Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 325/24
(225 ILCS 325/24)
(from Ch. 111, par. 5224)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Rules of professional conduct; disciplinary or
(a) The Department shall adopt rules setting standards of professional
conduct and establish appropriate penalties
for the breach of such rules.
(a-1) The Department may, singularly or in combination,
refuse to issue, renew, or restore a license or may revoke,
suspend, place on probation,
or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action with regard to a person licensed under this Act, including but not limited to, the imposition of a fine
not to exceed $10,000 per violation upon any person, corporation,
partnership, or professional design firm licensed or registered under
this Act, for any one or combination of the following causes:
(1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
(2) Violations of this Act or any of its
(3) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere to any crime that is a felony under the laws of the United States or any state or territory thereof, or that is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of engineering.
(4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
obtaining, renewing, or restoring a license or violating any provision of this Act or the rules promulgated under this Act pertaining to advertising.
(5) Willfully making or signing a false statement,
certificate, or affidavit to induce payment.
(6) Negligence, incompetence or misconduct in the
practice of professional engineering as a licensed professional engineer or in working as an engineer intern.
(7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules.
(8) Failing to provide information in response to a
written request made by the Department within 30 days after receipt of such written request.
(9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public.
(10) Inability to practice the profession with
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of a physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill, or mental illness or disability.
(11) Discipline by the United States Government,
another state, District of Columbia, territory, foreign nation or government agency, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
(12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership or association any fee, commission, rebate or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered.
(13) A finding by the Department that an applicant or
registrant has failed to pay a fine imposed by the Department, a registrant whose license has been placed on probationary status has violated the terms of probation, or a registrant has practiced on an expired, inactive, suspended, or revoked license.
(14) Signing, affixing the professional engineer's
seal or permitting the professional engineer's seal to be affixed to any technical submissions not prepared as required by Section 14 or completely reviewed by the professional engineer or under the professional engineer's direct supervision.
(15) Inability to practice the profession with
reasonable judgment, skill or safety as a result of habitual or excessive use or addiction to alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug.
(16) The making of a statement pursuant to the
Environmental Barriers Act that a plan for construction or alteration of a public facility or for construction of a multi-story housing unit is in compliance with the Environmental Barriers Act when such plan is not in compliance.
(a-2) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has failed to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15).
(a-4) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly the Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend that person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with subdivision (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15).
(a-5) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board, upon a showing of a possible violation, may order a licensee or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning his or her examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The licensee or applicant may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to any such examination when directed, without reasonable cause as defined by rule, shall be grounds for either the immediate suspension of his or her license or immediate denial of his or her application.
If the Secretary immediately suspends the license of a licensee for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
If the Secretary otherwise suspends a license pursuant to the results of the licensee's mental or physical examination, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the relevant impairment or impairments to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Any licensee suspended under this subsection (a-5) shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with the acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(b) The determination by a circuit court that a registrant is subject
to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental
Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, as now or hereafter amended,
operates as an automatic suspension. Such suspension will end only upon
a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to
involuntary admission or judicial admission, the issuance of an order
so finding and discharging the patient, and the recommendation of the Board to
the Director that the registrant be allowed to resume practice.
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)