Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 645/) Illinois Livestock Dealer Licensing Act.

225 ILCS 645/1

    (225 ILCS 645/1) (from Ch. 111, par. 401)
    Sec. 1. As used in this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:
    "Department" means the Illinois Department of Agriculture.
    "Director" means the Director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture or his duly authorized representative.
    "Livestock" means cattle, goats, sheep, swine other than feeder swine, or any other animals of the bovine, caprine, ovine, or porcine species.
    "Feeder swine" means all swine except those consigned directly to slaughter or swine sold as breeding animals with a negative brucellosis test.
    "Livestock dealer" means any person required to be registered under the Federal "Packers and Stockyards Act, 1921", who buys, sells or offers to sell, exchange, barter, or negotiate the sale of cattle, goats, sheep, or swine other than feeder swine in this State whether the cattle, goats, sheep, or swine were raised in this State or brought into this State from another state. "Livestock dealer" does not mean (1) a person who sells only cattle, goats, sheep, or swine which he has produced and raised, (2) a person who offers for sale or trade only cattle, goats, sheep, or swine other than feeder swine which he has owned or had in his possession for a period of 30 days or longer and is not engaged in the business of buying, selling, trading, or negotiating the transfer of livestock, (3) a person who purchases cattle, goats, sheep, or swine other than feeder swine for feeding or breeding purposes and retains them in his possession for a period of 30 days or longer, (4) a person engaged in the business of buying and slaughtering livestock for food and in marketing the meat products therefrom, provided all animals purchased are slaughtered, (5) a person licensed under "An Act providing for the licensing of feeder swine dealers, regulating such business, and providing penalties for violations hereof", approved July 31, 1961, for transactions so governed, or (6) a person licensed under "An Act in relation to the licensing and regulation of livestock auction markets", approved July 15, 1941, as heretofore or hereafter amended, when engaged in transactions covered by such Act or (7) a "commission firm" as defined and exempted by this Act.
    "Person" means any individual, firm, partnership or corporation.
    "Commission firm" means a person who negotiates the sale or purchase of livestock for the account of another on a commission basis and who does not buy or sell for his own account.
    "Agent" means any person authorized to act for a licensed livestock dealer.
    "Clearee" means any person whose livestock financial transactions are processed through a clearing agency. For the purpose of this Act, a clearee shall be licensed as a livestock dealer.
    "Clearing agency" means a financial institution which provides clearing services for a person buying and selling livestock, but which does not take possession of the livestock and, therefore, is not required to be licensed as a livestock dealer.
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)

225 ILCS 645/2

    (225 ILCS 645/2) (from Ch. 111, par. 402)
    Sec. 2. Necessity of license. No person shall engage in the business of a livestock dealer in this State without a license therefor issued by the Department.
    A "commission firm" may be exempt from this Act if: it is registered under the "Slaughter Livestock Buyers Act" as a "slaughter livestock broker"; it requires all purchasers of livestock to pay for such livestock before the close of the next business day; it is a commission firm on a public stockyard (St. Louis National Stockyards and Peoria Union Stockyards); it buys or sells slaughter livestock on commission basis only; it does business only on a named public stockyard; and it has a bond on file with the United States Department of Agriculture, Packers and Stockyards, Agricultural Marketing Service, or any successor agency, in an amount and conditioned upon such terms as meets the conditions of Sections 201.30 and 201.31 of regulations issued under the "Packers and Stockyards Act, 1921", as amended. A duplicate original of such bond filed with the Department will meet the bond requirements of this Act, and such bond shall be the State bond. The Director shall be named as trustee in such bond and the Department shall be named to receive a 30-day notice of cancellation. The Director as trustee of the bond shall have the authorities granted him in Section 205-410 of the Department of Agriculture Law (20 ILCS 205/205-410) and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.
(Source: P.A. 91-239, eff. 1-1-00.)

