Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

REVENUE
(35 ILCS 200/) Property Tax Code.

35 ILCS 200/21-350

    (35 ILCS 200/21-350)
    Sec. 21-350. Period of redemption. Property sold under this Code may be redeemed at any time before the expiration of 2 years from the date of sale, except that:
        (a) If on the date of sale the property is vacant
    
non-farm property or property containing an improvement consisting of a structure or structures with 7 or more residential units or that is commercial or industrial property, it may be redeemed at any time before the expiration of 6 months from the date of sale if the property, at the time of sale, was for each of 2 or more years delinquent or forfeited for all or part of the general taxes due on the property.
        (b) If on the date of sale the property sold was
    
improved with a structure consisting of at least one and not more than 6 dwelling units it may be redeemed at any time on or before the expiration of 2 years and 6 months from the date of sale. If, however, the court that ordered the property sold, upon the verified petition of the holder of the certificate of purchase brought within 4 months from the date of sale, finds and declares that the structure on the property is abandoned, then the court may order that the property may be redeemed at any time on or before the expiration of 2 years from the date of sale. Notice of the hearing on a petition to declare the property abandoned shall be given to the owner or owners of the property and to the person in whose name the taxes were last assessed, by certified or registered mail sent to their last known addresses at least 5 days before the date of the hearing.
        (c) If the period of redemption has been extended by
    
the certificate holder as provided in Section 21-385, the property may be redeemed on or before the extended redemption date.
(Source: P.A. 86-286; 86-413; 86-418; 86-949; 86-1028; 86-1158; 86-1481; 87-145; 87-236; 87-435; 87-895; 87-1189; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-355

    (35 ILCS 200/21-355)
    Sec. 21-355. Amount of redemption. Any person desiring to redeem shall deposit an amount specified in this Section with the county clerk of the county in which the property is situated, in legal money of the United States, or by cashier's check, certified check, post office money order or money order issued by a financial institution insured by an agency or instrumentality of the United States, payable to the county clerk of the proper county. The deposit shall be deemed timely only if actually received in person at the county clerk's office prior to the close of business as defined in Section 3-2007 of the Counties Code on or before the expiration of the period of redemption or by United States mail with a post office cancellation mark dated not less than one day prior to the expiration of the period of redemption. The deposit shall be in an amount equal to the total of the following:
        (a) the certificate amount, which shall include all
    
tax principal, special assessments, interest and penalties paid by the tax purchaser together with costs and fees of sale and fees paid under Sections 21-295 and 21-315 through 21-335;
        (b) the accrued penalty, computed through the date of
    
redemption as a percentage of the certificate amount, as follows:
            (1) if the redemption occurs on or before the
        
expiration of 6 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times the penalty bid at sale;
            (2) if the redemption occurs after 6 months from
        
the date of sale, and on or before the expiration of 12 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times 2 times the penalty bid at sale;
            (3) if the redemption occurs after 12 months from
        
the date of sale and on or before the expiration of 18 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times 3 times the penalty bid at sale;
            (4) if the redemption occurs after 18 months from
        
the date of sale and on or before the expiration of 24 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times 4 times the penalty bid at sale;
            (5) if the redemption occurs after 24 months from
        
the date of sale and on or before the expiration of 30 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times 5 times the penalty bid at sale;
            (6) if the redemption occurs after 30 months from
        
the date of sale and on or before the expiration of 36 months from the date of sale, the certificate amount times 6 times the penalty bid at sale.
            In the event that the property to be redeemed has
        
been purchased under Section 21-405, the penalty bid shall be 12% per penalty period as set forth in subparagraphs (1) through (6) of this subsection (b). The changes to this subdivision (b)(6) made by this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly are not a new enactment, but declaratory of existing law.
        (c) The total of all taxes, special assessments,
    
accrued interest on those taxes and special assessments and costs charged in connection with the payment of those taxes or special assessments, which have been paid by the tax certificate holder on or after the date those taxes or special assessments became delinquent together with 12% penalty on each amount so paid for each year or portion thereof intervening between the date of that payment and the date of redemption. In counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, however, a tax certificate holder may not pay all or part of an installment of a subsequent tax or special assessment for any year, nor shall any tender of such a payment be accepted, until after the second or final installment of the subsequent tax or special assessment has become delinquent or until after the holder of the certificate of purchase has filed a petition for a tax deed under Section 22.30. The person redeeming shall also pay the amount of interest charged on the subsequent tax or special assessment and paid as a penalty by the tax certificate holder. This amendatory Act of 1995 applies to tax years beginning with the 1995 taxes, payable in 1996, and thereafter.
        (d) Any amount paid to redeem a forfeiture occurring
    
subsequent to the tax sale together with 12% penalty thereon for each year or portion thereof intervening between the date of the forfeiture redemption and the date of redemption from the sale.
        (e) Any amount paid by the certificate holder for
    
redemption of a subsequently occurring tax sale.
        (f) All fees paid to the county clerk under Section
    
