Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 65/60-25
(225 ILCS 65/60-25)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Restoration of RN license; temporary permit.
(a) Any license to practice professional nursing issued under this Act that has expired or that is on inactive status may be restored by making application to the Department and filing proof of fitness acceptable to the Department as specified by rule to have the license restored and by paying the required restoration fee. Such proof of fitness may include evidence certifying active lawful practice in another jurisdiction.
(b) A licensee seeking restoration of a license after it has expired or been placed on inactive status for more than 5 years shall file an application, on forms supplied by the Department, and submit the restoration or renewal fees set forth by the Department. The licensee shall also submit proof of fitness to practice as specified by rule.
(c) Any registered professional nurse license issued under this Act that expired while the licensee was (1) in federal service on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or in the State Militia called into service or training or (2) in training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to induction into the military service may have the license restored without paying any lapsed renewal fees if, within 2 years after honorable termination of such service, training, or education, the applicant furnishes the Department with satisfactory evidence to the effect that the applicant has been so engaged and that the individual's service, training, or education has been so terminated.
(d) Any licensee who engages in the practice of professional nursing with a lapsed license or while on inactive status shall be considered to be practicing without a license, which shall be grounds for discipline under Section 70-5 of this Act.
(e) Pending restoration of a registered professional nurse license under this Section, the Department may grant an applicant a temporary permit to practice as a registered professional nurse if the Department is satisfied that the applicant holds an active, unencumbered license in good standing in another jurisdiction. If the applicant holds more than one current active license or one or more active temporary licenses from another jurisdiction, the Department shall not issue a temporary permit until it is satisfied that each current active license held by the applicant is unencumbered. The temporary permit, which shall be issued no later than 14 working days after receipt by the Department of an application for the permit, shall be granted upon the submission of all of the following to the Department:
(1) A signed and completed application for
restoration of licensure under this Section as a registered professional nurse.
(2) Proof of (i) a current, active license in at
least one other jurisdiction and proof that each current, active license or temporary permit held by the applicant is unencumbered or (ii) fitness to practice nursing in Illinois, as specified by rule.
(3) A signed and completed application for a
(4) The required permit fee.
(f) The Department may refuse to issue to an applicant a temporary permit authorized under this Section if, within 14 working days after its receipt of an application for a temporary permit, the Department determines that:
(1) the applicant has been convicted within the last
5 years of any crime under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor directly related to the practice of the profession;
(2) within the last 5 years the applicant had a
license or permit related to the practice of nursing revoked, suspended, or placed on probation by another jurisdiction if at least one of the grounds for revoking, suspending, or placing on probation is the same or substantially equivalent to grounds for disciplinary action under this Act; or
(3) the Department intends to deny restoration of
(g) The Department may revoke a temporary permit issued under this Section if:
(1) the Department determines that the applicant has
been convicted within the last 5 years of any crime under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor directly related to the practice of the profession;
(2) within the last 5 years, the applicant had a
license or permit related to the practice of nursing revoked, suspended, or placed on probation by another jurisdiction, if at least one of the grounds for revoking, suspending, or placing on probation is the same or substantially equivalent to grounds in Illinois; or
(3) the Department intends to deny restoration of
(h) A temporary permit or renewed temporary permit shall expire (i) upon issuance of an Illinois license or (ii) upon notification that the Department intends to deny restoration of licensure. A temporary permit shall expire 6 months from the date of issuance. Further renewal may be granted by the Department, in hardship cases, that shall automatically expire upon issuance of the Illinois license or upon notification that the Department intends to deny licensure, whichever occurs first. No extensions shall be granted beyond the 6-month period unless approved by the Secretary. Notification by the Department under this Section must be by certified or registered mail to the address of record or by email to the email address of record.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18