Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 217/75)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2023)
Grounds for disciplinary sanctions.
Licensees subject to this Act
shall conduct their
practice in accordance with this Act and with any rules adopted
under this Act. The State Fire Marshal may refuse to issue or renew any license and it may suspend or revoke any license or may place on probation, censure, reprimand, or take other disciplinary action deemed appropriate by the State Fire Marshal and enumerated in this Act, including the imposition of fines not to exceed $5,000 for each violation, with regard to any license issued under this Act for any one or more of the reasons enumerated in this Section. Any civil penalty assessed by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to this Act shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the civil penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed and executed in the same manner as any judgment from any court of record.
Grounds for discipline under this Act are:
(1) fraud or material deception in obtaining or
(2) professional incompetence as manifested by poor
(3) engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public in the course of professional services or activities;
(4) conviction of any crime by a licensee that has a
substantial relationship to his or her practice or an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or dishonesty, or conviction in this or another state of any crime that is a felony under the laws of Illinois or conviction of a felony in a federal court, unless the person demonstrates that he or she has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust;
(5) performing any services in a grossly negligent
manner or permitting any of his or her licensed employees to perform services in a grossly negligent manner, regardless of whether actual damage or damages to the public is established;
(6) habitual drunkenness or habitual addiction to the
use of morphine, cocaine, controlled substances, or other habit-forming drugs;
(7) directly or indirectly willfully receiving
compensation for any professional services not actually rendered;
(8) having disciplinary action taken against his or
her license in another state;
(9) making differential treatment against any person
to his or her detriment because of race, color, creed, sex, religion, or national origin;
(10) engaging in unprofessional conduct;
(11) engaging in false or misleading advertising;
(12) contracting or assisting unlicensed persons to
perform services for which a license is required under this Act;
(13) permitting the use of his or her license to
enable any unlicensed person or agency to operate as a licensee;
(14) performing and charging for services without
having authorization to do so from the member of the public being served;
(15) failure to comply with any provision of this Act
or the rules adopted under this Act;
(16) conducting business regulated by this Act
without a currently valid license.
(Source: P.A. 96-1499, eff. 1-18-11; 97-979, eff. 8-17-12.)