Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CRIMINAL OFFENSES
(720 ILCS 5/) Criminal Code of 2012.

720 ILCS 5/Art. 16, Subdiv. 5

 
    (720 ILCS 5/Art. 16, Subdiv. 5 heading)
SUBDIVISION 5. GENERAL THEFT
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-1

    (720 ILCS 5/16-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-1)
    Sec. 16-1. Theft.
    (a) A person commits theft when he or she knowingly:
        (1) Obtains or exerts unauthorized control over
    
property of the owner; or
        (2) Obtains by deception control over property of the
    
owner; or
        (3) Obtains by threat control over property of the
    
owner; or
        (4) Obtains control over stolen property knowing the
    
property to have been stolen or under such circumstances as would reasonably induce him or her to believe that the property was stolen; or
        (5) Obtains or exerts control over property in the
    
custody of any law enforcement agency which any law enforcement officer or any individual acting in behalf of a law enforcement agency explicitly represents to the person as being stolen or represents to the person such circumstances as would reasonably induce the person to believe that the property was stolen, and
            (A) Intends to deprive the owner permanently of
        
the use or benefit of the property; or
            (B) Knowingly uses, conceals or abandons the
        
property in such manner as to deprive the owner permanently of such use or benefit; or
            (C) Uses, conceals, or abandons the property
        
knowing such use, concealment or abandonment probably will deprive the owner permanently of such use or benefit.
    (b) Sentence.
        (1) Theft of property not from the person and not
    
exceeding $500 in value is a Class A misdemeanor.
        (1.1) Theft of property not from the person and not
    
exceeding $500 in value is a Class 4 felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.
        (2) A person who has been convicted of theft of
    
property not from the person and not exceeding $500 in value who has been previously convicted of any type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, forgery, a violation of Section 4-103, 4-103.1, 4-103.2, or 4-103.3 of the Illinois Vehicle Code relating to the possession of a stolen or converted motor vehicle, or a violation of Section 17-36 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or Section 8 of the Illinois Credit Card and Debit Card Act is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        (3) (Blank).
        (4) Theft of property from the person not exceeding
    
$500 in value, or theft of property exceeding $500 and not exceeding $10,000 in value, is a Class 3 felony.
        (4.1) Theft of property from the person not exceeding
    
$500 in value, or theft of property exceeding $500 and not exceeding $10,000 in value, is a Class 2 felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.
        (5) Theft of property exceeding $10,000 and not
    
exceeding $100,000 in value is a Class 2 felony.
        (5.1) Theft of property exceeding $10,000 and not
    
exceeding $100,000 in value is a Class 1 felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.
        (6) Theft of property exceeding $100,000 and not
    
exceeding $500,000 in value is a Class 1 felony.
        (6.1) Theft of property exceeding $100,000 in value
    
is a Class X felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.
        (6.2) Theft of property exceeding $500,000 and not
    
exceeding $1,000,000 in value is a Class 1 non-probationable felony.
        (6.3) Theft of property exceeding $1,000,000 in value
    
is a Class X felony.
        (7) Theft by deception, as described by paragraph (2)
    
