Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

EMPLOYMENT
(820 ILCS 154/) Child Bereavement Leave Act.

820 ILCS 154/1

    (820 ILCS 154/1)
    Sec. 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Child Bereavement Leave Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/5

    (820 ILCS 154/5)
    Sec. 5. Definitions. In this Act:
    "Child" means an employee's son or daughter who is a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of a person standing in loco parentis.
    "Department" means the Department of Labor.
    "Employee" means eligible employee, as defined by Section 101(2) of the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (29 U.S.C. 2601 et seq.).
    "Employer" means employer, as defined by Section 101(4) of the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (29 U.S.C. 2601 et seq.).
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/10

    (820 ILCS 154/10)
    Sec. 10. Bereavement Leave.
    (a) All employees shall be entitled to use a maximum of 2 weeks (10 work days) of unpaid bereavement leave to:
        (1) attend the funeral or alternative to a funeral of
    
a child;
        (2) make arrangements necessitated by the death of
    
the child; or
        (3) grieve the death of the child.
    (b) Bereavement leave under subsection (a) of this Section must be completed within 60 days after the date on which the employee receives notice of the death of the child.
    (c) An employee shall provide the employer with at least 48 hours' advance notice of the employee's intention to take bereavement leave, unless providing such notice is not reasonable and practicable.
    (d) An employer may require reasonable documentation. Documentation may include a death certificate, a published obituary, or written verification of death, burial, or memorial services from a mortuary, funeral home, burial society, crematorium, religious institution, or government agency.
    (e) In the event of the death of more than one child in a 12-month period, an employee is entitled to up to a total of 6 weeks of bereavement leave during the 12-month period. This Act does not create a right for an employee to take unpaid leave that exceeds the unpaid leave time allowed under, or is in addition to the unpaid leave time permitted by, the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (29 U.S.C. 2601 et seq.).
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/15

    (820 ILCS 154/15)
    Sec. 15. Existing leave usable for bereavement. An employee who is entitled to take paid or unpaid leave (including family, medical, sick, annual, personal, or similar leave) from employment, pursuant to federal, State, or local law, a collective bargaining agreement, or an employment benefits program or plan may elect to substitute any period of such leave for an equivalent period of leave provided under Section 10.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/20

    (820 ILCS 154/20)
    Sec. 20. Unlawful employer practices. It is unlawful for any employer to take any adverse action against an employee because the employee (1) exercises rights or attempts to exercise rights under this Act, (2) opposes practices which such employee believes to be in violation of this Act, or (3) supports the exercise of rights of another under this Act.
    Exercising rights under this Act includes filing an action or instituting or causing to be instituted any proceeding under or related to this Act; providing or agreeing to provide any information in connection with any inquiry or proceeding relating to any right provided under this Act; or testifying to or agreeing to testify in any inquiry or proceeding relating to any right provided under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/25

    (820 ILCS 154/25)
    Sec. 25. Department responsibilities.
    (a) The Department shall administer and enforce this Act and adopt rules under the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act for the purpose of this Act. The Department shall have the powers and the parties shall have the rights provided in the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act for contested cases. The Department shall have the power to conduct investigations in connection with the administration and enforcement of this Act, including the power to conduct depositions and discovery and to issue subpoenas. If the Department finds cause to believe that this Act has been violated, the Department shall notify the parties in writing and the matter shall be referred to an Administrative Law Judge to schedule a formal hearing in accordance with hearing procedures established by rule.
    (b) The Department is authorized to impose civil penalties prescribed in Section 30 in administrative proceedings that comply with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and to supervise the payment of the unpaid wages and damages owing to the employee or employees under this Act. The Department may bring any legal action necessary to recover the amount of unpaid wages, damages, and penalties, and the employer shall be required to pay the costs. Any sums recovered by the Department on behalf of an employee under this Act shall be paid to the employee or employees affected. However, 20% of any penalty collected from the employer for a violation of this Act shall be deposited into the Child Bereavement Fund, a special fund created in the State treasury, and used for the enforcement of this Act.
    (c) The Attorney General may bring an action to enforce the collection of any civil penalty imposed under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/30

    (820 ILCS 154/30)
    Sec. 30. Enforcement.
    (a) An employee who believes his or her rights under this Act or any rule adopted under this Act have been violated may, within 60 days after the date of the last event constituting the alleged violation for which the action is brought, file a complaint with the Department or file a civil action.
    (b) An employer that violates any provision of this Act or any rule adopted under this Act is subject to a civil penalty for each employee affected as follows:
        (1) first offense, a civil penalty not to exceed $500;
        (2) second or subsequent offense, a civil penalty not
    
to exceed $1,000.
    (c) A civil action may be brought in the circuit court by an employee to enforce this Act. The circuit court may enjoin any act or practice that violates or may violate this Act and may order any other equitable relief that is necessary and appropriate to redress the violation or to enforce the Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)

820 ILCS 154/95

    (820 ILCS 154/95)
    Sec. 95. (Amendatory provisions; text omitted).
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16; text omitted.)

820 ILCS 154/99

    (820 ILCS 154/99)
    Sec. 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.
(Source: P.A. 99-703, eff. 7-29-16.)