Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/11-402
(625 ILCS 5/11-402)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-402)
Motor vehicle accident involving damage to vehicle.
The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident
resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall
immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such motor vehicle accident
or as close thereto as possible, but shall forthwith return to and in every event
shall remain at the scene of such motor vehicle accident until the
requirements of Section 11-403 have been fulfilled. A driver does not violate this Section if the driver moves the vehicle as soon as possible off the highway to the nearest safe location on an exit ramp shoulder, a frontage road, the nearest suitable cross street, or other suitable location that does not obstruct traffic and
remains at that location until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of Section 11-403. Every such stop
shall be made without obstructing traffic
more than is necessary. If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes.
Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class
(b) Upon conviction of a violation of this Section, the court shall make
a finding as to whether the damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000,
and in such case a statement of this finding shall be reported to the Secretary
of State with the report of conviction as required by Section 6-204 of this
Code. Upon receipt of such report of conviction and statement of finding
that the damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000, the Secretary of State
shall suspend the driver's license or any nonresident's driving privilege.
(c) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds (i) a vehicle standing upon a highway or toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking imposed under this Code or (ii) a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway, the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted, or to public parking or storage premises. The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of, the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate procedures, as provided in Section 4-203 of this Code.
(d) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under subsection (c), as provided in subsection (b) of Section 4-213.
(Source: P.A. 97-763, eff. 1-1-13.)