Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

INSURANCE
(215 ILCS 5/) Illinois Insurance Code.

215 ILCS 5/Art. XXV

 
    (215 ILCS 5/Art. XXV heading)
ARTICLE XXV. FEES, CHARGES AND TAXES

215 ILCS 5/408

    (215 ILCS 5/408) (from Ch. 73, par. 1020)
    Sec. 408. Fees and charges.
    (1) The Director shall charge, collect and give proper acquittances for the payment of the following fees and charges:
        (a) For filing all documents submitted for the
    
incorporation or organization or certification of a domestic company, except for a fraternal benefit society, $2,000.
        (b) For filing all documents submitted for the
    
incorporation or organization of a fraternal benefit society, $500.
        (c) For filing amendments to articles of
    
incorporation and amendments to declaration of organization, except for a fraternal benefit society, a mutual benefit association, a burial society or a farm mutual, $200.
        (d) For filing amendments to articles of
    
incorporation of a fraternal benefit society, a mutual benefit association or a burial society, $100.
        (e) For filing amendments to articles of
    
incorporation of a farm mutual, $50.
        (f) For filing bylaws or amendments thereto, $50.
        (g) For filing agreement of merger or consolidation:
            (i) for a domestic company, except for a
        
fraternal benefit society, a mutual benefit association, a burial society, or a farm mutual, $2,000.
            (ii) for a foreign or alien company, except for a
        
fraternal benefit society, $600.
            (iii) for a fraternal benefit society, a mutual
        
benefit association, a burial society, or a farm mutual, $200.
        (h) For filing agreements of reinsurance by a
    
domestic company, $200.
        (i) For filing all documents submitted by a foreign
    
or alien company to be admitted to transact business or accredited as a reinsurer in this State, except for a fraternal benefit society, $5,000.
        (j) For filing all documents submitted by a foreign
    
or alien fraternal benefit society to be admitted to transact business in this State, $500.
        (k) For filing declaration of withdrawal of a foreign
    
or alien company, $50.
        (l) For filing annual statement by a domestic
    
company, except a fraternal benefit society, a mutual benefit association, a burial society, or a farm mutual, $200.
        (m) For filing annual statement by a domestic
    
fraternal benefit society, $100.
        (n) For filing annual statement by a farm mutual, a
    
mutual benefit association, or a burial society, $50.
        (o) For issuing a certificate of authority or renewal
    
thereof except to a foreign fraternal benefit society, $400.
        (p) For issuing a certificate of authority or renewal
    
thereof to a foreign fraternal benefit society, $200.
        (q) For issuing an amended certificate of authority,
    
$50.
        (r) For each certified copy of certificate of
    
authority, $20.
        (s) For each certificate of deposit, or valuation, or
    
compliance or surety certificate, $20.
        (t) For copies of papers or records per page, $1.
        (u) For each certification to copies of papers or
    
records, $10.
        (v) For multiple copies of documents or certificates
    
listed in subparagraphs (r), (s), and (u) of paragraph (1) of this Section, $10 for the first copy of a certificate of any type and $5 for each additional copy of the same certificate requested at the same time, unless, pursuant to paragraph (2) of this Section, the Director finds these additional fees excessive.
        (w) For issuing a permit to sell shares or increase
    
paid-up capital:
            (i) in connection with a public stock offering,
        
$300;
            (ii) in any other case, $100.
        (x) For issuing any other certificate required or
    
permissible under the law, $50.
        (y) For filing a plan of exchange of the stock of a
    
domestic stock insurance company, a plan of demutualization of a domestic mutual company, or a plan of reorganization under Article XII, $2,000.
        (z) For filing a statement of acquisition of a
    
domestic company as defined in Section 131.4 of this Code, $2,000.
        (aa) For filing an agreement to purchase the business
    
of an organization authorized under the Dental Service Plan Act or the Voluntary Health Services Plans Act or of a health maintenance organization or a limited health service organization, $2,000.
        (bb) For filing a statement of acquisition of a
    
foreign or alien insurance company as defined in Section 131.12a of this Code, $1,000.
        (cc) For filing a registration statement as required
    
in Sections 131.13 and 131.14, the notification as required by Sections 131.16, 131.20a, or 141.4, or an agreement or transaction required by Sections 124.2(2), 141, 141a, or 141.1, $200.
        (dd) For filing an application for licensing of:
            (i) a religious or charitable risk pooling trust
        
or a workers' compensation pool, $1,000;
            (ii) a workers' compensation service company,
        
$500;
            (iii) a self-insured automobile fleet, $200; or
            (iv) a renewal of or amendment of any license
        
issued pursuant to (i), (ii), or (iii) above, $100.
        (ee) For filing articles of incorporation for a
    
syndicate to engage in the business of insurance through the Illinois Insurance Exchange, $2,000.
        (ff) For filing amended articles of incorporation for
    
a syndicate engaged in the business of insurance through the Illinois Insurance Exchange, $100.
        (gg) For filing articles of incorporation for a
    
limited syndicate to join with other subscribers or limited syndicates to do business through the Illinois Insurance Exchange, $1,000.
        (hh) For filing amended articles of incorporation for
    
a limited syndicate to do business through the Illinois Insurance Exchange, $100.
        (ii) For a permit to solicit subscriptions to a
    
syndicate or limited syndicate, $100.
        (jj) For the filing of each form as required in
    
