Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/6-115

    (625 ILCS 5/6-115) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-115)
    Sec. 6-115. Expiration of driver's license.
    (a) Except as provided elsewhere in this Section, every driver's license issued under the provisions of this Code shall expire 4 years from the date of its issuance, or at such later date, as the Secretary of State may by proper rule and regulation designate, not to exceed 12 calendar months; in the event that an applicant for renewal of a driver's license fails to apply prior to the expiration date of the previous driver's license, the renewal driver's license shall expire 4 years from the expiration date of the previous driver's license, or at such later date as the Secretary of State may by proper rule and regulation designate, not to exceed 12 calendar months.
    The Secretary of State may, however, issue to a person not previously licensed as a driver in Illinois a driver's license which will expire not less than 4 years nor more than 5 years from date of issuance, except as provided elsewhere in this Section.
    (a-5) Every driver's license issued under this Code to an applicant who is not a United States citizen or permanent resident shall be marked "Limited Term" and shall expire on whichever is the earlier date of the following:
        (1) as provided under subsection (a), (f), (g), or
    
(i) of this Section;
        (2) on the date the applicant's authorized stay in
    
the United States terminates; or
        (3) if the applicant's authorized stay is
    
indefinite and the applicant is applying for a Limited Term REAL ID compliant driver's license, one year from the date of issuance of the license.
    (b) Before the expiration of a driver's license, except those licenses expiring on the individual's 21st birthday, or 3 months after the individual's 21st birthday, the holder thereof may apply for a renewal thereof, subject to all the provisions of Section 6-103, and the Secretary of State may require an examination of the applicant. A licensee whose driver's license expires on his 21st birthday, or 3 months after his 21st birthday, may not apply for a renewal of his driving privileges until he reaches the age of 21.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall, 30 days prior to the expiration of a driver's license, forward to each person whose license is to expire a notification of the expiration of said license which may be presented at the time of renewal of said license.
    There may be included with such notification information explaining the anatomical gift and Emergency Medical Information Card provisions of Section 6-110. The format and text of such information shall be prescribed by the Secretary.
    There shall be included with such notification, for a period of 4 years beginning January 1, 2000 information regarding the Illinois Adoption Registry and Medical Information Exchange established in Section 18.1 of the Adoption Act.
    (d) The Secretary may defer the expiration of the driver's license of a licensee, spouse, and dependent children who are living with such licensee while on active duty, serving in the Armed Forces of the United States outside of the State of Illinois, and 120 days thereafter, upon such terms and conditions as the Secretary may prescribe.
    (d-5) The Secretary may defer the expiration of the driver's license of a licensee, or of a spouse or dependent children living with the licensee, serving as a civilian employee of the United States Armed Forces or the United States Department of Defense, outside of the State of Illinois, and 120 days thereafter, upon such terms and conditions as the Secretary may prescribe.
    (e) The Secretary of State may decline to process a renewal of a driver's license of any person who has not paid any fee or tax due under this Code and is not paid upon reasonable notice and demand.
    (f) The Secretary shall provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee under 21 years of age shall expire 3 months after the licensee's 21st birthday. Persons whose current driver's licenses expire on their 21st birthday on or after January 1, 1986 shall not renew their driver's license before their 21st birthday, and their current driver's license will be extended for an additional term of 3 months beyond their 21st birthday. Thereafter, the expiration and term of the driver's license shall be governed by subsection (a) hereof.
    (g) The Secretary shall provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee 81 years of age through age 86 shall expire 2 years from the date of issuance, or at such later date as the Secretary may by rule and regulation designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months. The Secretary shall also provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee 87 years of age or older shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance, or at such later date as the Secretary may by rule and regulation designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months.
    (h) The Secretary of State shall provide that each special restricted driver's license issued under subsection (g) of Section 6-113 of this Code shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance. The Secretary shall adopt rules defining renewal requirements.
    (i) The Secretary of State shall provide that each driver's license issued to a person convicted of a sex offense as defined in Section 2 of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance or at such date as the Secretary may by rule designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months. The Secretary may adopt rules defining renewal requirements.
(Source: P.A. 99-118, eff. 1-1-16; 99-305, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 100-248, eff. 8-22-17; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)

625 ILCS 5/6-116

    (625 ILCS 5/6-116) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-116)
    Sec. 6-116. Notice of Change of Residence Address or Legal Name.
    (a) Whenever any person after applying for or receiving a drivers license or permit moves from the residence address named in such application or on the license or permit issued to him such person shall within 10 days thereafter notify the Drivers Services Department of the Secretary of State's Office in writing of his old and new residence addresses and of the number of any license or permit then held by him. Such person may obtain a corrected license or permit as provided in Section 6-114.
    (b) Any person whose legal name has changed from the name on the license or permit that he or she has been previously issued must apply for a corrected card within 30 days after the change.
(Source: P.A. 93-895, eff. 1-1-05.)

625 ILCS 5/6-116.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-116.5)
    Sec. 6-116.5. Driver's duty to report medical condition. Every driver shall report to the Secretary any medical condition, as defined by the Driver's License Medical Review Law of 1992, that is likely to cause loss of consciousness or any loss of ability to safely operate a motor vehicle within 10 days of the driver becoming aware of the condition. The Secretary, in conjunction with the Driver's License Medical Advisory Board, shall determine by administrative rule the temporary conditions not required to be reported under the provisions of this Section. All information furnished to the Secretary under the provisions of this Section shall be deemed confidential and for the privileged use of the Secretary in accordance with the provisions of subsection (j) of Section 2-123 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 89-584, eff. 7-31-96.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-117)
    Sec. 6-117. Records to be kept by the Secretary of State.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall file every application for a license or permit accepted under this Chapter, and shall maintain suitable indexes thereof. The records of the Secretary of State shall indicate the action taken with respect to such applications.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall maintain appropriate records of all licenses and permits refused, cancelled, disqualified, revoked, or suspended and of the revocation, suspension, and disqualification of driving privileges of persons not licensed under this Chapter, and such records shall note the reasons for such action.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall maintain appropriate records of convictions reported under this Chapter. Records of conviction may be maintained in a computer processible medium.
    (d) The Secretary of State may also maintain appropriate records of any accident reports received.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall also maintain appropriate records of any disposition of supervision or records relative to a driver's referral to a driver remedial or rehabilitative program, as required by the Secretary of State or the courts. Such records shall only be available for use by the Secretary, the driver licensing administrator of any other state, law enforcement agencies, the courts, and the affected driver or, upon proper verification, such affected driver's attorney.
    (f) The Secretary of State shall also maintain or contract to maintain appropriate records of all photographs and signatures obtained in the process of issuing any driver's license, permit, or identification card. The record shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed except to those entities listed under Section 6-110.1 of this Code.
    (g) The Secretary of State may establish a First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry in compliance with subsection (b-1) of Section 5-20 of the Illinois Anatomical Gift Act, as follows:
        (1) The Secretary shall offer, to each applicant for
    
issuance or renewal of a driver's license or identification card who is 16 years of age or older, the opportunity to have his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry. The Secretary must advise the applicant or licensee that he or she is under no compulsion to have his or her name included in the registry. An individual who agrees to having his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry has given full legal consent to the donation of any of his or her organs or tissue upon his or her death. A brochure explaining this method of executing an anatomical gift must be given to each applicant for issuance or renewal of a driver's license or identification card. The brochure must advise the applicant or licensee (i) that he or she is under no compulsion to have his or her name included in this registry and (ii) that he or she may wish to consult with family, friends, or clergy before doing so.
        (2) The Secretary of State may establish additional
    
