Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 427/85

    (225 ILCS 427/85)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 85. Grounds for discipline; refusal, revocation, or suspension.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew a license, or may place on probation, reprimand, suspend, or revoke any license, or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper and impose a fine not to exceed $10,000 for each violation upon any licensee or applicant under this Act or any person or entity who holds himself, herself, or itself out as an applicant or licensee for any one or combination of the following causes:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
    
to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act or its rules.
        (3) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or
    
plea of nolo contendere to a felony or a misdemeanor under the laws of the United States, any state, or any other jurisdiction or entry of an administrative sanction by a government agency in this State or any other jurisdiction. Action taken under this paragraph (3) for a misdemeanor or an administrative sanction is limited to a misdemeanor or administrative sanction that has as an essential element dishonesty or fraud, that involves larceny, embezzlement, or obtaining money, property, or credit by false pretenses or by means of a confidence game, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
    
obtaining a license or violating any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (5) Professional incompetence.
        (6) Gross negligence.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (8) Failing, within 30 days, to provide information
    
in response to a request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public as defined by the rules of the Department, or violating the rules of professional conduct adopted by the Department.
        (10) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (11) Having been disciplined by another state, the
    
District of Columbia, a territory, a foreign nation, or a governmental agency authorized to impose discipline if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent of one of the grounds for which a licensee may be disciplined under this Act. A certified copy of the record of the action by the other state or jurisdiction shall be prima facie evidence thereof.
        (12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
    
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered.
        (13) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
    
after having his, her, or its license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (14) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports relating to a licensee's practice, including but not limited to false records filed with any State or federal agencies or departments.
        (15) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
    
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (16) Physical illness or mental illness or
    
impairment, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (17) Solicitation of professional services by using
    
false or misleading advertising.
        (18) A finding that licensure has been applied for or
    
obtained by fraudulent means.
        (19) Practicing or attempting to practice under a
    
name other than the full name as shown on the license or any other legally authorized name.
        (20) Gross overcharging for professional services
    
including, but not limited to, (i) collection of fees or moneys for services that are not rendered; and (ii) charging for services that are not in accordance with the contract between the licensee and the community association.
        (21) Improper commingling of personal and client
    
funds in violation of this Act or any rules promulgated thereto.
        (22) Failing to account for or remit any moneys or
    
documents coming into the licensee's possession that belong to another person or entity.
        (23) Giving differential treatment to a person that
    
is to that person's detriment because of race, color, creed, sex, religion, or national origin.
        (24) Performing and charging for services without
    
reasonable authorization to do so from the person or entity for whom service is being provided.
        (25) Failing to make available to the Department,
    
upon request, any books, records, or forms required by this Act.
        (26) Purporting to be a supervising community
    
association manager of a firm without active participation in the firm.
        (27) Failing to make available to the Department at
    
the time of the request any indicia of licensure or registration issued under this Act.
        (28) Failing to maintain and deposit funds belonging
    
to a community association in accordance with subsection (b) of Section 55 of this Act.
        (29) Violating the terms of a disciplinary order
    
issued by the Department.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension will terminate only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient, and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume his or her practice as a licensed community association manager.
    (d) In accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15), the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of that tax Act are satisfied.
    (e) In accordance with subdivision (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15) and in cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    (f) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board upon a showing of a possible violation may compel a licensee or an individual licensed to practice under this Act, or who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of this examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for suspension of his or her license or denial of his or her application or renewal until the individual submits to the examination if the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause.
    If the Department or Board finds an individual unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department or Board may require that individual to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department or Board, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice; or, in lieu of care, counseling, or treatment, the Department may file, or the Board may recommend to the Department to file, a complaint to immediately suspend, revoke, deny, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual. An individual whose license was granted, continued, reinstated, renewed, disciplined or supervised subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions, and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions, shall be referred to the Secretary for a determination as to whether the individual shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
    In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 30 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)