Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

REVENUE
(35 ILCS 200/) Property Tax Code.

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 heading)
Article 20. Tax Collection Process

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 1

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 1 heading)
Division 1. Billing procedures

35 ILCS 200/20-5

    (35 ILCS 200/20-5)
    Sec. 20-5. Mailing or e-mailing tax bill to owner.
    (a) Every township collector, and every county collector in cases where there is no township collector, upon receiving the tax book or books, shall prepare tax bills showing each installment of property taxes assessed, which shall be filled out in accordance with Section 20-40. A copy of the bill shall be mailed by the collector, at least 30 days prior to the date upon which unpaid taxes become delinquent, to the owner of the property taxed or to the person in whose name the property is taxed.
    (b) The collector may send the bill via e-mail as provided in subsection (b) of Section 20-20. However, no bill shall be sent to a property owner or taxpayer via e-mail unless that owner or taxpayer shall have first made such a request to the collector in writing.
(Source: P.A. 98-628, eff. 1-1-15.)

35 ILCS 200/20-10

    (35 ILCS 200/20-10)
    Sec. 20-10. Mailing to mortgage lender. When the copy of the tax bill is mailed by the collector to the owner or person at or in care of the address of a mortgage lender, the mortgage lender, within 15 days of receiving the copy, shall furnish and mail an additional copy of the bill to each mortgagor of the property at his or her last known address as shown on the records of the mortgage lender. However, if the property referred to in the copy is situated in a county which uses the estimated or accelerated billing methods, only an additional copy of the bill for the final installment of taxes due with respect to the real property shall be furnished and mailed by the mortgage lender to the mortgagor. A copy may be used by the collector in receipting for the tax paid, and a copy or record shall be retained by the collector.
(Source: P.A. 86-957; 87-818; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-12

    (35 ILCS 200/20-12)
    Sec. 20-12. Duplicate copies of tax bills. The collector, upon approval by the county board, shall assess a fee of up to $5 for each duplicate tax bill provided to any mortgage lender as defined in Section 1-90 who is not the property owner of record. All amounts collected under this Section shall be deposited into the Tax Sale Automation Fund established in Section 21-245 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 91-551, eff. 8-14-99.)

35 ILCS 200/20-15

    (35 ILCS 200/20-15)
    Sec. 20-15. Information on bill or separate statement. There shall be printed on each bill, or on a separate slip which shall be mailed with the bill:
        (a) a statement itemizing the rate at which taxes
    
have been extended for each of the taxing districts in the county in whose district the property is located, and in those counties utilizing electronic data processing equipment the dollar amount of tax due from the person assessed allocable to each of those taxing districts, including a separate statement of the dollar amount of tax due which is allocable to a tax levied under the Illinois Local Library Act or to any other tax levied by a municipality or township for public library purposes,
        (b) a separate statement for each of the taxing
    
districts of the dollar amount of tax due which is allocable to a tax levied under the Illinois Pension Code or to any other tax levied by a municipality or township for public pension or retirement purposes,
        (c) the total tax rate,
        (d) the total amount of tax due, and
        (e) the amount by which the total tax and the tax
    
allocable to each taxing district differs from the taxpayer's last prior tax bill.
    The county treasurer shall ensure that only those taxing districts in which a parcel of property is located shall be listed on the bill for that property.
    In all counties the statement shall also provide:
        (1) the property index number or other suitable
    
description,
        (2) the assessment of the property,
        (3) the statutory amount of each homestead exemption
    
applied to the property,
        (4) the assessed value of the property after
    
application of all homestead exemptions,
        (5) the equalization factors imposed by the county
    
and by the Department, and
        (6) the equalized assessment resulting from the
    
application of the equalization factors to the basic assessment.
    In all counties which do not classify property for purposes of taxation, for property on which a single family residence is situated the statement shall also include a statement to reflect the fair cash value determined for the property. In all counties which classify property for purposes of taxation in accordance with Section 4 of Article IX of the Illinois Constitution, for parcels of residential property in the lowest assessment classification the statement shall also include a statement to reflect the fair cash value determined for the property.
    In all counties, the statement must include information that certain taxpayers may be eligible for tax exemptions, abatements, and other assistance programs and that, for more information, taxpayers should consult with the office of their township or county assessor and with the Illinois Department of Revenue.
    In all counties, the statement shall include information that certain taxpayers may be eligible for the Senior Citizens and Persons with Disabilities Property Tax Relief Act and that applications are available from the Illinois Department on Aging.
    In counties which use the estimated or accelerated billing methods, these statements shall only be provided with the final installment of taxes due. The provisions of this Section create a mandatory statutory duty. They are not merely directory or discretionary. The failure or neglect of the collector to mail the bill, or the failure of the taxpayer to receive the bill, shall not affect the validity of any tax, or the liability for the payment of any tax.
(Source: P.A. 98-93, eff. 7-16-13; 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)

35 ILCS 200/20-20

    (35 ILCS 200/20-20)
    Sec. 20-20. Changes in address for mailing tax bill.
    (a) To insure that a person requesting a change of the address to which a property tax bill is sent has a legal interest in the property or authority to act on behalf of the owner of the property, the county collector in every county with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants or less shall establish and enforce a procedure for requiring identification or certification of the identity of taxpayers who request a change in the address to which their tax bill is mailed. No change of address shall be implemented unless the person requesting the change is the owner of the property, a trustee or a person holding the power of attorney from the owner or trustee of the property. However, if a property owner conveys a permanent change of address in writing to the United States Postal Service, then, on or after the effective date of that change of address, the county collector may mail a property tax bill to the property owner at his or her new address regardless of whether or not the owner notifies the collector of the address change.
    (b) As an alternative to mailing a copy of the bill, the collector may send the tax bill via e-mail at the request of the taxpayer, subject to the provisions of subsection (b) of Section 20-5 of this Act. If the taxpayer makes such a request, then the taxpayer shall notify the collector of any change in his or her e-mail address as soon as possible after the address is changed.
(Source: P.A. 97-1084, eff. 8-24-12; 98-628, eff. 1-1-15.)

