Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(815 ILCS 165/) Consumer Deposit Security Act of 1987.

815 ILCS 165/1

    (815 ILCS 165/1) (from Ch. 29, par. 951)
    Sec. 1. This Act shall be known and may be cited as the "Consumer Deposit Security Act of 1987".
(Source: P.A. 85-733.)

815 ILCS 165/2

    (815 ILCS 165/2) (from Ch. 29, par. 952)
    Sec. 2. As used in this Act, the following words have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section.
    "Consumer Goods" means any goods or items used primarily for personal, family or household purposes.
    "Consumer Lease" means a contract in the form of a bailment or lease for the use of consumer goods for a period of time exceeding 4 months, for a total contractual obligation not exceeding $25,000, whether or not the lessee has the option to purchase or otherwise become the owner of the property at the expiration of the lease. The term consumer lease does not include a lease primarily for agricultural, business or commercial purposes or one made to an organization.
    "Deposit" means any money held by the lessor to secure the performance by the lessee of the lessee's obligations under a consumer lease including, but not limited to, damage deposits, security deposits, advance rent deposits for other than the next immediate rental period; or any contractual deposit agreed to between the lessor and lessee in writing or orally.
    "Lessor" means any person engaged in the business of leasing consumer goods under consumer leases.
    "Lessee" means any individual leasing consumer goods under a consumer lease.
(Source: P.A. 85-733.)

815 ILCS 165/3

    (815 ILCS 165/3) (from Ch. 29, par. 953)
    Sec. 3. Surety Bonds; Escrow Accounts. Any lessor who requires a deposit from a lessee in connection with a consumer lease shall either:
    (a) have on file with the Illinois Attorney General a surety bond, executed by the lessor as principal and a surety company authorized and licensed to do business in the State as surety, in the amount of $10,000. The bond shall be in favor of the State of Illinois for the benefit of lessor's lessees, and shall secure payment by lessor of all amounts due to lessees under Sections 4 and 5 of this Act; or
    (b) place the full amount of the deposit received in an account with a bank, trust company, or a savings and loan association authorized by law to do business in this State. The account shall be in the name of the lessor and shall be clearly denoted on the records of the bank, trust company or savings and loan association as an account for the deposit of security deposits. The lessee must be advised of the name and address of the bank, trust company or savings and loan association at which the security deposit is held. If the account is interest bearing, the party entitled to the deposit at the end of the lease shall be entitled to any and all interest accrued on the deposit. If the deposit amount is less than $150, such interest shall accrue to the account of the lessor.
(Source: P.A. 85-733.)

815 ILCS 165/4

    (815 ILCS 165/4) (from Ch. 29, par. 954)
    Sec. 4. Statement of Account and Release of Deposit. Within 30 days, if the lessee has no liability based upon the value of the consumer goods, or 60 days, if the lessee has that liability, after termination of a consumer lease as to which a deposit has been received by the lessor, whether the termination is early or at the expiration of the lease term, the lessor shall mail to the lessee at the lessee's last known address:
    (a) a statement of the lessee's account at termination, including, where applicable, the rental balance due, the amount of any additional charges for pick-up, late payment, returned checks or damage to the rented property, the amount of any deficiency between the value of the consumer goods and the lease balance, the grounds for any deposit forfeiture claimed by the lessor for breach of lease or violation of any lease term by the lessee, the total balance due, the total amount of the lessee's deposit, the amount of the deposit, if any, applied to the balance due, and the amount, if any, of the refund due to the lessee or the balance due to the lessor; and
    (b) a check for the full amount of any refund due to the lessee.
(Source: P.A. 85-733.)

815 ILCS 165/5

    (815 ILCS 165/5) (from Ch. 29, par. 955)
    Sec. 5. Lessor Noncompliance. In any successful action instituted by a lessee to recover all or any portion of a deposit withheld by a lessor who fails to comply with the requirements of Section 4, the lessee shall be entitled to recover 1 1/2 times the full amount of the deposit. If either a lessor or lessee institutes an action in a court of competent jurisdiction to adjudicate the party's right to all or a portion of a security deposit, the prevailing party shall be entitled to receive court costs plus a reasonable fee for that party's attorney.
(Source: P.A. 85-733.)