Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 454/5-27)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Requirements for licensure as a broker.
(a) Every applicant for licensure as a broker must meet the following qualifications:
(1) Be at least 21 years of age. The minimum age of
21 years shall be waived for any person seeking a license as a broker who has attained the age of 18 and can provide evidence of the successful completion of at least 4 semesters of post-secondary school study as a full-time student or the equivalent, with major emphasis on real estate courses, in a school approved by the Department;
(2) Be of good moral character;
(3) Successfully complete a 4-year course of study in
a high school or secondary school approved by the Illinois State Board of Education or an equivalent course of study as determined by an examination conducted by the Illinois State Board of Education which shall be verified under oath by the applicant;
(5) Provide satisfactory evidence of having completed
90 hours of instruction in real estate courses approved by the Department, 15 hours of which must consist of situational and case studies presented in the classroom or by live, interactive webinar or online distance education courses;
(6) Personally take and pass a written examination
authorized by the Department;
(7) Present a valid application for issuance of a
license accompanied by a sponsor card and the fees specified by rule.
(b) The requirements specified in items (3) and (5) of subsection (a) of this Section do not apply to applicants who are currently admitted to practice law by the Supreme Court of Illinois and are currently in active standing.
(c) No applicant shall engage in any of the activities covered by this Act until a valid sponsor card has been issued to such applicant. The sponsor card shall be valid for a maximum period of 45 days after the date of issuance unless extended for good cause as provided by rule.
(d) All licenses should be readily available to the public at their place of business.
(e) An individual holding an active license as a managing broker may return the license to the Department along with a form provided by the Department and shall be issued a broker's license in exchange. Any individual obtaining a broker's license under this subsection (e) shall be considered as having obtained a broker's license by education and passing the required test and shall be treated as such in determining compliance with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-227, eff. 8-3-15; 100-188, eff. 1-1-18