22-5.
        (g) All fees paid to the registrar of titles incident
    
to registering the tax certificate in compliance with the Registered Titles (Torrens) Act.
        (h) All fees paid to the circuit clerk and the
    
sheriff, a licensed or registered private detective, or the coroner in connection with the filing of the petition for tax deed and service of notices under Sections 22-15 through 22-30 and 22-40 in addition to (1) a fee of $35 if a petition for tax deed has been filed, which fee shall be posted to the tax judgement, sale, redemption, and forfeiture record, to be paid to the purchaser or his or her assignee; (2) a fee of $4 if a notice under Section 22-5 has been filed, which fee shall be posted to the tax judgment, sale, redemption, and forfeiture record, to be paid to the purchaser or his or her assignee; (3) all costs paid to record a lis pendens notice in connection with filing a petition under this Code; and (4) if a petition for tax deed has been filed, all fees up to $150 per redemption paid to a registered or licensed title insurance company or title insurance agent for a title search to identify all owners, parties interested, and occupants of the property, to be paid to the purchaser or his or her assignee. The fees in (1) and (2) of this paragraph (h) shall be exempt from the posting requirements of Section 21-360. The costs incurred in causing notices to be served by a licensed or registered private detective under Section 22-15, may not exceed the amount that the sheriff would be authorized by law to charge if those notices had been served by the sheriff.
        (i) All fees paid for publication of notice of the
    
tax sale in accordance with Section 22-20.
        (j) All sums paid to any county, city, village or
    
incorporated town for reimbursement under Section 22-35.
        (k) All costs and expenses of receivership under
    
Section 21-410, to the extent that these costs and expenses exceed any income from the property in question, if the costs and expenditures have been approved by the court appointing the receiver and a certified copy of the order or approval is filed and posted by the certificate holder with the county clerk. Only actual costs expended may be posted on the tax judgment, sale, redemption and forfeiture record.
(Source: P.A. 98-1162, eff. 6-1-15.)

35 ILCS 200/21-360

    (35 ILCS 200/21-360)
    Sec. 21-360. Posting requirements. Except as otherwise provided in Section 21-355, the county clerk shall not be required to include amounts described in paragraphs (c) through (k) of Section 21-355 in the payment for redemption or the amount received for redemption, nor shall payment thereof be a charge on the property sold for taxes, unless the tax certificate holder has filed and posted with the county clerk prior to redemption and in any event not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the period of redemption or extended period of redemption an official, original or duplicate receipt for payment of those fees, costs and expenses permitted under paragraphs (c) through (k) of Section 21-355.
(Source: P.A. 86-286; 86-413; 86-418; 86-949; 86-1028; 86-1158; 86-1481; 87-145; 87-236; 87-435; 87-895; 87-1189; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-365

    (35 ILCS 200/21-365)
    Sec. 21-365. Deficiency judgment. If the sold property is not redeemed, a deficiency judgment shall not be taken on account of the receivership proceedings against the owner or owners of the property. In the event that income to the receiver exceeds expenditures, net income is to be deposited with the clerk of the court ordering the tax sale and shall be distributed as determined by the court ordering the appointment of the receiver.
(Source: P.A. 86-286; 86-413; 86-418; 86-949; 86-1028; 86-1158; 86-1481; 87-145; 87-236; 87-435; 87-895; 87-1189; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-370

