Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/11-907
(625 ILCS 5/11-907)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-907)
Operation of vehicles and streetcars on approach of authorized
(a) Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle
making use of audible and visual signals meeting the requirements of this
Code or a police vehicle properly and lawfully making use of an audible
or visual signal:
(1) the driver of every other vehicle shall yield the
right-of-way and shall immediately drive to a position parallel to, and as close as possible to, the right-hand edge or curb of the highway clear of any intersection and shall, if necessary to permit the safe passage of the emergency vehicle, stop and remain in such position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless otherwise directed by a police officer; and
(2) the operator of every streetcar shall immediately
stop such car clear of any intersection and keep it in such position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless otherwise directed by a police officer.
(b) This Section shall not operate to relieve the driver of an
authorized emergency vehicle from the duty to drive with due regard for the
safety of all persons using the highway.
(c) Upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, when the
authorized emergency vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately
red, red and white, blue, or red and blue lights or amber or yellow warning
person who drives an approaching vehicle shall:
(1) proceeding with due caution, yield the
right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane not adjacent to that of the authorized emergency vehicle, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic conditions, if on a highway having at least 4 lanes with not less than 2 lanes proceeding in the same direction as the approaching vehicle; or
(2) proceeding with due caution, reduce the speed of
the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe.
As used in this subsection (c), "authorized emergency vehicle"
includes any vehicle authorized by law to be equipped with oscillating,
rotating, or flashing lights under Section 12-215 of this Code, while the owner
or operator of the vehicle is engaged in his or her official duties.
(d) A person who violates subsection (c) of this Section commits a business
offense punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $10,000. It is a factor in
aggravation if the person committed the offense while in violation of Section
11-501 of this Code. Imposition of the penalties authorized by this subsection (d) for a violation of subsection (c) of this Section that results in the death of
another person does not preclude imposition of appropriate additional civil or criminal penalties.
(e) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in damage to
property of another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed,
the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed
period of not less than 90 days and not more than one year.
(f) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in injury to
person, in addition to any other penalty imposed,
the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not
days and not more than 2 years.
(g) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in the death of
another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed,
the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for 2 years.
(h) The Secretary of State shall, upon receiving a record of a judgment
entered against a person under subsection (c) of this Section:
(1) suspend the person's driving privileges for the
(2) extend the period of an existing suspension by
the appropriate mandatory period.
(Source: P.A. 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)