Section 143 of this Code, $50 per form. The fee for advisory and rating organizations shall be $200 per form.
            (i) For the purposes of the form filing fee,
        
filings made on insert page basis will be considered one form at the time of its original submission. Changes made to a form subsequent to its approval shall be considered a new filing.
            (ii) Only one fee shall be charged for a form,
        
regardless of the number of other forms or policies with which it will be used.
            (iii) Fees charged for a policy filed as it will
        
be issued regardless of the number of forms comprising that policy shall not exceed $1,500. For advisory or rating organizations, fees charged for a policy filed as it will be issued regardless of the number of forms comprising that policy shall not exceed $2,500.
            (iv) The Director may by rule exempt forms from
        
such fees.
        (kk) For filing an application for licensing of a
    
reinsurance intermediary, $500.
        (ll) For filing an application for renewal of a
    
license of a reinsurance intermediary, $200.
    (2) When printed copies or numerous copies of the same paper or records are furnished or certified, the Director may reduce such fees for copies if he finds them excessive. He may, when he considers it in the public interest, furnish without charge to state insurance departments and persons other than companies, copies or certified copies of reports of examinations and of other papers and records.
    (3) The expenses incurred in any performance examination authorized by law shall be paid by the company or person being examined. The charge shall be reasonably related to the cost of the examination including but not limited to compensation of examiners, electronic data processing costs, supervision and preparation of an examination report and lodging and travel expenses. All lodging and travel expenses shall be in accord with the applicable travel regulations as published by the Department of Central Management Services and approved by the Governor's Travel Control Board, except that out-of-state lodging and travel expenses related to examinations authorized under Section 132 shall be in accordance with travel rates prescribed under paragraph 301-7.2 of the Federal Travel Regulations, 41 C.F.R. 301-7.2, for reimbursement of subsistence expenses incurred during official travel. All lodging and travel expenses may be reimbursed directly upon authorization of the Director. With the exception of the direct reimbursements authorized by the Director, all performance examination charges collected by the Department shall be paid to the Insurance Producer Administration Fund, however, the electronic data processing costs incurred by the Department in the performance of any examination shall be billed directly to the company being examined for payment to the Technology Management Revolving Fund.
    (4) At the time of any service of process on the Director as attorney for such service, the Director shall charge and collect the sum of $20, which may be recovered as taxable costs by the party to the suit or action causing such service to be made if he prevails in such suit or action.
    (5) (a) The costs incurred by the Department of Insurance in conducting any hearing authorized by law shall be assessed against the parties to the hearing in such proportion as the Director of Insurance may determine upon consideration of all relevant circumstances including: (1) the nature of the hearing; (2) whether the hearing was instigated by, or for the benefit of a particular party or parties; (3) whether there is a successful party on the merits of the proceeding; and (4) the relative levels of participation by the parties.
    (b) For purposes of this subsection (5) costs incurred shall mean the hearing officer fees, court reporter fees, and travel expenses of Department of Insurance officers and employees; provided however, that costs incurred shall not include hearing officer fees or court reporter fees unless the Department has retained the services of independent contractors or outside experts to perform such functions.
    (c) The Director shall make the assessment of costs incurred as part of the final order or decision arising out of the proceeding; provided, however, that such order or decision shall include findings and conclusions in support of the assessment of costs. This subsection (5) shall not be construed as permitting the payment of travel expenses unless calculated in accordance with the applicable travel regulations of the Department of Central Management Services, as approved by the Governor's Travel Control Board. The Director as part of such order or decision shall require all assessments for hearing officer fees and court reporter fees, if any, to be paid directly to the hearing officer or court reporter by the party(s) assessed for such costs. The assessments for travel expenses of Department officers and employees shall be reimbursable to the Director of Insurance for deposit to the fund out of which those expenses had been paid.
    (d) The provisions of this subsection (5) shall apply in the case of any hearing conducted by the Director of Insurance not otherwise specifically provided for by law.
    (6) The Director shall charge and collect an annual financial regulation fee from every domestic company for examination and analysis of its financial condition and to fund the internal costs and expenses of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Commission as may be allocated to the State of Illinois and companies doing an insurance business in this State pursuant to Article X of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Compact. The fee shall be the greater fixed amount based upon the combination of nationwide direct premium income and nationwide reinsurance assumed premium income or upon admitted assets calculated under this subsection as follows:
        (a) Combination of nationwide direct premium income
    
and nationwide reinsurance assumed premium.
            (i) $150, if the premium is less than $500,000
        
and there is no reinsurance assumed premium;
            (ii) $750, if the premium is $500,000 or more,
        
but less than $5,000,000 and there is no reinsurance assumed premium; or if the premium is less than $5,000,000 and the reinsurance assumed premium is less than $10,000,000;
            (iii) $3,750, if the premium is less than
        
$5,000,000 and the reinsurance assumed premium is $10,000,000 or more;
            (iv) $7,500, if the premium is $5,000,000 or
        
more, but less than $10,000,000;
            (v) $18,000, if the premium is $10,000,000 or
        
more, but less than $25,000,000;
            (vi) $22,500, if the premium is $25,000,000 or
        
more, but less than $50,000,000;
            (vii) $30,000, if the premium is $50,000,000 or
        
more, but less than $100,000,000;
            (viii) $37,500, if the premium is $100,000,000 or
        
more.
        (b) Admitted assets.
            (i) $150, if admitted assets are less than
        
$1,000,000;
            (ii) $750, if admitted assets are $1,000,000 or
        
more, but less than $5,000,000;
            (iii) $3,750, if admitted assets are $5,000,000
        
or more, but less than $25,000,000;
            (iv) $7,500, if admitted assets are $25,000,000
        
or more, but less than $50,000,000;
            (v) $18,000, if admitted assets are $50,000,000
        
or more, but less than $100,000,000;
            (vi) $22,500, if admitted assets are $100,000,000
        
or more, but less than $500,000,000;
            (vii) $30,000, if admitted assets are
        
$500,000,000 or more, but less than $1,000,000,000;
            (viii) $37,500, if admitted assets are
        