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 2

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 2 heading)
Division 2. Payment and handling of funds

35 ILCS 200/20-25

    (35 ILCS 200/20-25)
    Sec. 20-25. Forms of payment.
    (a) Taxes levied by taxing districts may be satisfied by payment in legal money of the United States, cashier's check, certified check, post office money order, bank money order issued by a national or state bank that is insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, or by a personal or corporate check drawn on such a bank, to the respective collection officers who are entitled by law to receive the tax payments or by credit card in accordance with the Local Governmental Acceptance of Credit Cards Act. A county collector may refuse to accept a personal or corporate check within 45 days before a tax sale or at any time if a previous payment by the same payer was returned by a bank for any reason.
    (b) Beginning on January 1, 2012, subject to compliance with all applicable purchasing requirements, a county with a population of more than 3,000,000 is required to accept payment by credit card for each installment of property taxes; provided that all service charges or fees, as determined by the county, associated with the processing or accepting of a credit card payment by the county shall be paid by the taxpayer. If a taxpayer elects to make a property tax payment by credit card and a service charge or fee is imposed, the payment of that service charge or fee shall be deemed voluntary by the taxpayer and shall not be refundable. Nothing in this subsection requires a county with a population of more than 3,000,000 to accept payment by credit card for the payment on any installment of taxes that is delinquent under Section 21-10, 21-25, or 21-30 of the Property Tax Code or for the purposes of any tax sale or scavenger sale under Division 3.5, 4, or 5 of Article 21 of the Property Tax Code. A county that accepts payment of property taxes by credit card in accordance with the terms of this subsection shall not incur liability for or associated with the collection of a property tax payment by credit card. The public hearing requirement of subsection (a) of Section 20 of the Local Governmental Acceptance of Credit Cards Act shall not apply to this subsection. This subsection is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 96-1248, eff. 7-23-10; 96-1250, eff. 7-23-10; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

35 ILCS 200/20-27

    (35 ILCS 200/20-27)
    Sec. 20-27. Reimbursement of tax proceeds for annexed property. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, beginning in taxable year 2010, if property is annexed to a municipality under Section 7-1-13 of the Illinois Municipal Code at any time during the taxable year, any taxpayer who is liable for paying property taxes on the property during the taxable year may apply to the municipality for a refund of the amount of property taxes (i) paid by the taxpayer, (ii) distributed to the municipality, and (ii) attributable to the annexed property for the portion of the taxable year during which the property was not included in the municipality. The municipality shall refund those amounts to the taxpayer within 60 days after the application is received.
    A home rule unit may not regulate the collection or distribution of tax proceeds in a manner inconsistent with this Section. This subsection is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 96-1351, eff. 7-28-10.)

35 ILCS 200/20-30

    (35 ILCS 200/20-30)
    Sec. 20-30. Designation of depository for township collector. When requested by the township collector, the township board of trustees or, where the powers and duties of that board have been succeeded to by some other governing body, then that governing body, shall designate one or more banks or savings and loan associations in which the funds received by the township collector, by virtue of the office, may be deposited. Once a bank or savings and loan association has been designated it shall continue as a designated depository until 10 days after a new depository is designated and qualified under this Section. When a new depository is designated, the township board of trustees or other governing body shall notify the sureties of the township collector of that fact, in writing, at least 5 days before the transfer of funds. The township collector is discharged from responsibility for all funds deposited in the bank or savings and loan association while those funds are so deposited.
    No bank or savings and loan association shall receive public funds under this Section, unless it has complied with the requirements of Section 6 of the Public Funds Investment Act.
(Source: P.A. 83-541; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-35

    (35 ILCS 200/20-35)
    Sec. 20-35. Investments by county collector. The county collector shall, as provided in Section 2 of the Public Funds Investment Act, invest and reinvest the proceeds of the lesser of any taxes paid under protest or funds withheld from distribution and held in a Protest Fund, as provided in Section 23-20. The investments shall be obligations of the United States Government maturing not more than 91 days after the date of purchase, or savings accounts, including certificates of deposit, investment certificates or time deposit open accounts, in banks or savings and loan associations insured by the United States or other federal agency. Investments made in obligations of the United States Government shall be at then existing market price and in any event not to exceed par plus accrued interest. The cost price of the obligations and all savings accounts in banks or savings and loan associations shall be considered as cash in the custody of the county collector. All earnings accruing on any Protest Fund investment or bank or savings and loan association savings account in excess of those amounts paid as interest on moneys refunded to taxpayers shall be credited to and paid into the county corporate fund, except as provided in Section 23-20.
    No bank or savings and loan association shall receive public funds under this Section unless it has complied with Section 6 of the Public Funds Investment Act.
    After the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997, no additional funds shall be deposited into a Protest Fund, other than interest on investments of funds that were deposited into a Protest Fund prior to this amendatory Act of 1997.
(Source: P.A. 90-556, eff. 12-12-97.)

35 ILCS 200/20-40

    (35 ILCS 200/20-40)
    Sec. 20-40. Record of tax payments. When any person pays the taxes charged on any property, the collector shall enter the payment in his or her book, specifying by whom paid (if other than the assessee and if so requested), the amount paid, what year paid for, and the property and value thereof on which the same was paid, according to its description in the collector's books, and in case the tax was paid under protest, also that the tax was so paid. The entry and any receipt, if given, shall bear the genuine or facsimile signature or printed name of the collector or deputy receiving the payment. Evidence of payment shall consist of the taxpayer's cancelled check or money order and the receipt, where they exist, together with the entry in the collector's books. The collector or deputy shall be required to issue a receipt to a taxpayer only if (a) the taxpayer makes a payment in cash, or (b) the taxpayer requests a receipt as evidence of payment. If a taxpayer requests a receipt, the collector or deputy shall mail the receipt to the taxpayer. The collector shall enter, opposite each property, the name and post office address of the person paying the tax if that person is other than the assessee and has requested a receipt specifying by whom the tax was paid.
(Source: P.A. 82-1028; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-45

    (35 ILCS 200/20-45)
    Sec. 20-45. Receipts. On the application of any person to pay any tax or delinquent special assessment, previously filed with the county collector, upon any property, the county collector shall make out to the person a receipt in which shall be noted all taxes and assessments upon the property returned to the collector and not previously paid.
(Source: Laws 1967, p. 1977; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-50

