Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

410 ILCS 130/75

    (410 ILCS 130/75)
    Sec. 75. Notifications to Department of Public Health and responses; civil penalty.
    (a) The following notifications and Department of Public Health responses are required:
        (1) A registered qualifying patient shall notify the
    
Department of Public Health of any change in his or her name or address, or if the registered qualifying patient ceases to have his or her debilitating medical condition, within 10 days of the change.
        (2) A registered designated caregiver shall notify
    
the Department of Public Health of any change in his or her name or address, or if the designated caregiver becomes aware the registered qualifying patient passed away, within 10 days of the change.
        (3) Before a registered qualifying patient changes
    
his or her designated caregiver, the qualifying patient must notify the Department of Public Health.
        (4) If a cardholder loses his or her registry
    
identification card, he or she shall notify the Department within 10 days of becoming aware the card has been lost.
    (b) When a cardholder notifies the Department of Public Health of items listed in subsection (a), but remains eligible under this Act, the Department of Public Health shall issue the cardholder a new registry identification card with a new random alphanumeric identification number within 15 business days of receiving the updated information and a fee as specified in Department of Public Health rules. If the person notifying the Department of Public Health is a registered qualifying patient, the Department shall also issue his or her registered designated caregiver, if any, a new registry identification card within 15 business days of receiving the updated information.
    (c) If a registered qualifying patient ceases to be a registered qualifying patient or changes his or her registered designated caregiver, the Department of Public Health shall promptly notify the designated caregiver. The registered designated caregiver's protections under this Act as to that qualifying patient shall expire 15 days after notification by the Department.
    (d) A cardholder who fails to make a notification to the Department of Public Health that is required by this Section is subject to a civil infraction, punishable by a penalty of no more than $150.
    (e) A registered qualifying patient shall notify the Department of Public Health of any change to his or her designated registered dispensing organization. The Department of Public Health shall provide for immediate changes of a registered qualifying patient's designated registered dispensing organization. Registered dispensing organizations must comply with all requirements of this Act.
    (f) If the registered qualifying patient's certifying certifying health care professional notifies the Department in writing that either the registered qualifying patient has ceased to suffer from a debilitating medical condition, that the bona fide health care professional-patient relationship has terminated, or that continued use of medical cannabis would result in contraindication with the patient's other medication, the card shall become null and void. However, the registered qualifying patient shall have 15 days to destroy his or her remaining medical cannabis and related paraphernalia.
(Source: P.A. 100-1114, eff. 8-28-18; 101-363, eff. 8-9-19.)