$1,000,000,000 or more.
        (c) The sum of financial regulation fees charged to
    
the domestic companies of the same affiliated group shall not exceed $250,000 in the aggregate in any single year and shall be billed by the Director to the member company designated by the group.
    (7) The Director shall charge and collect an annual financial regulation fee from every foreign or alien company, except fraternal benefit societies, for the examination and analysis of its financial condition and to fund the internal costs and expenses of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Commission as may be allocated to the State of Illinois and companies doing an insurance business in this State pursuant to Article X of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Compact. The fee shall be a fixed amount based upon Illinois direct premium income and nationwide reinsurance assumed premium income in accordance with the following schedule:
        (a) $150, if the premium is less than $500,000 and
    
there is no reinsurance assumed premium;
        (b) $750, if the premium is $500,000 or more, but
    
less than $5,000,000 and there is no reinsurance assumed premium; or if the premium is less than $5,000,000 and the reinsurance assumed premium is less than $10,000,000;
        (c) $3,750, if the premium is less than $5,000,000
    
and the reinsurance assumed premium is $10,000,000 or more;
        (d) $7,500, if the premium is $5,000,000 or more, but
    
less than $10,000,000;
        (e) $18,000, if the premium is $10,000,000 or more,
    
but less than $25,000,000;
        (f) $22,500, if the premium is $25,000,000 or more,
    
but less than $50,000,000;
        (g) $30,000, if the premium is $50,000,000 or more,
    
but less than $100,000,000;
        (h) $37,500, if the premium is $100,000,000 or more.
    The sum of financial regulation fees under this subsection (7) charged to the foreign or alien companies within the same affiliated group shall not exceed $250,000 in the aggregate in any single year and shall be billed by the Director to the member company designated by the group.
    (8) Beginning January 1, 1992, the financial regulation fees imposed under subsections (6) and (7) of this Section shall be paid by each company or domestic affiliated group annually. After January 1, 1994, the fee shall be billed by Department invoice based upon the company's premium income or admitted assets as shown in its annual statement for the preceding calendar year. The invoice is due upon receipt and must be paid no later than June 30 of each calendar year. All financial regulation fees collected by the Department shall be paid to the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund. The Department may not collect financial examiner per diem charges from companies subject to subsections (6) and (7) of this Section undergoing financial examination after June 30, 1992.
    (9) In addition to the financial regulation fee required by this Section, a company undergoing any financial examination authorized by law shall pay the following costs and expenses incurred by the Department: electronic data processing costs, the expenses authorized under Section 131.21 and subsection (d) of Section 132.4 of this Code, and lodging and travel expenses.
    Electronic data processing costs incurred by the Department in the performance of any examination shall be billed directly to the company undergoing examination for payment to the Technology Management Revolving Fund. Except for direct reimbursements authorized by the Director or direct payments made under Section 131.21 or subsection (d) of Section 132.4 of this Code, all financial regulation fees and all financial examination charges collected by the Department shall be paid to the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund.
    All lodging and travel expenses shall be in accordance with applicable travel regulations published by the Department of Central Management Services and approved by the Governor's Travel Control Board, except that out-of-state lodging and travel expenses related to examinations authorized under Sections 132.1 through 132.7 shall be in accordance with travel rates prescribed under paragraph 301-7.2 of the Federal Travel Regulations, 41 C.F.R. 301-7.2, for reimbursement of subsistence expenses incurred during official travel. All lodging and travel expenses may be reimbursed directly upon the authorization of the Director.
    In the case of an organization or person not subject to the financial regulation fee, the expenses incurred in any financial examination authorized by law shall be paid by the organization or person being examined. The charge shall be reasonably related to the cost of the examination including, but not limited to, compensation of examiners and other costs described in this subsection.
    (10) Any company, person, or entity failing to make any payment of $150 or more as required under this Section shall be subject to the penalty and interest provisions provided for in subsections (4) and (7) of Section 412.
    (11) Unless otherwise specified, all of the fees collected under this Section shall be paid into the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund.
    (12) For purposes of this Section:
        (a) "Domestic company" means a company as defined in
    
Section 2 of this Code which is incorporated or organized under the laws of this State, and in addition includes a not-for-profit corporation authorized under the Dental Service Plan Act or the Voluntary Health Services Plans Act, a health maintenance organization, and a limited health service organization.
        (b) "Foreign company" means a company as defined in
    
Section 2 of this Code which is incorporated or organized under the laws of any state of the United States other than this State and in addition includes a health maintenance organization and a limited health service organization which is incorporated or organized under the laws of any state of the United States other than this State.
        (c) "Alien company" means a company as defined in
    
Section 2 of this Code which is incorporated or organized under the laws of any country other than the United States.
        (d) "Fraternal benefit society" means a corporation,
    
society, order, lodge or voluntary association as defined in Section 282.1 of this Code.
        (e) "Mutual benefit association" means a company,
    
association or corporation authorized by the Director to do business in this State under the provisions of Article XVIII of this Code.
        (f) "Burial society" means a person, firm,
    
corporation, society or association of individuals authorized by the Director to do business in this State under the provisions of Article XIX of this Code.
        (g) "Farm mutual" means a district, county and
    
township mutual insurance company authorized by the Director to do business in this State under the provisions of the Farm Mutual Insurance Company Act of 1986.
(Source: P.A. 100-23, eff. 7-6-17.)

215 ILCS 5/408.1

    (215 ILCS 5/408.1) (from Ch. 73, par. 1020.1)
    Sec. 408.1. Fee for valuation of life insurance policies. Upon the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1998, all actions to collect life insurance policy valuation fees or to transfer such fees to the General Revenue Fund from any protest account established under the State Officers and Employees Money Disposition Act shall cease and any such protested life insurance policy valuation fee payments shall be returned to the taxpayer who initiated the protest.
(Source: P.A. 90-583, eff. 5-29-98.)