    (35 ILCS 200/21-370)
    Sec. 21-370. Redemption of forfeited property. Except as otherwise provided in Section 21-375, any property forfeited to the state may be redeemed or sold in the following manner:
    When property has been forfeited for delinquent general taxes, the person desiring to redeem shall apply to the county clerk who shall order the county collector to receive from the person the amount of the forfeited general taxes, statutory costs, interest prior to forfeiture, printer's fees due thereon and, in addition, forfeiture interest at a rate of 12% per year or fraction thereof. Upon presentation of the county clerk's order to the county collector, the collector shall receive the amount due on account of forfeited general taxes and give the person duplicate receipts, setting forth a description of the property and amount received. One of the receipts shall be countersigned by the county clerk and, when so countersigned, shall be evidence of the redemption of the property. The receipt shall not be valid until it is countersigned by the county clerk. The other receipt shall be filed by the county clerk in his or her office, and the clerk shall make a proper entry of the redemption of the property on the appropriate books in his or her office and charge the amount of the redemption to the county collector.
    In counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, when property has been forfeited because of the nonpayment of delinquent special assessments, the county clerk shall collect from the person desiring to redeem the amount due on the delinquent special assessment, together with the interest, costs and penalties fixed by law, and shall issue a receipt therefor setting forth a description of the property and the amount received. The receipt shall be evidence of the redemption of the property therein described. In addition, the city comptroller or other officer designated and authorized by the city council, board of trustees or other governing body of any municipal corporation which levied any special assessment shall have power to collect the amounts due on properties which have been forfeited, and the interest and penalties due thereon, based upon an estimate of the cost of redemption computed by the county clerk and at a rate to be fixed by the city council, board of trustees or other governing body as to the interest and penalties due thereon and shall issue a receipt therefor. The person receiving the receipt shall file with the county clerk the receipt of the municipal officer that such special assessments and interest and penalties have been paid. Upon the presentation of the receipt the county clerk shall issue to the person a certificate of cancellation setting forth a description of the property, the special assessment warrant and installment, and the amount received by the municipal officer. The certificate of cancellation shall be evidence of the redemption of the property therein described. The city council, board of trustees, or other governing body may authorize the municipal officer to waive penalties for the first year in excess of 7%. The form of the receipt of redemption for filing with the county clerk shall be as prescribed by law.
    In counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, when property has been forfeited in whole or in part for the non-payment of delinquent special assessments, the person desiring to redeem shall apply to the municipal collector who shall receive the amount due on the delinquent special assessment, together with the interest, costs and penalties fixed by law, and issue a certificate therefor. The recipient shall file the certificate of the municipal collector that the special assessments and the costs, interest and penalties thereon have been paid with the county clerk. The municipal collector's certificate of payment shall be filed by the county clerk in his or her office and the clerk shall make a proper entry of the redemption on the books in his or her office.
(Source: P.A. 87-669; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-375

    (35 ILCS 200/21-375)
    Sec. 21-375. Partial redemption of forfeited properties. In counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, when forfeited taxes on a property remain unpaid for one or more years, it is permissible to pay to the county or township collector, one or more full years of back or forfeited taxes, interest prior to forfeiture, statutory costs, printers' fees, and forfeiture interest or penalties, attaching thereto beginning with the earliest year for which the taxes are unpaid. In no case shall payment on account of a designated years' taxes be accepted unless the sums due for prior years have first been paid or are tendered at the same time.
    Any person seeking to make payments under this Section shall notify the county clerk of his or her intention in person or by agent or in writing. If notice is given while the collector has possession of the collector's books, the county clerk shall prepare an addendum to be presented to the collector and attached, by the collector, to the collector's books on which the description of the property involved appears, which addendum shall become a part of the collector's books. If notice is given after the tax sale, but before receipt by the county collector of the current collector's books, the county clerk shall prepare an addendum and attach it to the Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption, and Forfeiture record, on which the property involved appears, which addendum shall become a part of that record.
    The addendum shall show separately, for the year or years to be paid, (a) the amount of back or forfeited taxes, (b) interest prior to forfeiture, (c) statutory costs and printers' fees, and (d) forfeiture interest or penalties attaching thereto. The county clerk shall, at the same time, order the county or town collector to receive from the person the amount due on account of the taxes, for the year or years determined as provided above, of the back or forfeited taxes, interest prior to forfeiture, statutory costs, printers' fees, and forfeiture interest or penalties to date attaching to the back or forfeited taxes.
    Upon presentation of the order from the county clerk, and receipt of the addendum if the books are in the collector's possession, the collector shall receive the sum tendered on account of the taxes for the year or years designated, and make out duplicate receipts therefor. The receipts shall set forth a description of the property, the year or years paid, and the total amount received. One copy of the receipt shall be given the person making payment and, when countersigned by the county clerk, shall be evidence of the payment therein set forth. The second copy shall be filed by the county clerk in his or her office.
    If the collector's books are in the collector's possession, he or she shall enter the payment on the current collector's books or addendum, and he or she shall also enter any unpaid balance on the Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption and Forfeiture record at the proper time.
    After the tax sale and before receipt by the county collector of the current collector's books, the county clerk shall make a proper entry on the Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption and Forfeiture record, and shall charge the county collector with the sum received. The county clerk shall also enter any unpaid balance on the county collector's books at the proper time.
    The county collector shall distribute all sums received as required by law.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-380