    (35 ILCS 200/20-50)
    Sec. 20-50. Payment to taxing districts by township collectors; intermediate settlements.
    (a) Township collectors shall, every 30 days, when required to do so by the proper authorities of incorporated towns, cities, villages, and road and school districts for which any tax is collected, render to those authorities a statement of the amount of each kind of tax collected for the entity and the amount paid under protest. At the same time, subject to Sections 3.1-35-60 through 3.1-35-80 of the Illinois Municipal Code, the collectors shall pay over to the authorities the amount of all taxes shown to be collected, other than those paid under protest. The payments shall be made as directed in the warrant attached to the collector's books.
    (b) Township collectors shall, every 30 days, render a similar account of county taxes, to the county collector, and at the same time, the collectors shall pay over the amount collected to the county collector.
    (c) Each township collector shall make final settlement for all taxes charged in the tax books at or before the time fixed in Section 20-55. In making the settlements, the collectors shall be entitled to credit for the amount uncollected on the tax books as determined by the settlement with the county collector.
    (d) The officer to whom any moneys are paid under this Section shall deliver to the collector duplicate receipts for those payments.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

35 ILCS 200/20-55

    (35 ILCS 200/20-55)
    Sec. 20-55. Final settlements by township collectors. Township collectors shall return the tax books and make final settlement for the amount of taxes placed in their hands for collection, within 60 days after receiving the tax books, except the county collector may first notify, in writing, the several township collectors upon what day, within 20 days after the expiration of 60 days from the day the tax books are received by the township collector, that they shall appear at his or her office to make final settlement. Township collectors in townships organized under the provisions of Article 15 of the Township Code shall make a partial settlement with the county collector of all taxes collected at the expiration of 60 days from the day the tax books are received by the township collectors, but shall retain the tax books until on or before the first day of September at which time they shall make final settlement for the amount of taxes placed in their hands for collection together with the amount of interest and penalties which may have accrued thereon, which interest and penalties the township collector shall collect, and return the tax books to the county collector. In the 10 years following the completion of a general reassessment of property in any county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, made under an order of the Department, the return and settlement shall be made on or before the twenty-first day after the day specified by the county clerk for the delivery of the books for the collection of taxes to the collectors, but the county collector may first notify in writing the several township collectors upon what day within 20 days after the 21 day period they shall appear at his or her office to make final settlement.
(Source: P.A. 88-455; 88-670, eff. 12-2-94.)

35 ILCS 200/20-60

    (35 ILCS 200/20-60)
    Sec. 20-60. Statement of taxes collected by township collector. At the time of making return to the county collector, each township collector shall make out and deliver to the county collector a detailed statement, in writing, of the amount of taxes paid under protest and the amount of taxes he or she has been unable to collect on property, the same as in the tax books delivered to him or her by the county clerk, and shall show the property index number, or the number of the page of the tax book and the number of the line of the page to identify the item that appears to be delinquent. When no taxes have been paid on any one page on the collector's book, the page footings of the taxes on such page may be copied into the statement. It is not necessary to give in the statement the description of the delinquent property, nor the names of the owners. The township collector shall add up the delinquent taxes in the statement, and make a summary thereof, setting forth the aggregate amount of tax and the total delinquent, in the same manner as in his or her warrant, and shall make oath that the statement is true and correct. At the time of making the final settlement the township collectors shall pay over to the county collector all taxes paid to them under protest.
(Source: P.A. 83-121; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-65

    (35 ILCS 200/20-65)
    Sec. 20-65. Affidavit of collections. Each township collector, at the time of returning the tax books to the county collector, shall make affidavit, to be entered upon the book and subscribed by the collector, that the taxes charged against each property remain due and unpaid at the date of making the affidavit in each case where there does not appear in the proper column the amount of taxes as having been paid to the collector, and the date of payment and the name of any person as having paid the same; which affidavit shall be prima facie evidence of the facts therein stated.
(Source: P.A. 83-121; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-70

    (35 ILCS 200/20-70)
    Sec. 20-70. Credit for collections; township collector. Upon the filing of the tax book, the county collector shall allow the township collector credit for the amount of taxes therein stated to be unpaid, and shall credit the same to the funds for which the tax was charged. When the county collector makes settlement with the county board, those statements shall be sufficient voucher to entitle him or her to credit for the amount therein stated, less such amount, if any, that may have been collected by him or her.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-75

    (35 ILCS 200/20-75)
    Sec. 20-75. Satisfaction piece for township collector. Upon the final settlement of the amount of taxes directed to be collected by any collector, in any township, the county collector shall, if requested, give to the township collector, or any of his or her sureties, a satisfaction piece in writing. The satisfaction piece may be recorded in the recorder's office, and when so recorded shall operate as a discharge of the sureties and of the lien upon the property of the collector, except as to all suits commenced upon the bond within 3 years after the recording of the satisfaction piece.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-80

    (35 ILCS 200/20-80)
    Sec. 20-80. Failure of township collector to make final settlement. If the township collector fails to appear and make final settlement, or pay over the amount in his or her hands, when required in this Code, the county collector shall forthwith cause the bond of the collector to be put in suit, and recovery may be had thereon for the sum due, for all taxes and special assessments, plus 25% thereon as damages, with costs of suit.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 3

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 3 heading)
Division 3. Procedures for county collectors

35 ILCS 200/20-85

    (35 ILCS 200/20-85)
    Sec. 20-85. Powers and duties of county collectors. County collectors shall have the same powers and may proceed in the same manner, for the collection of any tax on property, as township collectors. If in any township the office of township collector is or becomes vacant, and the vacancy is not filled on or before the first day of May next following the vacancy, the county clerk shall deliver all the collectors' books to the county collector of the county, having annexed to each book a warrant under the signature and official seal of the county clerk, commanding the county collector to collect from the persons named in the books the sum of taxes charged opposite their names, except as otherwise provided in Section 21-375. The county collector shall then collect and pay over all taxes, assessments and other charges shown in the books, and do all acts required by law as if the taxes, assessments and other charges had been duly returned delinquent by a township collector. The collectors' books so delivered to the county collector shall, for all purposes, in all subsequent proceedings, be used in the same manner and have the same force and effect as if the books were delivered to the township collectors, and returned by them, as provided by law. In the 10 years next following the completion of a general reassessment of property in any county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, made under order of the Department, if for any reason the books have not been delivered to the township collector within 5 days after the day specified by the county clerk for that delivery, the county clerk shall deliver the books to the county collector, and all provisions of this Section shall apply. When any injunction restraining the collection of taxes is dissolved after the tax books are returned to the county collector, the taxes or the portion thereof upon which the injunction has been dissolved, shall be paid to the county collector, who shall proceed as though collection of the taxes had never been enjoined.
(Source: P.A. 84-550; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-90