215 ILCS 5/408.2

    (215 ILCS 5/408.2) (from Ch. 73, par. 1020.2)
    Sec. 408.2. Statistical services. Any public record, or any data obtained by the Department of Insurance, which is subject to public inspection or copying and which is maintained on a computer processible medium, may be furnished in a computer processed or computer processible medium upon the written request of any applicant and the payment of a reasonable fee established by the Director sufficient to cover the total cost of the Department for processing, maintaining and generating such computer processible records or data, except to the extent of any salaries or compensation of Department officers or employees.
    The Director of Insurance is specifically authorized to contract with members of the public at large, enter waiver agreements, or otherwise enter written agreements for the purpose of assuring public access to the Department's computer processible records or data, or for the purpose of restricting, controlling or limiting such access where necessary to protect the confidentiality of individuals, companies or other entities identified by such documents.
    All fees collected by the Director under this Section 408.2 shall be deposited in the Technology Management Revolving Fund and credited to the account of the Department of Insurance. Any surplus funds remaining in such account at the close of any fiscal year shall be delivered to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund.
(Source: P.A. 100-23, eff. 7-6-17.)

215 ILCS 5/408.3

    (215 ILCS 5/408.3) (from Ch. 73, par. 1020.3)
    Sec. 408.3. Insurance Financial Regulation Fund; uses. The monies deposited into the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund shall be used only for (i) payment of the expenses of the Department, including related administrative expenses, incurred in analyzing, investigating and examining the financial condition or control of insurance companies and other entities licensed or seeking to be licensed by the Department, including the collection, analysis and distribution of information on insurance premiums, other income, costs and expenses, and (ii) to pay internal costs and expenses of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Commission allocated to this State and authorized and admitted companies doing an insurance business in this State under Article X of the Interstate Receivership Compact. All distributions and payments from the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund shall be subject to appropriation as otherwise provided by law for payment of such expenses.
    Sums appropriated under clause (ii) of the preceding paragraph shall be deemed to satisfy, pro tanto, the obligations of insurers doing business in this State under Article X of the Interstate Insurance Receivership Compact.
    Nothing in this Code shall prohibit the General Assembly from appropriating funds from the General Revenue Fund to the Department for the purpose of administering this Code.
    No fees collected pursuant to Section 408 of this Code shall be used for the regulation of pension funds or activities by the Department in the performance of its duties under Article 22 of the Illinois Pension Code.
    If at the end of a fiscal year the balance in the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund which remains unexpended or unobligated exceeds the amount of funds that the Director may certify is needed for the purposes enumerated in this Section, then the General Assembly may appropriate that excess amount for purposes other than those enumerated in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-609, eff. 1-1-14.)

215 ILCS 5/408.4

    (215 ILCS 5/408.4)
    Sec. 408.4. Receipt and use grants.
    (a) The Department is authorized to accept, receive, and use, for and in behalf of the State, any grant of money given to further the purposes of the insurance laws of this State by the federal government as may be offered unconditionally or under conditions, agreements, covenants, or terms that, in the judgment of the Department, are proper and consistent with the provisions of subsection (b). All moneys so received shall be deposited into the Insurance Producer Administration Fund.
    (b) The moneys deposited into the Insurance Producer Administration Fund under this Section shall be accounted for separately and shall be expended, pursuant to appropriation, only in accordance with the conditions, agreements, covenants, or terms, if any, under which they were accepted and must be used to disseminate and provide insurance related information or assistance to senior citizens.
(Source: P.A. 88-313.)

215 ILCS 5/409

    (215 ILCS 5/409) (from Ch. 73, par. 1021)
    Sec. 409. Annual privilege tax payable by companies.
    (1) As of January 1, 1999 for all health maintenance organization premiums written; as of July 1, 1998 for all premiums written as accident and health business, voluntary health service plan business, dental service plan business, or limited health service organization business; and as of January 1, 1998 for all other types of insurance premiums written, every company doing any form of insurance business in this State, including, but not limited to, every risk retention group, and excluding all fraternal benefit societies, all farm mutual companies, all religious charitable risk pooling trusts, and excluding all statutory residual market and special purpose entities in which companies are statutorily required to participate, whether incorporated or otherwise, shall pay, for the privilege of doing business in this State, to the Director for the State treasury a State tax equal to 0.5% of the net taxable premium written, together with any amounts due under Section 444 of this Code, except that the tax to be paid on any premium derived from any accident and health insurance or on any insurance business written by any company operating as a health maintenance organization, voluntary health service plan, dental service plan, or limited health service organization shall be equal to 0.4% of such net taxable premium written, together with any amounts due under Section 444. Upon the failure of any company to pay any such tax due, the Director may, by order, revoke or suspend the company's certificate of authority after giving 20 days written notice to the company, or commence proceedings for the suspension of business in this State under the procedures set forth by Section 401.1 of this Code. The gross taxable premium written shall be the gross amount of premiums received on direct business during the calendar year on contracts covering risks in this State, except premiums on annuities, premiums on which State premium taxes are prohibited by federal law, premiums paid by the State for health care coverage for Medicaid eligible insureds as described in Section 5-2 of the Illinois Public Aid Code, premiums paid for health care services included as an element of tuition charges at any university or college owned and operated by the State of Illinois, premiums on group insurance contracts under the State Employees Group Insurance Act of 1971, and except premiums for deferred compensation plans for employees of the State, units of local government, or school districts. The net taxable premium shall be the gross taxable premium written reduced only by the following:
        (a) the amount of premiums returned thereon which
    
shall be limited to premiums returned during the same preceding calendar year and shall not include the return of cash surrender values or death benefits on life policies including annuities;
        (b) dividends on such direct business that have been
    