methods by which an individual may have his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry.
        (3) When an individual has agreed to have his or her
    
name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry, the Secretary of State shall note that agreement in the First Person consent organ and tissue donor registry. Representatives of federally designated organ procurement agencies and tissue banks and the offices of Illinois county coroners and medical examiners may inquire of the Secretary of State whether a potential organ donor's name is included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry, and the Secretary of State may provide that information to the representative.
        (4) An individual may withdraw his or her consent to
    
be listed in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry maintained by the Secretary of State by notifying the Secretary of State in writing, or by any other means approved by the Secretary, of the individual's decision to have his or her name removed from the registry.
        (5) The Secretary of State may undertake additional
    
efforts, including education and awareness activities, to promote organ and tissue donation.
        (6) In the absence of gross negligence or willful
    
misconduct, the Secretary of State and his or her employees are immune from any civil or criminal liability in connection with an individual's consent to be listed in the organ and tissue donor registry.
(Source: P.A. 100-41, eff. 1-1-18.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117.1)
    Sec. 6-117.1. Prohibited use of driver's license information.
    (a) When information is obtained from a driver's license to identify or prove the age of the holder of the license, or in the course of a commercial transaction, that information may be used only for purposes of identification of the individual or for completing the commercial transaction in which the information was obtained, including all subsequent payment, processing, collection, and other related actions. Information obtained from a driver's license may not be used for purposes unrelated to the transaction in which it was obtained, including, but not limited to, commercial solicitations. Information obtained from a driver's license to identify the holder of the license, or in the course of a commercial transaction, may not be sold, leased, or otherwise provided to any third party.
    (b) Any individual whose driver's license information has been used in violation of this Section has a cause of action against the person who violated this Section. Upon a finding that a violation did occur, the individual whose information was used in violation of this Section is entitled to recover actual damages, but not less than liquidated damages in the amount of $250 for each violation, plus attorney's fees and the costs of bringing the action.
    (c) Use of information contained on a driver's license is not a violation of this Section if (i) the individual whose information has been used gave express permission for that use or (ii) the information relating to the individual was obtained from a source other than the individual's driver's license.
    (d) This Section does not apply to any agency of the United States, the State of Illinois, or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
    (e) This Section does not apply to the transfer of information to a third party if (i) a federal or State law, rule, or regulation requires that the information be transferred to a third party after being recorded in specified transactions or (ii) the information is transferred to a third party for purposes of the detection or possible prosecution of criminal offenses or fraud. If information is transferred to a third party under this subsection (e), it may be used only for the purposes authorized by this subsection (e).
    (f) This Section does not apply to the use of information obtained from a driver's license which has been provided by the holder of the license in the course of a potential or completed employment, commercial, business or professional transaction for the purpose of completing written documents including, but not limited to, contracts, agreements, purchase orders, retail installment contracts, buyer's orders, purchase contracts, repair orders, applications, disclosure forms or waiver forms.
(Source: P.A. 94-892, eff. 1-1-07.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117.2)
    Sec. 6-117.2. Emergency contact database.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall establish a database of the emergency contacts of persons who hold a driver's license, instruction permit, or any other type of driving permit issued by the Secretary of State. Information in the database shall be accessible only to employees of the Office of the Secretary and law enforcement officers employed by a law enforcement agency. Law enforcement officers may share information contained in the emergency contact database, including disabilities and special needs information, with other public safety workers on scene, as needed to conduct official law enforcement duties.
    (b) Any person holding a driver's license, instruction permit, or any other type of driving permit issued by the Secretary of State shall be afforded the opportunity to provide the Secretary of State, in a manner and form designated by the Secretary of State, the name, address, telephone number, and relationship to the holder of no more than 2 emergency contact persons whom the holder wishes to be contacted by a law enforcement officer if the holder is involved in a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation and the holder is unable to communicate with the contact person or persons and may designate whether the holder has a disability or is a special needs individual. A contact person need not be the holder's next of kin.
    (c) The Secretary shall adopt rules to implement this Section. At a minimum, the rules shall address all of the following:
        (1) the method whereby a holder may provide the
    
Secretary of State with emergency contact, disability, and special needs information;
        (2) the method whereby a holder may provide the
    
Secretary of State with a change to the emergency contact, disability, and special needs information; and
        (3) any other aspect of the database or its operation
    
that the Secretary determines is necessary to implement this Section.
    (d) If a person involved in a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation is unable to communicate with the contact person or persons specified in the database, a law enforcement officer shall make a good faith effort to notify the contact person or persons of the situation. Neither the law enforcement officer nor the law enforcement agency that employs that law enforcement officer incurs any liability, however, if the law enforcement officer is not able to make contact with the contact person. Except for willful or wanton misconduct, neither the law enforcement officer, nor the law enforcement agency that employs the law enforcement officer, shall incur any liability relating to the reporting or use of the database during a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall make a good faith effort to maintain accurate data as provided by the driver's license or instruction permit holder and to provide that information to law enforcement as provided in subsection (a). The Secretary of State is not liable for any damages, costs, or expenses, including, without limitation, consequential damages, arising or resulting from any inaccurate or incomplete data or system unavailability. Except for willful or wanton misconduct, the Secretary of State shall not incur any liability relating to the reporting of disabilities or special needs individuals.
    (f) As used in this Section:
    "Disability" means an individual's physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities; a record of such impairment; or when the individual is regarded as having such impairment.
    "Public safety worker" means a person employed by this State or a political subdivision thereof that provides firefighting, law enforcement, medical or other emergency services.
    "Special needs individuals" means those individuals who have or are at increased risk for a chronic physical, developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition and who also require health and related services of a type or amount beyond that required by individuals generally.
(Source: P.A. 95-898, eff. 7-1-09; 96-1168, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-118

    (625 ILCS 5/6-118)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-590)
    Sec. 6-118. Fees.
    (a) The fee for licenses and permits under this Article is as follows:
    Original driver's license..............................$30
    Original or renewal driver's license
        issued to 18, 19 and 20 year olds................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 69 through age 80............................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 81 through age 86............................... 2
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 87 or older......................................0
    Renewal driver's license (except for
        applicants ages 18, 19 and 20 or
        age 69 and older)...................................30
    Original instruction permit issued to
        persons (except those age 69 and older)
        who do not hold or have not previously
        held an Illinois instruction permit or
        driver's license................................... 20
    Instruction permit issued to any person
        holding an Illinois driver's license
        who wishes a change in classifications,
        other than at the time of renewal................... 5
    Any instruction permit issued to a person
        age 69 and older.................................... 5
    Instruction permit issued to any person,
        under age 69, not currently holding a
        valid Illinois driver's license or
        instruction permit but who has
        previously been issued either document
        in Illinois........................................ 10
    Restricted driving permit............................... 8
    Monitoring device driving permit....................... 8
    Duplicate or corrected driver's license
        or permit........................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected restricted
        driving permit...................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected monitoring
    device driving permit................................... 5
    Duplicate driver's license or permit issued to
        an active-duty member of the
        United States Armed Forces,
        the member's spouse, or
        the dependent children living
        with the member.................................... 0
    Original or renewal M or L endorsement.................. 5
SPECIAL FEES FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE
        The fees for commercial driver licenses and permits
    