    (35 ILCS 200/20-90)
    Sec. 20-90. Tax proceeds of taxing districts; escrow accounts. The county collector shall deposit any amount of the tax proceeds of any taxing district, in accordance with the authorization of that district, directly into a designated escrow account established by the district to repay specific bonded, note, lease or installment contract indebtedness. The ordinance or resolution of the taxing district authorizing that disposition shall, within 10 days after adoption by the governing authority of the taxing district, be delivered to the county collector or county collectors in which the taxing district is situated.
(Source: P.A. 84-676; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-95

    (35 ILCS 200/20-95)
    Sec. 20-95. Continuation of county collector's powers after settlement. The power and duty to collect any tax due and unpaid shall continue in and devolve upon the county collector and his or her successors in office, after his or her return and final settlement, until the tax is paid. The warrant attached to the collector's book shall continue in force and confer authority upon the collector to whom the warrant was issued, and upon his or her successors in office, to collect any tax due and uncollected thereon, although the books have been returned, or the tax carried forward into any other book.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-100

    (35 ILCS 200/20-100)
    Sec. 20-100. Collection of delinquent special assessments; counties of 3,000,000 or more. In counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, when any special assessment made by any city, incorporated town or village, under its charter, or by any corporate authorities, commissioners or persons, pursuant to law, remains unpaid in whole or in part, return thereof shall be made to the county collector on or before the first day of August next after it became payable, in the same manner as returns are made for delinquent property tax.
    The subsequent advertisement, judgment and sale of property on account of delinquent special assessments, as provided below, shall be considered supplemental to but also a part of the sale of delinquent general taxes of the year in which the judgment and sale on account of delinquent special assessments is ordered. The penalties provided by law shall attach to both general taxes and special assessments in the same manner as if there were only one judgment and order of sale.
    In cases where application for judgment and order of sale for special assessments, special taxes, or installments thereof, and interest, may be made under Section 21-155, notwithstanding that the special assessments, special taxes, or installments, and interest, have not been returned as delinquent to the county collector on or before the first day of August in the year in which application is made, and notwithstanding that the assessments, taxes, installments and interest, were not marked on the general tax books of the county collector on or before the tenth day of March of the same year, or within 15 days after the county collector received the general tax books in that year, the advertisement, judgment and order of sale for delinquent special assessments, special taxes, or installments thereof, and interest, need not be subsequent to or regarded as supplemental to or as a part of the sale on account of delinquent general taxes of the year in which such separate advertisement, judgment and order of sale on account of delinquent special assessments, special taxes, or installments thereof, and interest, is had. However, the penalties provided by law shall attach to the special assessments, special taxes, or installments thereof, and interest, in the same manner as if there were only one judgment and order of sale. County collectors shall collect, account for, and pay over the special assessments, special taxes, or installments to the authorities or persons having authority to receive them, in the same manner as they are required to collect, account for, and pay over taxes.
    Upon return of delinquent special assessments to the county collector, he or she may transfer the amounts stated on the returns to the tax books, setting down opposite the respective properties, in proper columns, the amounts assessed against each property.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-105

    (35 ILCS 200/20-105)
    Sec. 20-105. Demand for payment of special assessment when general tax is paid; counties of 3,000,000 or more. In any county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, when any special assessment is returned to the county collector on a property on which the general taxes have been paid to the township collector, or on which any special assessment which has been withdrawn at any previous sale or sales is returned to the county collector, and the general taxes on the property have been paid, the county collector shall demand payment of the special assessment, or shall mail a demand notice to the owner, if the place of residence is known. The certificate of a collector that a demand was made or notice given shall be evidence thereof.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-110

    (35 ILCS 200/20-110)
    Sec. 20-110. Prior year's taxes to be added to current taxes. The amount due for general taxes on property previously forfeited to the State or otherwise remaining unpaid prior to the issuance of the collector's warrant, shall, except as otherwise provided in Section 18-250, be added to the tax of the current year; and the amount thereof shall be charged to the county collector with the amount of taxes for the current year. The amount so charged shall be placed on the tax books, and, except as otherwise provided in Section 21-375, shall be collected and paid over in like manner as other taxes. The county collector is authorized to advertise and sell the property in the manner required by this Code, as if said property had never been forfeited to the State. The county, city, village, incorporated town or school district may, by their agent attend the sale for taxes and buy the property and acquire the same rights that individuals now have under the law, and acquire, hold, sell and dispose of title thereto, the same as and in the same manner as individuals may do under the laws of this State, in case of sale for taxes. The additions and sales shall be continued from year to year until the taxes on the property are paid, by sale or otherwise.
(Source: Laws 1943, vol. 1, p. 1080; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-115

    (35 ILCS 200/20-115)
    Sec. 20-115. Report of taxes collected; credits. The county collector shall, on the first of every month, report to the county clerk, in writing, which may be transmitted electronically, the amount of county tax received during the preceding month. The county collector shall keep the account as collector of taxes separate from the account as county treasurer. He or she shall credit the account as collector with the amount of his or her monthly reports to the county clerk, and with the amount of bankruptcies, removals, errors, forfeitures, and other credits allowed him or her on settlement with the county board. As county treasurer, he or she shall charge himself or herself with the amount shown in his or her monthly report to the county clerk and such other amounts as may be received as county treasurer. The county board may examine the account and vouchers at any time, by committee or otherwise.
(Source: P.A. 94-412, eff. 8-2-05.)

35 ILCS 200/20-120

    (35 ILCS 200/20-120)
    Sec. 20-120. Accounts for collector and treasurer. Each county clerk and county collector shall keep, in written or electronic format, an account stating the amount of county tax to be collected, and the county tax received by him or her from sales and redemptions of forfeited property, and any other county funds that shall come into the collector's hands. All persons paying money into the county treasury, for all purposes except the county taxes, must deposit it with the treasurer. The treasurer shall give duplicate receipts to the person paying, one to be retained by the person paying and the other filed in the county treasurer's office.
(Source: P.A. 94-412, eff. 8-2-05.)