paid in cash, applied in reduction of premiums or left to accumulate to the credit of policyholders or annuitants. In the case of life insurance, no deduction shall be made for the payment of deferred dividends paid in cash to policyholders on maturing policies; dividends left to accumulate to the credit of policyholders or annuitants shall be included as gross taxable premium written when such dividend accumulations are applied to purchase paid-up insurance or to shorten the endowment or premium paying period.
    (2) The annual privilege tax payment due from a company under subsection (4) of this Section may be reduced by: (a) the excess amount, if any, by which the aggregate income taxes paid by the company, on a cash basis, for the preceding calendar year under Sections 601 and 803 of the Illinois Income Tax Act exceed 1.5% of the company's net taxable premium written for that prior calendar year, as determined under subsection (1) of this Section; and (b) the amount of any fire department taxes paid by the company during the preceding calendar year under Section 11-10-1 of the Illinois Municipal Code. Any deductible amount or offset allowed under items (a) and (b) of this subsection for any calendar year will not be allowed as a deduction or offset against the company's privilege tax liability for any other taxing period or calendar year.
    (3) If a company survives or was formed by a merger, consolidation, reorganization, or reincorporation, the premiums received and amounts returned or paid by all companies party to the merger, consolidation, reorganization, or reincorporation shall, for purposes of determining the amount of the tax imposed by this Section, be regarded as received, returned, or paid by the surviving or new company.
    (4)(a) All companies subject to the provisions of this Section shall make an annual return for the preceding calendar year on or before March 15 setting forth such information on such forms as the Director may reasonably require. Payments of quarterly installments of the taxpayer's total estimated tax for the current calendar year shall be due on or before April 15, June 15, September 15, and December 15 of such year, except that all companies transacting insurance in this State whose annual tax for the immediately preceding calendar year was less than $5,000 shall make only an annual return. Failure of a company to make the annual payment, or to make the quarterly payments, if required, of at least 25% of either (i) the total tax paid during the previous calendar year or (ii) 80% of the actual tax for the current calendar year shall subject it to the penalty provisions set forth in Section 412 of this Code.
    (b) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, no annual return shall be required or made on March 15, 1998, under this subsection. For the calendar year 1998:
        (i) each health maintenance organization shall have
    
no estimated tax installments;
        (ii) all companies subject to the tax as of July 1,
    
1998 as set forth in subsection (1) shall have estimated tax installments due on September 15 and December 15 of 1998 which installments shall each amount to no less than one-half of 80% of the actual tax on its net taxable premium written during the period July 1, 1998, through December 31, 1998; and
        (iii) all other companies shall have estimated tax
    
installments due on June 15, September 15, and December 15 of 1998 which installments shall each amount to no less than one-third of 80% of the actual tax on its net taxable premium written during the calendar year 1998.
    In the year 1999 and thereafter all companies shall make annual and quarterly installments of their estimated tax as provided by paragraph (a) of this subsection.
    (5) In addition to the authority specifically granted under Article XXV of this Code, the Director shall have such authority to adopt rules and establish forms as may be reasonably necessary for purposes of determining the allocation of Illinois corporate income taxes paid under subsections (a) through (d) of Section 201 of the Illinois Income Tax Act amongst members of a business group that files an Illinois corporate income tax return on a unitary basis, for purposes of regulating the amendment of tax returns, for purposes of defining terms, and for purposes of enforcing the provisions of Article XXV of this Code. The Director shall also have authority to defer, waive, or abate the tax imposed by this Section if in his opinion the company's solvency and ability to meet its insured obligations would be immediately threatened by payment of the tax due.
    (6) This Section is subject to the provisions of Section 10 of the New Markets Development Program Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-1169, eff. 1-9-15.)

215 ILCS 5/410

    (215 ILCS 5/410) (from Ch. 73, par. 1022)
    Sec. 410. Reports and statements for purpose of auditing retaliatory and privilege tax returns. (1) For the purpose of enabling the Director to audit the retaliatory and privilege tax calculation of a company liable for such tax under the provisions of Sections 409, 444 and 444.1, every such company, in addition to all other statements and reports required by law, shall file a report in writing with the Director not later than March 1 of each year, in the form prescribed by the Director, signed and sworn to by its president, vice president, secretary, treasurer or manager.
    (2) In every such return the reporting of premiums for tax purposes shall be on a written basis or on a paid for basis, consistent with the basis required by the annual statement of the insurer filed with the Director pursuant to Section 136.
    (3) The Director may require at any time verified supplemental statements with reference to any matter pertinent to the proper calculation of the tax.
(Source: P.A. 82-767.)

215 ILCS 5/412

    (215 ILCS 5/412) (from Ch. 73, par. 1024)
    Sec. 412. Refunds; penalties; collection.
    (1)(a) Whenever it appears to the satisfaction of the Director that because of some mistake of fact, error in calculation, or erroneous interpretation of a statute of this or any other state, any authorized company, surplus line producer, or industrial insured has paid to him, pursuant to any provision of law, taxes, fees, or other charges in excess of the amount legally chargeable against it, during the 6 year period immediately preceding the discovery of such overpayment, he shall have power to refund to such company, surplus line producer, or industrial insured the amount of the excess or excesses by applying the amount or amounts thereof toward the payment of taxes, fees, or other charges already due, or which may thereafter become due from that company until such excess or excesses have been fully refunded, or upon a written request from the authorized company, surplus line producer, or industrial insured, the Director shall provide a cash refund within 120 days after receipt of the written request if all necessary information has been filed with the Department in order for it to perform an audit of the tax report for the transaction or period or annual return for the year in which the overpayment occurred or within 120 days after the date the Department receives all the necessary information to perform such audit. The Director shall not provide a cash refund if there are insufficient funds in the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund to provide a cash refund, if the amount of the overpayment is less than $100, or if the amount of the overpayment can be fully offset against the taxpayer's estimated liability for the year following the year of the cash refund request. Any cash refund shall be paid from the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund, a special fund hereby created in the State treasury.
    (b) Beginning January 1, 2000 and thereafter, the Department shall deposit a percentage of the amounts collected under Sections 409, 444, and 444.1 of this Code into the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund. The percentage deposited into the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund shall be the annual percentage. The annual percentage shall be calculated as a fraction, the numerator of which shall be the amount of cash refunds approved by the Director for payment and paid during the preceding calendar year as a result of overpayment of tax liability under Sections 121-2.08, 409, 444, 444.1, and 445 of this Code and the denominator of which shall be the amounts collected pursuant to Sections 121-2.08, 409, 444, 444.1, and 445 of this Code during the preceding calendar year. However, if there were no cash refunds paid in a preceding calendar year, the Department shall deposit 5% of the amount collected in that preceding calendar year pursuant to Sections 121-2.08, 409, 444, 444.1, and 445 of this Code into the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund instead of an amount calculated by using the annual percentage.
    (c) Beginning July 1, 1999, moneys in the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund shall be expended exclusively for the purpose of paying cash refunds resulting from overpayment of tax liability under Sections 121-2.08, 409, 444, 444.1, and 445 of this Code as determined by the Director pursuant to subsection 1(a) of this Section. Cash refunds made in accordance with this Section may be made from the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund only to the extent that amounts have been deposited and retained in the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund.
    (d) This Section shall constitute an irrevocable and continuing appropriation from the Insurance Premium Tax Refund Fund for the purpose of paying cash refunds pursuant to the provisions of this Section.
    (2)(a) When any insurance company fails to file any tax return required under Sections 408.1, 409, 444, and 444.1 of this Code or Section 12 of the Fire Investigation Act on the date prescribed, including any extensions, there shall be added as a penalty $400 or 10% of the amount of such tax, whichever is greater, for each month or part of a month of failure to file, the entire penalty not to exceed $2,000 or 50% of the tax due, whichever is greater.
    (b) When any industrial insured or surplus line producer fails to file any tax return or report required under Sections 121-2.08 and 445 of this Code or Section 12 of the Fire Investigation Act on the date prescribed, including any extensions, there shall be added:
        (i) as a late fee, if the return or report is
    
