Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
GENERAL PROVISIONS5 ILCS 430/50-5
(5 ILCS 430/) State Officials and Employees Ethics Act.
(5 ILCS 430/50-5)
(a) A person is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if that person intentionally
violates any provision of Section 5-15, 5-30, 5-40, or 5-45 or Article 15.
(a-1) An ethics commission may levy an administrative fine for a violation of Section 5-45 of this Act of up to 3 times the total annual compensation that would have been obtained in violation of Section 5-45.
(b) A person who intentionally violates any provision
of Section 5-20, 5-35, 5-50, or 5-55 is guilty of a business offense
subject to a fine of at least $1,001 and up to $5,000.
(c) A person who intentionally violates any provision of Article 10 is
guilty of a business
offense and subject to a fine of at least $1,001 and up to $5,000.
(d) Any person who intentionally makes a
false report alleging a violation of any provision of this Act to an ethics
an inspector general,
the State Police, a State's Attorney, the Attorney General, or any other law
enforcement official is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(e) An ethics commission may levy an administrative fine of up to $5,000
against any person
who violates this Act, who intentionally obstructs or interferes with an
conducted under this Act by an inspector general, or who
intentionally makes a false, frivolous, or bad faith allegation.
(f) In addition to any other penalty that may apply, whether criminal or
civil, a State employee who intentionally violates
any provision of Section 5-5, 5-15, 5-20, 5-30, 5-35, 5-45, or 5-50, Article 10,
Article 15, or Section 20-90 or 25-90 is subject to discipline or discharge by
(g) Any person who violates Section 5-65 is subject to a fine of up to $5,000 per offense, and is subject to discipline or discharge by the appropriate ultimate jurisdictional authority. Each violation of Section 5-65 is a separate offense. Any penalty imposed by an ethics commission shall be separate and distinct from any fines or penalties imposed by a court of law or a State or federal agency.
(h) Any person who violates Section 4.7 or paragraph (d) of Section 5 of the Lobbyist Registration Act is guilty of a business offense and shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000. Any penalty imposed by an ethics commission shall be separate and distinct from any fines or penalties imposed by a court of law or by the Secretary of State under the Lobbyist Registration Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-554, eff. 11-16-17.)
5 ILCS 430/50-10
(5 ILCS 430/50-10)
(a) For a violation of any Section of this Act, an ethics commission may issue appropriate injunctive relief up to and including discharge of a State employee.
(b) Any injunctive relief issued pursuant to this Section must comport with the requirements of Section 20-40.
(Source: P.A. 96-555, eff. 8-18-09.)
5 ILCS 430/Art. 70
(5 ILCS 430/Art. 70 heading)
(Source: P.A. 93-615, eff. 11-19-03.)
5 ILCS 430/70-5
(5 ILCS 430/70-5)
Adoption by governmental entities.
(a) Within 6 months after the effective date of this Act, each governmental
entity other than a community college district, and each community college district within 6 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly, shall
adopt an ordinance or resolution that regulates, in a manner no less
restrictive than Section 5-15 and Article 10 of this
Act, (i) the political activities of officers and employees of the
and (ii) the soliciting and accepting of gifts by and the offering and making
of gifts to
officers and employees of the governmental entity.
No later than 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 100th General Assembly, each governmental unit shall adopt an ordinance or resolution establishing a policy to prohibit sexual harassment. The policy shall include, at a minimum: (i) a prohibition on sexual harassment; (ii) details on how an individual can report an allegation of sexual harassment, including options for making a confidential report to a supervisor, ethics officer, Inspector General, or the Department of Human Rights; (iii) a prohibition on retaliation for reporting sexual harassment allegations, including availability of whistleblower protections under this Act, the Whistleblower Act, and the Illinois Human Rights Act; and (iv) the consequences of a violation of the prohibition on sexual harassment and the consequences for knowingly making a false report.
(b) Within 3 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the
93rd General Assembly, the Attorney General shall develop model ordinances
and resolutions for
purpose of this Article. The Attorney General shall advise
entities on their
contents and adoption.
(c) As used in this Article, (i) an "officer" means an elected or appointed
official; regardless of whether the official is compensated,
and (ii) an "employee" means a full-time, part-time, or contractual employee.
(Source: P.A. 100-554, eff. 11-16-17.)