Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 340/20
(225 ILCS 340/20)
(from Ch. 111, par. 6620)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Refusal; revocation; suspension.
(a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke a license, or may suspend, place on probation, fine, or take any disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including a fine not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any licensee for any one or combination of the following reasons:
(1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
(2) Negligence, incompetence or misconduct in the
practice of structural engineering;
(3) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
(4) The affixing of a licensed structural engineer's
seal to any plans, specifications or drawings which have not been prepared by or under the immediate personal supervision of that licensed structural engineer or reviewed as provided in this Act;
(5) Conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere to, any crime that is a felony under the laws of the United States or of any state or territory thereof, or that is a misdemeanor an essential element of which is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of the profession;
(6) Making a statement of compliance pursuant to the
Environmental Barriers Act, as now or hereafter amended, that a plan for construction or alteration of a public facility or for construction of a multi-story housing unit is in compliance with the Environmental Barriers Act when such plan is not in compliance;
(7) Failure to comply with any of the provisions of
(8) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules;
(9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public, as defined by rule;
(10) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety;
(11) Failure of an applicant or licensee to pay a
fine imposed by the Department or a licensee whose license has been placed on probationary status has violated the terms of probation;
(12) Discipline by another state, territory, foreign
country, the District of Columbia, the United States government, or any other governmental agency, if at least one of the grounds for discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section;
(13) Failure to provide information in response to a
written request made by the Department within 30 days after the receipt of such written request; or
(14) Physical illness, including but not limited to,
deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill, mental illness, or disability which results in the inability to practice the profession of structural engineering with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(a-5) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board, upon a showing of a possible violation, may order a licensee or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning his or her examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The licensee or applicant may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to any such examination when directed, without reasonable cause as defined by rule, shall be grounds for either the immediate suspension of his or her license or immediate denial of his or her application.
If the Secretary immediately suspends the license of a licensee for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
If the Secretary otherwise suspends a license pursuant to the results of the licensee's mental or physical examination, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the relevant impairment or impairments to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Any licensee suspended under this subsection (a-5) shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with the acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(b) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to
involuntary admission or judicial admission, as provided in the Mental
Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, operates as an automatic
suspension. Such suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that
the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial
admission, the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient,
and the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that
the licensee be allowed to resume practice.
(d) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly the Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend that person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with subdivision (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(e) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has failed to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(f) Persons who assist the Department as consultants or expert witnesses in
the investigation or prosecution of alleged violations of the Act,
licensure matters, restoration proceedings, or criminal prosecutions, are
not liable for damages in any civil action or proceeding as a result of
such assistance, except upon proof of actual malice. The Attorney General
of the State of Illinois shall defend such persons in any such action or
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)