in the appeal process.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-55

    (225 ILCS 454/20-55)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-55. Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act is hereby expressly adopted and incorporated herein as if all of the provisions of that Act were included in this Act, except that the provision of subsection (d) of Section 10-65 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act that provides that at hearings the licensee has the right to show compliance with all lawful requirements for retention, continuation, or renewal of the license is specifically excluded. For the purposes of this Act, the notice required under the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act is deemed sufficient when mailed to the last known address of record.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-60

    (225 ILCS 454/20-60)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-60. Investigations notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person or persons rendering or offering to render services or any person holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act. The Department shall, before revoking, suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other disciplinary action under Article 20 of this Act, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the accused in writing of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct him or her to file a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service on him or her of the notice, and (iii) inform the accused that if he or she fails to answer, default will be taken against him or her or that his or her license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice, as the Department may consider proper. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Board may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under this Act. The written notice may be served by personal delivery or by certified mail to the address specified by the accused in his or her last notification with the Department.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-62

    (225 ILCS 454/20-62)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-62. Record of proceedings; transcript. The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all proceedings at the formal hearing of any case. The notice of hearing, complaint, all other documents in the nature of pleadings, written motions filed in the proceedings, the transcripts of testimony, the report of the Board, and orders of the Department shall be in the record of the proceeding.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-63

    (225 ILCS 454/20-63)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-63. Subpoenas; depositions; oaths. The Department has the power to subpoena documents, books, records, or other materials and to bring before it any person and to take testimony either orally or by deposition, or both, with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner as prescribed in civil cases in the courts of this State. The Secretary, the designated hearing officer, and every member of the Board has the power to administer oaths to witnesses at any hearing that the Department is authorized to conduct, and any other oaths authorized in an Act that is administered by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-64

    (225 ILCS 454/20-64)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-64. Board; rehearing. At the conclusion of a hearing, a copy of the Board's report shall be served upon the applicant or licensee by the Department, either personally or as provided in this Act for the service of a notice of hearing. Within 20 days after service, the applicant or licensee may present to the Department a motion in writing for a rehearing, which shall specify the particular grounds for rehearing. The Department may respond to the motion, or if a motion for rehearing is denied, then upon denial, and except as provided in Section 20-72 of this Act, the Secretary may enter an order in accordance with the recommendations of the Board. If the applicant or licensee orders from the reporting service and pays for a transcript of the record within the time for filing a motion for rehearing, then the 20-day period within which a motion may be filed shall commence upon the delivery of the transcript to the applicant or licensee.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-65

    (225 ILCS 454/20-65)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-65. Temporary suspension. The Secretary may temporarily suspend the license of a licensee without a hearing, simultaneously with the institution of proceedings for a hearing provided for in Section 20-61 of this Act, if the Secretary finds that the evidence indicates that the public interest, safety, or welfare imperatively requires emergency action. In the event that the Secretary temporarily suspends the license without a hearing before the Board, a hearing shall be commenced within 30 days after the suspension has occurred. The suspended licensee may seek a continuance of the hearing during which the suspension shall remain in effect. The proceeding shall be concluded without appreciable delay.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-66

    (225 ILCS 454/20-66)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-66. Appointment of a hearing officer. The Secretary has the authority to appoint any attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action for refusal to issue, restore, or renew a license or to discipline a licensee. The hearing officer has full authority to conduct the hearing. Any Board member may attend the hearing. The hearing officer shall report his or her findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Board. The Board shall review the report of the hearing officer and present its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Secretary and all parties to the proceeding. If the Secretary disagrees with a recommendation of the Board or of the hearing officer, then the Secretary may issue an order in contravention of the recommendation.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-67

    (225 ILCS 454/20-67)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-67. Order or certified copy; prima facie proof. An order, or certified copy of an order, over the seal of the Department and purporting to be signed by the Secretary is prima facie proof that (i) the signature is the genuine signature of the Secretary, (ii) the Secretary is duly appointed and qualified, and (iii) the Board and its members are qualified to act.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-68

    (225 ILCS 454/20-68)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-68. Surrender of license. Upon the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee shall immediately surrender his or her license to the Department. If the licensee fails to do so, the Department has the right to seize the license.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-69

    (225 ILCS 454/20-69)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-69. Restoration of a suspended or revoked license. At any time after the successful completion of a term of suspension or revocation of a license, the Department may restore it to the licensee, upon the written recommendation of the Board, unless after an investigation and a hearing the Board determines that restoration is not in the public interest.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-70

    (225 ILCS 454/20-70)
    Sec. 20-70. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 92-217, eff. 8-2-01.)