under Article V shall be as follows:
    Commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund
        (Commercial Driver's License Information
        System/American Association of Motor Vehicle
        Administrators network/National Motor Vehicle
        Title Information Service Trust Fund);
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license;
        and $24 for the CDL:.............................. $60
    Renewal commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license; and
        $24 for the CDL:.................................. $60
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois driver's license for the
        purpose of changing to a
        CDL classification: $6 for the
        CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier
        Safety Inspection Fund; and
        $24 for the CDL classification.................... $50
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois CDL for the purpose of
        making a change in a classification,
        endorsement or restriction......................... $5
    CDL duplicate or corrected license..................... $5
    In order to ensure the proper implementation of the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, Article V of this Chapter, the Secretary of State is empowered to pro-rate the $24 fee for the commercial driver's license proportionate to the expiration date of the applicant's Illinois driver's license.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person who presents the Secretary of State's office with a police report showing that his license or permit was stolen.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person age 60 or older whose driver's license or permit has been lost or stolen.
    No additional fee shall be charged for a driver's license, or for a commercial driver's license, when issued to the holder of an instruction permit for the same classification or type of license who becomes eligible for such license.
    (a-5) The fee for a driver's record or data contained therein is $12.
    (b) Any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked under Section 3-707, any provision of Chapter 6, Chapter 11, or Section 7-205, 7-303, or 7-702 of the Family Financial Responsibility Law of this Code, shall in addition to any other fees required by this Code, pay a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Suspension under Section 3-707...................... $100
    Suspension under Section 11-1431.....................$100
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1............$250
    Suspension under Section 11-501.9....................$250
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Other suspension.......................................$70
    Revocation............................................$500
    However, any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and each suspension or revocation was for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 shall pay, in addition to any other fees required by this Code, a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Suspension under Section 11-501.9....................$500
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Revocation............................................$500
    (c) All fees collected under the provisions of this Chapter 6 shall be disbursed under subsection (g) of Section 2-119 of this Code, except as follows:
        1. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
Drivers Education Fund:
            (A) $16 of the $20 fee for an original driver's
        
instruction permit;
            (B) $5 of the $30 fee for an original driver's
        
license;
            (C) $5 of the $30 fee for a 4 year renewal
        
driver's license;
            (D) $4 of the $8 fee for a restricted driving
        
permit; and
            (E) $4 of the $8 fee for a monitoring device
        
driving permit.
        2. $30 of the $250 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1 or suspended under Section 11-501.9 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. However, for a person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1 or suspended under Section 11-501.9, and $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily revoked pursuant to Section 11-501.1 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund.
        3. $6 of the original or renewal fee for a commercial
    
driver's license and $6 of the commercial learner's permit fee when the permit is issued to any person holding a valid Illinois driver's license, shall be paid into the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund.
        4. $30 of the $70 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
suspended under the Family Financial Responsibility Law shall be paid into the Family Responsibility Fund.
        5. The $5 fee for each original or renewal M or L
    
endorsement shall be deposited into the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.
        6. $20 of any original or renewal fee for a
    
commercial driver's license or commercial learner's permit shall be paid into the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund.
        7. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
General Revenue Fund:
            (A) $190 of the $250 reinstatement fee for a
        
summary suspension under Section 11-501.1 or a suspension under Section 11-501.9;
            (B) $40 of the $70 reinstatement fee for any
        
other suspension provided in subsection (b) of this Section; and
            (C) $440 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a
        
first offense revocation and $310 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a second or subsequent revocation.
        8. Fees collected under paragraph (4) of subsection
    
(d) and subsection (h) of Section 6-205 of this Code; subparagraph (C) of paragraph 3 of subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code; and paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of Section 6-206.1 of this Code, shall be paid into the funds set forth in those Sections.
    (d) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (e) The additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall become effective 90 days after becoming law.
    (f) As used in this Section, "active-duty member of the United States Armed Forces" means a member of the Armed Services or Reserve Forces of the United States or a member of the Illinois National Guard who is called to active duty pursuant to an executive order of the President of the United States, an act of the Congress of the United States, or an order of the Governor.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16; 99-438, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 99-933, eff. 1-27-17; 100-590, eff. 6-8-18.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-803)
    Sec. 6-118. Fees.
    (a) The fee for licenses and permits under this Article is as follows:
    Original driver's license..............................$30
    Original or renewal driver's license
        issued to 18, 19 and 20 year olds................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 69 through age 80............................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 81 through age 86............................... 2
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 87 or older......................................0
    Renewal driver's license (except for
        applicants ages 18, 19 and 20 or
        age 69 and older)...................................30
    Original instruction permit issued to
        persons (except those age 69 and older)
        who do not hold or have not previously
        held an Illinois instruction permit or
        driver's license................................... 20
    Instruction permit issued to any person
        holding an Illinois driver's license
        who wishes a change in classifications,
        other than at the time of renewal................... 5
    Any instruction permit issued to a person
        age 69 and older.................................... 5
    Instruction permit issued to any person,
        under age 69, not currently holding a
        valid Illinois driver's license or
        instruction permit but who has
        previously been issued either document
        in Illinois........................................ 10
    Restricted driving permit............................... 8
    Monitoring device driving permit....................... 8
    Duplicate or corrected driver's license
        or permit........................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected restricted
        driving permit...................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected monitoring
    device driving permit................................... 5
    Duplicate driver's license or permit issued to
        an active-duty member of the
        United States Armed Forces,
        the member's spouse, or
        the dependent children living
        with the member.................................... 0
    Original or renewal M or L endorsement.................. 5
SPECIAL FEES FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE
        The fees for commercial driver licenses and permits
    
under Article V shall be as follows:
    Commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund
        (Commercial Driver's License Information
        System/American Association of Motor Vehicle
        Administrators network/National Motor Vehicle
        Title Information Service Trust Fund);
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license;
        and $24 for the CDL:.............................. $60
    Renewal commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license; and
        $24 for the CDL:.................................. $60
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois driver's license for the
        purpose of changing to a
        CDL classification: $6 for the
        CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier
        Safety Inspection Fund; and
        $24 for the CDL classification.................... $50
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois CDL for the purpose of
        making a change in a classification,
        endorsement or restriction......................... $5
    CDL duplicate or corrected license..................... $5
    In order to ensure the proper implementation of the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, Article V of this Chapter, the Secretary of State is empowered to pro-rate the $24 fee for the commercial driver's license proportionate to the expiration date of the applicant's Illinois driver's license.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person who presents the Secretary of State's office with a police report showing that his license or permit was stolen.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person age 60 or older whose driver's license or permit has been lost or stolen.
    No additional fee shall be charged for a driver's license, or for a commercial driver's license, when issued to the holder of an instruction permit for the same classification or type of license who becomes eligible for such license.
    The fee for a restricted driving permit under this subsection (a) shall be imposed annually until the expiration of the permit.
    (b) Any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked under Section 3-707, any provision of Chapter 6, Chapter 11, or Section 7-205, 7-303, or 7-702 of the Family Financial Responsibility Law of this Code, shall in addition to any other fees required by this Code, pay a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Suspension under Section 3-707...................... $100
    Suspension under Section 11-1431.....................$100
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1............$250
    Suspension under Section 11-501.9....................$250
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Other suspension.......................................$70
    Revocation............................................$500
    However, any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and each suspension or revocation was for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 shall pay, in addition to any other fees required by this Code, a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Suspension under Section 11-501.9....................$500
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Revocation............................................$500
    (c) All fees collected under the provisions of this Chapter 6 shall be disbursed under subsection (g) of Section 2-119 of this Code, except as follows:
        1. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
Drivers Education Fund:
            (A) $16 of the $20 fee for an original driver's
        