of subsection (a) of this Section, in which the offender obtained money or property valued at $5,000 or more from a victim 60 years of age or older is a Class 2 felony.
        (8) Theft by deception, as described by paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (a) of this Section, in which the offender falsely poses as a landlord or agent or employee of the landlord and obtains a rent payment or a security deposit from a tenant is a Class 3 felony if the rent payment or security deposit obtained does not exceed $500.
        (9) Theft by deception, as described by paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (a) of this Section, in which the offender falsely poses as a landlord or agent or employee of the landlord and obtains a rent payment or a security deposit from a tenant is a Class 2 felony if the rent payment or security deposit obtained exceeds $500 and does not exceed $10,000.
        (10) Theft by deception, as described by paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (a) of this Section, in which the offender falsely poses as a landlord or agent or employee of the landlord and obtains a rent payment or a security deposit from a tenant is a Class 1 felony if the rent payment or security deposit obtained exceeds $10,000 and does not exceed $100,000.
        (11) Theft by deception, as described by paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (a) of this Section, in which the offender falsely poses as a landlord or agent or employee of the landlord and obtains a rent payment or a security deposit from a tenant is a Class X felony if the rent payment or security deposit obtained exceeds $100,000.
    (c) When a charge of theft of property exceeding a specified value is brought, the value of the property involved is an element of the offense to be resolved by the trier of fact as either exceeding or not exceeding the specified value.
    (d) Theft by lessee; permissive inference. The trier of fact may infer evidence that a person intends to deprive the owner permanently of the use or benefit of the property (1) if a lessee of the personal property of another fails to return it to the owner within 10 days after written demand from the owner for its return or (2) if a lessee of the personal property of another fails to return it to the owner within 24 hours after written demand from the owner for its return and the lessee had presented identification to the owner that contained a materially fictitious name, address, or telephone number. A notice in writing, given after the expiration of the leasing agreement, addressed and mailed, by registered mail, to the lessee at the address given by him and shown on the leasing agreement shall constitute proper demand.
    (e) Permissive inference; evidence of intent that a person obtains by deception control over property. The trier of fact may infer that a person "knowingly obtains by deception control over property of the owner" when he or she fails to return, within 45 days after written demand from the owner, the downpayment and any additional payments accepted under a promise, oral or in writing, to perform services for the owner for consideration of $3,000 or more, and the promisor knowingly without good cause failed to substantially perform pursuant to the agreement after taking a down payment of 10% or more of the agreed upon consideration. This provision shall not apply where the owner initiated the suspension of performance under the agreement, or where the promisor responds to the notice within the 45-day notice period. A notice in writing, addressed and mailed, by registered mail, to the promisor at the last known address of the promisor, shall constitute proper demand.
    (f) Offender's interest in the property.
        (1) It is no defense to a charge of theft of property
    
that the offender has an interest therein, when the owner also has an interest to which the offender is not entitled.
        (2) Where the property involved is that of the
    
offender's spouse, no prosecution for theft may be maintained unless the parties were not living together as man and wife and were living in separate abodes at the time of the alleged theft.
(Source: P.A. 96-496, eff. 1-1-10; 96-534, eff. 8-14-09; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10; 96-1301, eff. 1-1-11; 96-1532, eff. 1-1-12; 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11; 97-597, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

720 ILCS 5/16-1.1

    (720 ILCS 5/16-1.1)
    Sec. 16-1.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-857, eff. 1-1-09. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-1.2

    (720 ILCS 5/16-1.2)
    Sec. 16-1.2. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 84-992. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-1.3

    (720 ILCS 5/16-1.3) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-1.3)
    (This Section was renumbered as Section 17-56 by P.A. 96-1551.)
    Sec. 16-1.3. (Renumbered).
(Source: P.A. 95-798, eff. 1-1-09. Renumbered by P.A. 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11.)

720 ILCS 5/16-2

    (720 ILCS 5/16-2) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-2)
    Sec. 16-2. Theft of lost or mislaid property. A person commits theft of lost or mislaid property when he or she obtains control over the property and:
    (a) Knows or learns the identity of the owner or knows, or is aware of, or learns of a reasonable method of identifying the owner, and
    (b) Fails to take reasonable measures to restore the property to the owner, and
    (c) Intends to deprive the owner permanently of the use or benefit of the property.
    (d) Sentence.
    Theft of lost or mislaid property where:
        (1) the value does not exceed $500 is a Class B
    
misdemeanor;
        (2) the value exceeds $500 but does not exceed
    
$10,000 is a Class A misdemeanor; and
        (3) the value exceeds $10,000 is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-3

