Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CRIMINAL OFFENSES
(720 ILCS 680/) Smokeless Tobacco Limitation Act.

720 ILCS 680/1

    (720 ILCS 680/1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2358-21)
    Sec. 1. This Act shall be known and may be cited as the "Smokeless Tobacco Limitation Act".
(Source: P.A. 85-465.)

720 ILCS 680/2

    (720 ILCS 680/2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2358-22)
    Sec. 2. For purposes of this Act, the term "smokeless tobacco" means any finely cut, ground, powdered, or leaf tobacco that is intended to be placed in the oral cavity.
(Source: P.A. 85-465.)

720 ILCS 680/3

    (720 ILCS 680/3) (from Ch. 23, par. 2358-23)
    Sec. 3. No person shall sell any smokeless tobacco product to any person under the age of 18. Any person who violates this Section shall be guilty of a business offense punishable by a fine of not more than $50 for each violation.
(Source: P.A. 85-465.)

720 ILCS 680/4

    (720 ILCS 680/4) (from Ch. 23, par. 2358-24)
    Sec. 4. No person shall distribute or cause to be distributed to any person under the age of 18, without charge or at a nominal cost, any smokeless tobacco product. Any person who violates this Section shall be guilty of a business offense punishable for a first offense by a fine of $200, for a second offense in a 12-month period by a fine of $400, and for the third or any subsequent offense in a 12-month period by a fine of $600. One-half of each fine collected under this Section shall be distributed to the unit of local government or other entity that successfully prosecuted the offender and one-half shall be remitted to the State to be used for the enforcement of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 88-418.)