35 ILCS 200/20-125

    (35 ILCS 200/20-125)
    Sec. 20-125. Statement of taxes collected. On or before July 10, after settlement has been made with the township collectors and on or before October 10, the county collector shall make a sworn statement, showing the total amounts of each kind of tax received by him or her from township collectors, the total amount of each that he or she collected and the total amount of taxes paid under protest for which the court has not fixed the correct amount. The statement shall be filed in the office of the county clerk. However, in the 10 years following the completion of a general reassessment of property in any county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, made under an order of the Department, that statement shall be made within 30 days after the date upon which property taxes or any installment thereof become delinquent.
    The clerk shall immediately, on receipt of the statement, certify to the proper authorities, the amount for which the collector is required to settle with each of them.
    The county collector shall annually, during the month of December, submit to the Department an annual report showing the amount of taxes collected, the amount protested, and the amount of taxes delinquent.
(Source: P.A. 83-121; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-130

    (35 ILCS 200/20-130)
    Sec. 20-130. Distribution of taxes in counties of less than 3,000,000; return of erroneous distribution.
    (a) All distributions of taxes collected and interest earned thereon by a county on behalf of taxing districts must be made by the county treasurer, in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, within 30 days after the due date and at 30 days intervals thereafter, unless the amount to be distributed is less than $5. The county treasurer shall distribute the taxes collected at the next 30-day interval if the taxes collected are $5 or more. If the tax collections for a taxing district are less than $5 for 3 consecutive 30-day intervals, the county treasurer shall automatically distribute the taxes collected to the unit of local government on the third 30-day interval. The county treasurer shall determine the manner in which all distributions under this Section are to be made. The manner of distribution may include, but is not limited to, check or electronic funds transfer.
    (b) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, if a county makes an erroneous distribution of taxes collected and interest earned thereon, upon majority vote of the governing board of the taxing district that received the erroneous distribution, the taxing district shall return the funds to the county treasurer.
(Source: P.A. 91-378, eff. 7-30-99.)

35 ILCS 200/20-135

    (35 ILCS 200/20-135)
    Sec. 20-135. Interest on amount collected in counties of less than 3,000,000. All taxing districts have a vested interest in interest earned by the county collector on all collected but undistributed taxes due the taxing district. The county collector shall maintain an account into which all tax payments shall be deposited when they are available for investment, and from which all interest distribution shall be made in accordance with the provisions of this Section. Taxes collected in counties with a population of less than 3,000,000 shall be invested in accordance with the provisions of Section 1 of the Public Funds Deposit Act. All interest earned on this account shall be disbursed in accordance with the provisions of Section 20-130 to each district which is entitled to receive the interest in the same proportionate ratio that district shared in the distribution of principal taxes to all units of local government.
    On or before January 31st of each year the county collector shall file with the Office of the County Clerk and with each taxing district which received interest during the last year, a report identifying each of the receiving taxing districts with the interest amounts paid to each for the entire preceding year.
(Source: P.A. 84-1454; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-140

    (35 ILCS 200/20-140)
    Sec. 20-140. Payment due date for county collector. Subject to the provisions of the Public Funds Statement Publication Act and Sections 3.1-35-60 through 3.1-35-80 of the Illinois Municipal Code, the county collector in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, shall on the first day of June and the first day of every month thereafter pay over to the other proper authorities or persons the amounts in his or her possession and payable to them as taxes and not previously paid over. In counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, the county collector shall (i) pay over to the other proper authorities or persons, as provided in Section 20-130, the amounts in the collector's hands and payable to them as taxes and (ii) together with the final payment, pay over to the other proper authorities or persons the amounts in the collector's hands and payable to them as interest and not previously paid over. The county treasurer shall determine the manner in which all payments required by a county collector under this Section are to be made. The manner of payment may include, but is not limited to, check or electronic funds transfer. Taxes collected in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants and not distributed shall be invested in accordance with Section 1 of the Public Funds Deposit Act.
(Source: P.A. 91-378, eff. 7-30-99.)

35 ILCS 200/20-145

    (35 ILCS 200/20-145)
    Sec. 20-145. Penalty for failure to make a timely distribution. Any county collector who wilfully fails to pay over the amount of taxes due and payable at the time or times required by Section 20-140, shall be subject to a penalty at the rate of 0.1% per day on the amount unpaid, from the time the amount becomes due and payable until it is paid. The sureties on the official bond of the collector shall be liable for the payment of the penalty. The penalty may be recovered in a civil action against the collector and his or her sureties, in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, in any court of competent jurisdiction. The amount of the penalty, when recovered, shall be paid (i) in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, to the proper authorities for whom the tax was collected and (ii) in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, into the county treasury.
(Source: P.A. 87-1119; 88-455; incorporates 88-45; 88-670, eff. 12-2-94.)

35 ILCS 200/20-150

    (35 ILCS 200/20-150)
    Sec. 20-150. Payment on demand; collections on delinquent property. The county collector shall report and distribute the amount of taxes and special assessments collected on delinquent property and due to taxing districts, at least once every 10 days, when demanded by the proper authorities.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-155

    (35 ILCS 200/20-155)
    Sec. 20-155. Failure to report and pay; suit on collector's bond. If any county collector fails to make the reports and payments required by this Code, for 5 days after the time specified for that purpose, or after demand made under Section 20-150, suit may be brought on the collector's bond. Taxing districts or persons aggrieved, may prosecute suit against any collector or other officer collecting or receiving funds for their use, by suit upon the bond, in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, for their use, in the circuit court.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

35 ILCS 200/20-160

    (35 ILCS 200/20-160)
    Sec. 20-160. Office may be declared vacant. If any county collector fails to account and pay over as required in Sections 20-140 and 20-150, the office may be declared vacant by the circuit court of the judicial circuit in which the county seat is located and in which suit is brought on his or her official bond. If such a suit is brought in the circuit court and, based on preliminary evidence, the court determines that it is necessary that a temporary county collector be appointed, then the county board may, subject to the consent of the court, appoint an interim county collector to serve for the duration of the suit.
(Source: P.A. 95-582, eff. 8-31-07.)

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 4

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 4 heading)
Division 4. Errors and adjustments

35 ILCS 200/20-165

    (35 ILCS 200/20-165)
    Sec. 20-165. List of errors and inability to collect. On or before the third Monday in December, annually, the county collector shall make out and file with the county clerk a detailed list of errors in assessment of property and errors in footing of tax books, giving in each case a description of the property, the valuation and amount of each tax and special assessment, and cause of error. County collectors, in cases of removals and bankruptcies of taxpayers, may give the same cause for the inability to collect as sworn to by the township collectors, stating in their return that such was the statement made by the township collector, and that the tax still remains uncollected.
(Source: P.A. 94-412, eff. 8-2-05.)

