Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 85/9
(225 ILCS 85/9)
(from Ch. 111, par. 4129)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Licensure as registered pharmacy technician.
(a) Any person shall be entitled
to licensure as a registered pharmacy technician who is of the age of 16
or over, has not engaged in conduct or behavior determined to be grounds for
discipline under this Act, is attending or has
graduated from an accredited high school or comparable school or educational
institution or received a high school equivalency certificate, and has filed a written or electronic application for licensure on a form
to be prescribed and furnished by the Department for that purpose. The
Department shall issue a license as a registered pharmacy technician to any applicant who has
qualified as aforesaid, and such license shall be the sole authority
required to assist licensed pharmacists in the practice of pharmacy, under
the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. A registered pharmacy technician may, under the supervision of a pharmacist, assist in the practice of pharmacy and perform such functions as assisting in the dispensing process, offering counseling, receiving new verbal prescription orders, and having prescriber contact concerning prescription drug order clarification. A registered pharmacy technician may not engage in patient counseling, drug regimen review, or clinical conflict resolution.
(b) Beginning on January 1, 2017, within 2 years after initial licensure as a registered pharmacy technician, the licensee must meet the requirements described in Section 9.5 of this Act and become licensed as a registered certified pharmacy technician. If the licensee has not yet attained the age of 18, then upon the next renewal as a registered pharmacy technician, the licensee must meet the requirements described in Section 9.5 of this Act and become licensed as a registered certified pharmacy technician. This requirement does not apply to pharmacy technicians registered prior to January 1, 2008.
(c) Any person registered
as a pharmacy technician who is also enrolled in a first professional
degree program in pharmacy in a school or college of pharmacy or a
department of pharmacy of a university approved by the Department or has graduated from such a program within the last 18 months, shall be
considered a "student pharmacist"
and entitled to use the title "student pharmacist". A student pharmacist must meet all of the requirements for licensure as a registered pharmacy technician set forth in this Section excluding the requirement of certification prior to the second license renewal and pay the required registered pharmacy technician license fees. A student pharmacist may, under the supervision of a pharmacist, assist in the practice of pharmacy and perform any and all functions delegated to him or her by the pharmacist.
(d) Any person seeking licensure as a pharmacist who has graduated from a pharmacy program outside the United States must register as a pharmacy technician and shall be considered a "student pharmacist" and be entitled to use the title "student pharmacist" while completing the 1,200 clinical hours of training approved by the Board of Pharmacy described and for no more than 18 months after completion of these hours. These individuals are not required to become registered certified pharmacy technicians while completing their Board approved clinical training, but must become licensed as a pharmacist or become licensed as a registered certified pharmacy technician before the second pharmacy technician license renewal following completion of the Board approved clinical training.
(e) The Department shall not renew the registered pharmacy technician license of any person who has been licensed as a registered pharmacy technician with the designation "student pharmacist" who: (1) has dropped out of or been expelled from an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy; (2) has failed to complete his or her 1,200 hours of Board approved clinical training within 24 months; or (3) has failed the pharmacist licensure examination 3 times. The Department shall require these individuals to meet the requirements of and become licensed as a registered certified pharmacy technician.
(f) The Department may
take any action set forth in Section 30 of this Act with regard to a license
pursuant to this Section.
(g) Any person who is enrolled in a non-traditional Pharm.D.
program at an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy and is licensed as a registered pharmacist
under the laws of another United States jurisdiction shall be permitted to
engage in the program of practice experience required in the academic program
by virtue of such license. Such person shall be exempt from the requirement
of licensure as a registered pharmacy technician or registered certified pharmacy technician while engaged in the
program of practice experience required in the academic program.
An applicant for licensure as a registered pharmacy technician may assist a
pharmacist in the practice of pharmacy for a period of up to
60 days prior to the issuance of a license if the
applicant has submitted the required fee and an application for licensure
to the Department. The applicant shall keep a copy of the submitted
application on the premises where the applicant is assisting in the
practice of pharmacy. The Department shall forward confirmation of receipt of the application with start and expiration dates of practice pending licensure.
(Source: P.A. 99-473, eff. 1-1-17; 100-497, eff. 9-8-17.)