Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 5/5-9-3
(730 ILCS 5/5-9-3)
(from Ch. 38, par. 1005-9-3)
(a) An offender who defaults in the payment of a fine or
installment of that fine may be held in contempt and imprisoned for nonpayment. The
court may issue a summons for his appearance or a warrant of arrest.
(b) Unless the offender shows that his default was not due to his
intentional refusal to pay, or not due to a failure on his part to make a
good faith effort to pay, the court may order the offender imprisoned for a
term not to exceed 6 months if the fine was for a felony, or 30 days if the
fine was for a misdemeanor, a petty offense or a business offense. Payment
of the fine at any time will entitle the offender to be released, but
imprisonment under this Section shall not satisfy the payment of the fine.
(c) If it appears that the default in the payment of a fine is not
intentional under paragraph (b) of this Section, the court may enter an
order allowing the offender additional time for payment, reducing the
amount of the fine or of each installment, or revoking the fine or the
(d) When a fine is imposed on a corporation or unincorporated
organization or association, it is the duty of the person or persons
authorized to make disbursement of assets, and their superiors, to pay the
fine from assets of the corporation or unincorporated organization or
association. The failure of such persons to do so shall render them subject
to proceedings under paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section.
(e) A default in the payment of a fine, fee, cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond forfeiture, judgment order of forfeiture, or any installment thereof
collected by any and all means authorized for the collection of money judgments. The State's Attorney of the county in which the fine, fee, cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond forfeiture, or judgment order of forfeiture was imposed may retain
attorneys and private collection agents for the purpose of collecting any
default in payment of any fine, fee, cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond forfeiture, judgment order of forfeiture, or installment thereof. An additional fee of 30% of the delinquent amount and each taxable court cost including, without limitation, costs of service of process, shall be charged to the offender for any amount of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond forfeiture or installment of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond forfeiture that remains unpaid after the time fixed for payment of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond forfeiture by the court. The additional fee shall be payable to the State's Attorney in order to compensate the State's Attorney for costs incurred in collecting the delinquent amount. The State's Attorney may enter into agreements assigning any portion of the fee to the retained attorneys or the private collection agent retained by the State's Attorney. Any agreement between the State's Attorney and the retained attorneys or collection agents shall require the approval of the Circuit Clerk of that county. A default in payment of a fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond forfeiture shall draw interest at the rate of 9% per annum.
(Source: P.A. 98-373, eff. 1-1-14.)