225 ILCS 454/20-72

    (225 ILCS 454/20-72)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-72. Secretary; rehearing. If the Secretary believes that substantial justice has not been done in the revocation, suspension, or refusal to issue, restore, or renew a license, or any other discipline of an applicant or licensee, then he or she may order a rehearing by the same or other examiners.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-73

    (225 ILCS 454/20-73)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-73. Certifications of record; costs. The Department shall not be required to certify any record to the court, to file an answer in court, or to otherwise appear in any court in a judicial review proceeding unless there is filed in the court, with the complaint, a receipt from the Department acknowledging payment of the costs of furnishing and certifying the record, which costs shall be determined by the Department. Failure on the part of the plaintiff to file the receipt in court is grounds for dismissal of the action.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-75

    (225 ILCS 454/20-75)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-75. Administrative Review venue.
    (a) All final administrative decisions of the Department are subject to judicial review under the Administrative Review Law and its rules. The term "administrative decision" is defined in Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
    (b) Proceedings for judicial review shall be commenced in the circuit court of the court in which the party applying for review resides, but if the party is not a resident of Illinois, the venue shall be in Sangamon County.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-78

    (225 ILCS 454/20-78)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-78. Confidentiality. All information collected by the Department in the course of an examination or investigation of a licensee or applicant, including, but not limited to, any complaint against a licensee or applicant or any person who holds himself or herself out as a licensee or applicant filed with the Department and information collected to investigate any such complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the Department and shall not be disclosed. The Department may not disclose the information to anyone other than law enforcement officials, regulatory agencies that have an appropriate regulatory interest as determined by the Secretary, or a party presenting a lawful subpoena to the Department. Information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, county, or local law enforcement agency shall not be disclosed by the agency for any purpose to any other agency or person. A formal complaint filed against a licensee by the Department or any order issued by the Department against a licensee or applicant shall be a public record, except as otherwise prohibited by law.
(Source: P.A. 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)

225 ILCS 454/20-80

    (225 ILCS 454/20-80)
    Sec. 20-80. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-82

    (225 ILCS 454/20-82)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-82. Fines and penalties; Real Estate Recovery Fund. All fines and penalties collected under this Act by the Department shall be deposited in the Real Estate Recovery Fund.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-85

    (225 ILCS 454/20-85)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-85. Recovery from Real Estate Recovery Fund. The Department shall maintain a Real Estate Recovery Fund from which any person aggrieved by an act, representation, transaction, or conduct of a licensee or unlicensed employee of a licensee that is in violation of this Act or the rules promulgated pursuant thereto, constitutes embezzlement of money or property, or results in money or property being unlawfully obtained from any person by false pretenses, artifice, trickery, or forgery or by reason of any fraud, misrepresentation, discrimination, or deceit by or on the part of any such licensee or the unlicensed employee of a licensee and that results in a loss of actual cash money, as opposed to losses in market value, may recover. The aggrieved person may recover, by a post-judgment order of the circuit court of the county where the violation occurred in a proceeding described in Section 20-90 of this Act, an amount of not more than $25,000 from the Fund for damages sustained by the act, representation, transaction, or conduct, together with costs of suit and attorney's fees incurred in connection therewith of not to exceed 15% of the amount of the recovery ordered paid from the Fund. However, no licensee may recover from the Fund unless the court finds that the person suffered a loss resulting from intentional misconduct. The post-judgment order shall not include interest on the judgment. The maximum liability against the Fund arising out of any one act shall be as provided in this Section, and the post-judgment order shall spread the award equitably among all co-owners or otherwise aggrieved persons, if any. The maximum liability against the Fund arising out of the activities of any one licensee or one unlicensed employee of a licensee, since January 1, 1974, shall be $100,000. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to authorize recovery from the Fund unless the loss of the aggrieved person results from an act or omission of a licensee under this Act who was at the time of the act or omission acting in such capacity or was apparently acting in such capacity or their unlicensed employee and unless the aggrieved person has obtained a valid judgment and post-judgment order of the court as provided for in Section 20-90 of this Act. No person aggrieved by an act, representation, or transaction that is in violation of the Illinois Real Estate Time-Share Act or the Land Sales Registration Act of 1989 may recover from the Fund.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)