225 ILCS 645/4

    (225 ILCS 645/4) (from Ch. 111, par. 404)
    Sec. 4. Application. An application by an individual for an original license shall be made in writing to the Department, on forms prescribed by the Department, and shall be accompanied by the required bond and the required fee, which is not returnable. Any such application shall require such information as in the judgment of the Department will enable the Department to pass on the qualifications of the applicant for a license. The information requirements shall be established by rule.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/5

    (225 ILCS 645/5) (from Ch. 111, par. 405)
    Sec. 5. An application by a partnership or corporation for an original license shall be made in writing to the Department, on forms prescribed by the Department, and shall be accompanied by the required bond and the required fee, which is not returnable. Any such application shall list, but need not be limited to, the name of each partner if a partnership, or of each director and officer if a corporation, its address, its financial resources, and the partners, directors, officers or other persons authorized to represent or act for it under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)

225 ILCS 645/5.1

    (225 ILCS 645/5.1) (from Ch. 111, par. 405.1)
    Sec. 5.1. A licensed livestock dealer may upon written request to the Department and upon paying the required fee, obtain an agent's permit for any person whom the dealer wishes to represent him. The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke an agent's permit on the same grounds as for refusal to issue, renew, suspend or revoke a dealer's license. The dealer shall not permit an agent to conduct livestock transactions other than as a part of the dealer's business and the dealer shall be responsible for all livestock transactions conducted by his agent. An agent may not conduct transactions in his own behalf unless he is licensed as a livestock dealer. An agent's permit may be renewed by listing the agent's name and address on the application for renewal license and paying the required fee. The surety bond, trust fund agreement or letter of credit filed by the licensee with the Department shall cover all livestock dealer transactions of the agent.
(Source: P.A. 84-294.)

225 ILCS 645/6

    (225 ILCS 645/6) (from Ch. 111, par. 406)
    Sec. 6. An application for renewal license shall be made in writing to the Department, on forms prescribed by the Department, shall contain such information as will enable the Department to determine if the applicant is qualified to continue to hold a license, and shall be accompanied by the required fee, which is not returnable.
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)

225 ILCS 645/7

    (225 ILCS 645/7) (from Ch. 111, par. 407)
    Sec. 7. Each non-resident applicant for an original license or renewal license shall file with the Department an irrevocable consent that actions against the applicant may be filed in the circuit court of the county where the plaintiff resides or where some part of the transaction occurred out of which the alleged cause of action arose and that process in any action may be served on the applicant by leaving 2 copies thereof with the Director. Such consent shall stipulate that such service of process is valid for all purposes. The Director shall promptly forward, by certified mail, one copy of such process to the applicant at the address shown on the records of the Department. No foreign corporation shall be granted a license under this Act until it has been authorized by the Secretary of State to do business in this State.
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)

225 ILCS 645/8

    (225 ILCS 645/8) (from Ch. 111, par. 408)
    Sec. 8. Each license shall be issued for the term of one year or for such part thereof as remains at the time of the issuance thereof. Each license shall be renewed during the period of January 1 to April 15 of each year. Each license not renewed by April 15 of any year shall expire on April 16 of that year. Failure to apply for a renewal license before April 16 of each year shall result in forfeiture of the right of renewal. When such right has been forfeited, the licensee shall procure an original license as herein provided.
    A license must be prominently displayed at each place of business of the livestock dealer. Where the livestock dealer conducts business at more than one address, branch office licenses shall be issued on payment of the required fee.
    Each license shall be signed by the Director and be issued under the seal of the Department.
(Source: P.A. 77-1722.)

225 ILCS 645/9

    (225 ILCS 645/9) (from Ch. 111, par. 409)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-286)
    Sec. 9. The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a license on any of the following grounds:
        a. material misstatement in the application for
    
original license or in the application for any renewal license under this Act;
        b. wilful disregard or violation of this Act, or of
    
any other Act relative to the purchase and sale of livestock, feeder swine or horses, or of any regulation or rule issued pursuant thereto;
        c. wilfully aiding or abetting another in the
    
violation of this Act or of any regulation or rule issued pursuant thereto;
        d. allowing one's license under this Act to be used
    
by an unlicensed person;
        e. conviction of any felony, if the Department
    
determines, after investigation, that such person has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust;
        f. conviction of any crime an essential element of
    
which is misstatement, fraud or dishonesty;
        g. conviction of a violation of any law in Illinois
    
or any Departmental rule or regulation relating to livestock;
        h. making substantial misrepresentations or false
    
promises of a character likely to influence, persuade or induce in connection with the livestock industry;
        i. pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation
    
of or making false promises through advertising, salesmen, agents or otherwise in connection with the livestock industry;
        j. failure to possess the necessary qualifications or
    
to meet the requirements of this Act for the issuance or holding a license;
        k. failure to pay for livestock after purchase;
        l. issuance of checks for payment of livestock when
    
funds are insufficient;
        m. determination by a Department audit that the
    
licensee or applicant is insolvent;
        n. operating without adequate bond coverage or its
    
equivalent required for licensees;
        o. failing to remit the assessment required in
    