    (720 ILCS 5/16-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-3)
    Sec. 16-3. Theft of labor or services or use of property.
    (a) A person commits theft when he or she knowingly obtains the temporary use of property, labor or services of another which are available only for hire, by means of threat or deception or knowing that such use is without the consent of the person providing the property, labor or services. For the purposes of this subsection, library material is available for hire.
    (b) A person commits theft when after (1) renting or leasing a motor vehicle, (2) obtaining a motor vehicle through a "driveaway" service mode of transportation, (3) renting or leasing equipment exceeding $500 in value including tools, construction or industry equipment, and such items as linens, tableware, tents, tables, chairs and other equipment specially rented for a party or special event, or (4) renting or leasing any other type of personal property exceeding $500 in value, under an agreement in writing which provides for the return of the vehicle, equipment, or other personal property to a particular place at a particular time, he or she without good cause knowingly fails to return the vehicle, equipment, or other personal property to that place within the time specified, and is thereafter served or sent a written demand mailed to the last known address, made by certified mail return receipt requested, to return the vehicle, equipment, or other personal property within 3 days from the mailing of the written demand, and who without good cause knowingly fails to return the vehicle, equipment, or any other personal property to any place of business of the lessor within the return period. The trier of fact may infer evidence that the person is without good cause if the person signs the agreement with a name or address other than his or her own.
    (c) A person commits theft when he or she borrows from a library facility library material which has an aggregate value of $50 or more pursuant to an agreement with or procedure established by the library facility for the return of such library material, and knowingly without good cause fails to return the library material so borrowed in accordance with such agreement or procedure, and further knowingly without good cause fails to return such library material within 30 days after receiving written notice by certified mail from the library facility demanding the return of such library material.
    (d) Sentence.
    A person convicted of theft under subsection (a) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, except that the theft of library material where the aggregate value exceeds $300 is a Class 3 felony. A person convicted of theft under subsection (b) of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony. A person convicted of theft under subsection (c) is guilty of a petty offense for which the offender may be fined an amount not to exceed $500 and shall be ordered to reimburse the library for postage costs, attorney's fees, and actual replacement costs of the materials not returned, except that theft under subsection (c) where the aggregate value exceeds $300 is a Class 3 felony. In addition to any other penalty imposed, the court may order a person convicted under this Section to make restitution to the victim of the offense.
    For the purpose of sentencing on theft of library material, separate transactions totalling more than $300 within a 90-day period shall constitute a single offense.
(Source: P.A. 99-534, eff. 1-1-17.)

720 ILCS 5/16-3.1

    (720 ILCS 5/16-3.1)
    Sec. 16-3.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-1004. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-4

    (720 ILCS 5/16-4)
    Sec. 16-4. (Repealed).
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 1983. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-5

    (720 ILCS 5/16-5) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-5)
    Sec. 16-5. Theft from coin-operated machine.
    (a) A person commits theft from a coin-operated machine when he or she knowingly and without authority opens, breaks into, tampers with, triggers, or damages a coin-operated machine either:
        (1) to operate or use the machine; or
        (2) with the intent to commit a theft from the
    
machine.
    (b) Sentence.
        (1) A violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class B
    
misdemeanor.
        (2) A violation of subdivision (a)(2) is a Class A
    
misdemeanor.
        (3) A person who has been convicted of theft from a
    
coin-operated machine in violation of subdivision (a)(2) and who has been previously convicted of any type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, or home invasion is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-6

    (720 ILCS 5/16-6) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-6)
    Sec. 16-6. Theft-related devices.
    (a)(1) A person commits unlawful possession of a key or device for a coin-operated machine when he or she possesses a key, drawing, print, mold of a key, device, or substance designed to open, break into, tamper with, or damage a coin-operated machine, with intent to commit a theft from the machine.
    (2) A person commits unlawful use of a key or device for a coin-operated machine when he or she with the intent to commit a theft from a coin-operated machine uses a key, drawing, print, mold of a key, device, or substance and causes damage or loss to the coin-operated machine of more than $300.
    (b)(1) A person commits unlawful use of a theft detection shielding device when he or she knowingly manufactures, sells, offers for sale or distributes any theft detection shielding device.
    (2) A person commits unlawful possession of a theft detection shielding device when he or she knowingly possesses a theft detection shielding device with the intent to commit theft or retail theft.
    (3) A person commits unlawful possession of a theft detection device remover when he or she knowingly possesses a theft detection device remover with the intent to use such tool to remove any theft detection device from any merchandise without the permission of the merchant or person owning or holding the merchandise.
    (c) A person commits use of a scanning device or reencoder to defraud when the person knowingly uses:
        (1) a scanning device to access, read, obtain,
    
memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on the magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card without the permission of the authorized user of the payment card and with the intent to defraud the authorized user, the issuer of the authorized user's payment card, or a merchant; or
        (2) a reencoder to place information encoded on the
    
magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card onto the magnetic strip or stripe of a different card without the permission of the authorized user of the card from which the information is being reencoded and with the intent to defraud the authorized user, the issuer of the authorized user's payment card, or a merchant.
    (d) Sentence. A violation of subdivision (a)(1), (b)(1), (b)(2), or (b)(3) is a Class A misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of subdivision (b)(1), (b)(2), or (b)(3) is a Class 4 felony. A violation of subdivision (a)(2), (c)(1), or (c)(2) is a Class 4 felony. A second or subsequent violation of subdivision (c)(1) or (c)(2) is a Class 3 felony.
    (e) The owner of a coin-operated machine may maintain a civil cause of action against a person engaged in the activities covered in subdivisions (a)(1) and (a)(2) and may recover treble actual damages, reasonable attorney's fees, and costs.
    (f) As used in this Section, "substance" means a corrosive or acidic liquid or solid but does not include items purchased through a coin-operated machine at the location or acquired as condiments at the location of the coin-operated machine.
    (g) For the purposes of this Section, "theft detection shielding device" means any laminated or coated bag or device peculiar to and marketed for shielding and intended to shield merchandise from detection by an electronic or magnetic theft alarm sensor.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-7

    (720 ILCS 5/16-7) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-7)
    Sec. 16-7. Unlawful use of recorded sounds or images.
    (a) A person commits unlawful use of recorded sounds or images when he or she knowingly or recklessly:
        (1) transfers or causes to be transferred without the
    
consent of the owner, any sounds or images recorded on any sound or audio visual recording with the intent of selling or causing to be sold, or using or causing to be used for profit the article to which such sounds or recordings of sound are transferred;
        (2) sells, offers for sale, advertises for sale, uses
    
or causes to be used for profit any such article described in subdivision (a)(1) without consent of the owner;
        (3) offers or makes available for a fee, rental or
    
any other form of compensation, directly or indirectly, any equipment or machinery for the purpose of use by another to reproduce or transfer, without the consent of the owner, any sounds or images recorded on any sound or audio visual recording to another sound or audio visual recording or for the purpose of use by another to manufacture any sound or audio visual recording in violation of subsection (b); or
        (4) transfers or causes to be transferred without the
    
consent of the owner, any live performance with the intent of selling or causing to be sold, or using or causing to be used for profit the sound or audio visual recording to which the performance is transferred.
    (b) A person commits unlawful use of unidentified sound or audio visual recordings when he or she knowingly, recklessly, or negligently for profit manufacturers, sells, distributes, vends, circulates, performs, leases, possesses, or otherwise deals in and with unidentified sound or audio visual recordings or causes the manufacture, sale, distribution, vending, circulation, performance, lease, or other dealing in and with unidentified sound or audio visual recordings.
    (c) For the purposes of this Section, "owner" means the person who owns the master sound recording on which sound is recorded and from which the transferred recorded sounds are directly or indirectly derived, or the person who owns the rights to record or authorize the recording of a live performance.
    For the purposes of this Section, "manufacturer" means the person who actually makes or causes to be made a sound or audio visual recording. "Manufacturer" does not include a person who manufactures the medium upon which sounds or visual images can be recorded or stored, or who manufactures the cartridge or casing itself.
    (d) Sentence. Unlawful use of recorded sounds or images or unidentified sound or audio visual recordings is a Class 4 felony; however:
        (1) If the offense involves more than 100 but not
    
exceeding 1000 unidentified sound recordings or more than 7 but not exceeding 65 unidentified audio visual recordings during any 180 day period the authorized fine is up to $100,000; and
        (2) If the offense involves more than 1,000
    
