Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 450/13

    (225 ILCS 450/13) (from Ch. 111, par. 5514)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 13. Application for licensure.
    (a) A person or CPA firm that wishes to perform accountancy activities in this State, as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 8.05 of this Act, or use the CPA title shall make application to the Department and shall pay the fee required by rule.
    Applicants have 3 years from the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed in 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
    (b) Any CPA firm that (i) has an office in this State that uses the title "CPA" or "CPA firm"; (ii) has an office in this State that performs accountancy activities, as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 8.05 of this Act; or (iii) does not have an office in this State and does not meet the practice privilege requirements as defined in Section 5.2 of this Act, but offers or renders services, as set forth in subsection (e) of Section 5.2 of this Act, for a client that is headquartered in this State must hold a license as a CPA firm issued under this Act.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) A CPA firm that is not subject to the requirements of subsection (b) of this Section may perform professional services that are not regulated under subsection (b) of this Section while using the title "CPA" or "CPA firm" in this State without obtaining a license as a CPA firm under this Act if the firm (i) performs such services through individuals with practice privileges under Section 5.2 of this Act and (ii) may lawfully perform such services in the state where those individuals with practice privileges under Section 5.2 of this Act have their principal place of business.
(Source: P.A. 100-419, eff. 8-25-17.)