Section 9 of the Beef Market Development Act upon written complaint of the Checkoff Division of the Illinois Beef Association Board of Governors.
    The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 99-389, eff. 8-18-15; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-286)
    Sec. 9. The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a license on any of the following grounds:
        a. material misstatement in the application for
    
original license or in the application for any renewal license under this Act;
        b. wilful disregard or violation of this Act, or of
    
any other Act relative to the purchase and sale of livestock, feeder swine or horses, or of any regulation or rule issued pursuant thereto;
        c. wilfully aiding or abetting another in the
    
violation of this Act or of any regulation or rule issued pursuant thereto;
        d. allowing one's license under this Act to be used
    
by an unlicensed person;
        e. for licensees, conviction of any felony, if the
    
Department determines, after investigation, that such person has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust; for applicants, the Department may refuse to issue a license based on a conviction of a felony if the Department determines in accordance with Section 9.4 that such conviction will impair the ability of the applicant to engage in the position for which a license is sought;
        f. for licensees, conviction of any crime an
    
essential element of which is misstatement, fraud or dishonesty; for applicants, the Department may refuse to issue a license based on a conviction of a misdemeanor directly related to the practice of the profession if the Department determines in accordance with Section 9.4 that such conviction will impair the ability of the applicant to engage in the position for which a license is sought;
        g. conviction of a violation of any law in Illinois
    
or any Departmental rule or regulation relating to livestock;
        h. making substantial misrepresentations or false
    
promises of a character likely to influence, persuade or induce in connection with the livestock industry;
        i. pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation
    
of or making false promises through advertising, salesmen, agents or otherwise in connection with the livestock industry;
        j. failure to possess the necessary qualifications or
    
to meet the requirements of this Act for the issuance or holding a license;
        k. failure to pay for livestock after purchase;
        l. issuance of checks for payment of livestock when
    
funds are insufficient;
        m. determination by a Department audit that the
    
licensee or applicant is insolvent;
        n. operating without adequate bond coverage or its
    
equivalent required for licensees;
        o. failing to remit the assessment required in
    
Section 9 of the Beef Market Development Act upon written complaint of the Checkoff Division of the Illinois Beef Association Board of Governors.
    The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 99-389, eff. 8-18-15; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16; 100-286, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 645/9.1

    (225 ILCS 645/9.1) (from Ch. 111, par. 409.1)
    Sec. 9.1. Suspension. The Director may suspend a license under Section 9 and require the licensee to cease doing business. The Director shall issue a written order of suspension setting forth the reasons for the suspension and for requiring the licensee to cease the purchasing or brokering of livestock until a hearing has been held. Such written order shall be served personally on the licensee, or by registered mail sent to the licensee's business address as shown in his latest notification to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/9.2

    (225 ILCS 645/9.2) (from Ch. 111, par. 409.2)
    Sec. 9.2. The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person upon the complaint in writing from the Checkoff Division of the Illinois Beef Association Board of Governors indicating that the person has failed to properly remit or deduct funds as required by Section 9 of the Beef Market Development Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-389, eff. 8-18-15.)

225 ILCS 645/9.4

    (225 ILCS 645/9.4)
    (This Section may contain text from a Public Act with a delayed effective date)
    Sec. 9.4. Applicant convictions.
    (a) The Department shall not require applicants to report the following information and shall not consider the following criminal history records in connection with an application for a license under this Act:
        (1) Juvenile adjudications of delinquent minors as
    
defined in Section 5-105 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-130 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
        (2) Law enforcement records, court records, and
    
conviction records of an individual who was 17 years old at the time of the offense and before January 1, 2014, unless the nature of the offense required the individual to be tried as an adult.
        (3) Records of arrest not followed by a conviction.
        (4) Convictions overturned by a higher court.
        (5) Convictions or arrests that have been sealed or
    
expunged.
    (b) The Department, upon a finding that an applicant for a license was previously convicted of any felony or a misdemeanor directly related to the practice of the profession, shall consider any evidence of rehabilitation and mitigating factors contained in the applicant's record, including any of the following factors and evidence, to determine if the conviction will impair the ability of the applicant to engage in the position for which a license is sought:
        (1) the lack of direct relation of the offense for
    