instruction permit;
            (B) $5 of the $30 fee for an original driver's
        
license;
            (C) $5 of the $30 fee for a 4 year renewal
        
driver's license;
            (D) $4 of the $8 fee for a restricted driving
        
permit; and
            (E) $4 of the $8 fee for a monitoring device
        
driving permit.
        2. $30 of the $250 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1 or suspended under Section 11-501.9 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. However, for a person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501, 11-501.1, or 11-501.9 of this Code or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1 or suspended under Section 11-501.9, and $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily revoked pursuant to Section 11-501.1 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund.
        3. $6 of the original or renewal fee for a commercial
    
driver's license and $6 of the commercial learner's permit fee when the permit is issued to any person holding a valid Illinois driver's license, shall be paid into the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund.
        4. $30 of the $70 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
suspended under the Family Financial Responsibility Law shall be paid into the Family Responsibility Fund.
        5. The $5 fee for each original or renewal M or L
    
endorsement shall be deposited into the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.
        6. $20 of any original or renewal fee for a
    
commercial driver's license or commercial learner's permit shall be paid into the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund.
        7. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
General Revenue Fund:
            (A) $190 of the $250 reinstatement fee for a
        
summary suspension under Section 11-501.1 or a suspension under Section 11-501.9;
            (B) $40 of the $70 reinstatement fee for any
        
other suspension provided in subsection (b) of this Section; and
            (C) $440 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a
        
first offense revocation and $310 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a second or subsequent revocation.
        8. Fees collected under paragraph (4) of subsection
    
(d) and subsection (h) of Section 6-205 of this Code; subparagraph (C) of paragraph 3 of subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code; and paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of Section 6-206.1 of this Code, shall be paid into the funds set forth in those Sections.
    (d) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (e) The additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall become effective 90 days after becoming law.
    (f) As used in this Section, "active-duty member of the United States Armed Forces" means a member of the Armed Services or Reserve Forces of the United States or a member of the Illinois National Guard who is called to active duty pursuant to an executive order of the President of the United States, an act of the Congress of the United States, or an order of the Governor.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16; 99-438, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 99-933, eff. 1-27-17; 100-803, eff. 1-1-19.)

625 ILCS 5/6-119

    (625 ILCS 5/6-119) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-119)
    Sec. 6-119. When fees returnable-drivers license.
    (a) Whenever any application to the Secretary of State for a driver's license or permit under this Article is accompanied by any fee as required by law and such application is refused or rejected after a review of eligibility, which may include facial recognition comparison, the applicant shall not be entitled to a refund of any fees paid.
    (a-5) If the Secretary of State determines that the volume of expedited driver's license requests received on a given day exceeds the ability of the Secretary to process those requests in an expedited manner, the Secretary may decline to provide expedited services, and the additional fee for the expedited service shall be refunded to the applicant.
    (b) Whenever the Secretary of State through error collects any fee not required to be paid hereunder, the same shall be refunded to the person paying the same upon application therefor made within 6 months after the date of such payment.
    (c) Whenever a person dies after making application for a drivers license or permit under this Article, application for a refund of the drivers license or permit may be made if the person dies prior to the effective date for which application has been made, and if the drivers license or permit has never been used. The Secretary of State shall refund the drivers license or permit fees upon receipt within 3 months after the application for a drivers license or permit of an application for refund accompanied with the drivers license or permit and proof of death of the applicant.
    (d) Any application for refund received after the times specified in this Section shall be denied and the applicant in order to receive a refund must apply to the Court of Claims.
(Source: P.A. 99-305, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-120

    (625 ILCS 5/6-120)
    Sec. 6-120. Inter-agency agreement for information. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, the Secretary of State shall enter into an inter-agency agreement with the Department of Children and Family Services to establish a procedure by which employees of the Department of Children and Family Services may have immediate access to driver's license records maintained by the Secretary of State if the Department of Children and Family Services determines the information is necessary to perform its duties under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, the Child Care Act of 1969, and the Children and Family Services Act.
(Source: P.A. 88-614, eff. 9-7-94.)

625 ILCS 5/6-121

    (625 ILCS 5/6-121)
    Sec. 6-121. Issuance of confidential drivers' licenses.
    (a) Requirements for use of confidential drivers' licenses. Confidential drivers' licenses may be issued to local, state, and federal government agencies for bona fide law enforcement purposes. The drivers' licenses may be issued with fictitious names and addresses, and may be used only for confidential, investigative, or undercover law enforcement operations. Confidential drivers' licenses may be issued as REAL ID compliant or non-compliant driver's licenses.
    (b) Application procedures for confidential drivers' licenses:
        (1) Applications by local, state, and federal
    
government agencies for confidential drivers' licenses must be made to the Secretary of State Police Department on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Secretary of State Police Department.
        (2) The application form must include information,
    
as specific as possible without compromising investigations or techniques, setting forth the need for the drivers' licenses and the uses to which the licenses will be limited.
        (3) The application form must be signed and verified
    
by the local, state, or federal government agency head or designee.
        (4) Registration information maintained by the
    
Secretary of State Police Department for confidential drivers' licenses must show the fictitious names and addresses on all records subject to public disclosure. All other information concerning these confidential drivers' licenses are exempt from disclosure unless the disclosure is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction.
    (c) Revocation and cancellation procedures for confidential drivers' licenses:
        (1) The Secretary of State Police Department may
    
revoke or refuse to renew confidential drivers' licenses when they have reasonable cause to believe the licenses are being used for purposes other than those set forth in the application form or authorized by this Section. Confidential drivers' licenses may also be revoked where traffic violation citations have been issued to the driver and subsequent investigation reveals that the issuance of the citations was unrelated to the purposes for which the confidential driver's license was issued. In such cases, the citations and any resulting court orders, convictions, supervisions or other sanctions must be treated by the Secretary of State as though they were issued in relation to the true driver's license of the individual to whom the confidential driver's license was issued.
        (2) A government agency must request cancellation of
    
confidential drivers' licenses that are no longer required for the purposes for which they were issued.
        (3) All revoked confidential drivers' licenses must
    
be promptly returned to the Secretary of State Police Department by the government agency to which they were issued.
(Source: P.A. 100-248, eff. 8-22-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-122

    (625 ILCS 5/6-122)
    Sec. 6-122. Expedited driver's license. The Secretary of State may provide for an expedited process for the issuance of a driver's license, excluding temporary visitor's driver's licenses. The Secretary shall charge an additional fee for the issuance of an expedited driver's license, to be set by rule, not to exceed $75. All fees collected by the Secretary for expedited driver's license service shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special Services Fund. The Secretary may adopt rules regarding the eligibility, process, and fee for an expedited driver's license.
(Source: P.A. 99-305, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. CANCELLATION, SUSPENSION, OR
REVOCATION OF LICENSES AND PERMITS

