Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 5/12-21.6-5

    (720 ILCS 5/12-21.6-5)
    Sec. 12-21.6-5. Parent or guardian leaving custody or control of child with child sex offender.
    (a) For the purposes of this Section, "minor" means a person under 18 years of age; and "child sex offender" means a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act and is a child sex offender as defined in Sections 11-9.3 and 11-9.4 of this Code.
    (b) It is unlawful for a parent or guardian of a minor to knowingly leave that minor in the custody or control of a child sex offender, or allow the child sex offender unsupervised access to the minor.
    (c) This Section does not apply to leaving the minor in the custody or control of, or allowing unsupervised access to the minor by:
        (1) a child sex offender who is the parent of the
        (2) a person convicted of a violation of subsection
(c) of Section 12-15 of this Code; or
        (3) a child sex offender who is married to and
living in the same household with the parent or guardian of the minor.
    This subsection (c) shall not be construed to allow a child sex offender to knowingly reside within 500 feet of the minor victim of the sex offense if prohibited by subsection (b-6) of Section 11-9.4 of this Code.
    (d) Sentence. A person who violates this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (e) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit the filing of a petition or the instituting of any proceeding under Article II of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 relating to abused minors.
(Source: P.A. 96-1094, eff. 1-1-11.)