which the applicant was previously convicted to the duties, functions, and responsibilities of the position for which a license is sought;
        (2) whether 5 years since a felony conviction or 3
    
years since release from confinement for the conviction, whichever is later, have passed without a subsequent conviction;
        (3) if the applicant was previously licensed or
    
employed in this State or other states or jurisdictions, then the lack of prior misconduct arising from or related to the licensed position or position of employment;
        (4) the age of the person at the time of the criminal
    
offense;
        (5) successful completion of sentence and, for
    
applicants serving a term of parole or probation, a progress report provided by the applicant's probation or parole officer that documents the applicant's compliance with conditions of supervision;
        (6) evidence of the applicant's present fitness and
    
professional character;
        (7) evidence of rehabilitation or rehabilitative
    
effort during or after incarceration, or during or after a term of supervision, including, but not limited to, a certificate of good conduct under Section 5-5.5-25 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a certificate of relief from disabilities under Section 5-5.5-10 of the Unified Code of Corrections; and
        (8) any other mitigating factors that contribute to
    
the person's potential and current ability to perform the duties and responsibilities of the position for which a license or employment is sought.
    (c) If the Department refuses to issue a license to an applicant, then the applicant shall be notified of the denial in writing with the following included in the notice of denial:
        (1) a statement about the decision to refuse to issue
    
a license;
        (2) a list of the convictions that the Department
    
determined will impair the applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license is sought;
        (3) a list of convictions that formed the sole or
    
partial basis for the refusal to issue a license; and
        (4) a summary of the appeal process or the earliest
    
the applicant may reapply for a license, whichever is applicable.
    (d) No later than May 1 of each year, the Department must prepare, publicly announce, and publish a report of summary statistical information relating to new and renewal license applications during the preceding calendar year. Each report shall show, at a minimum:
        (1) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (2) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license under this Act within the previous calendar year who had any criminal conviction;
        (3) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license under this Act in the previous calendar year who were granted a license;
        (4) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license with a criminal conviction who were granted a license under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (5) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license under this Act within the previous calendar year who were denied a license; and
        (6) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license with a criminal conviction who were denied a license under this Act in the previous calendar year in whole or in part because of a prior conviction.
(Source: P.A. 100-286, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 645/10

    (225 ILCS 645/10) (from Ch. 111, par. 410)
    Sec. 10. Investigation and hearing. The Department may, upon its own motion, and shall, upon the complaint in writing of any person setting forth facts which if proved would constitute grounds under Section 9, investigate the actions of any applicant or any person or persons holding or claiming to hold a license. At least 10 days prior to the date set for hearing the Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before revoking a license, notify in writing the applicant for or holder of a license, hereinafter called the respondent, that on the date designated a hearing will be held to determine whether the respondent is privileged to hold such license.
    The Director shall, after a hearing, issue an order either issuing, renewing, refusing to issue or renew, reinstating, or revoking the license. Such written notice may be served personally on the respondent, or by registered or certified mail sent to the respondent's business address as shown in his latest notification to the Department.
    The Department, over the signature of the Director, may subpoena any person or persons in this State and take testimony orally, by deposition or by exhibit, in the same manner and with the same fees and mileage as prescribed in judicial proceedings in civil cases.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/11

    (225 ILCS 645/11) (from Ch. 111, par. 411)
    Sec. 11. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 88-457. Repealed by P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/12

    (225 ILCS 645/12) (from Ch. 111, par. 412)
    Sec. 12. (Repealed).
(Source: Laws 1965, p. 2950. Repealed by P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/13

    (225 ILCS 645/13) (from Ch. 111, par. 413)
    Sec. 13. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 82-783. Repealed by P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/14

    (225 ILCS 645/14) (from Ch. 111, par. 414)
    Sec. 14. Upon the revocation or suspension of any license, the licensee shall forthwith surrender the license and any branch office licenses to the Department, and if the licensee fails to do so, the Department has the right to seize the same.
(Source: Laws 1965, p. 2950.)

225 ILCS 645/15

    (225 ILCS 645/15) (from Ch. 111, par. 415)
    Sec. 15. The Director may issue regulations, consistent with the provisions of this Act, for the administration and enforcement thereof and may prescribe forms for use in connection therewith.
(Source: Laws 1965, p. 2950.)