35 ILCS 200/20-170

    (35 ILCS 200/20-170)
    Sec. 20-170. Double payment. When taxes on a property have been paid more than once for the same year, by different claimants, the county collector shall report to the county clerk all surplus taxes so received, together with the names of the claimants. Certified copies of the report, or the county clerk's record thereof, shall be prima facie evidence in all courts of the payment of tax on the property therein described for the year or years mentioned. The township collectors shall report to the county collector taxes paid more than once, by different claimants for the same year, and the county collector shall report to the county clerk.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-175

    (35 ILCS 200/20-175)
    Sec. 20-175. Refund for erroneous assessments or overpayments.
    (a) In counties other than Cook County, if any property is twice assessed for the same year, or assessed before it becomes taxable, and the erroneously assessed taxes have been paid either at sale or otherwise, or have been overpaid by the same claimant or by different claimants, the County Collector, upon being satisfied of the facts in the case, shall refund the taxes to the proper claimant. When the County Collector is unable to determine the proper claimant, the circuit court, on petition of the person paying the taxes, or his or her agent, and being satisfied of the facts in the case, shall direct the county collector to refund the taxes and deduct the amount thereof, pro rata, from the moneys due to taxing bodies which received the taxes erroneously paid, or their legal successors. Pleadings in connection with the petition provided for in this Section shall conform to that prescribed in the Civil Practice Law. Appeals may be taken from the judgment of the circuit court, either by the county collector or by the petitioner, as in other civil cases. A claim for refund shall not be allowed unless a petition is filed within 5 years from the date the right to a refund arose. If a certificate of error results in the allowance of a homestead exemption not previously allowed, the county collector shall pay the taxpayer interest on the amount of taxes paid that are attributable to the amount of the additional allowance, at the rate of 6% per year. To cover the cost of interest, the county collector shall proportionately reduce the distribution of taxes collected for each taxing district in which the property is situated.
    (a-1) In Cook County, if any property is twice assessed for the same year, or assessed before it becomes taxable, and the erroneously assessed taxes have been paid either at sale or otherwise, or have been overpaid by the same claimant or by different claimants, the Cook County Treasurer, upon being satisfied of the facts in the case, shall refund the taxes to the proper claimant. When the Cook County Treasurer is unable to determine the proper claimant, the circuit court, on petition of the person paying the taxes, or his or her agent, and being satisfied of the facts in the case, shall direct the Cook County Treasurer to refund the taxes plus costs of suit and deduct the amount thereof, pro rata, from the moneys due to taxing bodies which received the taxes erroneously paid, or their legal successors. Pleadings in connection with the petition provided for in this Section shall conform to that prescribed in the Civil Practice Law. Appeals may be taken from the judgment of the circuit court, either by the Cook County Treasurer or by the petitioner, as in other civil cases. A claim for refund shall not be allowed unless a petition is filed within 20 years from the date the right to a refund arose. The total amount of taxes and interest refunded for claims under this subsection for which the right to a refund arose prior to January 1, 2009 shall not exceed $2,500,000 per year. If the payment of a claim for a refund would cause the aggregate total of taxes and interest for all claims to exceed $2,500,000 in any year, the refund shall be paid in the next succeeding year. If a certificate of error results in the allowance of a homestead exemption not previously allowed, the Cook County Treasurer shall pay the taxpayer interest on the amount of taxes paid that are attributable to the amount of the additional allowance, at the rate of 6% per year. To cover the cost of interest, the Cook County Treasurer shall proportionately reduce the distribution of taxes collected for each taxing district in which the property is situated.
    (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in Cook County a claim for refund under this Section is also allowed if the application therefor is filed between September 1, 2011 and September 1, 2012 and the right to a refund arose more than 5 years prior to the date the application is filed but not earlier than January 1, 2000. The Cook County Treasurer, upon being satisfied of the facts in the case, shall refund the taxes to the proper claimant and shall proportionately reduce the distribution of taxes collected for each taxing district in which the property is situated. Refunds under this subsection shall be paid in the order in which the claims are received. The Cook County Treasurer shall not accept a claim for refund under this subsection before September 1, 2011. For the purposes of this subsection, the Cook County Treasurer shall accept a claim for refund by mail or in person. In no event shall a refund be paid under this subsection if the issuance of that refund would cause the aggregate total of taxes and interest refunded for all claims under this subsection to exceed $350,000. The Cook County Treasurer shall notify the public of the provisions of this subsection on the Treasurer's website. A home rule unit may not regulate claims for refunds in a manner that is inconsistent with this Act. This Section is a limitation of home rule powers under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution.
(Source: P.A. 97-521, eff. 8-23-11; 98-1026, eff. 1-1-15.)

35 ILCS 200/20-178

    (35 ILCS 200/20-178)
    Sec. 20-178. Certificate of error; refund; interest. When the county collector makes any refunds due on certificates of error issued under Sections 14-15 through 14-25 that have been either certified or adjudicated, the county collector shall pay the taxpayer interest on the amount of the refund at the rate of 0.5% per month.
    No interest shall be due under this Section for any time prior to 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly. For certificates of error issued prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, the county collector shall pay the taxpayer interest from 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly until the date the refund is paid. For certificates of error issued on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, interest shall be paid from 60 days after the certificate of error is issued by the chief county assessment officer to the date the refund is made. To cover the cost of interest, the county collector shall proportionately reduce the distribution of taxes collected for each taxing district in which the property is situated.
    This Section shall not apply to any certificate of error granting a homestead exemption under Section 15-170, 15-172, 15-175, 15-176, or 15-177.
(Source: P.A. 95-644, eff. 10-12-07.)

