Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 454/5-70
(225 ILCS 454/5-70)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Continuing education requirement; managing broker, broker, or salesperson.
(a) The requirements of this Section apply to all managing brokers, brokers, and salespersons.
(b) Except as otherwise
provided in this Section, each
person who applies for renewal of his or her license as a managing broker, real
estate broker, or real
estate salesperson must successfully complete 6 hours of real estate continuing education
courses approved by
the Advisory Council for each year of the pre-renewal period. Broker licensees must successfully complete a 6-hour broker management continuing education course approved by the Department for the pre-renewal period ending April 30, 2010. In addition, beginning with the pre-renewal period for managing broker licensees that begins after the effective date of this Act, those licensees renewing or obtaining a managing broker's license must successfully complete a 12-hour broker management continuing education course approved by the Department each pre-renewal period. The broker management continuing education course must be completed in the classroom or by other interactive delivery method presenting instruction and real time discussion between the instructor and the students. Successful completion of the course shall include achieving a passing score as provided by rule on a test developed and administered in accordance with rules adopted by the Department. No
license may be renewed
except upon the successful completion of the required courses or their
equivalent or upon a waiver
of those requirements for good cause shown as determined by the Secretary
recommendation of the Advisory Council.
The requirements of this Article are applicable to all managing brokers, brokers, and salespersons
except those brokers
and salespersons who, during the pre-renewal period:
(1) serve in the armed services of the United States;
(2) serve as an elected State or federal official;
(3) serve as a full-time employee of the Department;
(4) are admitted to practice law pursuant to Illinois
(c) A person licensed as a salesperson as of April 30, 2011 shall not be required to complete the 18 hours of continuing education for the pre-renewal period ending April 30, 2012 if that person takes the 30-hour post-licensing course to obtain a broker's license. A person licensed as a broker as of April 30, 2011 shall not be required to complete the 12 hours of broker management continuing education for the pre-renewal period ending April 30, 2012, unless that person passes the proficiency exam provided for in Section 5-47 of this Act to qualify for a managing broker's license.
person receiving an initial license
during the 90 days before the renewal date shall not be
required to complete the continuing
education courses provided for in subsection (b) of this
Section as a condition of initial license renewal.
(e) The continuing education requirement for salespersons, brokers and managing brokers shall
consist of a core
curriculum and an elective curriculum, to be established by the Advisory
Council. In meeting the
continuing education requirements of this Act, at least 3 hours per year or
their equivalent, 6 hours for each two-year pre-renewal period, shall
be required to be completed in the core curriculum.
In establishing the core curriculum, the Advisory Council shall consider
subjects that will
educate licensees on recent changes in applicable laws and new laws and refresh
the licensee on areas
of the license law and the Department policy that the Advisory Council deems appropriate,
and any other
areas that the Advisory Council deems timely and applicable in order to prevent
violations of this Act
and to protect the public.
In establishing the elective curriculum, the Advisory Council shall consider
subjects that cover
the various aspects of the practice of real estate that are covered under the
scope of this Act.
However, the elective curriculum shall not include any offerings referred to in
Section 5-85 of this Act.
(f) The subject areas of continuing education courses approved by the
Advisory Council may
include without limitation the following:
(1) license law and escrow;
(3) fair housing;
(6) property management;
(7) residential brokerage;
(8) farm property management;
(9) rights and duties of sellers, buyers, and brokers;
(10) commercial brokerage and leasing; and
(11) real estate financing.
(g) In lieu of credit for those courses listed in subsection (f) of this
Section, credit may be
earned for serving as a licensed instructor in an approved course of continuing
amount of credit earned for teaching a course shall be the amount of continuing
education credit for
which the course is approved for licensees taking the course.
(h) Credit hours may be earned for self-study programs approved by the
(i) A broker or salesperson may earn credit for a specific continuing
education course only
once during the prerenewal period.
(j) No more than 6 hours of continuing education credit may be taken or earned in one
(k) To promote the offering of a uniform and consistent course content, the Department may provide for the development of a single broker management course to be offered by all continuing education providers who choose to offer the broker management continuing education course. The Department may contract for the development of the 12-hour broker management continuing education course with an outside vendor or consultant and, if the course is developed in this manner, the Department or the outside consultant shall license the use of that course to all approved continuing education providers who wish to provide the course.
(l) Except as specifically provided in this Act, continuing education credit hours may not be earned for completion of pre or post-license courses. The approved 30-hour post-license course for broker licensees shall satisfy the continuing education requirement for the pre-renewal period in which the course is taken. The approved 45-hour brokerage administration and management course shall satisfy the 12-hour broker management continuing education requirement for the pre-renewal period in which the course is taken.
(Source: P.A. 96-856, eff. 12-31-09; 97-1002, eff. 8-17-12.)