unidentified sound recordings or more than 65 unidentified audio visual recordings during any 180 day period the authorized fine is up to $250,000.
    (e) Upon conviction of any violation of subsection (b), the offender shall be sentenced to make restitution to any owner or lawful producer of a master sound or audio visual recording, or to the trade association representing such owner or lawful producer, that has suffered injury resulting from the crime. The order of restitution shall be based on the aggregate wholesale value of lawfully manufactured and authorized sound or audio visual recordings corresponding to the non-conforming recorded devices involved in the offense, and shall include investigative costs relating to the offense.
    (f) Subsection (a) of this Section shall neither enlarge nor diminish the rights of parties in private litigation.
    (g) Subsection (a) of this Section does not apply to any person engaged in the business of radio or television broadcasting who transfers, or causes to be transferred, any sounds (other than from the sound track of a motion picture) solely for the purpose of broadcast transmission.
    (h) Each individual manufacture, distribution or sale or transfer for a consideration of such recorded devices in contravention of subsection (a) of this Section constitutes a separate violation of this Section. Each individual manufacture, sale, distribution, vending, circulation, performance, lease, possession, or other dealing in and with an unidentified sound or audio visual recording under subsection (b) of this Section constitutes a separate violation of this Section.
    (i) Any sound or audio visual recordings containing transferred sounds or a performance whose transfer was not authorized by the owner of the master sound recording or performance, or any unidentified sound or audio visual recording used, in violation of this Section, or in the attempt to commit such violation as defined in Section 8-4, or in a conspiracy to commit such violation as defined in Section 8-2, or in a solicitation to commit such offense as defined in Section 8-1, may be confiscated and destroyed upon conclusion of the case or cases to which they are relevant, except that the court may enter an order preserving them as evidence for use in other cases or pending the final determination of an appeal.
    (j) It is an affirmative defense to any charge of unlawful use of recorded sounds or images that the recorded sounds or images so used are public domain material. For purposes of this Section, recorded sounds are deemed to be in the public domain if the recorded sounds were copyrighted pursuant to the copyright laws of the United States, as the same may be amended from time to time, and the term of the copyright and any extensions or renewals thereof has expired.
    (k) With respect to sound recordings (other than accompanying a motion picture or other audiovisual work), this Section applies only to sound recordings that were initially recorded before February 15, 1972.
(Source: P.A. 97-538, eff. 1-1-12; 97-597, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13.)

720 ILCS 5/16-8

    (720 ILCS 5/16-8)
    Sec. 16-8. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-485, eff. 1-1-08. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-10

    (720 ILCS 5/16-10) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-10)
    Sec. 16-10. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 90-655, eff. 7-30-98. Repealed by P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03.)

720 ILCS 5/16-11

    (720 ILCS 5/16-11) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-11)
    Sec. 16-11. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 88-466. Repealed by P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03.)

720 ILCS 5/16-12

    (720 ILCS 5/16-12) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-12)
    Sec. 16-12. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 88-466. Repealed by P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03.)

720 ILCS 5/16-13

    (720 ILCS 5/16-13) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-13)
    Sec. 16-13. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-519. Repealed by P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03.)

720 ILCS 5/16-14

    (720 ILCS 5/16-14) (from Ch. 38, par. 16-14)
    Sec. 16-14. Theft of utility services.
    (a) A person commits theft of utility services when he or she knowingly, without authority, diverts or interferes with any public water, gas, power supply, or other public services or installs any device with the intent to divert or interfere with any public water, gas, power supply, or other public services without the authority of the owner or entity furnishing or transmitting such product or services.
    (b) Sentence.
        (1) Except as provided in paragraph (3), a violation
    
of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor unless the offense was committed for remuneration, in which case it is a Class 4 felony.
        (2) Except as provided in paragraph (3), a second or
    
subsequent violation of this Section is a Class 4 felony.
        (3) If the offense causes disruption of the public
    
utility services or delay in the restoration of the public utility services to 10 or more customers or affects an area of more than one square mile, a violation of this Section is a Class 2 felony.
    (c) This Section does not apply to the theft of telecommunication services.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-15

    (720 ILCS 5/16-15)
    Sec. 16-15. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-16