35 ILCS 200/20-180

    (35 ILCS 200/20-180)
    Sec. 20-180. Uncollectible delinquent real estate taxes and special assessments. In cases where general taxes levied on real property have been delinquent for a period of 20 years, the taxes shall be presumed to be uncollectible. In those cases, the County Clerk and the County Collector shall enter upon the tax records in their respective offices where those taxes appear the word "Uncollectible", and shall adjust the books and records of their respective offices as provided in this Code. In cases where any installments of special assessments or special taxes levied on real property have been delinquent for a period of 30 years, the installments shall be presumed to be uncollectible. In those cases, the Collector of the municipality which levied the special assessment or special tax and the County Clerk and the County Collector shall enter upon the tax records in their respective offices where those assessments or taxes appear the word "Uncollectible" and shall adjust the books and records of their respective offices. When taxes have been designated "uncollectible" under this Section, the municipality may use any money it holds for payment of the special assessments or special taxes for improvements similar to the projects for which the moneys were collected, and for the purchase of real or personal property, in connection with those improvements.
(Source: P.A. 92-201, eff. 1-1-02.)

35 ILCS 200/20-185

    (35 ILCS 200/20-185)
    Sec. 20-185. Bonds secured by uncollectible revenue. When bonds issued by a municipality are secured either by ad valorem tax levies or by specific revenues other than ad valorem tax levies and the payment of the tax or specific revenue has been delinquent for a period of 30 years the taxes or revenue shall be presumed to be uncollectable and in those cases, the municipal treasurer shall enter upon the appropriate bond issue records where the bonds appear the words "CANCELLED - Revenue Uncollectable", and shall adjust the books and records accordingly.
    When bonds have been designated as specified above the municipality may use any money it holds for the payment of those bonds for any general corporate purpose.
(Source: P.A. 81-692; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-190

    (35 ILCS 200/20-190)
    Sec. 20-190. Statute of limitation for collection of delinquent real estate taxes and special assessments.
    (a) If a taxpayer owes arrearages of taxes for a reason other than administrative error, actions for the collection of any delinquent general tax, or the enforcement or foreclosure of the tax lien shall be commenced within 20 years after the tax became delinquent, and not thereafter. After 20 years the tax lien shall be discharged and released.
    Actions for the collection of any delinquent installments of special assessments or special taxes, or the enforcement or foreclosure of the special assessment lien shall be commenced within 30 years after the installments became delinquent. After 30 years the lien for the installments shall be discharged and released.
    (b) If a taxpayer owes arrearages of taxes due to an administrative error, the county may not bill, collect, claim a lien for, or sell the arrearages of taxes for tax years earlier than the 2 most recent tax years, including the current tax year.
    (c) For purposes of this Section, "administrative error" includes but is not limited to failure to include an extension for a taxing district on the tax bill, an error in the calculations of tax rates or extensions or any other mathematical error by the county clerk, or a defective coding by the county, but does not include a failure by the county to send a tax bill to the taxpayer, the failure by the taxpayer to notify the assessor of a change in the tax-exempt status of property, or any error concerning the assessment of the property.
(Source: P.A. 92-201, eff. 1-1-02.)

35 ILCS 200/20-195

    (35 ILCS 200/20-195)
    Sec. 20-195. Omitted property. The provisions of Sections 20-180 through 20-190 do not apply to taxes which have been levied as provided in Section 16-135.
(Source: P.A. 77-2747; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-200

    (35 ILCS 200/20-200)
    Sec. 20-200. Application to pending actions. The provisions of Sections 20-180 through 20-190 do not apply to any actions now pending in court or instituted within the time limitations of Section 20-190 for the collection of taxes or special assessments.
(Source: P.A. 78-245; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-205

    (35 ILCS 200/20-205)
    Sec. 20-205. Unpaid suspense tax fund. The amount of all general taxes appearing upon the tax records of the counties of the State against which the limitations in Sections 20-180 through 20-190 have run shall be transferred by the collector or clerk of each county to a special account in the office of the collector or clerk to be designated "Unpaid Suspense Tax Fund" and for all accounting or other purposes the amount appearing on the books of the collector or clerk shall not be given any value or held as having any value for any purpose.
(Source: P.A. 78-245; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-210

    (35 ILCS 200/20-210)
    Sec. 20-210. Taxes payable in installments; payment under specification. Except as otherwise provided in Section 21-30, current taxes shall be payable in 2 equal installments. The collector, when requested by the party paying the taxes, shall receive and receipt for the taxes in installments. The collector shall receive taxes on part of any property charged with taxes when a particular specification of the part is furnished. If the tax on the remainder of the property remains unpaid, the collector shall enter that specification in his or her return, so that the part on which the tax remains unpaid may be clearly known. The tax may be paid on an undivided share of property. In that case, the collector shall designate on his or her record upon whose undivided share the tax has been paid.
(Source: P.A. 95-948, eff. 1-1-09.)

35 ILCS 200/20-215

    (35 ILCS 200/20-215)
    Sec. 20-215. Application of tax payments. In the payment of any installment of real property taxes, the collector shall first apply the payments to interest (including interest added upon forfeiture to real property taxes) and costs. After the payment of interest and costs the payments shall be applied upon the total tax.
(Source: P.A. 87-17; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-220

    (35 ILCS 200/20-220)
    Sec. 20-220. Certificate of illegal tax collections on pollution control facilities. Within 15 days after the receipt of a request by a taxing district, the collector shall issue a certificate (hereinafter referred to as the "Certificate") to the governing body or corporate authorities of the taxing district setting forth (i) the aggregate amount of all taxes collected on extensions upon pollution control facilities, as defined in Section 11-10, by and distributed to the taxing district prior to the date of the issuance of the Certificate, if those taxes have been held illegal by the final order of a court, or any board, body or entity having jurisdiction, because the pollution control facilities within the taxing district were incorrectly assessed or valued, based upon the method of valuation under Section 11-15, at the time taxes levied by or on behalf of the taxing district were extended (hereinafter referred to as the "illegal taxes"), (ii) the aggregate amount of the illegal taxes required to be deducted from the taxes of the taxing district during the same calendar year as, and during the 2 full calendar years immediately following, the date of the issuance of the Certificate (hereinafter referred to as the "taxes to be deducted"), and (iii) the aggregate amount of the illegal taxes deducted during the same calendar year as, and during the 2 full calendar years immediately preceding, the date of the issuance of the Certificate (hereinafter referred to as the "deducted taxes").
(Source: P.A. 87-17; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-225

