Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 130/3.1
(730 ILCS 130/3.1)
(from Ch. 75, par. 32.1)
(a) Within 3 months after the effective date of this
amendatory Act of 1986, the wardens who supervise institutions under this
Act shall meet and agree upon uniform rules and regulations for behavior
and conduct, penalties, and the awarding, denying and revocation of good
behavior allowance, in such institutions; and such rules and regulations
shall be immediately promulgated and consistent with the provisions of this
Act. Interim rules shall be provided by each warden consistent with the
provision of this Act and shall be effective until the promulgation of
uniform rules. All disciplinary action shall be consistent with the
provisions of this Act. Committed persons shall be informed of rules of
behavior and conduct, the penalties for violation thereof, and the
disciplinary procedure by which such penalties may be imposed. Any rules,
penalties and procedures shall be posted and made available to the committed persons.
(b) Whenever a person is alleged to have violated a rule of behavior, a
written report of the infraction shall be filed with the warden within 72
hours of the occurrence of the infraction or the discovery of it, and such
report shall be placed in the file of the institution or facility. No
disciplinary proceeding shall be commenced more than 8 days after the infraction or the
discovery of it, unless the committed person is unable or unavailable for
any reason to participate in the disciplinary proceeding.
(c) All or any of the good behavior allowance earned may be revoked by
the warden, unless he initiates the charge, and in that case by the
disciplinary board, for violations of rules of behavior at any time prior
to discharge from the institution, consistent with the provisions of this Act.
(d) In disciplinary cases that may involve the loss of good behavior
allowance or eligibility to earn good behavior allowance, the warden shall
establish disciplinary procedures consistent with the following principles:
(1) The warden may establish one or more disciplinary
boards, made up of one or more persons, to hear and determine charges. Any person who initiates a disciplinary charge against a committed person shall not serve on the disciplinary board that will determine the disposition of the charge. In those cases in which the charge was initiated by the warden, he shall establish a disciplinary board which will have the authority to impose any appropriate discipline.
(2) Any committed person charged with a violation of
rules of behavior shall be given notice of the charge, including a statement of the misconduct alleged and of the rules this conduct is alleged to violate, no less than 24 hours before the disciplinary hearing.
(3) Any committed person charged with a violation of
rules is entitled to a hearing on that charge, at which time he shall have an opportunity to appear before and address the warden or disciplinary board deciding the charge.
(4) The person or persons determining the disposition
of the charge may also summon to testify any witnesses or other persons with relevant knowledge of the incident. The person charged may be permitted to question any person so summoned.
(5) If the charge is sustained, the person charged is
entitled to a written statement, within 14 days after the hearing, of the decision by the warden or the disciplinary board which determined the disposition of the charge, and the statement shall include the basis for the decision and the disciplinary action, if any, to be imposed.
(6) The warden may impose the discipline recommended
by the disciplinary board, or may reduce the discipline recommended; however, no committed person may be penalized more than 30 days of good behavior allowance for any one infraction unless the infraction is the second or subsequent infraction within any 30-day period in which case the committed person may not be penalized more than 60 days of good behavior allowance.
(7) The warden, in appropriate cases, may restore
good behavior allowance that has been revoked, suspended or reduced.
(e) The warden, or his or her designee, may revoke the good behavior allowance specified in Section 3 of this Act of an inmate who is sentenced to the Illinois Department of Corrections for misconduct committed by the inmate while in custody of the warden. If an inmate while in custody of the warden is convicted of assault or battery on a peace officer, correctional employee, or another inmate, or for criminal damage to property or for bringing into or possessing contraband in the penal institution in violation of Section 31A-1.1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, his or her day for day good behavior allowance shall be revoked for each day such allowance was earned while the inmate was in custody of the warden.
(Source: P.A. 99-259, eff. 1-1-16