    (720 ILCS 5/16-16)
    Sec. 16-16. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-347, eff. 1-1-12. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-16.1

    (720 ILCS 5/16-16.1)
    Sec. 16-16.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-347, eff. 1-1-12. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-17

    (720 ILCS 5/16-17)
    Sec. 16-17. Theft of advertising services.
    (a) A person commits theft of advertising services when he or she knowingly attaches or inserts an unauthorized advertisement in a newspaper or periodical, and redistributes it to the public or has the intent to redistribute it to the public.
    (b) This Section applies to any newspaper or periodical that is offered for retail sale or is distributed without charge.
    (c) This Section does not apply if the publisher or authorized distributor of the newspaper or periodical consents to the attachment or insertion of the advertisement.
    (d) In this Section, "unauthorized advertisement" means any form of representation or communication, including any handbill, newsletter, pamphlet, or notice that contains any letters, words, or pictorial representation that is attached to or inserted in a newspaper or periodical without a contractual agreement between the publisher and an advertiser.
    (e) Sentence. Theft of advertising services is a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-18

    (720 ILCS 5/16-18)
    Sec. 16-18. Tampering with communication services; theft of communication services.
    (a) Injury to wires or obtaining service with intent to defraud. A person commits injury to wires or obtaining service with intent to defraud when he or she knowingly:
        (1) displaces, removes, injures or destroys any
    
telegraph or telephone line, wire, cable, pole or conduit, belonging to another, or the material or property appurtenant thereto; or
        (2) cuts, breaks, taps, or makes any connection with
    
any telegraph or telephone line, wire, cable or instrument belonging to another; or
        (3) reads, takes or copies any message, communication
    
or report intended for another passing over any such telegraph line, wire or cable in this State; or
        (4) prevents, obstructs or delays by any means or
    
contrivance whatsoever, the sending, transmission, conveyance or delivery in this State of any message, communication or report by or through any telegraph or telephone line, wire or cable; or
        (5) uses any apparatus to unlawfully do or cause to
    
be done any of the acts described in subdivisions (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Section; or
        (6) obtains, or attempts to obtain, any
    
telecommunications service with the intent to deprive any person of the lawful charge, in whole or in part, for any telecommunications service:
            (A) by charging such service to an existing
        
telephone number without the authority of the subscriber thereto; or
            (B) by charging such service to a nonexistent,
        
false, fictitious, or counterfeit telephone number or to a suspended, terminated, expired, canceled, or revoked telephone number; or
            (C) by use of a code, prearranged scheme, or
        
other similar stratagem or device whereby said person, in effect, sends or receives information; or
            (D) by publishing the number or code of an
        
existing, canceled, revoked or nonexistent telephone number, credit number or other credit device or method of numbering or coding which is employed in the issuance of telephone numbers, credit numbers or other credit devices which may be used to avoid the payment of any lawful telephone toll charge; or
            (E) by any other trick, stratagem, impersonation,
        
false pretense, false representation, false statement, contrivance, device, or means.
    (b) Theft of communication services. A person commits theft of communication services when he or she knowingly:
        (1) obtains or uses a communication service without
    
the authorization of, or compensation paid to, the communication service provider;
        (2) possesses, uses, manufactures, assembles,
    
distributes, leases, transfers, or sells, or offers, promotes or advertises for sale, lease, use, or distribution, an unlawful communication device:
            (A) for the commission of a theft of a
        
communication service or to receive, disrupt, transmit, decrypt, or acquire, or facilitate the receipt, disruption, transmission, decryption or acquisition, of any communication service without the express consent or express authorization of the communication service provider; or
            (B) to conceal or to assist another to conceal
        
from any communication service provider or from any lawful authority the existence or place of origin or destination of any communication;
        (3) modifies, alters, programs or reprograms a
    
communication device for the purposes described in subdivision (2)(A) or (2)(B);
        (4) possesses, uses, manufactures, assembles, leases,
    
distributes, sells, or transfers, or offers, promotes or advertises for sale, use or distribution, any unlawful access device; or
        (5) possesses, uses, prepares, distributes, gives or
    