625 ILCS 5/6-201

    (625 ILCS 5/6-201)
    Sec. 6-201. Authority to cancel licenses and permits.
    (a) The Secretary of State is authorized to cancel any license or permit upon determining that the holder thereof:
        1. was not entitled to the issuance thereof
    
hereunder; or
        2. failed to give the required or correct information
    
in his application; or
        3. failed to pay any fees, civil penalties owed to
    
the Illinois Commerce Commission, or taxes due under this Act and upon reasonable notice and demand; or
        4. committed any fraud in the making of such
    
application; or
        5. is ineligible therefor under the provisions of
    
Section 6-103 of this Act, as amended; or
        6. has refused or neglected to submit an alcohol,
    
drug, and intoxicating compound evaluation or to submit to examination or re-examination as required under this Act; or
        7. has been convicted of violating the Cannabis
    
Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, or the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act while that individual was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. For purposes of this Section, any person placed on probation under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act shall not be considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this offense, while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, shall have an entry made in the court record by the judge that this offense did occur while the person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State as such. After the cancellation, the Secretary of State shall not issue a new license or permit for a period of one year after the date of cancellation. However, upon application, the Secretary of State may, if satisfied that the person applying will not endanger the public safety, or welfare, issue a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the petitioner's residence and petitioner's place of employment or within the scope of the petitioner's employment related duties, or to allow transportation for the petitioner or a household member of the petitioner's family for the receipt of necessary medical care, or provide transportation for the petitioner to and from alcohol or drug remedial or rehabilitative activity recommended by a licensed service provider, or for the petitioner to attend classes, as a student, in an accredited educational institution. The petitioner must demonstrate that no alternative means of transportation is reasonably available; provided that the Secretary's discretion shall be limited to cases where undue hardship, as defined by the rules of the Secretary of State, would result from a failure to issue such restricted driving permit. In each case the Secretary of State may issue such restricted driving permit for such period as he deems appropriate, except that such permit shall expire no later than 2 years from the date of issuance. A restricted driving permit issued hereunder shall be subject to cancellation, revocation and suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a driver's license issued hereunder may be cancelled, revoked or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension or cancellation of a restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require the applicant to participate in a driver remedial or rehabilitative program. In accordance with 49 C.F.R. 384, the Secretary of State may not issue a restricted driving permit for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle to a person holding a CDL whose driving privileges have been revoked, suspended, cancelled, or disqualified under this Code; or
        8. failed to submit a report as required by Section
    
6-116.5 of this Code; or
        9. has been convicted of a sex offense as defined in
    
the Sex Offender Registration Act. The driver's license shall remain cancelled until the driver registers as a sex offender as required by the Sex Offender Registration Act, proof of the registration is furnished to the Secretary of State and the sex offender provides proof of current address to the Secretary; or
        10. is ineligible for a license or permit under
    
Section 6-107, 6-107.1, or 6-108 of this Code; or
        11. refused or neglected to appear at a Driver
    
Services facility to have the license or permit corrected and a new license or permit issued or to present documentation for verification of identity; or
        12. failed to submit a medical examiner's certificate
    
or medical variance as required by 49 C.F.R. 383.71 or submitted a fraudulent medical examiner's certificate or medical variance; or
        13. has had his or her medical examiner's
    
certificate, medical variance, or both removed or rescinded by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration; or
        14. failed to self-certify as to the type of driving
    
in which the CDL driver engages or expects to engage; or
        15. has submitted acceptable documentation indicating
    
out-of-state residency to the Secretary of State to be released from the requirement of showing proof of financial responsibility in this State; or
        16. was convicted of fraud relating to the testing or
    
issuance of a CDL or CLP, in which case only the CDL or CLP shall be cancelled. After cancellation, the Secretary shall not issue a CLP or CDL for a period of one year from the date of cancellation; or
        17. has a special restricted license under subsection
    
(g) of Section 6-113 of this Code and failed to submit the required annual vision specialist report that the special restricted license holder's vision has not changed; or
        18. has a special restricted license under subsection
    
(g) of Section 6-113 of this Code and was convicted or received court supervision for a violation of this Code that occurred during nighttime hours or was involved in a motor vehicle accident during nighttime hours in which the restricted license holder was at fault; or
        19. has assisted an out-of-state resident in
    
acquiring an Illinois driver's license or identification card by providing or allowing the out-of-state resident to use his or her Illinois address of residence and is complicit in distributing and forwarding the Illinois driver's license or identification card to the out-of-state resident.
    (b) Upon such cancellation the licensee or permittee must surrender the license or permit so cancelled to the Secretary of State.
    (c) Except as provided in Sections 6-206.1 and 7-702.1, the Secretary of State shall have exclusive authority to grant, issue, deny, cancel, suspend and revoke driving privileges, drivers' licenses and restricted driving permits.
    (d) The Secretary of State may adopt rules to implement this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-409, eff. 8-25-17; 100-803, eff. 1-1-19.)

625 ILCS 5/6-202

    (625 ILCS 5/6-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-202)
    Sec. 6-202. Non-residents and Unlicensed Persons-Revocation and Suspension-Reporting Convictions.
    (a) The privilege of driving a motor vehicle on highways of this State given to a nonresident hereunder and the privilege which an unlicensed person might have to obtain a license under this Act shall be subject to suspension or revocation by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a drivers license issued hereunder may be suspended or revoked.
    (b) The Secretary of State is authorized, upon receiving a report of the conviction in this State of a nonresident driver of a motor vehicle of any offense under the laws of this State relating to operation, custody or ownership of motor vehicles, to forward a copy or abstract of such report to the motor vehicle administrator of the State wherein the person so convicted is a resident.
    (c) (Blank.)
    (d) This section is subject to the provisions of the Driver License Compact.
(Source: P.A. 96-962, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-203

    (625 ILCS 5/6-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-203)
    Sec. 6-203. Suspending or revoking license or privilege upon conviction in another state.
    The Secretary of State is authorized to suspend or revoke the license of any resident of this State or the privilege of a nonresident to drive a motor vehicle in this State upon receiving notice of the conviction of such person in another State of an offense therein which, if committed in this State would be grounds for the suspension or revocation of the license of a driver.
    This Section is subject to the provisions of the Driver License Compact.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/6-203.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-203.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-203.1)
    Sec. 6-203.1. (a) The Secretary of State is authorized to suspend, for the period set forth in Section 6-208.1, the driving privileges of persons arrested in another state for driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, or a similar provision, and who has refused to submit to a chemical test or tests under the provisions of implied consent.
    (b) When a driving privilege has been suspended for a refusal as provided in paragraph (a) and the person is subsequently convicted of the underlying charge, for the same incident, any period served on suspension shall be credited toward the minimum period of revocation of driving privileges imposed pursuant to Section 6-206.
(Source: P.A. 96-607, eff. 8-24-09.)