    (35 ILCS 200/20-225)
    Sec. 20-225. Bonds for reimbursement of illegal tax collections on pollution control facilities. When a taxing district, prior to January 1, 1988, issued its full faith and credit bonds for reimbursement of illegal tax collections on pollution control facilities, as set out in this Section, it may issue additional bonds for purposes of refunding those bonds, whether in advance of or at maturity or prior redemption, and whether by exchange, payment or establishment of an irrevocable escrow. The principal amount of the refunding bonds may exceed the principal amount of the bonds being refunded.
    The full faith and credit bonds, hereinafter referred to as the "Bonds", may have been issued by the taxing district whenever and as often as the current aggregate amount of the taxes to be deducted and the deducted taxes set forth in the Certificate equaled or exceeded $10,000, for the purpose of (i) reducing the amount of the taxes to be deducted by depositing proceeds of the Bonds with the collector, (ii) reimbursing its treasury for all or a portion of the deducted taxes for which no Bonds were previously issued, (iii) paying the expenses of issuing the Bonds, (iv) paying interest on the Bonds, or (v) any combination thereof. Any Certificate issued not more than 6 months prior to the issuance of the Bonds shall be conclusive evidence of all the facts set forth therein and any error or inaccuracy therein or any failure of future events to conform to the Certificate shall not affect the validity of the Bonds in any manner.
    The Bonds issued under this Section shall not count as indebtedness, or act as a limitation on the amount of indebtedness permitted to be issued by any taxing district, under the provisions of any law regarding limitations on indebtedness. The Bonds shall bear interest at a rate or rates authorized by the Bond Authorization Act, shall mature within 20 years after the date of the issuance thereof and shall be sold at a price of not less than par plus accrued interest to the date of delivery of the Bonds. The denomination of the Bonds and the manner of sale shall be determined by the taxing district.
    In order to authorize and issue the Bonds, the governing body or corporate authorities of the taxing district shall adopt an ordinance or resolution fixing the amount of Bonds, the date thereof, the maturities thereof, the rate or rates of interest thereof, the place or places of payment, the manner of execution and the denomination or denominations thereof and providing for the levy and collection of a direct annual tax upon all the taxable property in the taxing district sufficient to pay the principal and interest on the Bonds to maturity. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law to the contrary, the ordinance or resolution shall not be required to be published and shall be effective immediately upon passage and approval. Upon the filing in the office of the county clerk of each county in which any portion of the taxing district is located of a certified copy of the ordinance or resolution, each county clerk shall extend the tax therefor in addition to and in excess of all other taxes authorized to be levied by or on behalf of such taxing district.
    This Section is cumulative and constitutes complete authority for the issuance of the Bonds notwithstanding any other statute or law to the contrary.
    This Section does not apply to taxing districts located entirely within a county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants.
(Source: P.A. 87-17; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 5

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 20 Div. 5 heading)
Division 5. Settlement of Accounts

35 ILCS 200/20-230

    (35 ILCS 200/20-230)
    Sec. 20-230. Settlement with county board. On the third Monday in December, annually, for all property taxes, the county board shall settle with and allow the county collector credit for the allowance to which he or she is legally entitled. In the 10 years following the completion of a general reassessment of property in any county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, made under an order of the Department, settlement shall be made at the regular meeting of the county board held next after the 45th day after all taxes upon property become delinquent and have begun to bear interest.
(Source: P.A. 83-121; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-235

    (35 ILCS 200/20-235)
    Sec. 20-235. Credit for forfeited property. If any property is forfeited to the State for taxes or special assessments, the collector shall be entitled to a credit in the final settlement, for the amount of the taxes or special assessments on the forfeited properties. The county shall allow the amount of printers' fees expended, and be entitled to the fees, when collected.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-240

    (35 ILCS 200/20-240)
    Sec. 20-240. Settlement lists to be filed with county clerk. If there is no session of the county board held at the proper time for settling and adjusting the accounts of the county collector, the collector shall file the lists with the county clerk, who shall examine the lists and correct the same, if necessary, in like manner as the board is required to do. The county clerk shall make an accurate computation of the value of the property and the amount of the delinquent tax and special assessments returned, for which the collector is entitled to credit.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-245

    (35 ILCS 200/20-245)
    Sec. 20-245. Certification by county clerk. The county clerk shall immediately certify to the several authorities or persons with whom the county collector is to make settlement, showing the valuation of property and amount of taxes and special assessments due thereon allowable to the collector in the settlement of their several accounts.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-250

    (35 ILCS 200/20-250)
    Sec. 20-250. Verification of certified amounts. The proper authorities or persons shall, in their final settlements with the collector, allow him or her credit for the amount so certified. However, if those authorities or persons have reason to believe that the amount stated in the certificate is not correct, or that the allowance was illegally made, he or they shall return it for correction. When it appears to be necessary, in the opinion of those authorities or persons, he or they shall designate and appoint some competent person to examine the collector's books and settlement. The person so designated and appointed shall have access to the collector's books and papers, appertaining to the collector's office or settlement, for the purpose of making the examination.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-255

    (35 ILCS 200/20-255)
    Sec. 20-255. County board examination of settlement. In all cases when the adjustment is made with the county clerk, the county board shall, at the first session thereafter, examine the settlement. If found correct, the board shall enter an order to that effect. However, if any omission or error is found, the board shall cause it to be corrected, and a correct statement of the facts in the case forwarded to the proper authorities or persons, who shall correct and adjust the collector's accounts accordingly.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)

35 ILCS 200/20-260

    (35 ILCS 200/20-260)
    Sec. 20-260. Failure to obtain judgment; effect on settlement. The failure of any county collector to obtain judgment shall not prevent him or her from presenting a statement of credits and making settlement for taxes, and special assessments in his or her hands, at the time required by this Code. If, from no fault of the collector, he or she fails to obtain judgment and sale of delinquent property, or judgment fixing the correct amount of any taxes paid under protest at the time required by this Code, he or she shall be allowed, in the settlements, a temporary credit for the amount of taxes and special assessments in the delinquent list and for the amount of those taxes paid under protest. The delinquent taxes and special assessments shall be accounted for and paid immediately after sale is held. The amount of any taxes paid under protest shall be distributed as provided for in Section 23-15 and 23-20 and any refund ordered by the court shall be accounted for and paid in accordance with the judgment of the court. Protested taxes not so distributed by a county collector, but withheld for the making of refunds ordered by the court, in any event, shall be distributed within 3 years from the date the protest was filed with the collector.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 2559; P.A. 88-455.)