received at least one day but not more than 7 days after the prescribed due date, $400 or 10% of the tax due, whichever is greater, the entire fee not to exceed $1,000;
        (ii) as a late fee, if the return or report is
    
received at least 8 days but not more than 14 days after the prescribed due date, $400 or 10% of the tax due, whichever is greater, the entire fee not to exceed $1,500;
        (iii) as a late fee, if the return or report is
    
received at least 15 days but not more than 21 days after the prescribed due date, $400 or 10% of the tax due, whichever is greater, the entire fee not to exceed $2,000; or
        (iv) as a penalty, if the return or report is
    
received more than 21 days after the prescribed due date, $400 or 10% of the tax due, whichever is greater, for each month or part of a month of failure to file, the entire penalty not to exceed $2,000 or 50% of the tax due, whichever is greater.
    A tax return or report shall be deemed received as of the date mailed as evidenced by a postmark, proof of mailing on a recognized United States Postal Service form or a form acceptable to the United States Postal Service or other commercial mail delivery service, or other evidence acceptable to the Director.
    (3)(a) When any insurance company fails to pay the full amount due under the provisions of this Section, Sections 408.1, 409, 444, or 444.1 of this Code, or Section 12 of the Fire Investigation Act, there shall be added to the amount due as a penalty an amount equal to 10% of the deficiency.
    (a-5) When any industrial insured or surplus line producer fails to pay the full amount due under the provisions of this Section, Sections 121-2.08 or 445 of this Code, or Section 12 of the Fire Investigation Act on the date prescribed, there shall be added:
        (i) as a late fee, if the payment is received at
    
least one day but not more than 7 days after the prescribed due date, 10% of the tax due, the entire fee not to exceed $1,000;
        (ii) as a late fee, if the payment is received at
    
least 8 days but not more than 14 days after the prescribed due date, 10% of the tax due, the entire fee not to exceed $1,500;
        (iii) as a late fee, if the payment is received at
    
least 15 days but not more than 21 days after the prescribed due date, 10% of the tax due, the entire fee not to exceed $2,000; or
        (iv) as a penalty, if the return or report is
    
