Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. III
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. III heading)
PROCESS ON NON-RESIDENT
625 ILCS 5/10-301
(625 ILCS 5/10-301)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 10-301)
Service of process on non-resident.
(a) The use and operation by any person or his duly authorized agent or
employee of a vehicle over or upon the highways of the State of Illinois,
shall be deemed an appointment by such person of the Secretary of State to
be his true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served all legal process
in any action or proceeding against him, growing out of such use or
resulting in damage or loss to person or property, and the use or
operation shall be signification of his agreement that such process
against him which is so served, shall be of the same legal force and
validity as though served upon him personally if such person is a
non-resident of this State or at the time a cause of action arises is a
resident of this State but subsequently becomes a non-resident of this
State, or in the event the vehicle is owned by a non-resident and is being
operated over and upon the highways of this State with the owner's express
or implied permission.
(b) Service of such process shall be made by serving a copy upon the
Secretary of State or any employee in his office designated by him to
accept such service for him, or by filing such copy in his office, together
with an affidavit of compliance from the plaintiff instituting the
action, suit, or proceeding, which states that this Section is applicable
to the proceeding and that the plaintiff has complied with the requirements
of this Section, and a fee of $5 and such service shall be sufficient service
person, if notice of such service and a copy of the process are, within 10
days thereafter, sent by registered mail by the plaintiff to the defendant,
at the last known address of the defendant, and the plaintiff's
affidavit of compliance herewith is appended to the summons.
(c) The court in which the action is pending may order such continuances
as may be necessary to afford the defendant reasonable opportunity to
defend the action. The fee of $5 paid by the plaintiff to the Secretary of
State at the time of the service shall be taxed as his cost, if he prevails
in the action.
(d) The Secretary of State shall keep a record of all such processes,
which shall show the day and hour of such service.
(e) When a final judgment is entered against any non-resident defendant
who has not received notice and a copy of the
process by registered
mail, required to be sent to him as above provided, and such person, his
heirs, legatees, executor, administrator or other legal
the case may require, shall within one year after the written notice
given to him of such judgment, or within 5 years after such judgment, if no
such notice has been given, as stated above, appear and petition the court
to be heard regarding such judgment, and
shall pay such costs
as the court may deem reasonable in that behalf, the person so petitioning the court
may appear and answer the plaintiff's allegations, and thereupon such
proceeding shall be had as if the defendant had appeared
in due time and
no judgment had been entered. If it appears upon
the hearing that such
judgment ought not to have been entered against the defendant, the
be set aside, altered or amended as shall appear just; otherwise, it shall
be ordered that the judgment stands confirmed against
the defendant. The judgment shall,
after 5 years from the entry thereof, if not set aside in the manner
stated above, be deemed and adjudged confirmed against
such defendant, and all
persons claiming under him by virtue of any act done subsequent to the
commencement of such action, and at the end of the 5 years, the court
may enter such further orders as
shall be required for the enforcement of the judgment.
(f) Any person instituting any action, suit, or proceeding who uses
this Section to effect service of process shall be liable for the
attorney's fees and costs of the defendant if the court finds that the
person instituting the action knew or should have known that this Section
is not applicable for effecting service in such action.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 heading)
RULES OF THE ROAD
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. I
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. I heading)
625 ILCS 5/11-100
(625 ILCS 5/11-100)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-100)
Definition of Administrator.
For the purposes of this Chapter,
"Administrator" means the Administrator of the Illinois Safety
Financial Responsibility Law in Chapter 7 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 89-92, eff. 7-1-96; 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. II
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. II heading)
OBEDIENCE TO AND EFFECT
OF TRAFFIC LAWS
625 ILCS 5/11-201
(625 ILCS 5/11-201)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-201)
Provisions of act refer to vehicles upon the highways-Exceptions.
The provisions of this Chapter relating to the operation of vehicles
refer exclusively to the operation of vehicles upon highways except:
1. Where a different place is specifically referred to in a given
2. The provisions of Articles IV and V of this Chapter shall apply upon
highways and elsewhere throughout the State.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/11-202
(625 ILCS 5/11-202)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-202)
Required obedience to traffic laws.
It is unlawful and, unless otherwise declared in this Chapter with
respect to particular offenses, it is a petty offense for any
person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required in
(Source: P.A. 80-911.)
625 ILCS 5/11-203
(625 ILCS 5/11-203)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-203)
Obedience to police officers.
No person shall wilfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order
or direction of any police officer, fireman, or school
crossing guard invested by law with authority to
direct, control, or regulate traffic.
Any person convicted of violating this Section
of a petty offense and shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $150.