    (35 ILCS 200/21-380)
    Sec. 21-380. Redemption under protest. Any person redeeming under this Section at a time subsequent to the filing of a petition under Section 22-30 or 21-445, who desires to preserve his or her right to defend against the petition for a tax deed, shall accompany the deposit for redemption with a writing substantially in the following form:
Redemption Under Protest
Tax Deed Case No. ............................................
Vol. No. .....................................................
Property Index No.
    or Legal Description. ....................................
Original Amount of Tax $. ....................................
Amount Deposited for Redemption $. ...........................
Name of Petitioner. ..........................................
Tax Year Included in Judgment. ...............................
Date of Sale. ................................................
Expiration Date of the Period of Redemption. .................
To the county clerk of ........ County:
    This redemption is made under protest for the following reasons: (here set forth and specify the grounds relied upon for the objection)
Name of party redeeming. .....................................
Address. .....................................................
    Any grounds for the objection not specified at the time of the redemption under protest shall not be considered by the court. The specified grounds for the objections shall be limited to those defenses as would provide sufficient basis to deny entry of an order for issuance of a tax deed. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to authorize or revive any objection to the tax sale or underlying taxes which was estopped by entry of the order for sale as set forth in Section 22-75.
    The person protesting shall present to the county clerk 3 copies of the written protest signed by himself or herself. The clerk shall write or stamp the date of receipt upon the copies and sign them. He or she shall retain one of the copies, another he or she shall deliver to the person making the redemption, who shall file the copy with the clerk of the court in which the tax deed petition is pending, and the third he or she shall forward to the petitioner named therein.
    The county clerk shall enter the redemption as provided in Section 21-230 and shall note the redemption under protest. The redemption money so deposited shall not be distributed to the holder of the certificate of purchase but shall be retained by the county clerk pending disposition of the petition filed under Section 22-30.
    Redemption under protest constitutes the appearance of the person protesting in the proceedings under Sections 22-30 through 22-55 and that person shall present a defense to the petition for tax deed at the time which the court directs. Failure to appear and defend shall constitute a waiver of the protest and the court shall order the redemption money distributed to the holder of the certificate of purchase upon surrender of that certificate and shall dismiss the proceedings.
    When the party redeeming appears and presents a defense, the court shall hear and determine the matter. If the defense is not sustained, the court shall order the protest stricken and direct the county clerk to distribute the redemption money upon surrender of the certificate of purchase and shall order the party redeeming to pay the petitioner reasonable expenses, actually incurred, including the cost of withheld redemption money, together with a reasonable attorneys fee. Upon a finding sustaining the protest in whole or in part, the court may declare the sale to be a sale in error under Section 21-310 or Section 22-45, and shall direct the county clerk to return all or part of the redemption money or deposit to the party redeeming.
(Source: P.A. 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)

35 ILCS 200/21-385

    (35 ILCS 200/21-385)
    Sec. 21-385. Extension of period of redemption. The purchaser or his or her assignee of property sold for nonpayment of general taxes or special assessments may extend the period of redemption at any time before the expiration of the original period of redemption, or thereafter prior to the expiration of any extended period of redemption, for a period which will expire not later than 3 years from the date of sale, by filing with the county clerk of the county in which the property is located a written notice to that effect describing the property, stating the date of the sale and specifying the extended period of redemption. If prior to the expiration of the period of redemption or extended period of redemption a petition for tax deed has been filed under Section 22-30, upon application of the petitioner, the court shall allow the purchaser or his or her assignee to extend the period of redemption after expiration of the original period or any extended period of redemption, provided that any extension allowed will expire not later than 3 years from the date of sale. If the period of redemption is extended, the purchaser or his or her assignee must give the notices provided for in Section 22-10 at the specified times prior to the expiration of the extended period of redemption by causing a sheriff (or if he or she is disqualified, a coroner) of the county in which the property, or any part thereof, is located to serve the notices as provided in Sections 22-15 and 22-20. The notices may also be served as provided in Sections 22-15 and 22-20 by a special process server appointed by the court under Section 22-15.
(Source: P.A. 91-209, eff. 1-1-00; 91-554, eff. 8-14-99.)