otherwise transfers to another or offers, promotes, or advertises for sale, use or distribution, any:
            (A) plans or instructions for making or
        
assembling an unlawful communication or access device, with the intent to use or employ the unlawful communication or access device, or to allow the same to be used or employed, for a purpose prohibited by this subsection (b), or knowing or having reason to know that the plans or instructions are intended to be used for manufacturing or assembling the unlawful communication or access device for a purpose prohibited by this subsection (b); or
            (B) material, including hardware, cables, tools,
        
data, computer software or other information or equipment, knowing that the purchaser or a third person intends to use the material in the manufacture or assembly of an unlawful communication or access device for a purpose prohibited by this subsection (b).
    (c) Sentence.
        (1) A violation of subsection (a) is a Class A
    
misdemeanor; provided, however, that any of the following is a Class 4 felony:
            (A) a second or subsequent conviction for a
        
violation of subsection (a); or
            (B) an offense committed for remuneration; or
            (C) an offense involving damage or destruction of
        
property in an amount in excess of $300 or defrauding of services in excess of $500.
        (2) A violation of subsection (b) is a Class A
    
misdemeanor, except that:
            (A) A violation of subsection (b) is a Class 4
        
felony if:
                (i) the violation of subsection (b) involves
            
at least 10, but not more than 50, unlawful communication or access devices; or
                (ii) the defendant engages in conduct
            
identified in subdivision (b)(3) of this Section with the intention of substantially disrupting and impairing the ability of a communication service provider to deliver communication services to its lawful customers or subscribers; or
                (iii) the defendant at the time of the
            
commission of the offense is a pre-trial detainee at a penal institution or is serving a sentence at a penal institution; or
                (iv) the defendant at the time of the
            
commission of the offense is a pre-trial detainee at a penal institution or is serving a sentence at a penal institution and uses any means of electronic communication as defined in Section 26.5-0.1 of this Code for fraud, theft, theft by deception, identity theft, or any other unlawful purpose; or
                (v) the aggregate value of the service
            
obtained is $300 or more; or
                (vi) the violation is for a wired
            
communication service or device and the defendant has been convicted previously for an offense under subsection (b) or for any other type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, or fraud, including violations of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 in this or any federal or other state jurisdiction.
            (B) A violation of subsection (b) is a Class 3
        
felony if:
                (i) the violation of subsection (b) involves
            
more than 50 unlawful communication or access devices; or
                (ii) the defendant at the time of the
            
commission of the offense is a pre-trial detainee at a penal institution or is serving a sentence at a penal institution and has been convicted previously of an offense under subsection (b) committed by the defendant while serving as a pre-trial detainee in a penal institution or while serving a sentence at a penal institution; or
                (iii) the defendant at the time of the
            
commission of the offense is a pre-trial detainee at a penal institution or is serving a sentence at a penal institution and has been convicted previously of an offense under subsection (b) committed by the defendant while serving as a pre-trial detainee in a penal institution or while serving a sentence at a penal institution and uses any means of electronic communication as defined in Section 26.5-0.1 of this Code for fraud, theft, theft by deception, identity theft, or any other unlawful purpose; or
                (iv) the violation is for a wired
            
communication service or device and the defendant has been convicted previously on 2 or more occasions for offenses under subsection (b) or for any other type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, or fraud, including violations of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 in this or any federal or other state jurisdiction.
            (C) A violation of subsection (b) is a Class 2
        
felony if the violation is for a wireless communication service or device and the defendant has been convicted previously for an offense under subsection (b) or for any other type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, or fraud, including violations of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 in this or any federal or other state jurisdiction.
        (3) Restitution. The court shall, in addition to any
    
