Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

730 ILCS 150/8

    (730 ILCS 150/8) (from Ch. 38, par. 228)
    Sec. 8. Registration and DNA submission requirements.
    (a) Registration. Registration as required by this Article shall consist of a statement in writing signed by the person giving the information that is required by the Department of State Police, which may include the fingerprints and must include a current photograph of the person, to be updated annually. If the sex offender is a child sex offender as defined in Section 11-9.3 or 11-9.4 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, he or she shall sign a statement that he or she understands that according to Illinois law as a child sex offender he or she may not reside within 500 feet of a school, park, or playground. The offender may also not reside within 500 feet of a facility providing services directed exclusively toward persons under 18 years of age unless the sex offender meets specified exemptions. The registration information must include whether the person is a sex offender as defined in the Sex Offender Community Notification Law. Within 3 days, the registering law enforcement agency shall forward any required information to the Department of State Police. The registering law enforcement agency shall enter the information into the Law Enforcement Agencies Data System (LEADS) as provided in Sections 6 and 7 of the Intergovernmental Missing Child Recovery Act of 1984.
    (b) DNA submission. Every person registering as a sex offender _pursuant to this Act, regardless of the date of conviction or the date of initial registration who is required to submit specimens of blood, saliva, or tissue for DNA analysis as required by subsection (a) of Section 5-4-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections shall submit the specimens as required by that Section. Registered sex offenders who have previously submitted a DNA specimen which has been uploaded to the Illinois DNA database shall not be required to submit an additional specimen pursuant to this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-383, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)