(Source: P.A. 90-749, eff. 1-1-99.)
625 ILCS 5/11-204
(625 ILCS 5/11-204)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-204)
Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer.
(a) Any driver or operator of a motor vehicle who, having been given a
visual or audible signal by a peace officer directing such driver or
operator to bring his vehicle to a stop, wilfully fails or refuses to obey
such direction, increases his speed, extinguishes his lights, or otherwise
flees or attempts to elude the officer, is guilty of a Class A
The signal given by the peace officer may be by hand, voice, siren, red or
blue light. Provided, the officer giving such signal shall be in police
uniform, and, if driving a vehicle, such vehicle shall display
illuminated oscillating, rotating or flashing red or blue lights which when
used in conjunction with an audible horn or siren would indicate the
vehicle to be an official police vehicle.
Such requirement shall not preclude the use of amber or white
oscillating, rotating or flashing lights in conjunction with red or blue
oscillating, rotating or flashing lights as required in Section 12-215 of
(b) Upon receiving notice of such conviction the Secretary of State
shall suspend the drivers license of the person so convicted for a
period of not more than 6 months for a first conviction and not more than 12
months for a second conviction.
(c) A third or subsequent violation of this Section
is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 93-120, eff. 1-1-04.)
625 ILCS 5/11-204.1
(625 ILCS 5/11-204.1)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-204.1)
Aggravated fleeing or attempting
to elude a peace
(a) The offense of aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer
is committed by any driver or operator of a motor vehicle who flees or attempts
to elude a peace officer, after being given a visual or audible
by a peace officer in the manner prescribed in subsection (a) of
11-204 of this Code, and such flight or attempt to elude:
(1) is at a rate of speed at least 21 miles per hour
over the legal speed limit;
(2) causes bodily injury to any individual;
(3) causes damage in excess of $300 to property;
(4) involves disobedience of 2 or more official
traffic control devices; or
(5) involves the concealing or altering of the
vehicle's registration plate.
(b) Any person convicted of a first violation of this Section shall be
guilty of a Class 4 felony. Upon notice of such a conviction the Secretary
of State shall forthwith revoke the driver's license of the person so
convicted, as provided in Section 6-205 of this Code. Any person convicted
of a second or subsequent violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class
and upon notice of such a conviction the Secretary of State shall forthwith
revoke the driver's license of the person convicted, as provided in Section
6-205 of the Code.
(c) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to
seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal
Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 96-328, eff. 8-11-09; 97-743, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
625 ILCS 5/11-205
(625 ILCS 5/11-205)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-205)
Public officers and employees to obey Act-Exceptions.
(a) The provisions of this Chapter applicable to the drivers of vehicles
upon the highways shall apply to the drivers of all vehicles owned or
operated by the United States, this State or any county, city, town,
district or any other political subdivision of the State, except as
provided in this Section and subject to such specific exceptions as set
forth in this Chapter with reference to authorized emergency vehicles.
(b) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an
emergency call or when in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of
the law or when responding to but not upon returning from a fire alarm, may
exercise the privileges set forth in this Section, but subject to the
conditions herein stated.
(c) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle may:
1. Park or stand, irrespective of the provisions of
2. Proceed past a red or stop signal or stop sign,
but only after slowing down as may be required and necessary for safe operation;
3. Exceed the maximum speed limits so long as he does
not endanger life or property;
4. Disregard regulations governing direction of
movement or turning in specified directions.
exceptions herein granted to an authorized emergency vehicle,
other than a police vehicle, shall apply only when the vehicle is making
use of either an audible signal when in motion or visual signals meeting
the requirements of Section 12-215 of this Act.
(e) The foregoing provisions do not relieve the driver of an authorized
emergency vehicle from the duty of driving with due regard for the safety
of all persons, nor do such provisions protect the driver from the
consequences of his reckless disregard for the safety of others.
(f) Unless specifically made applicable, the provisions
of this Chapter, except those contained in
Section 11-204 and Articles IV and V of this Chapter, shall not
apply to persons, motor vehicles and equipment while
actually engaged in work upon a highway but shall
apply to such persons and vehicles when traveling to or from such work.
(Source: P.A. 89-710, eff. 2-14-97; 90-257, eff. 7-30-97
625 ILCS 5/11-206
(625 ILCS 5/11-206)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-206)
Traffic laws apply to persons riding
animals or driving animal-drawn vehicles.
Every person riding an animal or driving any animal-drawn
vehicle upon a roadway shall be granted all of the
rights and shall be subject to all of the duties applicable
to the driver of a vehicle by this chapter, except those
provisions of this chapter which by their very nature can
have no application.
(Source: P.A. 79-858.)