225 ILCS 645/16

    (225 ILCS 645/16) (from Ch. 111, par. 416)
    Sec. 16. Prior to the issuance of a license, as a livestock dealer, each applicant therefor shall file a surety bond with the Department, conditioned on his performance of all duties required by law of a livestock dealer. The form of such bond shall be prescribed by the Department. The bond shall specifically provide that the livestock dealer shall pay when due, to the person or persons entitled thereto, the purchase price of all livestock purchased by the livestock dealer. The surety on any such bond shall be a surety company authorized to do business within the State of Illinois. The amount of such bond shall be not less than the nearest multiple of $2,000 above the average amount of livestock purchases by such livestock dealer for 3 business days, based on the total number of business days, and the total amount of such sales and purchases in the preceding 12 months, or in such part thereof in which such livestock dealer did business, if any. For the purpose of this computation, 260 days shall be deemed the number of business days in the year. However, the amount of the bond shall not be less than $6,000, and when the bond requirements exceed $50,000 calculated on the livestock purchases as hereinbefore specified, the amount of the bond need not exceed $50,000 plus 15% of the excess. Whenever there has been a change in the gross amount of business transacted during the 12-month period prior to the renewal of any license which would warrant an increase or decrease in the amount of bond coverage required under this Act, the livestock dealer shall have his bond adjusted accordingly upon receipt of notice to that effect. A blanket bond based upon the gross amount of business transacted on an annual basis for each enterprise operated under the same ownership may be furnished by licensees in lieu of individual bonds for each enterprise operated if they so desire. Such bond shall be continuous in nature and shall provide that it may not be cancelled without 30 days written notice of termination to the Department prior to the effective date of such termination. In cases where a livestock dealer under this Act has a bond on file with the United States Department of Agriculture, Packers and Stockyards, Agricultural Marketing Service, or any successor agency, and such bond is in an amount and conditioned upon such terms so as to meet the requirements of this Act, separate bond coverage under this Act is not required. In any case where an applicant has sufficient bond posted with the United States Department of Agriculture, Packers and Stockyards, Agricultural Marketing Service, or any successor agency, to satisfy the provisions of this Act, a duplicate original of such bond shall be furnished to the Department and such bond shall replace the State bond as if it were the State bond.
    In lieu of filing such bond, the livestock dealer may deliver to the Department the receipt of a duly authorized bank, savings and loan association or trust company in this State showing the deposit with the bank, savings and loan association or trust company of cash or of securities endorsed in blank by the owner thereof and of a market value equal at least to the required principal amount of such bond, such cash or securities to be deposited in escrow under agreement conditioned as in the case of such bond. Such trust fund agreement shall be on forms prescribed by the Department. An action for recovery against any such deposit may be brought in the same manner as in the case of an action for recovery on a bond filed hereunder. Any such receipt shall further be accompanied by evidence that there are no unsatisfied judgments against the livestock dealer of record in the county where the livestock dealer resides.
    Any livestock dealer required to maintain a surety bond under this Act may elect to maintain, in whole or partial substitution for such surety bond, one or more irrevocable letters of credit on which a trustee is authorized to draw funds subject to a trust agreement. The amount of such letters of credit, surety bond, trust fund agreement, or combination thereof, must be the total amount of the surety bond otherwise required under this Act. Such letters of credit and trust agreements shall be on forms prescribed by the Department. Any letter of credit must be issued for a period of not less than one year. The Director shall be trustee on any such trust agreement. An action for recovery against this trust agreement with related letter of credit may be brought in the same manner as in case of an action for recovery on a bond filed hereunder. This letter of credit with trust agreement may be terminated by any party to the agreement by providing the Department with written notice of such termination of at least 30 days prior to the effective date of termination. In any case when a livestock dealer has elected to maintain one or more irrevocable letters of credit with related trust agreements, in order to fulfill the bonding requirements of the Packers and Stockyards Administration, United States Department of Agriculture, or any successor agency, such letters of credit with trust agreements shall satisfy the provisions of this Act, and such letters of credit with trust agreements shall replace the State letters of credit with trust agreements as if they were the State letters of credit with trust agreements.
    Whenever the Director has reason to believe that any bond, or bond substitute, filed or maintained under this Act is inadequate to secure the performance of the obligations of the livestock dealer covered by such bond, he shall notify the livestock dealer to adjust such bond to meet the requirements of this Section, or, if such bond is inadequate because of the volume of business conducted on a seasonal or otherwise irregular basis, to meet such requirements as may be determined by the Director to be reasonable based upon such seasonal or irregular operation.
(Source: P.A. 87-160.)