35 ILCS 200/21-390

    (35 ILCS 200/21-390)
    Sec. 21-390. Effect of receipt of redemption money, forfeiture, withdrawal or return of certificate. The receipt of the redemption money on any property by any purchaser or assignee, on account of any forfeiture or withdrawal, or the return of the certificate of purchase, withdrawal or forfeiture for cancellation, shall operate as a release of the claim to the property under, or by virtue of, the purchase, withdrawal or forfeiture. However, when a certificate of purchase has been recorded in the office of the county recorder by any city, incorporated town or village with 1,000,000 or more inhabitants in which the property is situated, the recording of a certificate by the County Clerk, reciting the cancellation of the certificate of purchase on the tax judgment, sale, redemption and forfeiture record, shall operate as a release of the lien of the city, incorporated town, or village under the certificate of purchase.
(Source: P.A. 83-358; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-395

    (35 ILCS 200/21-395)
    Sec. 21-395. County clerk to pay successor redemption money collected. At the expiration of his or her term of office, the county clerk shall pay over to the successor in office all moneys in his or her hands received for redemption from sale for taxes on property.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-397

    (35 ILCS 200/21-397)
    Sec. 21-397. Notice of order setting aside redemption. In counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, if an order is entered setting aside a redemption made within the time allowed by law after a petition for tax deed has been filed, the holder of the certificate of purchase shall mail a copy of the order within 7 days of entry of the order by registered or certified mail to the county clerk, to the person who made the redemption, and to all parties entitled to notice of the petition under Section 22-10, 22-15, or 22-25. The order shall provide that any person who was entitled to redeem may pay to the county clerk within 30 days after the entry of the order the amount necessary to redeem the property from the sale as of the last day of the period of redemption. The county clerk shall make an entry in the annual tax judgment, sale, redemption, and forfeiture record reflecting the entry of the order and shall immediately upon request provide an estimate of the amount required to effect a redemption as of the last date of the period of redemption. If the amount is paid within 30 days after entry of the order, then the court shall enter an order declaring the taxes to be paid as if the property had been redeemed within the time required by law and dismissing the petition for tax deed. A tax deed shall not be issued within the 30-day period. Upon surrender of the certificate of purchase, the county clerk shall distribute the funds deposited as if a timely redemption had been made. This Section applies to all redemptions that occur after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 91-564, eff. 8-14-99.)

35 ILCS 200/Art. 21 Div. 8

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 21 Div. 8 heading)
Division 8. Other procedures

35 ILCS 200/21-400

    (35 ILCS 200/21-400)
    Sec. 21-400. Special assessments withdrawn or forfeited.
    In counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, the county clerk, upon request of the city comptroller or other municipal officer authorized by the city council or board of trustees of any city, village or incorporated town to make such request, shall issue to the city, village or incorporated town, a certificate of withdrawal or forfeiture countersigned by the county collector for each property withdrawn or forfeited for non-payment of any special assessment. The certificate of withdrawal or forfeiture shall describe the property withdrawn or forfeited, the date of the withdrawal or forfeiture, and the amount of the special assessment, interest and costs.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-405

