Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 37/35

    (225 ILCS 37/35)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-796)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
    Sec. 35. Grounds for discipline.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary action with regard to any license issued under this Act as the Department may consider proper, including the imposition of fines not to exceed $5,000 for each violation, for any one or combination of the following causes:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
    
to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act or its rules.
        (3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
    
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
    
obtaining a certificate of registration.
        (5) Professional incompetence.
        (6) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (7) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
    
response to a written request made by the Department.
        (8) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public as defined by rules of the Department.
        (9) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in an environmental health practitioner's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (10) Discipline by another U.S. jurisdiction or
    
foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for a discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (11) A finding by the Department that the registrant,
    
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (12) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports in his or her practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (13) Physical illness, including, but not limited to,
    
deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skills that result in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (14) Failure to comply with rules promulgated by the
    
Illinois Department of Public Health or other State agencies related to the practice of environmental health.
        (15) The Department shall deny any application for a
    
license or renewal of a license under this Act, without hearing, to a person who has defaulted on an educational loan guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission; however, the Department may issue a license or renewal of a license if the person in default has established a satisfactory repayment record as determined by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.
        (16) Solicitation of professional services by using
    
false or misleading advertising.
        (17) A finding that the license has been applied for
    
or obtained by fraudulent means.
        (18) Practicing or attempting to practice under a
    
name other than the full name as shown on the license or any other legally authorized name.
        (19) Gross overcharging for professional services
    
including filing statements for collection of fees or moneys for which services are not rendered.
    (b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to (i) file a return, (ii) pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return; or (iii) pay any final assessment of the tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied.
    (c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission to a mental health facility as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension may end only upon a finding by a court that the licensee is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient, and the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume practice.
    (d) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any person licensed to practice under this Act or who has applied for licensure or certification pursuant to this Act to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The examining physicians shall be those specifically designated by the Department. The Department may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning this mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The person to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of any person to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for suspension of a license until the person submits to the examination if the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause.
    If the Department finds an individual unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department may require that individual to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, restored, or renewed licensure to practice or, in lieu of care, counseling, or treatment, the Department may file a complaint to immediately suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual.
    Any person whose license was granted, continued, restored, renewed, disciplined, or supervised subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions shall be referred to the Secretary for a determination as to whether the person shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
    In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the subject person's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment, to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    A person licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-796, eff. 8-10-18.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-872)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
    Sec. 35. Grounds for discipline.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary action with regard to any license issued under this Act as the Department may consider proper, including the imposition of fines not to exceed $5,000 for each violation, for any one or combination of the following causes:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
    
to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act or its rules.
        (3) Conviction of any felony under the laws of any
    
U.S. jurisdiction, any misdemeanor an essential element of which is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
    
obtaining a certificate of registration.
        (5) Professional incompetence.
        (6) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (7) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
    
response to a written request made by the Department.
        (8) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public as defined by rules of the Department.
        (9) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in an environmental health practitioner's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (10) Discipline by another U.S. jurisdiction or
    
foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for a discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (11) A finding by the Department that the registrant,
    
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (12) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports in his or her practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (13) Physical illness, including, but not limited to,
    
deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skills that result in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (14) Failure to comply with rules promulgated by the
    
Illinois Department of Public Health or other State agencies related to the practice of environmental health.
        (15) (Blank).
        (16) Solicitation of professional services by using
    
false or misleading advertising.
        (17) A finding that the license has been applied for
    
or obtained by fraudulent means.
        (18) Practicing or attempting to practice under a
    
name other than the full name as shown on the license or any other legally authorized name.
        (19) Gross overcharging for professional services
    
including filing statements for collection of fees or moneys for which services are not rendered.
    (b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to (i) file a return, (ii) pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return; or (iii) pay any final assessment of the tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied.
    (c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission to a mental health facility as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension may end only upon a finding by a court that the licensee is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient, and the recommendation of the Board to the Director that the licensee be allowed to resume practice.
    (d) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any person licensed to practice under this Act or who has applied for licensure or certification pursuant to this Act to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The examining physicians shall be those specifically designated by the Department. The Department may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning this mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The person to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of any person to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for suspension of a license until the person submits to the examination if the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause.
    If the Department finds an individual unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department may require that individual to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice or, in lieu of care, counseling, or treatment, the Department may file a complaint to immediately suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual.
    Any person whose license was granted, continued, reinstated, renewed, disciplined, or supervised subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions shall be referred to the Director for a determination as to whether the person shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
    In instances in which the Director immediately suspends a person's license under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the subject person's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment, to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    A person licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)