225 ILCS 645/16.1

    (225 ILCS 645/16.1) (from Ch. 111, par. 416.1)
    Sec. 16.1. A clearing agency providing services for clearees in Illinois, is responsible for the financial obligations of such clearees arising from livestock purchases, and must file a bond with the Department on prescribed forms. Such bond shall be in an amount and conditioned upon such terms so as to meet the requirements of this Act. In any case where a clearing agency has sufficient bond posted with the United States Department of Agriculture, Packers and Stockyards, Agricultural Marketing Service, or any successor agency, to satisfy the provisions of this Act, a duplicate original of such bond shall be furnished to the Department, and such bond shall replace the State bond as if it were the State bond.
    The Director shall be named as trustee on any such bond. Any such bond shall be continuous in nature and shall provide that it may not be cancelled without 30 days prior written notice of termination to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)

225 ILCS 645/17

    (225 ILCS 645/17) (from Ch. 111, par. 417)
    Sec. 17. Each licensee shall maintain records of each purchase under this Act including identification of livestock purchased, the name and address of the seller, and the date of purchase, and a record of each sale, including date, buyer, number and identification of animals. All reports of sales of female feeder cattle must be mailed to the Department weekly on forms furnished by the Department.
    These records along with any accompanying health certificates shall be maintained for a period of 3 years.
(Source: P.A. 91-457, eff. 1-1-00.)

225 ILCS 645/17.1

    (225 ILCS 645/17.1) (from Ch. 111, par. 418)
    Sec. 17.1.
    Each licensee shall file annually with the Department a report on prescribed forms not later than April 15 following the calendar year end or, if the records are kept on a fiscal year basis, not later than 90 days after the close of his fiscal year. The Director on good cause shown, or on his own motion, may grant a reasonable extension of the filing date or may waive the filing of such reports in particular cases.
(Source: P.A. 77-1722.)

225 ILCS 645/17.10

    (225 ILCS 645/17.10)
    Sec. 17.10. Hearing rules. The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and the Illinois Department of Agriculture rules adopted under that Act apply to hearings under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/17.15

    (225 ILCS 645/17.15)
    Sec. 17.15. Judicial review. All final administrative decisions of the Department are subject to judicial review under Article III of the Code of Civil Procedure and its rules. The term "administrative decision" is defined as in Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure. Proceedings for judicial review shall be commenced in the circuit court of any county permitted by Section 3-104 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/18

    (225 ILCS 645/18) (from Ch. 111, par. 419)
    Sec. 18. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-760. Repealed by P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/19

    (225 ILCS 645/19) (from Ch. 111, par. 420)
    Sec. 19. License fees. The following fees shall accompany each application for a license, and are not returnable:
    a.   for an original license to an individual.$25
    b.   for an original license to a partnership or corporation.$25
    c.   for an annual renewal license.$10
    d.   for each branch office license.$10
    e.   for each agent authorized to represent or act for a licensee.$ 5
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/19.1

    (225 ILCS 645/19.1) (from Ch. 111, par. 420.1)
    Sec. 19.1. All persons licensed under this Act must also comply with all the provisions of the "Illinois Bovine Brucellosis Eradication Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, the "Illinois Bovidae and Cervidae Tuberculosis Eradication Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, the "Illinois Diseased Animals Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, the "Humane Care for Animals Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, the "Livestock Auction Market Law" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, and the "Illinois Swine Brucellosis Eradication Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law, and the "Illinois Pseudorabies Control Act" and the rules adopted pursuant to that law.
(Source: P.A. 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)

225 ILCS 645/19.2

    (225 ILCS 645/19.2) (from Ch. 111, par. 420.2)
    Sec. 19.2. Administrative hearings and penalties. Any person violating or aiding or abetting the violation of any provision of this Act, or any provision of any rule of the Department issued under this Act, may be ordered, following an administrative hearing, to pay the following administrative penalties:
        (1) $300 for a first violation;
        (2) $600 for a second violation; and
        (3) $1,000 for a third and subsequent violation.
(Source: P.A. 89-154, eff. 7-19-95.)

225 ILCS 645/20

    (225 ILCS 645/20) (from Ch. 111, par. 421)
    Sec. 20. This Act shall be known and may be cited as the "Illinois Livestock Dealer Licensing Act".
(Source: P.A. 81-191.)