    (35 ILCS 200/21-405)
    Sec. 21-405. Special assessments withdrawn or forfeited. When property has been forfeited for delinquent general taxes or special assessments, a person desiring to purchase the property shall make application to the county clerk. The application shall be accompanied by a fee of $10 in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants and $5 in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants for each item on which application is made. The county clerk shall promptly send notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the party in whose name the general taxes were last assessed or paid. The notice shall adequately describe the property, shall state the name and address of the party in whose name the general taxes were last assessed or paid, shall recite that application has been made to purchase the property for forfeited taxes or special assessments and that the property will be sold unless redemption is made within 30 days of the mailing of notice. For 30 days after the mailing, the property may be redeemed under Section 21-370.
    If redemption is not made, the county clerk shall receive from the purchaser the amount due on forfeited special assessments, together with the interest, costs and penalties thereon fixed by law, and shall issue an order to the county collector directing him or her to receive from the purchaser the amount of the forfeited general taxes, together with the costs, interest, fees and forfeiture interest provided in Section 21-370. In the order, the county clerk shall recite the amounts received by him or her on account of forfeited special assessments and shall direct the county collector to issue a receipt in the form of a certificate of purchase. Upon presentation of the order of the county clerk, the county collector shall receive the amount due on account of forfeited general taxes, and shall issue a receipt therefor in the form of a certificate of purchase.
    The certificate of purchase shall set forth a description of the property, and the amount paid by the purchaser on account of general taxes and special assessments, and shall be countersigned by the county clerk. When so countersigned, the certificate of purchase shall be evidence of the sale of the property and of the receipt by the county collector of the amounts ordered to be received by him or her by the county clerk on account of general taxes, and evidence of receipt by the county clerk of the amount received by him or her on account of forfeited special assessments. A certificate of purchase shall not be valid until it is countersigned by the county clerk. Upon countersigning the certificate, the county clerk shall make a proper entry of the sale of the property on the appropriate books, and charge the amount of the sale money of forfeited general taxes to the collector.
    Property purchased under this Section shall be subject to redemption, notice, etc., the same as if sold under Section 21-110 through 21-120. Any special assessment which has been withdrawn from collection by the municipality levying it shall not be subject to sale, but the purchaser, prior to the entry of any order for the issuance of a tax deed based on a sale under this Section, shall pay to the officer entitled to receive the amount due on all the withdrawn special assessments. The purchaser may file his or her receipts with the county clerk and have them posted on the tax judgment, sale, redemption and forfeiture record at the same rate of penalty and in the same manner as in the case of payment of taxes and special assessments accruing after the sale, as provided in Section 21-355.
(Source: P.A. 87-669; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-410

    (35 ILCS 200/21-410)
    Sec. 21-410. Waste; appointment of receiver. After any sale of property under this Code and until a tax deed has been issued or until redemption has been made, no waste shall be committed on any of the properties involved. The court which ordered the property to be sold may, upon verified petition of the holder of the certificate of purchase, take such action as the court deems necessary and desirable to prevent the commission of waste.
    If the property sold is improved with an abandoned building or structure or if any municipality or other local governmental body has legal action pending because the property violates local building, housing, or fire ordinances, or because the taxes on the property are delinquent for 2 or more years, the court which ordered the property to be sold may, upon verified petition of the holder of the certificate of purchase, enter an order for appointment of a receiver. Notice of the hearing for appointment of the receiver shall be given to the owner or owners of the property and to the person in whose name the taxes were last assessed, by certified or registered mail sent to their last known addresses, at least 5 days prior to the date of the hearing.
    The receiver may take only that action, subject to court approval, as is necessary for the preservation of the property or is necessary to correct conditions at the property that fail to conform to minimum standards of health and safety, as set forth in local ordinances. If a receiver is appointed, all costs and expenses advanced by the receiver shall be repaid as provided for in Section 21-355 before any redemption is considered complete. The receiver shall be discharged upon redemption from the tax sale or upon entry of an order directing issuance of a tax deed. Nothing herein contained is intended to prevent a court from appointing the holder of the certificate of purchase as receiver. The holder of the certificate of purchase shall be made a party to any action or proceeding to demolish or destroy improvements on property where the property has been sold for failure to pay taxes and the period of redemption has not expired.
(Source: P.A. 85-795; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-415

    (35 ILCS 200/21-415)
    Sec. 21-415. Reconveyance. When the grantee of a tax deed issued pursuant to a sale held on or prior to September 1, 1951, or any one claiming thereunder, has not perfected his title in accordance with Section 13-109 of the Code of Civil Procedure, it is lawful for the owner of the property or his agent or attorney to pay or tender to the tax title holder the moneys expended by the tax title holder upon the sale with 7% interest per year thereon, together with subsequent taxes and special assessments paid and the statutory fees and costs incurred. When the payment or tender is made the tax title holder shall reconvey the property to the owner thereof. The amount of the tender may be based upon an estimate prepared by the county clerk. However, the county clerk is not required to include any subsequent taxes or special assessments in his certificate of redemption, nor shall the payment thereof be a charge upon the property, unless the purchaser, assignee, or holder of the tax certificate has filed with the county clerk, before redemption, an official, original or duplicate tax collector's receipt for the payment of the subsequent taxes or special assessments, and the tax collector shall execute and furnish such duplicate tax receipts.
    In preparing the estimates, the county clerk shall include, in addition to the amount of moneys herein provided for, the following fees to the tax title holder:
        (a) For preparing the affidavit of compliance with
    
law, $1 in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants and $2 in counties of 3,000,000 or more inhabitants.
        (b) For service of the notices provided by law, which
    
must be served by holders of certificates of sale, to occupants, owners or parties interested in property sold for taxes, $3 in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants and $5 in counties of 3,000,000 or more inhabitants for each property listed, assessed and sold in one description.
        (c) The actual cost of recording the tax deed.
    The county clerk may charge $5 for preparing the estimate which shall be prima facie evidence of the amount due the tax title holder.
(Source: P.A. 87-669; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-420