225 ILCS 454/20-90

    (225 ILCS 454/20-90)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-90. Collection from Real Estate Recovery Fund; procedure.
    (a) No action for a judgment that subsequently results in a post-judgment order for collection from the Real Estate Recovery Fund shall be started later than 2 years after the date on which the aggrieved person knew, or through the use of reasonable diligence should have known, of the acts or omissions giving rise to a right of recovery from the Real Estate Recovery Fund.
    (b) When any aggrieved person commences action for a judgment that may result in collection from the Real Estate Recovery Fund, the aggrieved person must name as parties defendant to that action any and all licensees, their employees, or independent contractors who allegedly committed or are responsible for acts or omissions giving rise to a right of recovery from the Real Estate Recovery Fund. Failure to name as parties defendant such licensees, their employees, or independent contractors shall preclude recovery from the Real Estate Recovery Fund of any portion of any judgment received in such an action. These parties defendant shall also include any corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships, registered limited liability partnership, or other business associations licensed under this Act that may be responsible for acts giving rise to a right of recovery from the Real Estate Recovery Fund.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) When any aggrieved person commences action for a judgment that may result in collection from the Real Estate Recovery Fund, and the aggrieved person is unable to obtain legal and proper service upon the parties defendant licensed under this Act under the provisions of Illinois law concerning service of process in civil actions, the aggrieved person may petition the court where the action to obtain judgment was begun for an order to allow service of legal process on the Secretary. Service of process on the Secretary shall be taken and held in that court to be as valid and binding as if due service had been made upon the parties defendant licensed under this Act. In case any process mentioned in this Section is served upon the Secretary, the Secretary shall forward a copy of the process by certified mail to the licensee's last address on record with the Department. Any judgment obtained after service of process on the Secretary under this Act shall apply to and be enforceable against the Real Estate Recovery Fund only. The Department may intervene in and defend any such action.
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) The aggrieved person shall give written notice to the Department within 30 days of the entry of any judgment that may result in collection from the Real Estate Recovery Fund. The aggrieved person shall provide the Department with 20 days prior written notice of all supplementary proceedings so as to allow the Department to intervene and participate in all efforts to collect on the judgment in the same manner as any party.
    (g) When any aggrieved person recovers a valid judgment in any court of competent jurisdiction against any licensee or an unlicensed employee of any licensee, upon the grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, discrimination, or deceit, the aggrieved person may, upon the termination of all proceedings, including review and appeals in connection with the judgment, file a verified claim in the court in which the judgment was entered and, upon 30 days' written notice to the Department, and to the person against whom the judgment was obtained, may apply to the court for a post-judgment order directing payment out of the Real Estate Recovery Fund of the amount unpaid upon the judgment, not including interest on the judgment, and subject to the limitations stated in Section 20-85 of this Act. The aggrieved person must set out in that verified claim and prove at an evidentiary hearing to be held by the court upon the application that the claim meets all requirements of Section 20-85 and this Section to be eligible for payment from the Real Estate Recovery Fund and the aggrieved party shall be required to show that the aggrieved person:
        (1) Is not a spouse of the debtor or debtors or the
    
personal representative of such spouse.
        (2) Has complied with all the requirements of this
    
Section.
        (3) Has obtained a judgment stating the amount
    
thereof and the amount owing thereon, not including interest thereon, at the date of the application.
        (4) Has made all reasonable searches and inquiries to
    
ascertain whether the judgment debtor or debtors is possessed of real or personal property or other assets, liable to be sold or applied in satisfaction of the judgment.
        (5) By such search has discovered no personal or real
    
property or other assets liable to be sold or applied, or has discovered certain of them, describing them as owned by the judgment debtor or debtors and liable to be so applied and has taken all necessary action and proceedings for the realization thereof, and the amount thereby realized was insufficient to satisfy the judgment, stating the amount so realized and the balance remaining due on the judgment after application of the amount realized.
        (6) Has diligently pursued all remedies against all
    
