Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 85/30
(225 ILCS 85/30)
(from Ch. 111, par. 4150)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Refusal, revocation, suspension, or other discipline.
(a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke a license, or may suspend, place on probation, fine, or take any disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any licensee for any one or combination of the following causes:
1. Material misstatement in furnishing information to
2. Violations of this Act, or the rules promulgated
3. Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
4. A pattern of conduct which demonstrates
incompetence or unfitness to practice.
5. Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules.
6. Failing, within 60 days, to respond to a written
request made by the Department for information.
7. Engaging in unprofessional, dishonorable, or
unethical conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public.
8. Adverse action taken by another state or
jurisdiction against a license or other authorization to practice as a pharmacy, pharmacist, registered certified pharmacy technician, or registered pharmacy technician that is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section, a certified copy of the record of the action taken by the other state or jurisdiction being prima facie evidence thereof.
9. Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving from
any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing in this item 9 affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this item 9 shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
10. A finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his license placed on probationary status has violated the terms of probation.
11. Selling or engaging in the sale of drug samples
provided at no cost by drug manufacturers.
12. Physical illness, including but not limited to,
deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill which results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
13. A finding that licensure or registration has been
applied for or obtained by fraudulent means.
14. Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of pharmacy.
15. Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants or any other chemical agent or drug which results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
16. Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in the practice of pharmacy, including, but not limited to false records to support claims against the medical assistance program of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) under the Public Aid Code.
17. Gross and willful overcharging for professional
services including filing false statements for collection of fees for which services are not rendered, including, but not limited to, filing false statements for collection of monies for services not rendered from the medical assistance program of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) under the Public Aid Code.
18. Dispensing prescription drugs without receiving a
written or oral prescription in violation of law.
19. Upon a finding of a substantial discrepancy in a
Department audit of a prescription drug, including controlled substances, as that term is defined in this Act or in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act.
20. Physical or mental illness or any other
impairment or disability, including, without limitation: (A) deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skills that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety; or (B) mental incompetence, as declared by a court of competent jurisdiction.
21. Violation of the Health Care Worker Self-Referral
22. Failing to sell or dispense any drug, medicine,
or poison in good faith. "Good faith", for the purposes of this Section, has the meaning ascribed to it in subsection (u) of Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act. "Good faith", as used in this item (22), shall not be limited to the sale or dispensing of controlled substances, but shall apply to all prescription drugs.
23. Interfering with the professional judgment of a
pharmacist by any licensee under this Act, or the licensee's agents or employees.
24. Failing to report within 60 days to the
Department any adverse final action taken against a pharmacy, pharmacist, registered pharmacy technician, or registered certified pharmacy technician by another licensing jurisdiction in any other state or any territory of the United States or any foreign jurisdiction, any governmental agency, any law enforcement agency, or any court for acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that would constitute grounds for discipline as defined in this Section.
25. Failing to comply with a subpoena issued in
accordance with Section 35.5 of this Act.
26. Disclosing protected health information in
violation of any State or federal law.
27. Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, or self-neglect of an eligible adult as defined in and required by the Adult Protective Services Act.
28. Being named as an abuser in a verified report by
the Department on Aging under the Adult Protective Services Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee abused, neglected, or financially exploited an eligible adult as defined in the Adult Protective Services Act.
(b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax,
penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment
of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the
Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any
such tax Act are satisfied.
(c) The Department shall revoke any license issued under the provisions of this Act or any prior Act of
this State of any person who has been convicted a second time of committing
any felony under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or who
has been convicted a second time of committing a Class 1 felony under
Sections 8A-3 and 8A-6 of the Illinois Public Aid Code. A
person whose license issued under the
provisions of this Act or any prior Act of this State is revoked under this
subsection (c) shall be prohibited from engaging in the practice of
pharmacy in this State.
(d) Fines may be imposed in conjunction with other forms of disciplinary action, but shall not be the exclusive disposition of any disciplinary action arising out of conduct resulting in death or injury to a patient. Fines shall be paid within 60 days or as otherwise agreed to by the Department. Any funds collected from such fines shall be deposited in the Illinois State Pharmacy Disciplinary Fund.
(e) The entry of an order or judgment by any circuit court establishing that any person holding a license or certificate under this Act is a person in need of mental treatment operates as a suspension of that license. A licensee may resume his or her practice only upon the entry of an order of the Department based upon a finding by the Board that he or she has been determined to be recovered from mental illness by the court and upon the Board's recommendation that the licensee be permitted to resume his or her practice.
(f) The Department shall issue quarterly to the Board a status of all
complaints related to the profession received by the Department.
(g) In enforcing this Section, the Board or the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any licensee or applicant for licensure under this Act to submit to a mental or physical examination or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The examining physician, or multidisciplinary team involved in providing physical and mental examinations led by a physician consisting of one or a combination of licensed physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff, shall be those specifically designated by the Department. The Board or the Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to present testimony concerning this mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information, report, or other documents in any way related to the examination shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communication between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of any individual to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed shall result in the automatic suspension of his or her license until such time as the individual submits to the examination. If the Board or Department finds a pharmacist, registered certified pharmacy technician, or registered pharmacy technician unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Board or Department shall require such pharmacist, registered certified pharmacy technician, or registered pharmacy technician to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians or other appropriate health care providers approved or designated by the Department as a condition for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice. Any pharmacist, registered certified pharmacy technician, or registered pharmacy technician whose license was granted, continued, reinstated, renewed, disciplined, or supervised, subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions, and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions or to complete a required program of care, counseling, or treatment, as determined by the chief pharmacy coordinator, shall be referred to the Secretary for a determination as to whether the licensee shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Board. In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a license under this subsection (g), a hearing upon such person's license must be convened by the Board within 15 days after such suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject pharmacist's, registered certified pharmacy technician's, or registered pharmacy technician's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment.
(h) An individual or organization acting in good faith, and not in a willful and wanton manner, in complying with this Section by providing a report or other information to the Board, by assisting in the investigation or preparation of a report or information, by participating in proceedings of the Board, or by serving as a member of the Board shall not, as a result of such actions, be subject to criminal prosecution or civil damages.
(i) Members of the Board shall be indemnified by the State for any actions occurring within the scope of services on the Board, done in good faith, and not willful and wanton in nature. The Attorney General shall defend all such actions unless he or she determines either that there would be a conflict of interest in such representation or that the actions complained of were not in good faith or were willful and wanton.
If the Attorney General declines representation, the member shall have the right to employ counsel of his or her choice, whose fees shall be provided by the State, after approval by the Attorney General, unless there is a determination by a court that the member's actions were not in good faith or were willful and wanton.
The member must notify the Attorney General within 7 days of receipt of notice of the initiation of any action involving services of the Board. Failure to so notify the Attorney General shall constitute an absolute waiver of the right to a defense and indemnification.
The Attorney General shall determine, within 7 days after receiving such notice, whether he or she will undertake to represent the member.
(Source: P.A. 100-497, eff. 9-8-17.)