Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 90/17

    (225 ILCS 90/17) (from Ch. 111, par. 4267)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 17. (1) The Department may refuse to issue or to renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary action as the Department deems appropriate, including the issuance of fines not to exceed $5000, with regard to a license for any one or a combination of the following:
        A. Material misstatement in furnishing information to
    
the Department or otherwise making misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent representations in violation of this Act or otherwise in the practice of the profession;
        B. Violations of this Act, or of the rules or
    
regulations promulgated hereunder;
        C. Conviction of any crime under the laws of the
    
United States or any state or territory thereof which is a felony or which is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or of any crime which is directly related to the practice of the profession; conviction, as used in this paragraph, shall include a finding or verdict of guilty, an admission of guilt or a plea of nolo contendere;
        D. Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
    
obtaining licenses, or violating any provision of this Act or the rules promulgated thereunder pertaining to advertising;
        E. A pattern of practice or other behavior which
    
demonstrates incapacity or incompetency to practice under this Act;
        F. Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or Rules;
        G. Failing, within 60 days, to provide information in
    
response to a written request made by the Department;
        H. Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public. Unprofessional conduct shall include any departure from or the failure to conform to the minimal standards of acceptable and prevailing physical therapy practice, in which proceeding actual injury to a patient need not be established;
        I. Unlawful distribution of any drug or narcotic, or
    
unlawful conversion of any drug or narcotic not belonging to the person for such person's own use or benefit or for other than medically accepted therapeutic purposes;
        J. Habitual or excessive use or addiction to alcohol,
    
narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug which results in a physical therapist's or physical therapist assistant's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety;
        K. Revocation or suspension of a license to practice
    
physical therapy as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or the taking of other disciplinary action by the proper licensing authority of another state, territory or country;
        L. Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving from
    
any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing contained in this paragraph prohibits persons holding valid and current licenses under this Act from practicing physical therapy in partnership under a partnership agreement, including a limited liability partnership, a limited liability company, or a corporation under the Professional Service Corporation Act or from pooling, sharing, dividing, or apportioning the fees and monies received by them or by the partnership, company, or corporation in accordance with the partnership agreement or the policies of the company or professional corporation. Nothing in this paragraph (L) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (L) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered;
        M. A finding by the Board that the licensee after
    
having his or her license placed on probationary status has violated the terms of probation;
        N. Abandonment of a patient;
        O. Willfully failing to report an instance of
    
suspected child abuse or neglect as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act;
        P. Willfully failing to report an instance of
    
suspected elder abuse or neglect as required by the Elder Abuse Reporting Act;
        Q. Physical illness, including but not limited to,
    
deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill which results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgement, skill or safety;
        R. The use of any words (such as physical therapy,
    
physical therapist physiotherapy or physiotherapist), abbreviations, figures or letters with the intention of indicating practice as a licensed physical therapist without a valid license as a physical therapist issued under this Act;
        S. The use of the term physical therapist assistant,
    
or abbreviations, figures, or letters with the intention of indicating practice as a physical therapist assistant without a valid license as a physical therapist assistant issued under this Act;
        T. Willfully violating or knowingly assisting in the
    
violation of any law of this State relating to the practice of abortion;
        U. Continued practice by a person knowingly having an
    
infectious, communicable or contagious disease;
        V. Having treated ailments of human beings otherwise
    
than by the practice of physical therapy as defined in this Act, or having treated ailments of human beings as a licensed physical therapist independent of a documented referral or a documented current and relevant diagnosis from a physician, dentist, advanced practice registered nurse, physician assistant, or podiatric physician, or having failed to notify the physician, dentist, advanced practice registered nurse, physician assistant, or podiatric physician who established a documented current and relevant diagnosis that the patient is receiving physical therapy pursuant to that diagnosis;
        W. Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
    
report by the Department of Children and Family Services pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act;
        X. Interpretation of referrals, performance of
    
evaluation procedures, planning or making major modifications of patient programs by a physical therapist assistant;
        Y. Failure by a physical therapist assistant and
    
supervising physical therapist to maintain continued contact, including periodic personal supervision and instruction, to insure safety and welfare of patients;
        Z. Violation of the Health Care Worker Self-Referral
    
Act.
    (2) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. Such suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient; and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Director that the licensee be allowed to resume his practice.
    (3) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)