    (35 ILCS 200/21-420)
    Sec. 21-420. Failure to reconvey. Any tax title holder failing or refusing to reconvey the property to the owner on demand after payment or tender or deposit of the amounts due, as provided in Section 21-415, shall be guilty of a petty offense. One-half of the fine shall go to the property owner and one-half to the county.
(Source: P.A. 77-2236; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-425

    (35 ILCS 200/21-425)
    Sec. 21-425. Reconveyance by sheriff. If the grantee of a tax deed, or any one claiming thereunder, fails or refuses to reconvey the property to the owner or owners thereof on demand after payment or tender or deposit of the amount due as provided in Section 21-415, the owner or owners may petition the circuit court in the same proceeding in which the order for issuance of tax deed was entered, asking that the amount of the tender, if not already deposited, may be deposited with the county treasurer and that the sheriff in that county be ordered to reconvey in the name of the holder of the tax title the property to the owner or owners thereof. Notice of the filing of the petition and the date of hearing thereon shall be given as the court may direct. Upon proof that the required amount has been deposited with the county treasurer and that the petitioner has complied with all requirements of law entitling him or her to a reconveyance of the tax title, the court shall enter an order directing the sheriff to reconvey the property in the name of the holder of the tax title to the owner or owners thereof.
    Whenever the tax purchaser makes application to withdraw moneys deposited with the county treasurer he or she shall deliver to the county treasurer a reconveyance of the tax title to the person or persons who made the deposit.
(Source: Laws 1965, p. 3718; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-430

    (35 ILCS 200/21-430)
    Sec. 21-430. Partial settlement. In the event an owner or party interested requests to make settlement on a part of the property sold to a municipality, withdrawn from collection or forfeited to the State for the non-payment of special assessments, the municipal officer is hereby authorized to accept the pro rata amount of any or all installments of the special assessment. That amount shall be computed by the board of local improvements, or other board or officer levying the special assessment, together with interest, costs and penalties as provided by law.
    A petition containing the computation shall then be presented by the municipality to the court wherein the original assessment was confirmed. The petition shall bear the same number and title as the original proceeding. At least 10 days before the date set for the hearing of the petition, notices shall be sent by mail, postpaid, to each of the persons who last paid the general taxes on the property originally assessed. The notices shall contain the description of the property as originally assessed, as it is to be divided, and the division of the original assessment, or installments thereof, together with interest, costs and penalties, showing the amount to be charged against each part of the property of land so divided, the date when the petition is to be heard, and the date when objections thereto may be filed.
    An affidavit by one of the members of the board of local improvements, or other board or officer computing the division, attesting to the mailing is prima facie evidence of a compliance with this Section. The court shall proceed to determine a fair and equitable division of the assessment, or any installment thereof, together with all interest, penalties and costs. The court shall order the cancellation of the certificate of sale, withdrawal or forfeiture on any part of the property if settlement is made within 10 days from the date of the court's order.
    The county clerk may note on the certificate the partial cancellation and shall issue a certificate of cancellation on that part of the property and return the certificate to the municipality. Where a certificate of forfeiture or withdrawal has not been issued, the county clerk may accept the Receipt of Deposit for Redemption, issued by the municipal officer, as provided by law, and the clerk shall issue a certificate of cancellation on that part of the property. He or she shall make proper entry on his or her records showing the part of the property on which settlement has been made and the amount due on the balance.
(Source: P.A. 83-358; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/21-435

    (35 ILCS 200/21-435)
    Sec. 21-435. Duty of county clerk to pay over to municipality. The county clerk shall, within 30 days after they have been collected by him or her, pay over to the office of the municipality entitled to receive them all special assessments, penalties and interest on those special assessments, and statutory costs advanced by the municipality due on account of the redemption or sale of the forfeited property.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)