625 ILCS 5/6-204

    (625 ILCS 5/6-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-204)
    Sec. 6-204. When court to forward license and reports.
    (a) For the purpose of providing to the Secretary of State the records essential to the performance of the Secretary's duties under this Code to cancel, revoke or suspend the driver's license and privilege to drive motor vehicles of certain minors adjudicated truant minors in need of supervision, addicted, or delinquent and of persons found guilty of the criminal offenses or traffic violations which this Code recognizes as evidence relating to unfitness to safely operate motor vehicles, the following duties are imposed upon public officials:
        (1) Whenever any person is convicted of any offense
    
for which this Code makes mandatory the cancellation or revocation of the driver's license or permit of such person by the Secretary of State, the judge of the court in which such conviction is had shall require the surrender to the clerk of the court of all driver's licenses or permits then held by the person so convicted, and the clerk of the court shall, within 5 days thereafter, forward the same, together with a report of such conviction, to the Secretary.
        (2) Whenever any person is convicted of any offense
    
under this Code or similar offenses under a municipal ordinance, other than regulations governing standing, parking or weights of vehicles, and excepting the following enumerated Sections of this Code: Sections 11-1406 (obstruction to driver's view or control), 11-1407 (improper opening of door into traffic), 11-1410 (coasting on downgrade), 11-1411 (following fire apparatus), 11-1419.01 (Motor Fuel Tax I.D. Card), 12-101 (driving vehicle which is in unsafe condition or improperly equipped), 12-201(a) (daytime lights on motorcycles), 12-202 (clearance, identification and side marker lamps), 12-204 (lamp or flag on projecting load), 12-205 (failure to display the safety lights required), 12-401 (restrictions as to tire equipment), 12-502 (mirrors), 12-503 (windshields must be unobstructed and equipped with wipers), 12-601 (horns and warning devices), 12-602 (mufflers, prevention of noise or smoke), 12-603 (seat safety belts), 12-702 (certain vehicles to carry flares or other warning devices), 12-703 (vehicles for oiling roads operated on highways), 12-710 (splash guards and replacements), 13-101 (safety tests), 15-101 (size, weight and load), 15-102 (width), 15-103 (height), 15-104 (name and address on second division vehicles), 15-107 (length of vehicle), 15-109.1 (cover or tarpaulin), 15-111 (weights), 15-112 (weights), 15-301 (weights), 15-316 (weights), 15-318 (weights), and also excepting the following enumerated Sections of the Chicago Municipal Code: Sections 27-245 (following fire apparatus), 27-254 (obstruction of traffic), 27-258 (driving vehicle which is in unsafe condition), 27-259 (coasting on downgrade), 27-264 (use of horns and signal devices), 27-265 (obstruction to driver's view or driver mechanism), 27-267 (dimming of headlights), 27-268 (unattended motor vehicle), 27-272 (illegal funeral procession), 27-273 (funeral procession on boulevard), 27-275 (driving freight hauling vehicles on boulevard), 27-276 (stopping and standing of buses or taxicabs), 27-277 (cruising of public passenger vehicles), 27-305 (parallel parking), 27-306 (diagonal parking), 27-307 (parking not to obstruct traffic), 27-308 (stopping, standing or parking regulated), 27-311 (parking regulations), 27-312 (parking regulations), 27-313 (parking regulations), 27-314 (parking regulations), 27-315 (parking regulations), 27-316 (parking regulations), 27-317 (parking regulations), 27-318 (parking regulations), 27-319 (parking regulations), 27-320 (parking regulations), 27-321 (parking regulations), 27-322 (parking regulations), 27-324 (loading and unloading at an angle), 27-333 (wheel and axle loads), 27-334 (load restrictions in the downtown district), 27-335 (load restrictions in residential areas), 27-338 (width of vehicles), 27-339 (height of vehicles), 27-340 (length of vehicles), 27-352 (reflectors on trailers), 27-353 (mufflers), 27-354 (display of plates), 27-355 (display of city vehicle tax sticker), 27-357 (identification of vehicles), 27-358 (projecting of loads), and also excepting the following enumerated paragraphs of Section 2-201 of the Rules and Regulations of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority: (l) (driving unsafe vehicle on tollway), (m) (vehicles transporting dangerous cargo not properly indicated), it shall be the duty of the clerk of the court in which such conviction is had within 5 days thereafter to forward to the Secretary of State a report of the conviction and the court may recommend the suspension of the driver's license or permit of the person so convicted.
        The reporting requirements of this subsection shall
    
apply to all violations stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection when the individual has been adjudicated under the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987. Such reporting requirements shall also apply to individuals adjudicated under the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 who have committed a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, or similar provision of a local ordinance, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act or Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act, relating to the offense of operating a snowmobile or a watercraft while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or combination thereof. These reporting requirements also apply to individuals adjudicated under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 based on any offense determined to have been committed in furtherance of the criminal activities of an organized gang, as provided in Section 5-710 of that Act, and that involved the operation or use of a motor vehicle or the use of a driver's license or permit. The reporting requirements of this subsection shall also apply to a truant minor in need of supervision, an addicted minor, or a delinquent minor and whose driver's license and privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been ordered suspended for such times as determined by the court, but only until he or she attains 18 years of age. It shall be the duty of the clerk of the court in which adjudication is had within 5 days thereafter to forward to the Secretary of State a report of the adjudication and the court order requiring the Secretary of State to suspend the minor's driver's license and driving privilege for such time as determined by the court, but only until he or she attains the age of 18 years. All juvenile court dispositions reported to the Secretary of State under this provision shall be processed by the Secretary of State as if the cases had been adjudicated in traffic or criminal court. However, information reported relative to the offense of reckless homicide, or Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, shall be privileged and available only to the Secretary of State, courts, and police officers.
        The reporting requirements of this subsection (a)
    
apply to all violations listed in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection (a), excluding parking violations, when the driver holds a CLP or CDL, regardless of the type of vehicle in which the violation occurred, or when any driver committed the violation in a commercial motor vehicle as defined in Section 6-500 of this Code.
        (3) Whenever an order is entered vacating the
    
forfeiture of any bail, security or bond given to secure appearance for any offense under this Code or similar offenses under municipal ordinance, it shall be the duty of the clerk of the court in which such vacation was had or the judge of such court if such court has no clerk, within 5 days thereafter to forward to the Secretary of State a report of the vacation.
        (4) A report of any disposition of court supervision
    
for a violation of Sections 6-303, 11-401, 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, 11-503, 11-504, and 11-506 of this Code, Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act, and Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State. A report of any disposition of court supervision for a violation of an offense defined as a serious traffic violation in this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance committed by a person under the age of 21 years shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State.
        (5) Reports of conviction under this Code and
    