the judgment debtors and all other persons liable to the aggrieved person in the transaction for which recovery is sought from the Real Estate Recovery Fund, including the filing of an adversary action to have the debts declared non-dischargeable in any bankruptcy petition matter filed by any judgment debtor or person liable to the aggrieved person.
    The aggrieved person shall also be required to prove the amount of attorney's fees sought to be recovered and the reasonableness of those fees up to the maximum allowed pursuant to Section 20-85 of this Act.
    (h) After conducting the evidentiary hearing required under this Section, the court, in a post-judgment order directed to the Department, shall indicate whether requiring payment from the Real Estate Recovery Fund is appropriate and, if so, the amount it finds to be payable upon the claim, pursuant to and in accordance with the limitations contained in Section 20-85 of this Act, if the court is satisfied, based upon the hearing, of the truth of all matters required to be shown by the aggrieved person under subsection (g) of this Section and that the aggrieved person has fully pursued and exhausted all remedies available for recovering the amount awarded by the judgment of the court.
    (i) Should the Department pay from the Real Estate Recovery Fund any amount in settlement of a claim or toward satisfaction of a judgment against any licensee or an unlicensed employee of a licensee, the licensee's license shall be automatically revoked upon the issuance of a post-judgment order authorizing payment from the Real Estate Recovery Fund. No petition for restoration of a license shall be heard until repayment has been made in full, plus interest at the rate prescribed in Section 12-109 of the Code of Civil Procedure of the amount paid from the Real Estate Recovery Fund on their account, notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois. A discharge in bankruptcy shall not relieve a person from the penalties and disabilities provided in this subsection (i).
    (j) If, at any time, the money deposited in the Real Estate Recovery Fund is insufficient to satisfy any duly authorized claim or portion thereof, the Department shall, when sufficient money has been deposited in the Real Estate Recovery Fund, satisfy such unpaid claims or portions thereof, in the order that such claims or portions thereof were originally filed, plus accumulated interest at the rate prescribed in Section 12-109 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)

225 ILCS 454/20-95

    (225 ILCS 454/20-95)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-95. Power of the Department to defend. When the Department receives any process, notice, order, or other document provided for or required under Section 20-90 of this Act, it may enter an appearance, file an answer, appear at the court hearing, defend the action, or take whatever other action it deems appropriate on behalf and in the name of the parties defendant licensed under this Act or the Department and take recourse through any appropriate method of review on behalf of and in the name of the parties defendant licensed under this Act or the Department.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)

225 ILCS 454/20-100

    (225 ILCS 454/20-100)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-100. Subrogation of the Department to rights of judgment creditor. When, upon the order of the court, the Department has paid from the Real Estate Recovery Fund any sum to the judgment creditor, the Department shall be subrogated to all of the rights of the judgment creditor and the judgment creditor shall assign all rights, title, and interest in the judgment to the Department and any amount and interest so recovered by the Department on the judgment shall be deposited in the Real Estate Recovery Fund.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-105

    (225 ILCS 454/20-105)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-105. Waiver of rights for failure to comply. The failure of an aggrieved person to comply with this Act relating to the Real Estate Recovery Fund shall constitute a waiver of any rights under Sections 20-85 and 20-90 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99.)

225 ILCS 454/20-110

    (225 ILCS 454/20-110)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-110. Disciplinary actions of the Department not limited. Nothing contained in Sections 20-80 through 20-100 of this Act limits the authority of the Department to take disciplinary action against any licensee for a violation of this Act or the rules of the Department, nor shall the repayment in full of all obligations to the Real Estate Recovery Fund by any licensee nullify or modify the effect of any other disciplinary proceeding brought pursuant to this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-115

    (225 ILCS 454/20-115)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-115. Time limit on action. No action may be taken by the Department against any person for violation of the terms of this Act or its rules unless the action is commenced within 5 years after the occurrence of the alleged violation. This limitation shall not apply where it is alleged that an initial application for licensure under this Act contains false or misleading information.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)

225 ILCS 454/20-120

    (225 ILCS 454/20-120)
    Sec. 20-120. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99. Repealed by P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09.)

225 ILCS 454/20-125

    (225 ILCS 454/20-125)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 20-125. No private right of action. Except as otherwise expressly provided for in this Act, nothing in this Act shall be construed to grant to any person a private right of action for damages or to enforce the provisions of this Act or the rules issued under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 91-245, eff. 12-31-99.)