Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 459/65

    (225 ILCS 459/65)
    Sec. 65. Disciplinary actions.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem appropriate, including imposing fines not to exceed $25,000 for each violation, with regard to any registration for any one or combination of the following:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing
    
information to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act, or of the rules
    
adopted under this Act.
        (3) Conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or
    
nolo contendere to any crime that is a felony under the laws of the United States or any state or territory thereof or that is a misdemeanor of which an essential element is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose
    
of obtaining registration or violating any provision of this Act or the rules adopted under this Act pertaining to advertising.
        (5) Professional incompetence.
        (6) Gross malpractice.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another person in
    
violating any provision of this Act or rules adopted under this Act.
        (8) Failing, within 30 days after requested, to
    
provide information in response to a written request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (10) Discipline by another state, District of
    
Columbia, territory, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
        (11) A finding by the Department that the
    
registrant, after having his or her registration placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (12) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports in his or her practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (13) Filing false statements for collection of fees
    
for which services are not rendered.
        (14) Practicing under a false or, except as
    
provided by law, an assumed name.
        (15) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for, or
    
procuring, a registration under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a registration under this Act.
        (16) Being adjudicated liable in a civil proceeding
    
for violation of a state or federal fair housing law.
        (17) Failure to obtain or maintain the bond required
    
under Section 50 of this Act.
        (18) Failure to pay appraiser panel fees or
    
appraisal management company national registry fees.
    (b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend without hearing as provided for in the Civil Administrative Code the registration of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of the tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
    (c) An appraisal management company shall not be registered or included on the national registry if the company, in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, is owned by a person who has had an appraiser license or certificate refused, denied, canceled, surrendered in lieu of revocation, or revoked under the Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Act of 2002 or the rules adopted under that Act, or similar discipline by another state, the District of Columbia, a territory, a foreign nation, a governmental agency, or an entity authorized to impose discipline if at least one of the grounds for that discipline is the same as or the equivalent of one of the grounds for which a licensee may be disciplined as set forth under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-604, eff. 7-13-18.)