sentencing hearings under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 in an electronic format or a computer processible medium shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State via the Supreme Court in the form and format required by the Illinois Supreme Court and established by a written agreement between the Supreme Court and the Secretary of State. In counties with a population over 300,000, instead of forwarding reports to the Supreme Court, reports of conviction under this Code and sentencing hearings under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 in an electronic format or a computer processible medium may be forwarded to the Secretary of State by the Circuit Court Clerk in a form and format required by the Secretary of State and established by written agreement between the Circuit Court Clerk and the Secretary of State. Failure to forward the reports of conviction or sentencing hearing under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 as required by this Section shall be deemed an omission of duty and it shall be the duty of the several State's Attorneys to enforce the requirements of this Section.
    (b) Whenever a restricted driving permit is forwarded to a court, as a result of confiscation by a police officer pursuant to the authority in Section 6-113(f), it shall be the duty of the clerk, or judge, if the court has no clerk, to forward such restricted driving permit and a facsimile of the officer's citation to the Secretary of State as expeditiously as practicable.
    (c) For the purposes of this Code, a forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure a defendant's appearance in court when forfeiture has not been vacated, or the failure of a defendant to appear for trial after depositing his driver's license in lieu of other bail, shall be equivalent to a conviction.
    (d) For the purpose of providing the Secretary of State with records necessary to properly monitor and assess driver performance and assist the courts in the proper disposition of repeat traffic law offenders, the clerk of the court shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, records of a driver's participation in a driver remedial or rehabilitative program which was required, through a court order or court supervision, in relation to the driver's arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance. The clerk of the court shall also forward to the Secretary, either on paper or in an electronic format or a computer processible medium as required under paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of this Section, any disposition of court supervision for any traffic violation, excluding those offenses listed in paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of this Section. These reports shall be sent within 5 days after disposition, or, if the driver is referred to a driver remedial or rehabilitative program, within 5 days of the driver's referral to that program. These reports received by the Secretary of State, including those required to be forwarded under paragraph (a)(4), shall be privileged information, available only (i) to the affected driver, (ii) to the parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years holding an instruction permit or a graduated driver's license, and (iii) for use by the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities, the Secretary of State, and the driver licensing administrator of any other state. In accordance with 49 C.F.R. Part 384, all reports of court supervision, except violations related to parking, shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State for all holders of a CLP or CDL or any driver who commits an offense while driving a commercial motor vehicle. These reports shall be recorded to the driver's record as a conviction for use in the disqualification of the driver's commercial motor vehicle privileges and shall not be privileged information.
(Source: P.A. 100-74, eff. 8-11-17.)

625 ILCS 5/6-205

    (625 ILCS 5/6-205)
    Sec. 6-205. Mandatory revocation of license or permit; hardship cases.
    (a) Except as provided in this Section, the Secretary of State shall immediately revoke the license, permit, or driving privileges of any driver upon receiving a report of the driver's conviction of any of the following offenses:
        1. Reckless homicide resulting from the operation of
    
a motor vehicle;
        2. Violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a
    
similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof;
        3. Any felony under the laws of any State or the
    
federal government in the commission of which a motor vehicle was used;
        4. Violation of Section 11-401 of this Code relating
    
to the offense of leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury;
        5. Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or
    
statement under oath to the Secretary of State under this Code or under any other law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles;
        6. Conviction upon 3 charges of violation of Section
    
11-503 of this Code relating to the offense of reckless driving committed within a period of 12 months;
        7. Conviction of any offense defined in Section 4-102
    
of this Code;
        8. Violation of Section 11-504 of this Code relating
    
to the offense of drag racing;
        9. Violation of Chapters 8 and 9 of this Code;
        10. Violation of Section 12-5 of the Criminal Code of
    
1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 arising from the use of a motor vehicle;
        11. Violation of Section 11-204.1 of this Code
    
relating to aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer;
        12. Violation of paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of
    
Section 6-507, or a similar law of any other state, relating to the unlawful operation of a commercial motor vehicle;
        13. Violation of paragraph (a) of Section 11-502 of
    
this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance if the driver has been previously convicted of a violation of that Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance and the driver was less than 21 years of age at the time of the offense;
        14. Violation of paragraph (a) of Section 11-506 of
    
this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of street racing;
        15. A second or subsequent conviction of driving
    
while the person's driver's license, permit or privileges was revoked for reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense;
        16. Any offense against any provision in this Code,
    
or any local ordinance, regulating the movement of traffic when that offense was the proximate cause of the death of any person. Any person whose driving privileges have been revoked pursuant to this paragraph may seek to have the revocation terminated or to have the length of revocation reduced by requesting an administrative hearing with the Secretary of State prior to the projected driver's license application eligibility date;
        17. Violation of subsection (a-2) of Section
    
11-1301.3 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance;
        18. A second or subsequent conviction of illegal
    
possession, while operating or in actual physical control, as a driver, of a motor vehicle, of any controlled substance prohibited under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, any cannabis prohibited under the Cannabis Control Act, or any methamphetamine prohibited under the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act. A defendant found guilty of this offense while operating a motor vehicle shall have an entry made in the court record by the presiding judge that this offense did occur while the defendant was operating a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State;
        19. Violation of subsection (a) of Section 11-1414 of
    
this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, relating to the offense of overtaking or passing of a school bus when the driver, in committing the violation, is involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in death to another and the violation is a proximate cause of the death.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall also immediately revoke the license or permit of any driver in the following situations:
        1. Of any minor upon receiving the notice provided
    
for in Section 5-901 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 that the minor has been adjudicated under that Act as having committed an offense relating to motor vehicles prescribed in Section 4-103 of this Code;
        2. Of any person when any other law of this State
    
requires either the revocation or suspension of a license or permit;
        3. Of any person adjudicated under the Juvenile Court
    
Act of 1987 based on an offense determined to have been committed in furtherance of the criminal activities of an organized gang as provided in Section 5-710 of that Act, and that involved the operation or use of a motor vehicle or the use of a driver's license or permit. The revocation shall remain in effect for the period determined by the court.
    (c)(1) Whenever a person is convicted of any of the offenses enumerated in this Section, the court may recommend and the Secretary of State in his discretion, without regard to whether the recommendation is made by the court may, upon application, issue to the person a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the petitioner's residence and petitioner's place of employment or within the scope of the petitioner's employment related duties, or to allow the petitioner to transport himself or herself or a family member of the petitioner's household to a medical facility for the receipt of necessary medical care or to allow the petitioner to transport himself or herself to and from alcohol or drug remedial or rehabilitative activity recommended by a licensed service provider, or to allow the petitioner to transport himself or herself or a family member of the petitioner's household to classes, as a student, at an accredited educational institution, or to allow the petitioner to transport children, elderly persons, or persons with disabilities who do not hold driving privileges and are living in the petitioner's household to and from daycare; if the petitioner is able to demonstrate that no alternative means of transportation is reasonably available and that the petitioner will not endanger the public safety or welfare; provided that the Secretary's discretion shall be limited to cases where undue hardship, as defined by the rules of the Secretary of State, would result from a failure to issue the restricted driving permit.
    (1.5) A person subject to the provisions of paragraph 4 of subsection (b) of Section 6-208 of this Code may make application for a restricted driving permit at a hearing conducted under Section 2-118 of this Code after the expiration of 5 years from the effective date of the most recent revocation, or after 5 years from the date of release from a period of imprisonment resulting from a conviction of the most recent offense, whichever is later, provided the person, in addition to all other requirements of the Secretary, shows by clear and convincing evidence:
        (A) a minimum of 3 years of uninterrupted
    
abstinence from alcohol and the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis under the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound under the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine under the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; and
        (B) the successful completion of any rehabilitative
    
treatment and involvement in any ongoing rehabilitative activity that may be recommended by a properly licensed service provider according to an assessment of the person's alcohol or drug use under Section 11-501.01 of this Code.
    In determining whether an applicant is eligible for a restricted driving permit under this paragraph (1.5), the Secretary may consider any relevant evidence, including, but not limited to, testimony, affidavits, records, and the results of regular alcohol or drug tests. Persons subject to the provisions of paragraph 4 of subsection (b) of Section 6-208 of this Code and who have been convicted of more than one violation of paragraph (3), paragraph (4), or paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 11-501 of this Code shall not be eligible to apply for a restricted driving permit.
    A restricted driving permit issued under this paragraph (1.5) shall provide that the holder may only operate motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device as required under paragraph (2) of subsection (c) of this Section and subparagraph (A) of paragraph 3 of subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code. The Secretary may revoke a restricted driving permit or amend the conditions of a restricted driving permit issued under this paragraph (1.5) if the holder operates a vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device, or for any other reason authorized under this Code.
    A restricted driving permit issued under this paragraph (1.5) shall be revoked, and the holder barred from applying for or being issued a restricted driving permit in the future, if the holder is subsequently convicted of a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar offense in another state.
    (2) If a person's license or permit is revoked or suspended due to 2 or more convictions of violating Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a combination of these offenses, arising out of separate occurrences, that person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
    (3) If:
        (A) a person's license or permit is revoked or
    
suspended 2 or more times due to any combination of:
            (i) a single conviction of violating Section
        