other sentence authorized by law, sentence a person convicted of violating subsection (b) to make restitution in the manner provided in Article 5 of Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (d) Grading of offense based on prior convictions. For purposes of grading an offense based upon a prior conviction for an offense under subsection (b) or for any other type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, or fraud, including violations of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 in this or any federal or other state jurisdiction under subdivisions (c)(2)(A)(i) and (c)(2)(B)(i) of this Section, a prior conviction shall consist of convictions upon separate indictments or criminal complaints for offenses under subsection (b) or for any other type of theft, robbery, armed robbery, burglary, residential burglary, possession of burglary tools, home invasion, or fraud, including violations of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 in this or any federal or other state jurisdiction.
    (e) Separate offenses. For purposes of all criminal penalties or fines established for violations of subsection (b), the prohibited activity established in subsection (b) as it applies to each unlawful communication or access device shall be deemed a separate offense.
    (f) Forfeiture of unlawful communication or access devices. Upon conviction of a defendant under subsection (b), the court may, in addition to any other sentence authorized by law, direct that the defendant forfeit any unlawful communication or access devices in the defendant's possession or control which were involved in the violation for which the defendant was convicted.
    (g) Venue. An offense under subsection (b) may be deemed to have been committed at either the place where the defendant manufactured or assembled an unlawful communication or access device, or assisted others in doing so, or the place where the unlawful communication or access device was sold or delivered to a purchaser or recipient. It is not a defense to a violation of subsection (b) that some of the acts constituting the offense occurred outside of the State of Illinois.
    (h) Civil action. For purposes of subsection (b):
        (1) Bringing a civil action. Any person aggrieved by
    
a violation may bring a civil action in any court of competent jurisdiction.
        (2) Powers of the court. The court may:
            (A) grant preliminary and final injunctions to
        
prevent or restrain violations without a showing by the plaintiff of special damages, irreparable harm or inadequacy of other legal remedies;
            (B) at any time while an action is pending, order
        
the impounding, on such terms as it deems reasonable, of any unlawful communication or access device that is in the custody or control of the violator and that the court has reasonable cause to believe was involved in the alleged violation;
            (C) award damages as described in subdivision
        
(h)(3);
            (D) award punitive damages;
            (E) in its discretion, award reasonable
        
attorney's fees and costs, including, but not limited to, costs for investigation, testing and expert witness fees, to an aggrieved party who prevails; and
            (F) as part of a final judgment or decree finding
        
a violation, order the remedial modification or destruction of any unlawful communication or access device involved in the violation that is in the custody or control of the violator or has been impounded under subdivision (h)(2)(B).
        (3) Types of damages recoverable. Damages awarded by
    
a court under this Section shall be computed as either of the following:
            (A) Upon his or her election of such damages at
        
any time before final judgment is entered, the complaining party may recover the actual damages suffered by him or her as a result of the violation and any profits of the violator that are attributable to the violation and are not taken into account in computing the actual damages; in determining the violator's profits, the complaining party shall be required to prove only the violator's gross revenue, and the violator shall be required to prove his or her deductible expenses and the elements of profit attributable to factors other than the violation; or
            (B) Upon election by the complaining party at any
        
time before final judgment is entered, that party may recover in lieu of actual damages an award of statutory damages of not less than $250 and not more than $10,000 for each unlawful communication or access device involved in the action, with the amount of statutory damages to be determined by the court, as the court considers just. In any case, if the court finds that any of the violations were committed with the intent to obtain commercial advantage or private financial gain, the court in its discretion may increase the award of statutory damages by an amount of not more than $50,000 for each unlawful communication or access device involved in the action.
        (4) Separate violations. For purposes of all civil
    
remedies established for violations, the prohibited activity established in this Section applies to each unlawful communication or access device and shall be deemed a separate violation.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13.)

720 ILCS 5/16-19

    (720 ILCS 5/16-19)
    Sec. 16-19. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-20

    (720 ILCS 5/16-20)
    Sec. 16-20. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 96-497, eff. 1-1-10. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-21

    (720 ILCS 5/16-21)
    Sec. 16-21. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 92-728, eff. 1-1-03. Repealed by P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)

720 ILCS 5/16-22

    (720 ILCS 5/16-22)
    (This Section was renumbered as Section 17-11.5 by P.A. 96-1551.)
    Sec. 16-22. (Renumbered).
(Source: P.A. 94-707, eff. 6-1-06. Renumbered by P.A. 96-1551, eff. 7-1-11.)