Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 600/3.5

    (720 ILCS 600/3.5)
    Sec. 3.5. Possession of drug paraphernalia.
    (a) A person who knowingly possesses an item of drug paraphernalia with the intent to use it in ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing cannabis or a controlled substance into the human body, or in preparing cannabis or a controlled substance for that use, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for which the court shall impose a minimum fine of $750 in addition to any other penalty prescribed for a Class A misdemeanor. This subsection (a) does not apply to a person who is legally authorized to possess hypodermic syringes or needles under the Hypodermic Syringes and Needles Act.
    (b) In determining intent under subsection (a), the trier of fact may take into consideration the proximity of the cannabis or controlled substances to drug paraphernalia or the presence of cannabis or a controlled substance on the drug paraphernalia.
    (c) If a person violates subsection (a) of Section 4 of the Cannabis Control Act, the penalty for possession of any drug paraphernalia seized during the violation for that offense shall be a civil law violation punishable by a minimum fine of $100 and a maximum fine of $200. The proceeds of the fine shall be payable to the clerk of the circuit court. Within 30 days after the deposit of the fine, the clerk shall distribute the proceeds of the fine as follows:
        (1) $10 of the fine to the circuit clerk and $10 of
    
the fine to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation; the proceeds of each $10 fine distributed to the circuit clerk and each $10 fine distributed to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation for the violation shall be used to defer the cost of automatic expungements under paragraph (2.5) of subsection (a) of Section 5.2 of the Criminal Identification Act;
        (2) $15 to the county to fund drug addiction
    
services;
        (3) $10 to the Office of the State's Attorneys
    
Appellate Prosecutor for use in training programs;
        (4) $10 to the State's Attorney; and
        (5) any remainder of the fine to the law enforcement
    
agency that issued the citation for the violation.
    With respect to funds designated for the Department of State Police, the moneys shall be remitted by the circuit court clerk to the Department of State Police within one month after receipt for deposit into the State Police Operations Assistance Fund. With respect to funds designated for the Department of Natural Resources, the Department of Natural Resources shall deposit the moneys into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund.
(Source: P.A. 99-697, eff. 7-29-16.)