11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense; or
            (ii) a statutory summary suspension or
        
revocation under Section 11-501.1; or
            (iii) a suspension pursuant to Section 6-203.1;
    arising out of separate occurrences; or
        (B) a person has been convicted of one violation of
    
subparagraph (C) or (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide where the use of alcohol or other drugs was recited as an element of the offense, or a similar provision of a law of another state;
that person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
    (4) The person issued a permit conditioned on the use of an ignition interlock device must pay to the Secretary of State DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed $30 per month. The Secretary shall establish by rule the amount and the procedures, terms, and conditions relating to these fees.
    (5) If the restricted driving permit is issued for employment purposes, then the prohibition against operating a motor vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device does not apply to the operation of an occupational vehicle owned or leased by that person's employer when used solely for employment purposes. For any person who, within a 5-year period, is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance or similar out-of-state offense, this employment exemption does not apply until either a one-year period has elapsed during which that person had his or her driving privileges revoked or a one-year period has elapsed during which that person had a restricted driving permit which required the use of an ignition interlock device on every motor vehicle owned or operated by that person.
    (6) In each case the Secretary of State may issue a restricted driving permit for a period he deems appropriate, except that the permit shall expire no later than 2 years from the date of issuance. A restricted driving permit issued under this Section shall be subject to cancellation, revocation, and suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a driver's license issued under this Code may be cancelled, revoked, or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require the petitioner to participate in a designated driver remedial or rehabilitative program. The Secretary of State is authorized to cancel a restricted driving permit if the permit holder does not successfully complete the program. However, if an individual's driving privileges have been revoked in accordance with paragraph 13 of subsection (a) of this Section, no restricted driving permit shall be issued until the individual has served 6 months of the revocation period.
    (c-5) (Blank).
    (c-6) If a person is convicted of a second violation of operating a motor vehicle while the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked, where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the person's driving privileges shall be revoked pursuant to subdivision (a)(15) of this Section. The person may not make application for a license or permit until the expiration of five years from the effective date of the revocation or the expiration of five years from the date of release from a term of imprisonment, whichever is later.
    (c-7) If a person is convicted of a third or subsequent violation of operating a motor vehicle while the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked, where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the person may never apply for a license or permit.
    (d)(1) Whenever a person under the age of 21 is convicted under Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privileges of that person. One year after the date of revocation, and upon application, the Secretary of State may, if satisfied that the person applying will not endanger the public safety or welfare, issue a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle only between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. or as otherwise provided by this Section for a period of one year. After this one-year period, and upon reapplication for a license as provided in Section 6-106, upon payment of the appropriate reinstatement fee provided under paragraph (b) of Section 6-118, the Secretary of State, in his discretion, may reinstate the petitioner's driver's license and driving privileges, or extend the restricted driving permit as many times as the Secretary of State deems appropriate, by additional periods of not more than 24 months each.
        (2) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
    
suspended due to 2 or more convictions of violating Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a combination of these offenses, arising out of separate occurrences, that person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
        (3) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
    
suspended 2 or more times due to any combination of:
            (A) a single conviction of violating Section
        
11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense; or
            (B) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
        
under Section 11-501.1; or
            (C) a suspension pursuant to Section 6-203.1;
    arising out of separate occurrences, that person, if
    
issued a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
        (3.5) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
    
suspended due to a conviction for a violation of subparagraph (C) or (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance or similar out-of-state offense, that person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
        (4) The person issued a permit conditioned upon the
    
use of an interlock device must pay to the Secretary of State DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed $30 per month. The Secretary shall establish by rule the amount and the procedures, terms, and conditions relating to these fees.
        (5) If the restricted driving permit is issued for
    
employment purposes, then the prohibition against driving a vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device does not apply to the operation of an occupational vehicle owned or leased by that person's employer when used solely for employment purposes. For any person who, within a 5-year period, is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance or similar out-of-state offense, this employment exemption does not apply until either a one-year period has elapsed during which that person had his or her driving privileges revoked or a one-year period has elapsed during which that person had a restricted driving permit which required the use of an ignition interlock device on every motor vehicle owned or operated by that person.
        (6) A restricted driving permit issued under this
    
Section shall be subject to cancellation, revocation, and suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a driver's license issued under this Code may be cancelled, revoked, or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a restricted driving permit.
    (d-5) The revocation of the license, permit, or driving privileges of a person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of Section 6-303 of this Code committed while his or her driver's license, permit, or privilege was revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state, is permanent. The Secretary may not, at any time, issue a license or permit to that person.
    (e) This Section is subject to the provisions of the Driver License Compact.
    (f) Any revocation imposed upon any person under subsections 2 and 3 of paragraph (b) that is in effect on December 31, 1988 shall be converted to a suspension for a like period of time.
    (g) The Secretary of State shall not issue a restricted driving permit to a person under the age of 16 years whose driving privileges have been revoked under any provisions of this Code.
    (h) The Secretary of State shall require the use of ignition interlock devices for a period not less than 5 years on all vehicles owned by a person who has been convicted of a second or subsequent offense under Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance. The person must pay to the Secretary of State DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed $30 for each month that he or she uses the device. The Secretary shall establish by rule and regulation the procedures for certification and use of the interlock system, the amount of the fee, and the procedures, terms, and conditions relating to these fees. During the time period in which a person is required to install an ignition interlock device under this subsection (h), that person shall only operate vehicles in which ignition interlock devices have been installed, except as allowed by subdivision (c)(5) or (d)(5) of this Section.
    (i) (Blank).
    (j) In accordance with 49 C.F.R. 384, the Secretary of State may not issue a restricted driving permit for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle to a person holding a CDL whose driving privileges have been revoked, suspended, cancelled, or disqualified under any provisions of this Code.
    (k) The Secretary of State shall notify by mail any person whose driving privileges have been revoked under paragraph 16 of subsection (a) of this Section that his or her driving privileges and driver's license will be revoked 90 days from the date of the mailing of the notice.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15; 99-289, eff. 8-6-15; 99-290, eff. 1-1-16; 99-296, eff. 1-1-16; 99-297, eff. 1-1-16; 99-467, eff. 1-1-16; 99-483, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 100-223, eff. 8-18-17; 100-803, eff. 1-1-19.)

625 ILCS 5/6-205.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-205.1)
    Sec. 6-205.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99. Repealed by P.A. 92-458, eff. 8-22-01.)