Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/16-104a

    (625 ILCS 5/16-104a) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 16-104a)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on July 1, 2019)
    Sec. 16-104a. Additional penalty for certain violations.
    (a) There is added to every fine imposed upon conviction of an offense reportable to the Secretary of State under the provisions of subdivision (a)(2) of Section 6-204 of this Act an additional penalty of $4 for each $40, or fraction thereof, of fine imposed. Each such additional penalty received shall be remitted within one month to the State Treasurer to be deposited into the Drivers Education Fund, unless the additional penalty is subject to disbursement by the circuit clerk under Section 27.5 of the Clerks of Courts Act. Such additional amounts shall be assessed by the court and shall be collected by the Clerk of the Circuit Court in addition to the fine and costs in the case. Such additional penalty shall not be considered a part of the fine for purposes of any reduction made in the fine for time served either before or after sentencing. Not later than March 1 of each year the Clerk of the Circuit Court shall submit to the State Comptroller a report of the amount of funds remitted by him to the State Treasurer under this Section during the preceding calendar year. Except as otherwise provided by Supreme Court Rules, if a court in sentencing an offender levies a gross amount for fine, costs, fees and penalties, the amount of the additional penalty provided for herein shall be computed on the amount remaining after deducting from the gross amount levied all fees of the Circuit Clerk, the State's Attorney and the Sheriff. After deducting from the gross amount levied the fees and additional penalty provided for herein, less any other additional penalties provided by law, the clerk shall remit the net balance remaining to the entity authorized by law to receive the fine imposed in the case. For purposes of this Section "fees of the Circuit Clerk" shall include, if applicable, the fee provided for under Section 27.3a of the Clerks of Courts Act and the fee, if applicable, payable to the county in which the violation occurred pursuant to Section 5-1101 of the Counties Code.
    When bail is forfeited for failure to appear in connection with an offense reportable to the Secretary of State under subdivision (a)(2) of Section 6-204 of this Act, and no fine is imposed ex parte, $4 of every $40 cash deposit, or fraction thereof, given to secure appearance shall be remitted within one month to the State Treasurer to be deposited into the Drivers Education Fund, unless the bail is subject to disbursement by the circuit clerk under Section 27.5 of the Clerks of Courts Act.
    (b) In addition to any other fine or penalty required by law for a person convicted of a violation of Section 11-503 or 11-601.5 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, the court may, in its discretion, require the person to pay an additional criminal penalty that shall be distributed in its entirety to a public agency that provided an emergency response related to the person's violation. The criminal penalty may not exceed $100 per public agency for each emergency response provided for a first violation of Section 11-503 or 11-601.5 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance. The criminal penalty may not exceed $500 per public agency for each emergency response provided for a second or subsequent violation of Section 11-503 or 11-601.5 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance. As used in this subsection, "emergency response" means any incident requiring a response by a police officer, an ambulance, a firefighter carried on the rolls of a regularly constituted fire department or fire protection district, a firefighter of a volunteer fire department, or a member if a recognized not-for-profit rescue or emergency medical service provider. With respect to funds designated for the Department of State Police, the moneys shall be remitted by the circuit court clerk to the State Police within one month after receipt for deposit into the State Police Operations Assistance Fund. With respect to funds designated for the Department of Natural Resources, the Department of Natural Resources shall deposit the moneys into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund.
(Source: P.A. 96-1173, eff. 7-22-10; 97-931, eff. 1-1-13. Repealed by P.A. 100-987, eff. 7-1-19.)