received more than 21 days after the prescribed due date, 10% of the tax due.
    A tax payment shall be deemed received as of the date mailed as evidenced by a postmark, proof of mailing on a recognized United States Postal Service form or a form acceptable to the United States Postal Service or other commercial mail delivery service, or other evidence acceptable to the Director.
    (b) If such failure to pay is determined by the Director to be wilful, after a hearing under Sections 402 and 403, there shall be added to the tax as a penalty an amount equal to the greater of 50% of the deficiency or 10% of the amount due and unpaid for each month or part of a month that the deficiency remains unpaid commencing with the date that the amount becomes due. Such amount shall be in lieu of any determined under paragraph (a) or (a-5).
    (4) Any insurance company, industrial insured, or surplus line producer that fails to pay the full amount due under this Section or Sections 121-2.08, 408.1, 409, 444, 444.1, or 445 of this Code, or Section 12 of the Fire Investigation Act is liable, in addition to the tax and any late fees and penalties, for interest on such deficiency at the rate of 12% per annum, or at such higher adjusted rates as are or may be established under subsection (b) of Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, from the date that payment of any such tax was due, determined without regard to any extensions, to the date of payment of such amount.
    (5) The Director, through the Attorney General, may institute an action in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, in any court of competent jurisdiction, for the recovery of the amount of such taxes, fees, and penalties due, and prosecute the same to final judgment, and take such steps as are necessary to collect the same.
    (6) In the event that the certificate of authority of a foreign or alien company is revoked for any cause or the company withdraws from this State prior to the renewal date of the certificate of authority as provided in Section 114, the company may recover the amount of any such tax paid in advance. Except as provided in this subsection, no revocation or withdrawal excuses payment of or constitutes grounds for the recovery of any taxes or penalties imposed by this Code.
    (7) When an insurance company or domestic affiliated group fails to pay the full amount of any fee of $200 or more due under Section 408 of this Code, there shall be added to the amount due as a penalty the greater of $100 or an amount equal to 10% of the deficiency for each month or part of a month that the deficiency remains unpaid.
    (8) The Department shall have a lien for the taxes, fees, charges, fines, penalties, interest, other charges, or any portion thereof, imposed or assessed pursuant to this Code, upon all the real and personal property of any company or person to whom the assessment or final order has been issued or whenever a tax return is filed without payment of the tax or penalty shown therein to be due, including all such property of the company or person acquired after receipt of the assessment, issuance of the order, or filing of the return. The company or person is liable for the filing fee incurred by the Department for filing the lien and the filing fee incurred by the Department to file the release of that lien. The filing fees shall be paid to the Department in addition to payment of the tax, fee, charge, fine, penalty, interest, other charges, or any portion thereof, included in the amount of the lien. However, where the lien arises because of the issuance of a final order of the Director or tax assessment by the Department, the lien shall not attach and the notice referred to in this Section shall not be filed until all administrative proceedings or proceedings in court for review of the final order or assessment have terminated or the time for the taking thereof has expired without such proceedings being instituted.
    Upon the granting of Department review after a lien has attached, the lien shall remain in full force except to the extent to which the final assessment may be reduced by a revised final assessment following the rehearing or review. The lien created by the issuance of a final assessment shall terminate, unless a notice of lien is filed, within 3 years after the date all proceedings in court for the review of the final assessment have terminated or the time for the taking thereof has expired without such proceedings being instituted, or (in the case of a revised final assessment issued pursuant to a rehearing or review by the Department) within 3 years after the date all proceedings in court for the review of such revised final assessment have terminated or the time for the taking thereof has expired without such proceedings being instituted. Where the lien results from the filing of a tax return without payment of the tax or penalty shown therein to be due, the lien shall terminate, unless a notice of lien is filed, within 3 years after the date when the return is filed with the Department.
    The time limitation period on the Department's right to file a notice of lien shall not run during any period of time in which the order of any court has the effect of enjoining or restraining the Department from filing such notice of lien. If the Department finds that a company or person is about to depart from the State, to conceal himself or his property, or to do any other act tending to prejudice or to render wholly or partly ineffectual proceedings to collect the amount due and owing to the Department unless such proceedings are brought without delay, or if the Department finds that the collection of the amount due from any company or person will be jeopardized by delay, the Department shall give the company or person notice of such findings and shall make demand for immediate return and payment of the amount, whereupon the amount shall become immediately due and payable. If the company or person, within 5 days after the notice (or within such extension of time as the Department may grant), does not comply with the notice or show to the Department that the findings in the notice are erroneous, the Department may file a notice of jeopardy assessment lien in the office of the recorder of the county in which any property of the company or person may be located and shall notify the company or person of the filing. The jeopardy assessment lien shall have the same scope and effect as the statutory lien provided for in this Section. If the company or person believes that the company or person does not owe some or all of the tax for which the jeopardy assessment lien against the company or person has been filed, or that no jeopardy to the revenue in fact exists, the company or person may protest within 20 days after being notified by the Department of the filing of the jeopardy assessment lien and request a hearing, whereupon the Department shall hold a hearing in conformity with the provisions of this Code and, pursuant thereto, shall notify the company or person of its findings as to whether or not the jeopardy assessment lien will be released. If not, and if the company or person is aggrieved by this decision, the company or person may file an action for judicial review of the final determination of the Department in accordance with the Administrative Review Law. If, pursuant to such hearing (or after an independent determination of the facts by the Department without a hearing), the Department determines that some or all of the amount due covered by the jeopardy assessment lien is not owed by the company or person, or that no jeopardy to the revenue exists, or if on judicial review the final judgment of the court is that the company or person does not owe some or all of the amount due covered by the jeopardy assessment lien against them, or that no jeopardy to the revenue exists, the Department shall release its jeopardy assessment lien to the extent of such finding of nonliability for the amount, or to the extent of such finding of no jeopardy to the revenue. The Department shall also release its jeopardy assessment lien against the company or person whenever the amount due and owing covered by the lien, plus any interest which may be due, are paid and the company or person has paid the Department in cash or by guaranteed remittance an amount representing the filing fee for the lien and the filing fee for the release of that lien. The Department shall file that release of lien with the recorder of the county where that lien was filed.
    Nothing in this Section shall be construed to give the Department a preference over the rights of any bona fide purchaser, holder of a security interest, mechanics lienholder, mortgagee, or judgment lien creditor arising prior to the filing of a regular notice of lien or a notice of jeopardy assessment lien in the office of the recorder in the county in which the property subject to the lien is located. For purposes of this Section, "bona fide" shall not include any mortgage of real or personal property or any other credit transaction that results in the mortgagee or the holder of the security acting as trustee for unsecured creditors of the company or person mentioned in the notice of lien who executed such chattel or real property mortgage or the document evidencing such credit transaction. The lien shall be inferior to the lien of general taxes, special assessments, and special taxes levied by any political subdivision of this State. In case title to land to be affected by the notice of lien or notice of jeopardy assessment lien is registered under the provisions of the Registered Titles (Torrens) Act, such notice shall be filed in the office of the Registrar of Titles of the county within which the property subject to the lien is situated and shall be entered upon the register of titles as a memorial or charge upon each folium of the register of titles affected by such notice, and the Department shall not have a preference over the rights of any bona fide purchaser, mortgagee, judgment creditor, or other lienholder arising prior to the registration of such notice. The regular lien or jeopardy assessment lien shall not be effective against any purchaser with respect to any item in a retailer's stock in trade purchased from the retailer in the usual course of the retailer's business.
(Source: P.A. 98-158, eff. 8-2-13; 98-978, eff. 1-1-15.)

215 ILCS 5/413

    (215 ILCS 5/413) (from Ch. 73, par. 1025)
    Sec. 413. Privilege Tax Payable on Admission of Foreign or Alien Company.
    (1) Every foreign or alien company applying for a certificate of authority to transact business in this State shall pay to the Director a tax for the privilege of transacting business in this State in accordance with Section 409.
    (2) If during all or any part of the 3 year period next preceding the date of application for a certificate of authority the company had a certificate of authority to transact business in this State, or if it survives or was formed by a merger, consolidation, reorganization or reincorporation, and one or more of the parties thereto was a foreign or alien company authorized to transact business in this State during all or any part of such 3 year period, then the tax shall be determined in accordance with Section 409 on the basis of the last entire calendar year during which the company or any one of the foreign or alien companies parties to the merger, consolidation, reorganization or reincorporation was authorized to transact business in this State, or if none was authorized during any entire calendar year, then on the basis of the last partial calendar year during which any of such companies were authorized to transact business in this State.
(Source: P.A. 77-2087.)

