Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 5/26.5-2

    (720 ILCS 5/26.5-2)
    Sec. 26.5-2. Harassment by telephone.
    (a) A person commits harassment by telephone when he or she uses telephone communication for any of the following purposes:
        (1) Making any comment, request, suggestion or
proposal which is obscene, lewd, lascivious, filthy or indecent with an intent to offend;
        (2) Making a telephone call, whether or not
conversation ensues, with intent to abuse, threaten or harass any person at the called number;
        (3) Making or causing the telephone of another
repeatedly to ring, with intent to harass any person at the called number;
        (4) Making repeated telephone calls, during which
conversation ensues, solely to harass any person at the called number;
        (5) Making a telephone call or knowingly inducing a
person to make a telephone call for the purpose of harassing another person who is under 13 years of age, regardless of whether the person under 13 years of age consents to the harassment, if the defendant is at least 16 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense; or
        (6) Knowingly permitting any telephone under one's
control to be used for any of the purposes mentioned herein.
    (b) Every telephone directory published for distribution to members of the general public shall contain a notice setting forth a summary of the provisions of this Section. The notice shall be printed in type which is no smaller than any other type on the same page and shall be preceded by the word "WARNING". All telephone companies in this State shall cooperate with law enforcement agencies in using their facilities and personnel to detect and prevent violations of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13.)