215 ILCS 5/414a

    (215 ILCS 5/414a) (from Ch. 73, par. 1026a)
    Sec. 414a. Notwithstanding the provisions of this or any other Act, the tax authorized by Section 414 of this Act shall not be imposed after January 1, 1979; provided that this Section shall not prohibit the collection after January 1, 1979 of any taxes levied under Section 414 prior to January 1, 1979, on property subject to assessment and taxation under Section 414 of this Act prior to January 1, 1979. For the purpose of replacing the revenue lost by taxing districts, as defined in Section 1-150 of the Property Tax Code, as a result of the abolition of ad valorem taxes on personal property after January 1, 1979, there shall be imposed the taxes described in Section 201(c) and (d) of the Illinois Income Tax Act, Section 2a.1 of the Messages Tax Act, Section 2a.1 of the Gas Revenue Tax Act, Section 2a.1 of the Public Utilities Revenue Act, and Section 1 of the Water Company Invested Capital Tax Act. Such replacement taxes owed within one year of the effective date of the taxes established by this amendatory Act of 1979 shall replace the personal property tax levies of 1979. The replacement taxes owed in each succeeding year shall replace the personal property tax that could have been levied in each succeeding year.
(Source: P.A. 88-670, eff. 12-2-94.)

215 ILCS 5/415

    (215 ILCS 5/415) (from Ch. 73, par. 1027)
    Sec. 415. No taxes to be imposed by political subdivisions. The fees, charges and taxes provided for by this Article shall be in lieu of all license fees or privilege or occupation taxes or other fees levied or assessed by any municipality, county or other political subdivision of this State, and no municipality, county or other political subdivision of this State shall impose any license fee or privilege or occupation tax or fee upon any domestic, foreign or alien company, or upon any of its agents, for the privilege of doing an insurance business therein, except the tax authorized by Division 10 of Article 11 of the Illinois Municipal Code, as heretofore and hereafter amended. This Section shall not be construed to prohibit the levy and collection of:
        (a) State, county or municipal taxes upon the real
    
and personal property of such a company, including the tax imposed by Section 414 of this Code, and
        (b) taxes for the purpose of maintaining the Office
    
of the State Fire Marshal and paying the expenses incident thereto.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

215 ILCS 5/416

    (215 ILCS 5/416)
    Sec. 416. Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge.
    (a) As of July 30, 2004 (the effective date of Public Act 93-840), every company licensed or authorized by the Illinois Department of Insurance and insuring employers' liabilities arising under the Workers' Compensation Act or the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act shall remit to the Director a surcharge based upon the annual direct written premium, as reported under Section 136 of this Act, of the company in the manner provided in this Section. Such proceeds shall be deposited into the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund as established in the Workers' Compensation Act. If a company survives or was formed by a merger, consolidation, reorganization, or reincorporation, the direct written premiums of all companies party to the merger, consolidation, reorganization, or reincorporation shall, for purposes of determining the amount of the fee imposed by this Section, be regarded as those of the surviving or new company.
    (b)(1) Except as provided in subsection (b)(2) of this Section, beginning on July 30, 2004 (the effective date of Public Act 93-840) and on July 1 of each year thereafter, the Director shall charge an annual Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge from every company subject to subsection (a) of this Section equal to 1.01% of its direct written premium for insuring employers' liabilities arising under the Workers' Compensation Act or Workers' Occupational Diseases Act as reported in each company's annual statement filed for the previous year as required by Section 136. The Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge shall be collected by companies subject to subsection (a) of this Section as a separately stated surcharge on insured employers at the rate of 1.01% of direct written premium. The Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge shall not be collected by companies subject to subsection (a) of this Section from any employer that self-insures its liabilities arising under the Workers' Compensation Act or Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, provided that the employer has paid the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Fee pursuant to Section 4d of the Workers' Compensation Act. All sums collected by the Department of Insurance under the provisions of this Section shall be paid promptly after the receipt of the same, accompanied by a detailed statement thereof, into the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund in the State treasury.
    (b)(2) The surcharge due pursuant to Public Act 93-840 shall be collected instead of the surcharge due on July 1, 2004 under Public Act 93-32. Payment of the surcharge due under Public Act 93-840 shall discharge the employer's obligations due on July 1, 2004.
    (c) In addition to the authority specifically granted under Article XXV of this Code, the Director shall have such authority to adopt rules or establish forms as may be reasonably necessary for purposes of enforcing this Section. The Director shall also have authority to defer, waive, or abate the surcharge or any penalties imposed by this Section if in the Director's opinion the company's solvency and ability to meet its insured obligations would be immediately threatened by payment of the surcharge due.
    (d) When a company fails to pay the full amount of any annual Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge of $100 or more due under this Section, there shall be added to the amount due as a penalty the greater of $1,000 or an amount equal to 5% of the deficiency for each month or part of a month that the deficiency remains unpaid.
    (e) The Department of Insurance may enforce the collection of any delinquent payment, penalty, or portion thereof by legal action or in any other manner by which the collection of debts due the State of Illinois may be enforced under the laws of this State.
    (f) Whenever it appears to the satisfaction of the Director that a company has paid pursuant to this Act an Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge in an amount in excess of the amount legally collectable from the company, the Director shall issue a credit memorandum for an amount equal to the amount of such overpayment. A credit memorandum may be applied for the 2-year period from the date of issuance, against the payment of any amount due during that period under the surcharge imposed by this Section or, subject to reasonable rule of the Department of Insurance including requirement of notification, may be assigned to any other company subject to regulation under this Act. Any application of credit memoranda after the period provided for in this Section is void.
    (g) Annually, the Governor may direct a transfer of up to 2% of all moneys collected under this Section to the Insurance Financial Regulation Fund.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)